Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
899 118 857 4
Connect ID #
899 118 857 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Sony WH-1000XM5

Sony WH-1000XM5 Over-ear Bluetooth® wireless noise-canceling headphones (Black)

MFR # WH1000XM5/B

4.5 out of 5 stars
81 reviews
View this product
Sony WH-1000XM5

Travis from Westminster, CO on 2/29/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding headphone! I'm coming off a 15 year old of Bose Quiet Comfort over-ear headphones. These are really comfortable to wear. The extra 3D sound features are intuitive to set up in the app and fun to listen to with the appropriate content. I've just started diving into Tidal's high-res offerings. Atmos in a headphone isn't as dramatic as a full room system, but the experience is definitely enjoyable. And in standard stereo they are just a great sounding headphone. I've yet to try out the calling features so maybe I'll update the review once I have.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Thomas from Parker, CO on 2/10/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow...these cans went beyond my expectations. While I've yet to make many adjustments via the app, I can already appreciate the huge difference from my last pair of headphones. The noise cancellation feature brings amazing sound depth to my large variety of music catalog including Roxy Music, Kate Bush, ZZ Top and especially classical selections like Bach. I'm impressed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Headphones Paired Easily and Sound is GREAT

Judith from Bethesda, MD on 1/25/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I hadn't bought a wireless headphone before and when I first looked at it, I was confused about how to operate it. However, in doing a small amount of research on the Internet, all my questions were answered. These headphones are used to pair both with my iPhone and also with the Blue Sound Pulse M speaker/player. It allows me to listen quietly (not disturbing others) anywhere in the house. I can move the Blue Sound Wi-Fi enabled speaker and then the headphones connect via Bluetooth to the speaker. I'm all set!!! Outstanding sound, comfort. Enjoying it very much. The Crutchfield representative guided me to the right choices.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bought Scratch and Dent- Love these!

Adam from Columbus NC on 1/19/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I saved a bunch by buying the scratch and dent. The only issue was it didn't come in the original box- who cares! Like a new unit, amazing sound, which, by the way, is much better than the new Bose, which I returned since they were tight on my head. i Have a size 8 head and larger ears since I am a big dude, and the ear cups are really comfy. Skip the Bose and buy these!

Pros: Much better than Bose! Amazing Sound

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

John from St John, VI on 1/7/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound from these are incredible. Worth every bit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Earpads not replaceable

John from Freehold, NJ on 12/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After 4 days of use, the ear pads are not returning to their original form. FWIW, the ear pads are not replaceable. The phones do sound good. Dont know If these are keepers?.

Pros: Sound fit.

Cons: ear pads loose their shape, not replaceable

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

michael g. from VANCOUVER, WA on 12/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bose was a disappointment, these were a positive change.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Francis from Rochester, MN on 12/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Lite and easily connected to my phone, tv's

Pros: Sony quality

Cons: None at this time

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Crutchfield customer from Fairview, PA on 12/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Switched from bose to these cans.much lighter with better sound.

Pros: Lite weight

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Issac from Fresno, CA on 12/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Comfortable headphones and great sound. Not really great for workouts but awesome in any other environment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XM5 early review

Bill from Apollo, PA on 11/24/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Only have these a few days, so I can tell you what my early observations are with these headphones. The ear cups are incredibly comfortable; the headband has nice padding in it too. I can feel it after about an hour of wearing (on top of head), not to the point of it being annoying (could be because I don't have much hair left up there! ??. Sound is a little bass heavy, and you need to cut it back some with either the Sony Headphone app equalizer, or some other tone control. It would have been nice to have the tone control/equalizer on the actual headphone, because depending on what the source is (TV, stereo, phone, IPad), you need to deal with finding tone control on each of the different sources, to adjust the tone to your liking. Today I finally connected it up to the Sony headphone app on my IPad, and found preset equalizer settings that made the sound quality much better... After receiving the headphones, I read some reviews that has me worried about the durability of the construction of these. Several reports of the hinge right above the right cup breaking, and Sony not willing to fix it, even when it's under warranty. Customers got the runaround, which surprised me, as I've be a Sony faithful for many years, as their products are built to last. Also read many reviews about popping noises, and a few other issues. For these reasons, I took a few stars away. The Sennheiser Momentum 4 headphones had a few issues, but might be a better choice.

