Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
406 910 757 4
Connect ID #
406 910 757 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Sony MEX-M72BT

Sony MEX-M72BT Marine CD receiver

MFR # MEXM72BT

4.5 out of 5 stars
64 reviews
View this product
Upgrading to the MEX-M72BT

Steve from Portsmouth, RI on 1/18/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Radio was a replacement for an older Sony MEX-R1 (circa 2007) a multi disc player in an RV. After splicing in the new plug, installation was straighforward. The intial sound impression is good and the controls and remote are easy to use. CD player is convenient and will get plenty of use. I do miss the DVD capability of the R1 and have to install a standalone DVD player. I haven't yet used the Bluetooth interface but I anticipate no problems. I selected the marine version as a better choice for an RV.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Sound, Nice Sony

Paul from Chapel Hill, TN on 12/30/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just installed, but like everything so far. This replaced an older Clarion unit that had decided to stop working after many years. The Sound is great and it looks good in the dash. The multiple choices for button and display lighting is real nice. I'm older and the screen contrast works for me, I chose white background. I like that it has CD, even though I use a USB mostly. I definitely had to read the manual to learn all the buttons since most have different uses in different situations, but it has been easy to use after learning. I recommend this Sony!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Sal from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 12/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My stereo on my 2004 Flht Harley finally gave up the ghost. Bought the bike brand new, so 20years ain't too shabby. Was doing internet search for new radio/cd player and ran across Crutchfield site. Saw the radio and not being a tech guy I called and spoke to Dante. He assured me that it's a good system, marine quality,waterproof, blue tooth. He assured me it would fit. I ordered it and it arrived 2 days later, free shipping to South Florida. I also purchased the install kit. Brought the bike to local bike shop that specializes in V twin. Whole job took one hour start to finish. Getting familiar with the unit, love it great sound. Lex the wrench who installed it was impressed with the radio and install kit. Dante assured me it would be a perfect fit. Nice guy to deal with. Will definitely do business with them again should the need arise

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

John from Farmland, IN on 11/15/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fast service , quality product very fare price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A Marine-standard radio for a car: Great product

To from Newton Center, MA on 9/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This radio does an excellent job with the usual demands on contemporary electronics. It has a CD player for those who might want one for their own recordings, for classical music or for special applications like lectures distributed on CD; it also accomodates inputs from a smartphone and of course offers radio. The radio sensitivity and reception is excellent on both AM and FM. Voices are clear and music is not distorted even at loud volume. Musicality and range are very good for an uncomplicated in-dash system. Controls are easily accessed and solid. The user interface is also clear and easy to read. There is a solid USB port that I would expect to stand up to regulat use. The Bluetooth connection is easy and reliable. Finally, the radio is water resistant. This is a function of its marine heritage. While not a requirement for most applications, in convertibles or in very humid climates, it is good to have electronics built to this standard. Installation and operation are equally straightforward. This is a great radio and CD player not only for its price point, but overall for its purpose.

Pros: Easy to install and to use. Very high quality electronics. Bluetooth, USB and other connections are easily made. CD player built in. Audio output is clear and musical with very little, if any audible distortion. Attractive and water resistant. Very good price point.

Cons: None I have found.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Radio and CD Player

Dennis from Fort Wayne, IN on 9/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I originally bought a Kenwood without a CD, but after looking at the wiring I would have to do to replace the 10 yr old Sony that was in my pontoon, I called Crutchfield to check if I could just unplug one and plug in the new one if I bought another Sony. She checked with a technician who checked the wiring on my old one compared to a new model. He said they were the same, so she sent me the Sony and issued a return label for the Kenwood. The great part was is that Sony was on sale for $30 off! So, I got a radio with a CD player (yes, I do have a lot of CDs that I wouldn't have been able to use with Kenwood) for the same price! The Sony required just unplugging the old one from the back of the radio and plugging the new one in! Works and sounds great with the Bass Boost. I thought that the BT wasn't working the other day but found that the BT was turned off on my phone! Thank You Crutchfield!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Kevin from Perkinsville, VT on 9/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awsome tunner for my harley real fast shipping great place to shop highly recommend two thumbs up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Jeffrey from East Bank, WV on 9/5/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installation was straightforward no problems. Getting it connected to phone and set up was hardest for me. Stereo sound and works great. I would recommend this stereo. Crutchfield was great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value!

John from Madison, WI on 8/15/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This stereo sounds great and has a lot of features especially for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Revamp

Alfred from GREENVILLE, NC on 6/8/2023

2013 Harley-Davidson Road Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Sony MEX-M72BT is a replacement for my weather tested 9 yr old Sony MEX- M70BT on my 2013 Harley Davidson Road Glide. Both was purchased from Crutchfield. Installation was easy and the sound is great. My Android pairing was quick and easy. Thanks Crutchfield. Until my next order. ???

