Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
135 036 947 4
Connect ID #
135 036 947 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

The Epicenter® by AudioControl

The Epicenter® by AudioControl Bass restoration processor (Black)

MFR # 841-019-8

5.0 out of 5 stars
93 reviews
View this product
Worth it

Jeff from Sharpsburg, GA on 1/23/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does exactly what is says it does. I listen to a lot of rock music and the Epicenter allows me to take advantage of my entire stereo install by adding sub bass where it should be. It isn't just a bass knob that turns up bass, it adds bass into frequencies that it didn't previously exist.

Pros: Wider range of bass for all types of music

Cons: None that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from EL PASO, TX on 1/11/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

love it. makes Spanish music. sound. good. and pink Floyd sound amazing

Pros: easy. to. connect and to adjust

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Angel from Turlock, CA on 11/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Packaged very well and secured nicely. Worked perfect just like I expected. Overall very good product would recommend to others.

Pros: Helped with Latin music a lot with the missing base that it needed. Easy to install and pretty straight forward

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Only the Best!!

Rodolfo from Baldwin Park, CA on 2/21/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love this epicenter. Since the first time I owned one 20 plus years ago. I was convinced. It's the best!!

Pros: Super easy to install.

Cons: Not having a car to put it in!!.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audio control epicenter

Jay from Oakland, CA on 2/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you're wondering if the audio control epicenter is worth the money: the answer is yes. I have a basic install: sub and amplifier & audio control LC2I Sundown sub & sundown amp in a ported box it sounded decent before but once I got the epicenter it was a game changer. ?? Every song just has crazy bass

Pros: Deep bass. Does what its supposed to do.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Derek from Staunton, VA on 1/23/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great addition to any system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Product

Matt from Washington, WV on 1/21/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Using this in my Home Theater room for enhancing bass to any source that has a thin bottom end like many music cd's from when I grew up in the 1980's! Adds natural sounding bass as long as you don't over do it. I usually have the effect knob around 1:00 to 2:00 oclock. Having three 18" 2000 watt subwoofers I replaced the OEM 33 HZ subsonic filter chip with a 15 HZ. Moreover, I set the output to 2.5 volts to not overdrive the sub amps.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Brings the Bass

Jeremy from Sioux Falls, SD on 8/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Epicenter is for everyone who enjoys music. With so many vehicles not being able to remove the factory radio and having to work with factory bass roll-off, the original Epicenter is exactly what is needed to bring life back into your music. It doesn't matter what genre you listen to (I listen to just about everything) the Epicenter will bring back the missing low end and have you enjoying the music the way the artist intended. Audio Control really understands sound processing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Every system needs this

Hector from La Mesa, CA on 7/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Where have you been my whole life. Brings my whole system to life. If you're on the fence about adding this to your system just do it. You'll thank yourself immediately.

Pros: Brings older tracks to life and new ones to another level

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Estevan from Kingman, AZ on 6/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Budjet friendly..kinda. But it is worth every penny.. i highly recommend for those who listen to mexican music!

Pros: Small and easy to install

Cons: Can cause distortion if not carefull

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Richard from Chattanooga, TN on 5/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought it for my son's car and he loves it. I've always included an Epicenter in every build I've ever done for my self, even in my home theater. It takes a little tweaking to get it to work like the 1st generation Epicenter. The only thing I don't like is how the knob works compared to the 1st generation. The 1st generation knob is a push/pull to enable/disable the Epicenter whereas this one you just turn the knob up and down like a volume control

Pros: It does what it advertises.

Cons: I prefer the 1st generation over this generation.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

This is the ANSWER

Andrew De from MILILANI, HI on 5/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have a P500 Rockford Fosgate powered subwoofer and when I first heard it in my car it was amazing, then as I upgraded my door speakers with Kicker KS coax, Alpine CDE172 single din w/ CD player and a Kicker key 200.4 amp, the sub got lost in the mix and was having to tweak gains on both amp and sub. My sub was not hitting the lows where I want it. After looking high and low in the internet and YouTube, I came across on Car Audio Fabrication and it featured the epicenter on what it can do. Immediately after watching the video I went to Crutchfield looked it up and ordered it. When it arrived I followed the instructions from audio control installed it and then the magic happened. Mind blowing BASS, now it doesn't make it louder, it makes it more richer,warmer,cleaner and punch. It has a more balance sound and the DSP from the kicker key is more noticeable since installing the epicenter. Now my entire sound system is what I was looking for. Thank you to Audiocontrol on making good sound GREAT. Thank you to Crutchfield, always making my drive much more enjoyable.