Pros: Comfortable Great sound with a few tonal adjustments Good ANC

Cons: Possibly flimsy construction? Black finish shows smudges easily

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Ikechukwu from Richmond, TX on 11/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Its noise cancelation is out of this world.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Superb Bose Substitute for office & music

David from Monroe Twp, NJ on 11/9/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I ordered these headphones for use in my office. Voice quality is superb. Unlike my Logitech Zone Wireless headphones, I've yet to experience a single dropped call. They are more comfortable than the Zone headphones because the ear cups go around the ear and not over it. The only improvement I can think of is to make them thinner and even lighter. In my opinion, they are very competitive in features and quality with Bose. Also, Crutchfield's support and assistance was very helpful.

Pros: Excellent for office use and music

Cons: A little big

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Scott from Columbus, NE on 11/5/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great very happy with the headset.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Crutchfield customer from Madison, CT on 11/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Outstanding noise cancellation and sound. Controls are easy to use. Fit is very comfortable. Bought these for my sister and my brother likes them so much that I am getting him a pair!

Pros: Comfortable fit Excellent noise cancellation Outstanding sound quality Easy to use controls Good battery life

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not What I Was Hoping For

Crutchfield customer from LOMA LINDA, MO on 11/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

When I took them out of the case I thought they looked and felt cheaply made. That didn't surprise me based on the pictures I had seen. The ANC on these is the best that I have experienced, but only by a small margin. I have a 16 year old Dyson vacuum that is fairly loud. That is what I use to judge ANC. With Sony's ANC on (no music playing), I powered up the ol' Dyson. I could hear it, but it sounded like it was in a nearby room. I got some music playing at roughly 40% volume, and it was definitely loud enough. The clarity wasn't great (but not bad), and without adjusting the EQ the bass (I mainly listen to metal, classical and opera) was almost too much for my taste. You can tweak the EQ to suit if you desire. Overall, they are OK, but I returned them because they made my head hurt (clamping too tight). To compare similarly priced cans, B&W PX7, Bose QuietComfort Ultra (and NC700), and Apple AirPods Max are all more comfortable. Bose wins for comfort, then Apple, then PX7. Best sound quality would go to 1) Apple, 2) Bose QCU, 3) XM5. Best ANC is 1) XM5, 2) QCU, 3) NC700, 4) Apple, 5) PX7. If you want to spend $700 for a great set of bluetooth cans, I highly recommend the B&W PX8. I have the 007 edition, and the ANC is pretty close to being as good as the XM5 and QCU. The sound quality is much better, and they are more comfortable than the XM5. Live long and prosper.

Pros: - Nice EQ for those that want it. - Sound quality is fine for the price. - Best ANC but not by much.

Cons: - Uncomfortable (too much pressure around my ears). If it wasn't for this I would have kept them. - Cheap build (not surprising given they're less than $500)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Low Efficiency Technology

Hugh from Madison, FL on 11/1/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Thanks to the latest technology you cannot get what you pay for in this and many new products without a constant smartphone cell or wifi signal. You have to sign in with Sony to get your saved or useful sound settings. There is not a resident, autonomous app on the phone to control it like Yamaha Muscast for example, that needs no wifi or cell connection to provide your value from purchase. If you are where there is no signal, you will have a generic headset performance. There should be a warning notice for all such products liker this that says you do not get what you pay for in features unless you stay in touch with the manufacturer. This is a step backwards in technology because to use the product to its fullest, you have to have a third party device and a signal other than just a Bluetooth capability from your stereo. I am using it without the Sony app, so they are average headphones with a high price tag. I found all this out after they arrived. There needs to be a notice if the product cannot deliver its full value without dependence on third party smartphone support, especially if you pair it with something else, like a home stereo. Still have to have the smartphone around. This is not efficient and does not represent a technology advancement except for the manufacturer who wants to track and control your listening.

Pros: Sounds great for a non equalized headset

Cons: Without cell or wifi signals has only average performance - buy something else

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Carlisle from San Diego, CA on 9/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Enjoying wonderful sound with a wide range of music. The noise cancellation is not obtrusive but certainly effective. The controls on the right ear pad are easy to work and intuitive. Found I needed to take my time with adjusting the equalizer because the differences in sound were subtle to me but found I made the same adjustments each time I went through the process.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great product

Manolo from Isabela,PR on 8/30/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound if you know how to use the equalizer on the app! Great battery life, awesome noice cancelling, probably the best headphones for the price. Beats all of Bose competing products. Bought them on 02/23

Pros: Best sound, best noice cancelling, great battery life

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Allan from Caguas, PR on 8/14/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent performance , great noise reduction and easy to use

Pros: Noise reduction

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bad battery

Thompson from Coral Gables, FL on 8/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great when working: battery crapped out after about 6 months & dealing with 800 number @ Sony....

