Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
311 864 128 4
Connect ID #
311 864 128 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio VX800/8i

JL Audio VX800/8i 8-channel car amplifier with digital signal processing — 75 watts RMS x 8

MFR # 98633

4.5 out of 5 stars
25 reviews
View this product
JL Audio VX800/8i

Jack from Bloomfield, NM on 4/5/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy installation. Super small area for amp to fit in. Need as much space to hide the wiring as the amp takes. Plan accordingly. The tune software that is needed to adjust and set up this amp is above basic user capacity. Need to familiarize yourself with setting up this amp through the tune before you crank up your system. I created a profile and did basic setup while connected to the amp. I saved my settings to my computer, then proceeded to listen to my system. Amazing! What I didn't know was I needed to upload the settings into the amp. The next day I went to demo my system to some friends, and literally smoked my tweeters!! Amp reverts back to factory settings unless you upload your settings into it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Save Money Elsewhere

Scott from Englewood, CO on 3/28/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My JL Audio VX800/8i is the backbone of my "Daily SQ" system. It's not "cheap", but frankly, the cost was the least important factor in my decision-making when trying to build a system with "sound quality" as the primary goal. The combination of quality, reliability, tuneability, & performance leaves little room for debate about Crutchfield's decision to feature this amplifier in its "Best of [Year]" rankings. I would recommend this amp to anyone with the room in their budget. You won't be disappointed. This really is one of the best, Class-D, DSP-Amps money can buy. I installed this in my 2012 Subaru Impreza 2.0i Premium hatchback under the Driver's seat. It fits like a glove and has never once overheated. I did, however, upgrade my alternator to a Singer 270A H.O. alt, and until I upgraded my Optima Red-Top AGM battery to an XS Power PWR-S5-1200 Lithium-Titanate battery, I was seeing voltage spikes >16v at times when the volume was cranked and the nearby JL Audio HD750/1 (Powering my 10" W7AE in a sealed enclosure) amp's regulated power supply demanded it. Anything above 16 volts, even briefly, and the VX amp will enter an overvoltage protection mode and shut off. I worked with JL Audio's support, as well as Mike Singer and XS Power to address this issue in my vehicle and it hasn't shut down once since switching to lithium. And again, it had nothing to do with my VX amp itself. It was merely defending itself from the demands of my JL Audio W7 subwoofer. Love this amp!

Pros: Sounds magical with a JL MAX-certified tune. Plenty of channels. DSP-Controlled RCA Pre-Outs for subwoofer amps. Reliable. Svelte.

Cons: Nothing worth mentioning. I have tried as hard as I could to find a reason to regret this purchase, and there hasn't been one in over a year. Buy this amp.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Terrible experience with RF interference defect

Brian from Manassas, VA on 3/12/2024

2023 Ford F-250

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

BLUF: VX series amps are known to cause RF interference in some newer vehicles. My VX800/8 had this defect. I spent weeks troubleshooting issues with the keyless entry system in my 2023 F-250 not working after installing this amp. I purchased this amp in May of '23 as part of a three way front active upgrade in my 2022 F-250. Ran this alongside a VX600/600i for rear components and an RD 1500/1 running two JL 13TW5's. In Feb of '24 I upgraded to a 2023 F-250 and the keyless entry system was not functional immediately after installing. Spent weeks troubleshooting and initially thought the issue was RF interference from wiring. In my multi amp setup I have a relay powering a fused distribution block for remote turn on. Finally after weeks of troubleshooting wiring, I found a comment from a JL Audio engineer on the Ram TRX confirming a known RF interference issue. Confirmed by pulling fuses on my remote turn on block that the issue only occurred when the VX800/8 was powered on. Contacted Crutchfield who told me I need to work directly with JL audio. Even though the purchase was within a year, tech support said: "they will know exactly what you are talking about when you reach them." JL did authorize an RMA for BOTH my amps. Cost me $400 dollars to overnight them to JL. They replaced my 600/6 but two weeks later and still no answer from JL on a replacement 800/8. I've been a life long JL fan, but completely regret dropping $2K for this piece of junk .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Salinas