Pros: It will blow your mind no matter what type of music you listen to.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Leonard from La Place, LA on 5/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love these. I have bought 2 so far and they definitely enhance your bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Doesn't disappoint

Adam from Stickney, IL on 5/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does exactly what it's made for. Easy to install.

Pros: Price, quality and ease of install.

Cons: Only thing that disappointed me and surprised me was that it came with no screws to mount the epicenter itself and the knob.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Gabino from Pittsburg, TX on 4/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Makes a big difference in bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Impressive Unit

Michael Townsend from Macon, GA on 3/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow what a difference this makes for your sound system! It just makes your subs come alive. I listen to a lot of different genres and the Epicenter makes it all sound better! My shallow mount Kicker Comp RT 10" subs sound like a pair of 12s. It gives your music an extra punch to make it come alive. I am VERY pleased with the Epicenter! It sounds great with rock, rap, jazz, and whatever else you want to throw at it. I think a big misconception is that people look at it as a bass booster or a device used by bass heads. I'm telling you that this won't disappoint. I listened to music for over an hour after installing it and will enjoy driving to work more now. It's just like what Audio Control says, making a good system sound great.

Pros: Easy install Bass response is impressive Sounds great no matter what genre you listen to Price is reasonable for what this unit does Really does make a good system sound great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Agustin from Miami, FL on 3/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit is a must for any installation. After reading much on it I decided to get one for my system. Did an before and after comparison and this little box puts out bass frequencies previously not there. Especially if you listen to forms digital music this is a must have. It has enough features to let you tune the right amount of bass in your car without hassles. I recently upgraded my stereo system from stock and definitely needed this as all my music library is digital. The Epicenter complements very weel in my simple system. Being its a convertible the bass can still be felt even with the top down. I can't be any happier with the Epicenter performance. Highly recommend this processor.

Pros: Does what its meant to do. Control knob to adjust bass volume. Easy to install and setup. Compact size.

Cons: To access additional settings the top cover needs to come off.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Recommend!

Gabriel from PHOENIX, AZ on 1/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I always used to remember some peoples cars the bump on certain songs but mine didn't This thing is amazing for it price and quality Very happy with my purchase Adding bass to songs I like that don't have bass that's amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Daniel from Linden, CA on 1/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

BOOM, amazing bass, great for hard rock!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Changed all My Doubts to Belief .

Kendall from Homewood, IL on 1/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This Was my First Epic Center, I have used audio control products before, lc6i lc2 and got the Same Great Results from this epic center. ?????? Completely Satisfied with the Results. Crisp and Deeper Bass With No Noticable Distortion. Which allowed me to Get the full Pound of each Bass Note.

Pros: Compact and hidden in plain sight. Mounted right under radio in the front near firewall. Looks like it came with the car.

Cons: Epic Center has no Cons, it was Me that was the problem, I should have purchased one sooner. I'm a firm believer in all Audio Control Products now.??

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Epicenter is amazing

Alex from Rialto, CA on 1/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Epicenter meets up to its expectations

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Enjoy

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 12/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent product

Pros: Excellent product

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, KS on 12/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

really boosted my bass. Love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The critical missing piece to really unlock good sound

Kimball from GREENSBORO, NC on 12/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was skeptical, but now I am very impressed. My complete system is as follows: Pioneer Avh-w4500nex head Pioneer Gm-d9705 amp Pioneer Gm-dx871 amp Pioneer TS-A6990f 6x9s Pioneer TS-A692C 6-1/2 component speakers Pioneer TS-A2500lb 10" sub x2 Sundown Audio Sd-4 12 12" sub JL Audio twk-88 Audiocontrol epicenter Car is a Sprinter 170 extended super high roof. The largest possible van. I originally just had all of the pioneer equipment, that I bought hoping to install a quick and dirty system of components that were designed to work well together. It turned out sort of OK, but a bit muddy and underwhelming, with bad roll off below about 60hz in the subs, and really bad roll off in the component speakers below 200hz. I decided to add the 12" sub and the twk-88 so I could tune the 12 to hit the lows, and tune the 10s to fill out the components. It was better, but still still had significant roll off on the bottom, no matter what type of source I tried. So I added the epicenter. And it is AWESOME. I don't even have the 12 in right now, and the system HITS all the way down. I was just trying to get good sound quality, but now I have serious BUMP. It really opens up the tuning options a LOT. The only immediate downside is that it adds subharmonics to spoken word that makes people sound demonic, but I think that I can probably tune that out in time. This really turned out to be the crucial element that let me stop chasin

Pros: Adds in what's missing so you don't have to try and band-aid around it. Adds incredible bump that I didn't think my system would even be capable of.