Pros: Sleek, cool looking & not too big; noise cancelling works well!

Cons: Battery stopped charging past 10% after about six months :(

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent Headphones

Anwar from Cary, NC on 7/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent headphones and the two BT channels are excellent for working with headphones. Comfort is improved vs my older XM3s. Microphone works well and the smart features to recognize when you are talking to turn off ANC or pause video content when you take off the headphones to are helpful too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Mark Alan from LEAVENWORTH, KS on 7/14/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Don't know which model I purchased first, both are terrible, move your head, leave the immediate room and they stop working, hit the headphones while wearing, and it will come back on, should work continuously, I've notice the vast amount of products that I've bought from Crutchfield never work like advertised or quit soon afterwards, never going to purchase fro. Them ever again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/18/2023
I'm sorry to hear your recent headphone purchases haven't work out for you! It's very unusual to receive a defective product. Every purchase with us comes with free lifetime Technical Support. I suggest speaking with our Techs whenever you encounter an issue as described. Other intervening issues can often be the culprit and our team can help sort that out. If an item is truly defective, we have a 60 day period the item can be returned or exchanged within. We're also an authorized retailer for every product we carry, so you always have the manufacturer's warranty to fall back on as well. Just let us know if you have questions or need anything else.

1 of 9 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Jason from Knoxville, TN on 7/10/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's a great headphone

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sound great, Hurt outside of ears

Crutchfield customer from Juneau, AK on 7/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The headphones sounded wonderful but they really hurt the outside of my ears. I returned them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Josh from Stockbridge, MI on 6/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are an amazing pair of headphones. The noise cancellation is the best I've ever experienced. I have a large head and ears and find these very comfortable. I had an issue with my initial order and crutchfield fixed my order extremely easily! Great service and a great product.

Pros: Comfortable! Amazing noise cancellation. Comes in a very sturdy plastic box. Crutchfield's service is the best.

Cons: It's a premium product so it has a premium price, only drawback.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Highly Recommend!

Christopher from Yuma, AZ on 6/23/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These headphones are everything I hoped they would be. They are comfortable, great sound quality, and amazing noise cancellation. I've had two Bose noise cancelling headphones in the past. They were good, but these are so much better for comfort and noise cancellation. Very happy I finally bought a pair!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent noise cancelling and crystal clear music

Scott from Boston, MA on 6/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very satisfied with these headphones. I was a little concerned in reading the reviews about the comments regarding bass boost being too strong, but I find them to be very well balanced. I don't like too much booming bass, but also need it to have a strong presence. The app with the graphic equalizer does help, but it is admittedly a bit clunky. I like the option to use these over both wired and wireless connections. Wireless is obviously more convenient, but there are times when I use an external headphone amp (usually when flying). The noise-cancelling capabilities are top-notch. I had previously owned a pair of Bose earbuds and they worked really well (until I left them on a plane). Overall, I give these phones 5-out-of-5 stars and would definitely recommend them to anyone wanting to up their travel phones.

Pros: Noise cancelling, sound quality, connectivity options, app-based graphic equalizer

Cons: Inability to fold down, size of travel case

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony got it right.

Blaine from Findlay, OH on 6/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's difficult to find any fault with this headphone. It sounds great, noise canceling is very good, it's lightweight and the fit is comfortable, it can be worn for long periods, it has many useful features controlled by the App. If I had to offer a caution, it would be that it takes a little time to learn how to use all of its many features. A great headphone!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice!

Cynthia from Richmond, VA on 5/30/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The noise cancelling function is pretty good. I have birds that make a lot of noise and when wearing these headphones it does cut down on their noise. Sound is awesome. Still trying to figure out the app, but so far pleased I have bought these headphones.

Pros: Noise cancelling Sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Not bad but, I wouldn't buy them again!