Edwin from Salinas on 2/29/2024

2018 Honda Accord Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amp is amazing. Works like a dream

Pros: Sounds amazing

Cons: Hard to tune

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Happy customer

G Michael from Rome, GA on 12/24/2023

2014 Toyota Prius V

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a somewhat of a comparison between the JL Audio vx800i and the JBL DSP4086. I believe the JBL amp is one of the most inexpensive DSPAmps you can buy, and the VX is one of the most expensive- about 4X the price. It may help someone if they want to save money. I bought this as an upgrade for my newer vehicle over the JBL DSP4086 that I used in my other vehicle. Had considered using the JBL DSP amp, but the VX800/8i had 2x the power and I figured that I could run the amp bridged for the subs (the JBL cannot be bridged. Ultimately, I didn't end up doing this and run the Vx800i as a tri amp setup for lows, mids and highs in the front (Audiofrog and Morel) and firing a pair of coaxials (a pair of old Kickers) in the back. The JL also has a pair of preamp outputs that can be used to run an additional amp. Just like the 8 channels of amp outputs in the VX, these preamp outputs can be tuned and assigned crossover values, delay and eq settings as well- A big plus. By comparison, The JBL DSP 4086 does not have preamp outs. The Tun software isn't as intuitive to learn than the JBL software. I spent some time watching some YouTube videos on it and dove in. It's not that difficult once you learn to navigate the software. I run the amp with the recommended two gauge wire. The amp has differential balanced inputs- It's dead quiet. It also has more power than I will ever use. I just have a 60A fuse on it as I didn't have the recommende

Pros: Really quiet Really powerful Sounds fantastic. Compact size Can use an optional remote

Cons: I really cant think of anything negative about this amp, so I'll nitpick: 1. The software isn't as intuative as the JL Audio DSP4086. 2. JL Audio recommends 2 gauge power wire, which may limit where you want to locate this amp. This is big cable and may not fit under things like door sill plates. 3. It may be a bit overkill. If bridging isn't important, the JBL DSP4086 may be a better value - half the power, maybe more alternator and battery friendly and 1/4 of the price.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Absolute powerhouse

Christopher from Bloomsburg, PA on 11/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The JL Audio VX800/8i 8-channel amplifier is a powerhouse in the world of car audio. Delivering exceptional sound quality, this amplifier boasts an impressive 800 watts of power, ensuring a crisp and immersive audio experience. The 8 channels provide versatility for creating a customized sound system, accommodating various speakers and configurations. Built with JL Audio's renowned craftsmanship, the VX800/8i features high-quality components that contribute to its reliability and longevity. The sleek and compact design adds to its appeal, allowing for easy installation even in tight spaces. The amplifier's advanced controls and tuning options offer audio enthusiasts the flexibility to fine-tune their sound to perfection. Whether you're a bass enthusiast or seeking a well-balanced audio system, the VX800/8i excels in delivering clear, distortion-free sound across the entire frequency range. While it may come with a higher price tag, the audio performance and build quality make it a worthwhile investment for those who prioritize premium sound in their vehicles.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great 8 channel Amp

Coke from MIDLOTHIAN, TX on 5/30/2023

2020 Ford F-250 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This amp just rocks. With TuN it makes getting quality sound even easier once you learn the layout and flow of the software.