Cons: Makes spoken voices sound like they're possessed by demons, but I think that this can be tuned out, and the supplied control knob lets you turn the unit basically all the way off in the meantime. Speaking of which, you *must* attach the control knob if you want this unit to add anything. There is no middle ground default without it, it's just basically off.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Must have

Crutchfield customer from Felton, PA on 12/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love this made my subs come alive!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Manteca, CA on 11/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The one component I didn't know I needed! Couldn't believe the amount bass restored, and tuning was simple. 2000's r&b/hip-hop sound great!

Pros: Very easy to install, plenty of information to i stall correctly

Cons: Only con is the bass knob it's be nice to have a dual knob.. rumor has it epicenter micro will have such feature

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth the price. Epicenter

Crutchfield customer from Marlton, NJ on 11/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's honestly everything the reviews say. I had removed the Bose sound system out of my 89 Vette. In the rear I mounted 6x9s because the enclosures are huge. The sound was just ok no real definitive bass. I did not want to mount separate subs and the 6x9s had a 50x2 amp. I installed the epicenter, adjusted it and BAM! Unbelievable. I even have thump now. I don't have it adjusted to add overkill bass, I just want the music to have some punch where it belongs. I love the remote because some songs , depending on when and how they are recorded cause too much base and I can adjust it on the fly.I wish I was aware of this product before I added a separate subwoofer in my 2000 Camaro ss convertible

Pros: Small and compact Minimal power draw Easy to install and adjust

Cons: None for me

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 11/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This product does more then I thought!! Definitely don't regret buying

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Aguada, PR on 11/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great to have if you love bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Beefing up some of my pre-2000s music

Crutchfield customer from Revere, MA on 11/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a tried and true device. My sole purpose for installing this device on my most recent car audio build is to beef up some of the bass notes on older 80s and 90s music when the recording sound quality wasn't as sharp as it is nowadays . Mostly old rock kick drums for example. I have a very high powered, low frequency playing subwoofer in my car. But if the signal isn't there in my older music collections, it's not gonna play them as loud and thunderous as it will on the newer recorded music in my collection. The Epicenter helps to restore lost music information or strengthen weakly recorded sound. Audiocontrol is one of my favorite and most trusted car audio companies.

Pros: Great for bringing oit those older rock music kick drums

Cons: Maybe a little boomier or synthetic than desired for serious high end SQ builds

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Brings bass back into the music

John from HAMPTON, VA on 11/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's taking me a while to get use to it, I'm still trying to get it dialed in to my liking I replaced my sub after buying it so I'm starting over dialing it in. It's installed before a Kicker mono amp.

Pros: Brings back the missing bass

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Well worth the money and time!

Crutchfield customer from East Syracuse, NY on 11/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

OMG what a remarkable difference! Should have purchased this year's ago. Made my system really come to life! Installation was a breeze and tuning was fun/easy (Note watch YouTube vids). Price very reasonable and delivery very fast. Product delivered undamaged! Thank you Crutchfield.

Pros: Easy Installation, breeze setup, great price, quick delivery, undamaged product, works as designed.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 5 found this helpful

Great price for top-notch Audiocontrol quality.

Crutchfield customer from Nappanee, IN on 11/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have owned Audiocontrol products since the 80s. The Epicenter is without a doubt the best bass restoration product made, as with all Audiocontrol products they are top quality and have unsurpassed support from the team who builds them locally in Washington State.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The best

Crutchfield customer from Olympia, WA on 10/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

works very well when correctly tuned

Pros: Gave bass to songs that don't have bass

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Dos Palos, CA on 10/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Maximize Bass Output With Clean Sound

Crutchfield customer from Waikoloa, HI on 9/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Epicenter is a great way to maximize bass on songs that don't have very much bass I feel it really cleans up the signal and makes everything very clean sounding on the low end don't know what I would do without it. Great job Audio Control thank you for making such great products.