Eric from EVANS, GA on 5/24/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not Bad! They are comfortable! Noise canceling is awsome! Thought for the cost they would be better! The app from Sony works great, but the sound is not as good as expected. I keep getting a distorted bass sound, maybe they are defective! I am not sure. Even at low volumes I get a distorted sound, NC on or off and find my self playing with the EQ consistently. I was thinking it was Amazon music but my vehicles and other devices do not have the distorted sound.I like them but do not think I would by them again.

Pros: Noise canceling is awsome! Comfortable! I like the app!

Cons: Sound quality for the price point not as good as it should be! Has distorted sound at all volumes. At least mine does.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great

Nick from Bedford, NH on 5/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So light! I am coming from a Plantronics headset, these are amazing light by comparison. Comfort is great, audio quality for my computer is great. Only negative is no mute button for the mic.

Pros:

Cons: No mic mute!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Andy from Urbana, IL on 4/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are very good headphones for everyday use and what they are intended for, and the app is perfect for fine tuning for different listening likes, and noise cancelling levels for the different environments, or switch all options on the app to auto and you cant go wrong. They sound really good and again with the app you can adjust the equalizer to individual taste or use the default sound equalizer programs. The padding is very comfy even when wearing glasses. However, I wear these outside where I'm working with loud equipment and the noise cancelling is excellent except when the headphones thinks someone is trying to talk to me and no one is and the music is auto paused and the noise cancelling stops, allowing the very loud equipment noise to filter in. Not good. The same thing happens when I'm singing along with the music, and then the pause happens because the headphones think someone is trying to talk to me. After I realized I needed to turn everything off on the app and use the noise cancelling button on the bottom of the left side headphone all is good and have no issues at all.

Pros: Noise cancelling, very comfortable, and sound very good. Works well with a IPhone.

Cons: Cost

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent

Jeff from Powhatan, VA on 4/23/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are great noise canceling headphones. I use them a lot while talking on the phone. Doesn't matter what you're doing, the other person can only hear you. I was using the blender and they couldn't hear it at all ! The only negative is they have too many features, some of which are touch control. I haven't delved into the manual yet, hopefully I can turn some off, which can be annoying at times.

Pros: Comfort Noise Reduction Battery Life Bluetooth Range

Cons: A lot of features that can get annoying

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Metal Head from Anaheim, CA on 4/9/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly what I was looking for. This is the first over the ear headphones I've used. Always had in ear before. The sound quality is amazing at this price point. Sony knocked it out of the park. Great clarity and detail. The Sony software is also excellent. Noise canceling is tomb silent. The integrated touch controls are also very convenient. You won't go wrong choosing these headphones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Jesus from San Juan, PR on 4/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great pair of Noise Cancelling headphones. Really good sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Bought a scratch and dent inventory,

Karthikeyan from RIDGEFIELD, CT on 3/31/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought the product from scratch and dent inventory. NO issues so far, product works as expected, surprised by the noise canceling feature. Long term usage is causing warm feeling around your ears. Use it connect to my Sony TV. Little bit of learning curve on the buttons, the app that goes with it has the necessary answers. Liking it so far. SONY should learn from Apple on seamless connectivity between family of its products.

Pros: Noise canceling, battery life and charging.

Cons: Warm up on long-term usage around ears. Learning curve with the device.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Robert from SALT LAKE CITY, UT on 3/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very comfortable on first flight across country and great noise cancelling.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Douglas from BRIGHTON, MI on 3/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I returned the similar Bose cans--what was I thinking?!--and ordered these. I love them for the price and use them mainly for listening to TV and Apps when isolation is necessary. Very comfortable and very nice sound for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent Headset!

Stephen from Houston, TX on 3/14/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent noise reduction, very quiet, lightweight, long battery life. I really like the player controls (volume, next/previous, battery status). Comes with an app for even more controls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Bruce from Las Cruces, NM on 2/26/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Tight fit, can be uncomfortable during long-term use with glasses

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Wuite good next-generation

Joe from Richmond, VA on 2/26/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For the most part, these headphones work, as well as my earlier Sony headphones. They connect easily to my Bluetooth devices, and they are very comfortable on my ears. These seem lighter, too, and the smooth adjustment of the headphone cups is great. I do find the in-ear detection and the integration with an app a bit annoying. It seems Sony is trying to create a solution in search of a problem. That being said, headphones are great, battery life is excellent, and although they don't pack as small as earlier, Sony headphones, they are a fine replacement.