Pros: Very good Headunit for the price Simple instructions.

Cons: I have none.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Overall

Francis from Brewerton, NY on 6/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

fairly easy setup....companion Android app a little disappointing.

Pros: Value

Cons: limited display

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Nonie from Hastings, MN on 6/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install. Works great for Bluetooth.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Lars from Hurricane, UT on 6/1/2023

2010 Harley-Davidson Street Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed this radio in my 2010 Harley Davidson Street Glide. Was an easy install and it sounds awesome.

Pros: Clear sound Loud sound

Cons: Menus are a bit non user friendly

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product, Fast Shipping

Justin from Shippensburg, PA on 5/24/2023

2010 Hyundai Genesis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Radio was exactly as described and very easy to install in my Boat. All functions work perfectly including bluetooth and sound amazing. Shipping was also extremely fast and item was shipped out same day my order was placed!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Thomas K from Seal Beach, CA on 5/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit is outstanding. But you need a degree from MIT to figure out all the functions it will do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fill your dash hole in and buy a more modern head unit.

Crutchfield customer from Eau Claire, WI on 7/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Ok, but dated interface. Who really needs a CD player? Mediocre BT reception. Hard to navigate menus. Too many buttons. Makes a beep-beep-beep-beep noise every time when turning the power off. Returned it for a Fusion 2XX - much, much better. Crutchfield was wonderful to work with for the return. They are first class. Five stars to them!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Solid choice

Crutchfield customer from Stockton, CA on 6/11/2021

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great. Simple setup. Buttons fee sturdy.

Pros: Short frame so it leaves space for wiring behind it.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Bolivar, TN on 6/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed on my boat and we are very pleased with the sound quality.

Pros: Great price and sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Schodack Lndg, NY on 6/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good, basic receiver for my boat. Very satisfied

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, PA on 5/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great stereo lots of power & features!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Cedar Brook, NJ on 5/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like the unit, particularly wanted CD player. Found the installation instructions helpful, did not find the set-up and operation instructions clear or intuitive.

Pros: CD Player, good FM reception.

Cons: Set-up and operation instructions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from National City, MI on 5/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great timing on shipping from Crutchfield! Good pricing on a nice marine Sony unit. Have yet to install, but will install and review. Then

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 5/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Ist time customer, can't comment on our new auto radio yet, it arrived and we flew out of town 3 days later. But I can comment on service. GREAT!!! Dutch was very helpful, thorough, patient and knowledgeable with answering all my questions and concerns. As for the shipping, arrived earlier than expected, and well packaged. So, thus far, 5 stars all the way. Yet to be determined, performance of the new audio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Sun City, CA on 5/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great and easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Marathon, FL on 4/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love its simplicity! Easy installation. Wish it accommodated my clarion cd changer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 3/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good overall deck. Used in a Harley street glide

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Melbourne Beach, FL on 2/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This radio was a perfect fit for my boat. It was very easy to install. It works better than the original radio that came in the boat.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT ????

Crutchfield customer from New Rochelle, NY on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Reliable for the price. Plays great easy to install can't go wrong.????

Pros: Easy read display, plug and play

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Jeep radio!

Crutchfield customer from Glen Allen, VA on 11/4/2020

2008 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio for an open (or closed) Jeep! It came with everything I needed to install it and play, including good instructions. The only quirk was having to use the "reset" option prior to use to get my rear speakers to play. Thank you, Crutchfield!

Pros: Water resistant USB port Simple install

Cons: A lot of unused options for somebody who likes it simple.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A very good radio for the Jeep.

Crutchfield customer from Seguin, TX on 10/25/2020

1995 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A very good radio for the Jeep. The built in amp gives it just enough thump without overpowering the mid and highs. Enough power to hear over the noise of the all terrain tires.

Pros: Built in amp.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Richardson, TX on 10/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It is a good product but does not fit into the opening in my boat and wiring does not match up to easily be reinstalled.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Schaumburg, IL on 10/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works and sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 9/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

lots of features, easy to use, removable faceplate, sounds good, powers 4 speakers, dims & brightness controls, good price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Woodbine, MD on 9/17/2020

1976 AMC Hornet

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I ordered this because it was shown as a Replacement for one I used in a previous car, and I liked that one. This one is close and has most of the functions, and I wanted the front mount USB port. Sounds good, and has good bass.