Pros: Really cleans up the signal so you get really clean low bass also adds bass to songs that don't have it great edition to any true car audio fanatic.

Cons: Can damage subwoofers really easily if used wrong.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Product

Crutchfield customer from Blue Springs, MO on 9/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing product never falls short.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Incredible product!

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 9/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you run a factory head unit, you will absolutely need this! Amazing how much bass it restored.

Pros: Works as described. Amazing restoration of missing bass sounds.

Cons: Set up to fine tune is a bit tricky.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Leoti, KS on 9/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My second one. The epicenter never disappoints.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Bay Saint Louis, MS on 9/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great for rock or music without a lot of bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bass WOW Box!

Crutchfield customer from SANTA MONICA, CA on 9/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My two cents - Everybody's running different setup's with different combo's of gear in all different type's of vehicles, but I'll say this after unboxing and testing from Crutchfield's recent delivery: When you insert this device between your source of audio and amplifier in a balanced system (subs/mid bass speakers/enclosures that have already been properly tuned (ie high pass/low pass/nominal sub level & just a little sub level boost on the setting of the amp, width and sweep controls at the 12 o'clock setting, and initially listen with the remote volume set at 12 o'clock to start, I am absolutely astounded at how the "effect" is able to massively deepen the low end as well as provide fantastic Punch! Decent subs/enclosures, will benefit and with remote knob, you can adjust the amount of the low bass/punch "effect" that you desire*. (*You can also can potentially blow subs with too much volume and/or boost level, so use some reasonable sensibility when operating to save$) Word of caution considering installation...Make sure your power wiring is rated for correct gauge for length and amperage-carrying capability, and your battery, alternator, and ground cable/lug also properly rated , because when the "effect" is on, it will demand larger amounts of instantaneous current from your sub amplifier(s) , as I witnessed observing a amperage meter on a pwr supply . BASS will never be the same, and once you experience this, you won't want to remove it from your system! 8-)

Pros: - Fantastic, desirable, low bass! - Small pkg for easy, space saving install - Easy on the wallet, good value for the awesome effect it provides - Custom fine tuning the shape, and girth of the effect - Remote knob allows for level adjustment of low bass effect - Solid construction providing years of use if taken care of - Status lighting showing power and effect audio present - Sold by an industry leader with years of R&D history in mobile audio electronics

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Its Great !

Crutchfield customer from San Leandro, CA on 9/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you need bass in songs that don't have it, this processor will do the trick. It Works best for music that actually needs its bass restored.

Pros: I Don't need to add 40 more subwoofer in my car to finally get bass in songs that don't have it.

Cons: I was looking forward to the 40 subwoofers.??

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Wailuku, HI on 8/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl will make your Bass EPIC!

Crutchfield customer from Burbank, CA on 7/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First time installing an Epicenter, all I can say is "where have you been all my life".. If you are looking to manipulate your Bass, you need this. What I mean by manipulate? Turn of a knob changes the Bass notes to your liking. Especially when streaming music, which I do a lot. Even music that doesn't have a lot of Bass can be adjusted to thump.

Pros: Compact, simple connections, plenty of remote wire.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audio control epicenter

Bigg Chris from Victorville, Ca on 7/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This thing is crazy, i bought it a few years back per recommendation from a co worker, after a demo in his car (2 kicker L5's on 2000 on watt performance technique amp , with a ported box) i was sold . I bought installed it on a crossfire vr1000 with 2 JL audio w2s with sealed box. and it works wonders ive been running one since 2010.

Pros: They sound great you can hear the difference  a little goes a long way with these  small  easy to install

Cons: The clip that holds the wire in the remote tends to break if you remove it, but they dont cost that much to replace And you will be addicted to it

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, TX on 7/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My order came surprisingly fast and was in perfect condition.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works Great

Crutchfield customer from Leander, TX on 7/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works very well with some old CDs that are missing lower frequency notes from the mix. St Peppers, Pet Sounds and Physical Graffiti have never sounded better. Set up in full aftermarket SQ car.

Pros: Everything.