Pros: Fit, sound

Cons: Fiddle-y-ness

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Jason from DULUTH, MN on 2/21/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just used them for the first time and love them. I wear glasses and it's very comfortable. They sound great as well. I haven't tried the ANC yet, but will give that a try when I snowblow tomorrow.

Pros: Comfortable (especially for glass wearers). They come partly charged (mine had 60% battery left).

Cons: The charging cord is a joke. Way too short. Thankfully I had an extra one that's longer.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

XM5

Temarlin from Shelby, MS on 2/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are even better than the XM2's I had a couple years ago. They feel better which means you can wear them longer and they're lightweight with better call control. Awesome, good job Sony and Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

David from Keene, NH on 2/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great headphones!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Sterile sound

John from Phoenix, AZ on 2/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent in every way except the sound. I would describe it as 'sterile'. I figured I would rarely use them, since I have a set of Denon D-600 wired cans that are brilliant. Convenience of no wires does not make up for 'sterile' sound, so I returned them.

Pros: Solid construction; easy pairing.

Cons: Sterile sound.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Tim from Kelseyville, CA on 1/31/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound with good noise cancelling features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Very flimsy, broke in 3 months

Rocco from Evergreen, CO on 1/30/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The sound quality, noise cancellation, and battery life were excellent, but the build quality is very flimsy, and one earphone snapped off in just 3 months, rendering them useless (see photo). As one of the most expensive headsets in this category, I expected better durability. Sadly, Sony does not stand behind their products, and they will do nothing to correct the problem. For this price, I got to use this headset for just 3 months.

Pros: Sound quality Noice cancellation Battery life

Cons: Flimsy construction Sony does not stand behind their products

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

13 of 14 found this helpful

Great sound for all types of music

Wolfgang from Shelley, ID on 1/23/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I owned the xm4, left then in a hotel and I needed another great pair. I found them, They are comfortable for hours as I use mine to help me off to sleep and walking the dog, they work spectacular for both they stay put, they don't pinch and they sound fantastic, I have music from classical all the way to some rap and this adjusts to all the different beats wonderfully, I was on the fence and glad I got these to climb off

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

David Hayden from Fairfax, VA on 1/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Should have purchased these a long time ago. Comfortable. Watch the video to set up the device and also get the app. Makes life much easier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

An Epiphany

Ridge from Ft Worth, TX on 1/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I received my xm5 today via UPS. Before I get into a review of the device, I have to say bravo to Crutchfield. I get to talk to real people and there's no substitute for that. Been great service. Three weeks ago, I received Klipsch 6M iis from Crutchfield. They worked great with my Cambridge CAX81 which I bought from Crutchfield 2 years ago. I had a major problem with my downstairs tenant after I got the 6M iis. He told me he liked my music but it was making his bed shake. He let me know it in a very kind way. I hate any kind of noise coming into my apartment. So I toned it down. But I've got to have my music, and most of it at concert levels. So I looked into headphones. Sony makes good stuff and good reviews on XM5. I dug into how they operate. Looked complicated and I was intimidated. But I've paired my computer BT with my amp BT. I thought it would still be complex to get the XM5 set up. I unboxed it, and had it up and running in 5 minutes. I've been listening to music from the time I set it up. That's been over 5 hours ago. I'm still listening to it at concert levels as I type this review and will be listening to it until I go to bed. The battery was 60% charged when I got it. It's great! I built audiophile quality components from kits. This is the next best non-live music I've ever experienced. At this moment, there's a lady singing in my head. I get up and walk around and the soundstage goes with me.

Pros: Lots of pros. Bass is good. Dynamic range surprised me. Ease of set up. Wireless so not tethered to my desk.

Cons: No Cons

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

GREAT but be patient when connecting them to your PC

Mark from Joliet, IL on 1/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The headphone is very nice in every way. The sound is great, with a nice balance between the high and low frequencies. They are pricey but if you have the money, go for it. My only complaint would be getting the headphones to communicate with the iPhone, lap top PCs, and other devices. I watched the various videos, but for whatever reason, I just couldn't get the Bluetooth to work. After a couple of hours, I finally got them connected. I'm not sure what the problem was as our laps are only one year old.

Pros: great sound, very comfortable to wear

Cons: expensive, and can be very tricky to connect to your phone or pc.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome

Jorge from Elmhurst, NY on 1/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good sound/noise cancelling at its best

Pros: Controls on headphones

Cons: N/a

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

The bomb!