Pros: Built in DSP All connections on same side Clean and clear power

Cons: Price of quality. Not really a con.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio VX800/8i

Ian from St Paul, MN on 3/2/2023

2007 Lexus GX470

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I know its expensive, but I was way impressed with the build and overall quality/presentation of this amp. We use the vehicle this is installed in a camping/offroad vehicle. So space is important considering where I could typically put amps,dsps and wiring is dedicated to our auxillery battery system. Having this has allowed us to have and amp and a DSP under a seat. Purchased with the digital remote control. Which i wouldnt purchase without. Having the abiloty to easily adjust volume & switch between presets is great. I skipped the Bluetooth communicator as it looks like it just allows you to access the DSP on your phone. Not sure why that would be of any help. It would be so rareif ever that one would need to reconnect and retune, and on your phone at that

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Well worth the steep price of admission

David from Munfordville, KY on 2/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Years ago I bought a MS-8 DSP unit here at Crutchfield. It finally became unreliable - wouldn't turn on when the car was started on a cold morning, fine once car interior warmed up. Looking for a new-tech upgrade I tried several of Crutchfield's products. A JBL DSP4086 showed promise (at 1/4 the price of the VX800/8i) but my laptop would not play nice with the software as it would not connect to the unit. After 10-days of exceptionally poor (absent, really) tech service support, first from a Crutchfield rep, then from the manufacturer- who I was told would have to be the one to help me after all - I ordered the JL unit while returning the JBL units. Yes, they even sent me a replacement on exchange but it had same problem. Fast forward to this fine piece of gear! My laptop connects to it just fine. They don't push it when buying, but you really want the 'optional" Bluetooth adapter from JL so you can plug your SPL meter (mine is an AudioControl SA-4100i) into your iPad and go to the car. Now you can use the VX800/8i to not only set up your audio system but also in using the Tun4 software to MEASURE you car inside and apply real-time corrections to align the sound to a curve you've chosen. Suggest the Andy Whemeyer (designer of MS-8) curve to start with. Superb sound!

Pros: Capable of setup, measure (w SPL enter) and correction of your audio signal. Clean power.

Cons: Complicated to use if you go past the basics. Study up first!

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

JL Audio VX800/8i

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 8/5/2021

2014 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound but not what I expected. Limited on speaker setup and customization

Pros: Great sound Expensive and over priced

Cons: Setup is not easy. Speaker arrangement is limited recommended installing software first and checking out the available speakers setups

Crutchfield response on

5 of 22 found this helpful

JL Audio VX800/8i

Crutchfield customer from Des Moines, IA on 8/1/2021

2018 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Top of the line

Charlie from Cherry Hill, NJ on 7/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield and I made my old car slam. New car and after much trial and error, with components in short supply, I ended up pulling the trigger on this gem. I'll never look back. Feed this monster steady power and you will be trying to find another half dozen speakers to handle the power so as to justify stacking another VX series amp just so you can have 2! By no means an expert but I know when I have reached the top. With the abilities granted by TUN app, the VX800/8i should be the cornerstone of any system. Essentially 10+ eqs/crossovers. If you know how to make air wiggle the way your ear wants it to, there is no other choice. 2015 Taurus 175 amp, dual 4 gauge power to trunk, multiple JL ground lugs (big 3+trunk) Polk MM572 front doors, MM692 rear deck, Kicker CVT12"/Infiniti Primus 3000 Sealed. JL MBT-RX Input 1/2, Ford base non-Sony h/u inputs3/4 & 5/6, preset controlled. I need one of these for my apartment! .

Pros: DSP/Tuning. Ease of install. POWER. Versatility with other equipment (none needed)

Cons: None noted.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

My Review of VX800i

Josh from Orlando FL on 6/23/2021

2014 Fiat 500L

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

As I handled it for the first time, I thought to myself, "this is really dense". Amplifiers of this size typically do not weigh but half a pound to a few pounds. This VXi is no lightweight, with a shell that is one giant heat sink to keep it running cool during music playback. The black paint job on the top looks sleek. I feel just by looking at the amplifier overall, JL Audio really listened to the consumer, and the installer on what needed to take shape in the car audio world for both installation practices and customer/installer interactions. Ultimately it seems easy to install and set up. I am sure I am not covering it all, but here are a few: input summing, EQ, time delay, all pass filtering. It also has a cool shelf EQ feature that allows one to boost or cut all frequencies above or below a certain frequency. Short circuit, Thermal protection, under, and overpower protection, clipping indicators, and so on. Did I mention it sounds Fantastic?