Pros: Easy to use, front mount USB port.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Buy a Fusion.

George from Fort Thomas, KY on 8/17/2020

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is an OK marine receiver but... the UI is a mess. Bluetooth is slow to connect to programmed devices. You have to run the yellow wire to an always on battery source or the unit looses everything and reverts to factory settings. You'll need to re-pair your Bluetooth devices each time and the bluetooth pairing is a pain. I also bought a Fusion marine radio and I like it much better. Simple and bullet proof. Just works.

Pros: Lots of features and sound is good.

Cons: Confusing buttons and UI. Bluetooth is older 3.0 and is slow to connect.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Palm Coast, FL on 8/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I just had it installed on a center console boat and it plays well. Good reception. No amplifier needed. I only use it for CD's and rarely tuner. I'm still learning some of the basic features but it doesn't seem complicated. I would recommend it .

Pros: easy to install and use.

Cons: It took me awhile to figure out how to change modes and lock it in.I'm the problem more than the machine! (tuner/CD/Bluetooth/Phone etc)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Dennis from NAPA, CA on 8/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not at all happy with it. I have to turn the volume knob several revolutions to get the volume up or down. Blue tooth is horrible, I have to re-pair with my phone every time I start my car.... easier to use the usb cable. Microphone not working, I can make a call, but person on other end cannot hear. I have not even tried to place a call as I do not have confidence that it will work. Over all I feel like I threw away my money. I will be replacing it soon

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/11/2020
Dennis, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good unit, lacking in a couple areas.

Charlie from Mason, MI on 7/25/2020

2007 Cadillac CTS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good sound delivery and simple to install. However, the menus are a bit confusing to navigate and the main volume dial feels like it's catching and is going to fall off out of the box. The knob feels very cheap. Reminded every time I touch the volume. Overall a decent replacement for most stock boat stereos.

Pros: Bluetooth connection seems flawless so far, easy installation.

Cons: Cheap feeling volume knob, menus are confusing to wade through

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Back of radio get Very Hot to the touch after 20 minutes

Crutchfield customer from Houghton Lake, MI on 7/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed this radio on my pontoon boat and after having the radio on for 20 minutes, the back of the radio is very HOT to the touch. I replaced a Clarion marine radio in the council where there was plenty air space around the radio. I have tried to contact Sony about this and have not been successful. I tried to contact them by phone and after 45 minutes on hold, I still did not contact anyone. I then sent in an email to the tech support about this issue and it has not been 5 days and still no reply. I did get an autoreply that a case # has been created.

Pros: Unknown at this time

Cons: Back of radio gets very hot after 20 minutes of play Sony tech support does not answers questions in a timely matter. Sony tech support call center long wait time

Crutchfield response on 7/27/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great!

Crutchfield customer from Sherman Oaks, CA on 7/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great system, and well-priced. Still plays the old CDs!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 7/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Radio works great, replaced a very old Sony in a boat and makes the overall system sound way better. Looks great and the buttons are easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Replace marine stereo

Crutchfield customer from Fort Thomas, KY on 6/27/2020

2002 Cadillac Escalade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I replaced an older model Called crutch field rep to make sure new model would fit the same. He gave me a few options and everything fit perfect. Sounds great.

Pros: Fit perfect replacing old model. Instructions easy to read. Stereo had all the options I needed. Sounds great.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, GA on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had a little trouble wiring on boat was a little different , but as far as radio very good quality so far as well as tuner for SiriusXM

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Watertown, MA on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good stereo for the money but it's hard to navigate through all the menu options to get what setting you need to configure. Also, the bluetooth range is about 10 feet - not sure if it's the unit or my Android but I'm still trying to figure that out. Overall OK but a few setbacks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Goodland, FL on 6/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good shipping and on time. Unit sounds great with good power.Taking me some time to figure out the settings. Just too many for my use but will use only what I want.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Harriman, TN on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great for my 1997 Jeep wrangler.

Pros: Works great for my needs

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Bismarck, ND on 6/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works as advertised. Love the remote.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from West Chicago, IL on 6/16/2020

1999 Oldsmobile Bravada

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install sounds great easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Fairport, NY on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Decent replacement for my boat... this has bluetooth and usb support which my old one did not

Pros: bluetooth and usb support. Decent volume

Cons: not a fan of the detachable face as it is probably the biggest point of failure

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great upgrade from my old marine stereo