Jerry from Sandy, UT on 12/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are the best wireless; buy with confidence.

Pros: The best

Cons: Price. but we'll worth it.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

All but the battery performance

Bhavesh from Zachary, LA on 12/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound amazing; as advertised. Battery, umm nowhere near 30 hours suggested. In about 3 hours, it showed 20% battery life. Not sure if the software is reporting inaccurate information or battery is not as good as advertised.

Pros: Sound quality Connectivity

Cons: Battery Battery Battery

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Douglas Paul from Curtis, MI on 11/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have several headphones, these are the best sounding headphones I have. Easy to hook up. Very pleased with them!

Pros: Best sound

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

highly recommended, very comfortable!

Salvatore from Spring Hill, FL on 11/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent noise cancelling, nice bass extension, highly recommended, very comfortable!

Pros: excellent noise cancelling balanced sound tight bass very comfortable

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Donald from Chesapeake, VA on 11/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super comfortable for hours! Really shuts out the outside sounds. Great for watching super-hero and sci-fi movies late at night without waking the rest of the family!

Pros: Everything except one little thing!

Cons: That one little thing-a hard hit to the ol' wallet!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Leight

David from Rockford, MI on 11/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Light weight and very comfortable. Does a great job noise cancellation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Upgrade from XM3

Dean from Boston, MA on 11/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My XM3's have logged many airline miles and were top of the line when I got them. Have only tried the XM5's at home with my stereo playing airplane noises but they seem to have better noise cancelling and are more comfortable. Looking forward to using them on a cross-country flight next week.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

John from Gaithersburg, MD on 10/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Comfortable, easy to use and sound quality is great. Noise cancelling and microphone performance is top notch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Just get it already

S from Charlotte, NC on 9/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'll have to go with all others and give it a full five stars. Lows, mids, highs are very well enunciated with faithful rendition. The noise canceling is excellent. The soft padded muffs are comfy without being overly tight. This set of headphones punches very well above its weight class given its price point. I can't really fault anything with this product.

Pros: Reasonably priced audiophile headphones. Very good highs, mids, and lows. The bass is clear and strong. High clarity. Nothing is muddy or masked. Sound is clean and pleasing. Comfortable. Noise canceling works very well.

Cons: Not that portable but that's because they're over the ear phones. A bit heavy compared to the ease and comfort of earbuds but that's an unfair comparison.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Stephen from Apopka, FL on 9/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I generally don't like noise reduction in my headphones since it there's no way to get around the fact that it is a sound modifier, but I don't mind having the noise reduction on with these headphones. The app is also very helpful.

Pros: Good sound overall

Cons: Could have more room for my ears.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Paul from Wiloughby Hls, OH on 8/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound and very comfortable

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Outstanding all the way around!

Douglas from Baldwin City, KS on 8/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

just as advertised!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Matthew from Apex, NC on 8/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've never owned a pair of headphones of this caliber so I don't have a huge pool of comparisons to draw from, but the sound quality (it feels theater-like in its richness) and impressive noise cancelling easily make this worth the cost to me. I'll add that Crutchfield's open box program is great. If it weren't for the package being resealed with a little extra tape, I wouldn't have known these weren't new.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Awsome

Anthony from Jermyn, PA on 8/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awsome Sound & fit Controls are in spot I keep hitting by mistake.

Pros: Sound fit

Cons: Control position

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

CHRISTY from CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA on 8/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are comfortable and mute the surrounding noises even when off. With the noise cancelling on, other noises distant. Add music on top of that, and I'm in my own world. I use them at the office when I need to concentrate or when I'm the only one in my immediate area. I'll be taking them on a trip soon and am excited to see how they work on a plane.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Sony XM line continues to get better

Amy from CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA on 8/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've been very loyal to my Sony XM3's for many years. So, I was hesitant to try Sony's newest model. In doing so, I would say that the XM5's are definitely superior (to an already superior product in the XM3!) in terms of sound quality and technology advancements. They're also nice looking, streamlined, and lightweight. To note: I found the new ear pads to a bit less comfortable and soft than the XM3's, perhaps because the XM5's hadn't yet worn in? Hard to know if that will change over time (and it very well may). Otherwise, it's clear that Sony's newest noise-cancelling star product deserves a spot at the top!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great for voice calls

Michael from Fredericksburg, VA on 8/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far, these have been pretty impressive. A full charge has lasted a full week of conference calls. I primarily use these for voice calling in my home office. The noise canceling feature has been nice to use with a busy home. App is taking some time to get used to, lacking some features which is knocking the rating to 4 stars.