Pros: Go check out my review under Josh C. At JLAudio.com There you will find my full small article written on this wonderful amplifier. There is so much I have to say it will not fit here at Crutchfield.

Cons: I should have bought two of them to run in full-on bridge mode from 8 channels to 4 channels each amplifier! Talk about headroom. There is plenty of it!

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

No more listening fatigue ??

Crutchfield customer from Harvey, LA on 4/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Loving the built quality the look and most importantly the sound it produces!

Pros:

Cons: None to date

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome!

Brian from Spring Hill, KS on 9/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've been in to car audio since the mid 80's, worked as an installer through high school and college. Never spent this much money on any single piece of car audio equipment, but I'm glad I did. Powering three way Hertz Mille Pro components up front and JL coaxs in the rear. More power than I need for sure (wish they made a 40w x 8 version, for like $1000 or something). Using the (DSP processed!) pre-outs to feed a sub amp. JL TuN software on my laptop and REW with a calibrated mic for EQ worked great (time consuming, but fun!). Setting the delays really cleaned up the imaging and just makes a WORLD of difference on how good your system sounds. High, low, and band pass crossover capability on all channels (including the pre-outs)! All of that in a very compact package. Amp seems incredibly efficient and not too taxing on my electrical system (no headlight dimming!). I'm sure that the Mille Pros help, but I've never heard such crisp vocals and musical detail in a car system before. Be sure to get the JL DRC so you can switch between presets and adjust sub level. I love it!

Pros: Compact unit for all the power and DSP functionality included. Efficient, clean, and powerful. JL TuN software is really good (a bit of a learning curve to get started), amazing amount of flexibility with routing, Xovers, EQ, and time delay.

Cons: Would be nice if they had a lower powered version. My tweeters don't know how to use 75 watts of power!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

19 of 19 found this helpful

A game changer

John from Worcester, MA on 8/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This amplifier is a game changer. I eliminated a large box full of power and signal cables and freed up a lot of space by changing my separate Twk88 DSP and Pioneer PRS amplifier to my vi800/8i. This amplifier is so tiny yet sounds so good and frees up so much space which eliminates significant wiring cost. A notable difference is the bluetooth module that allows me to tune with my iPad and I love that. No more clumsy bulky laptop with cables strung across my vehicle that I have to tuck and hide. The sound qaulity is phenomenal and the amplifier is dead silent during quite passages. The Tun software is very user friendly and offers all the power I need to get what I want with power to spare. The old argument that class A/B is better than class D is a myth. I've tested many amplifiers on my test bench as a double blind A vs B test using my home audio Kef speakers and 110 amps of ATS power supplies. I devised a way to swap amplifiers within a few seconds and perfectly level matched them using REW and a microphone. Conclusion, one class AB sounded awesome, several sounded great, one sounded bad. One class D sounded just as good as the best class AB and several sounded very good. I didn't test this vxi in that test but I don't need to. I can tell already it sounds amazing and replicates the finest details too.

Pros: Powerful DSP and amplifier in a tiny footprint saves space and eliminates extra RCA and power cables which eliminates noise and cost. Sound quality is amazing. TuN software is great and user friendly. Easy on your electrical system. Amplifier is dead silent during quite passages, no hiss. No analog gain pots to go bad. Gain setting process is easy. Bluetooth module works very well

Cons: None yet really except the price, lol. If you do not disconnect the TuN software from the bluetooth module then the amplifier remains on even with key off which if you're not paying attention can lead to a drained battery with car off.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

16 of 16 found this helpful

JL Audio VX800/8i

Jasper from richmomd on 2/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wish I could get more power just seem low

Pros: Quality

Cons: Low volume out put

Crutchfield response on

2 of 15 found this helpful

Sq at a great price

Manly Cocksin from Los Angeles on 11/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow. I mean, wow. Sound quality is amazing and 8 channels with a built in, customizable dsp, for $1400? Amazing deal!