Crutchfield customer from Mt Zion, IL on 6/8/2020

2003 Honda S2000

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This stereo replaces an older Sony Marine stereo on my boat. The installation was very straight forward. The unit itself produces good sound through my 4 speakers without any additional amplification . The faceplate is easily removable for security purposes. The display is clear and easily viewed at any light level. It cycles through multiple colors which adds a fun visual component. It was easy to automatically tune my local radio stations. I appreciate the CD slot in the faceplate; my old unit required opening the front to add or remove a CD. This stereo also links to my phone through Blue Tooth which allows me to play music from my Pandora app and to receive and make phone calls with the dash mounted microphone. It is satellite radio ready, though I don't feel the need to pay for yet another satellite subscription when I can play tunes from my phone. There are also auxiliary and USB inputs on the faceplate if you want to attach another music source (like my old Ipod!). The display can also show the current voltage of the boat battery so I don't kill my battery with power drain while sitting anchored in the lake. The display also auto-dims when I turn on the navigation lights on the boat, adjusting the light level for night time use. Overall, this is a great marine stereo for the price. Definitely recommend this one.

Pros: Good sound without needing additional amplification AM/FM/CD/Blue Tooth/Satellite ready/Auxiliary inputs/Optional subwoofer output/Dash mount microphone for phone use Colorful easy to read display; auto-dims with nav lights Boat battery monitor

Cons: None identified at this point!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Waupaca, WI on 6/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Absolutely love this stereo!!! No issues with install, and it sounds great.

Pros: Excellent sound!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marine stereo

Crutchfield customer from Montgomery, TX on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound! All the features I need. Replaced an 8 year old Sony unit in my boat.

Pros: Blue tooth, USB, pre amp outputs,

Cons: RM X60 M remote is not compatible. My boat has 2 of these.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

This is all you need for the water.

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does everything I want it to do. The bluetooth connection process was a little clunky at first, but once I disconnected one device and connected another a few times I got the hang of it. Great radio for the price. If you looking for BT receiver for your boat, this is all you need.

Pros: Easy connections, quick install.

Cons: BT a bit clunky and somewhat complicated to connect and connect another device. Needs a battery back-up for memory. Every marine radio should have battery backup for memory as many boats today have battery switches to turn off all power to everything. Frustrating to have to reset everything every time you go out on the water. This is a flaw in EVERY radio I researched, not just this one.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I'm beyond happy

Crutchfield customer from Bridgeport, CT on 5/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great look, sound and features. I wont use the CD function but everything else is perfect for my needs and wants.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

RIck M. from Winchendon, MA on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased a Marine Sony radio, bracket, and electrical clips. Sales person was JC and did an outstanding job. Walked me through my purchase. Which arrived 3 days later. Thank you .

Pros: Great product, the sales person made this a very easy transaction. ( JC ) installing tomorrow.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Waterford, WI on 4/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed easily and sounds great in the garage. Being installed in a boat, I won't be on the water for another month.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding Value for Quality Water-resistant Unit

Crutchfield customer from Watertown, SD on 3/28/2020

1998 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great upgrade to sound system in my '98 Wrangler. Outstanding value at discounted price. Initial bluetooth sync with iphone was a little challenging but it eventually sync'd and works very well. Appears to be very durable and water resistant. Sound is decent (I have an upgraded sound bar and front speakers but no sub, so sound quality potential isn't that high in my jeep with the top down anyway and this has plenty of power to deliver what I want).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, SC on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It seems like a decent stereo for the price. It definitely sounds good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Radio

Crutchfield customer from Kissimmee, FL on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This radio is better than I thought. It was difficult to install, but that was because of the old radio I was taking out.

Pros: 2 phones can be connected to the bluetooth at once. Microphone picks up great in my Jeep Wrangler.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Caryville, TN on 7/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Its has few steps to get your Bluetooth hooked up, but overall good radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Richard from Sartell, MN on 7/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Seems to be working out. Unfortunately, it takes so long to adjust the EQ and other adjustments. Installed on my Harley and needed an ad on so the stereo would work with my control buttons...not so impressed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Crownsville, MD on 6/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed this unit in my trawler boat. I chose it because it works with a wired remote which I use from the bridge. By plugging in my Ipod to the radio, I can control all the functions of the Ipod fro the bridge.

Pros:

Cons: I thought the Bluetooth range would be greater

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M72BT

Crutchfield customer from Parker, CO on 6/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It is a little weird how they have the system set up to get to all the function.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Hard to install

Crutchfield customer from New Kensington, PA on 6/10/2019

2011 Harley-Davidson Street Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Can't get the speakers to work. Called once and they sent info but not enough help.

Pros: Good price

Cons: Cant get it to work properly.

Crutchfield response on 6/12/2019
This customer contacted our Tech Support team again for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 6 found this helpful

Compare the sound