Pros: Comfortable Long Charge on Battery Noise Canceling

Cons: App could be better

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Matthew from Ruckersville, VA on 8/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These headphones sound amazing. The noise canceling works very well and the mic does a phenomenal job at filtering out background noise. I am extremely satisfied with my purchase!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

My favorite over the ear bluetooth cans yet

JASON from Charlottesville, VA on 8/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These headphones have about as much detail as I have ever gotten from a set of Bluetooth cans, with enough low frequency response to be enjoyable without those same frequencies overwhelming the rest of the music. Great battery life, and a nice slim yet protective case for when I travel with them.

Pros: More detail than similarity priced around the ear Bluetooth cans. More bass than similarity priced cans, but not overbearing

Cons: They don't have the detail of my wired cans, though they do have the option of running wired. I need to bring my old player out of retirement to see how they sound wired.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Hearing is believing

Robert from Corvallis , OR on 8/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Put these on and say goodbye to the world. The sound is lush and full and brings out detail I didn't know was there. What a wonderful device.

Pros: Incredibly beautiful sound, comfortable to wear.

Cons: It would be great if they had a greater tolerance to water.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Solid!

Phil from Tustin, CA on 7/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I researched endlessley for headphones that would be great for the office, but also for listening to music and decided to buy these over the Bose Quiet Comfort 45. I've had these for a couple of weeks and so far, so good! I think the noise canceling is fantastic and definitely blocks most, if not all unwanted noise, so that you can focus. The sound quality (bass through treble) is surprisingly good for a non audiophile set of headphones. My only negative experience is that my right ear hurts after wearing these for over an hour...definitely not a dealbreaker and understand universal ear cups aren't comfortable for everyone.

Pros: Excellent noise cancelling, great for meetings at work, and good sound quality for music.

Cons: Fit isn't 100% comfortable and I cannot wear these for extended periods of time, but understand you can only do so much with a standard size of ear cups.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very high quality with some issues

Richard from Scotch Plains, NJ on 7/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like the headphones. Very quiet. It did not come with use instructions. I was a bit disappointed at that. I was also a bit disappointing that their advertisements don't mention that the "360 reality audio" is something that you have to pay to subscribe to. I would have liked to know that going into it. I thought it was Sony's version of Apples Spatial audio which is an awesome feature that does not cost extra.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Philip from Lititz, PA on 7/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I first tried the XM4 and returned them within the 60-day window (Crutchfield's return process is super easy) for the main reason that the sound quality was not cutting it for me. Shortly thereafter I purchased the XM5, which I am keeping. The sound is great--in my opinion a huge improvement over the XM4. The muddy bass is gone, and the sound balance and detail are much improved--a pleasure to listen. Regarding the noise-cancelling performance, I thought that the XM4 was very good; however, as with the sound quality, the noise-cancelling performance of the XM5 is a great improvement over the XM4. I do think that the XM4 wins over the XM5 in terms of comfortability of wearing mainly on account of the narrow headband of the XM5 that can create hot spots. But the XM5 is sufficiently comfortable for me. For sound quality and noise-cancelling performance, which are my personal two priorities in noise-cancelling headphones, the XM5 is worth the extra price over the XM4.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Hands down, best in the price range

Brett from Indianapolis, IN on 6/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My trusty 1000XM3 headphones finally gave out, and I wasted no time replacing them with the latest version of these amazing headphones from Sony. These headphones smoke anything in the same price range. I can't recommend them enough.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent response and sound quality

Vlad from Medford, NJ on 6/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I owned Sony WH-1000XM3, WH-1000XM4, and this one so far is the best in response, comfort, and music quality. XM5 has Bluetooth 5.2, and the response to turn, pause, and play is instantaneous.

Pros: Fast response. Dedicated ANC button. Very comfortable.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

Wildaliz from Guayama, PR on 6/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The sound and product quality is amazing!

Pros: Really comfortable, stable and the sound quality is very good.

Cons: It can't get wet. So, no sweating.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM5

James from Jackson, MS on 6/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

As good as advertised. Fits well and cancels most noises.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Awesome

John from Jamestown, NY on 5/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great headphones

Pros: - comfortable - good sound quality

Cons: - none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

Compare the sound