Pros: Footprint, customizable dsp, phone app connectivity for dsp.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Good, but not the best.

David H. from Erie CO on 11/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've have this amp running a set of Focal KRX2 components up front and Hertz Mille coaxials in back of a 2017 Ford F-150, with a JL Fix-86 converting the OEM Sony amp's output to RCA. I'm bridging 2 channels for the Focal mids, and sending two channels to the Focal tweeters, and two channels to the Milles, all run active with no passive crossovers. The good...The sound is incredibly crisp, loud and clean, and the amp doesn't dim my headlights or seem to otherwise stress the truck's electrical system. The amp is also relatively compact and was easy to install behind the rear seat, on a custom rack that sits where the old factory sub was. The bad... the sound is simply missing the warmth that a high quality Class A/B amp provides. Vocals lack depth and fullness, and the snare drums in rock seem a little lacking to me. With compressed sources like Spotify or MP3, these weaknesses are more apparent than with CDs. So this amp is definitely less forgiving than a good A/B amp would be, when the source isn't at least cd quality. I experienced this same thing in the past with an old Alpine PDX-5, (but the Alpine was definitely far worse). So the VXI series is definitely a Big step forward in D class technology, but if you're a true audiophile I would recommend a class A/B from Zapco, Focal, or Audison, etc. Heck even the old Alpine V12 amps or the Memphis PR series sounded better, and those can be found for a couple hundred bucks used. If SQ is the goal, go A/B

Pros: Crisp, loud, clean, Compact, easy on the Electrical system.

Cons: Typical cold/thin D-class mids, unforgiving with compressed source material, expensive, Fairly complex/expensive to install and tune.

Crutchfield response on

29 of 38 found this helpful

Jl Audio has done it again!!

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 4/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clarity image quality and sound staging is absolutely incredible. The Tun software is a little confusing. Only because it was new to me. Learning curve lol. Love this amplifier in every way.

Pros: Expandable, beautifully designed, amazing architecture and system layout.

Cons: Definitely a learning curve on the software. This isn't even really a con. I do wish that the power input terminals were bigger only because I ran 1awg cable :).

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Big Sound Little Package

Crutchfield customer from West Virginia on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This amp is an absolute beast. Right now I have it bridged to run my front and rears and I'm using the pre outs going into my sub amp so I have complete control over everything. The sound is AMAZING.

Pros: Sound Software Easy to learn JL Audio Amp/DSP = less wiring

Cons: Wish you can use your smartphone to make more adjustments than it allows you. Gotta have a laptop or IPad to access for capability after paying $80 for Bluetooth accessory

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio VX800/8i

Raidel from Houston, TX on 11/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

excellent amplifier the more volume the better your speakers will sound superior quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Love it!

Bradlee from Cedar Rapids, IA on 10/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I LOVE this Amp! I mostly love that the fact that I can easily route and control everything from my phone using TUN Mobile app. Still looking for an available DRC-205 Remote, though......... Wish the price was a slightly less expensive, but overall this is awesome. For the price I feel like it should have more watts.

Pros: Control Quality

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio VX800/8i

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worth every penny.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

An audiophile's dream

Anthony from Columbus, OH on 8/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Outstanding amplifier/DSP. I'm using this to run my entire system and couldn't be happier. I've got this pushing 2 way front components, rear coaxials and a 12" ported sub. The sound is clear, detailed and powerful. It fits easily under the driver's seat of my Honda Accord. And it's got a pair of preouts (with DSP processing) to feed an external amp if needed. The TuN software has all the features you'll ever need and is setup in a straightforward, logical interface. It's not cheap but it will take your system to another level.

Pros: Great performance, impossibly small package.

Cons: They don't give them away for free.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

15 of 15 found this helpful

Compare the sound