Cons: Can't seem to find any in my case.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Alameda, CA on 6/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Fantastic product awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Johns Island, SC on 6/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is just what I needed sounds great shipping was fast

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Hebron, KY on 6/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fast shipping and a great addition to my system!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburg, CA on 5/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's an awesome product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Darrell from Mississippi on 5/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love this product. It fits nicely sounds great....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Epicenter by Audiocontrol

Crutchfield customer from Beloit, OH on 5/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy to install and it has awesome performance

Pros: Very easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Granite Falls, NC on 4/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Like all audiocontrol products the epicenter is amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Ponce, PR on 4/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Its great , i heard a lot old 80's music and the epicenter add the bass that i need spectacular.I recommend that piece of Audiocontrol.??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 4/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

What a great way to bring your subwoofer to life!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as intended, highly tunable.

Crutchfield customer from Colcord, OK on 4/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this to help with my bass output after replacing my previous dual head unit with an alpine ilx-w650. The alpine did not output as much bass as I could get out of the cheapie dual, so I ordered this to fill in the gaps. It helps some, definitely not a one size fits all solution for my case. However, it does do as advertised out of the box, bass does improve throughout a frequency range, i like to keep it narrow and low frequency to help improve bass down low. This does do a good job all through the frequency range though. With more tuning and maybe some new sub and amp upgrades in my setup this thing will probably shine. I would recommend this for any setup just to help fill in some missing gaps.

Pros: Does as advertised Adjustable remotely Fills in the gaps Highly adjustable Easy to install

Cons: None with the unit itself.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Brings your system to life, must have if you run subs!

Jeffrey from Aurora, CO on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Brought my system to life! I will never build another system again without adding an Epicenter, I now have the low bass I've always wanted.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Gastonia, NC on 2/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great bass restoration. Not for all your genres. Just because it makes your bassnectar sound like garbage doesn't mean it doesn't work. This restores bass that was removed in older recordings due to speaker limitations way back when. Try listening to your classic rock mix with the knob halfway up... ????

Pros: Does what it says

Cons: Doesn't do what it clearly says it doesn't

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 3 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Dinuba, CA on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great quality products never go wrong with a crutchfield purchase

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Fantanstic

Crutchfield customer from Fresno, CA on 12/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Epicenter enhanced the sound of my stock radio adding a deep bass that sounds amazing, i highly recommend it.

Pros: Compact, easy to install and great value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from West Chester, OH on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My Epicenter arrived quickly. Installation was super easy and performed better than anticipated. Not only did it add bass back to music that was lacking it due to how it was edited, the bass in all of my music sounds cleaner.

Pros: Subsonic filter. Solid construction. Great sounding bass.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Epicenter performs magic bass

Crutchfield customer from Fairmont, WV on 11/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I mostly listen to older country and 80s music. I've been into car stereos for about 25 years and had an epicenter back in the day. It finally gave out so I purchased this one. It's the same magic wizardry as my original epicenter. If you listen to music without bass, this item adds it. It's weird, but in a good way. 10/10 would buy again.

Pros: Makes 80s music have bass Adds bass to country music Small

Cons: Doesn't have high inputs but the epicenter plus does if needed.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Indian Trail, NC on 11/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works amazing. I listen Spanish music and works awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Epiccenter

Crutchfield customer from Milwaukee, WI on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The epiccenter is just what my system needed for good clean bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great performing BASS!

Lloyd from Aurora, CO on 10/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

You have to know your equipment and what you intend to use it for. I have the EPICENTER in my system for years and is very please with its performance. First, this unit is placed in front of all your devices in the signal line before the amplifier. There are settings under the cover to change to match the size of your subwoofer. The factory PCM module that comes with the unit is around 33Htz on center, should work for most systems. The "Sweep" knob allows you to pick the center frequency that you want. The Epicenter bass restoration circuit to "maximize". The "Wide" knob adjusts how wide a frequency range The Epicenter will effect. The effective range of the sweep control is 27Hz - 63Hz. The factory setting is detented at 40Hz. There is a lot that can go wrong if you don't know how to set up the unit. For me, Audio Control has done a great job. I hope this helps.

Pros: Very easy to set up in the signal path. Works with any audio system.

Cons: Lack of knowledge about the unit can really hurt the sound you are trying to achieve.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Fontana, CA on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

5 stars

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Better than expected!

Crutchfield customer from Hidalgo, TX on 10/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was not aware of Epicenters, until I heard about this one, and it was better than expected, sound improve was amazing, when i use just MP3 files !

Pros: Remote control helps to do minor adjustments from car front panel

Cons: I think size can be reduced.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Definitely better bass

Crutchfield customer from Anaheim, CA on 9/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This did help out. I have a DQ-61 and the stock head unit in my 16 Accord EX-L would roll off the lower end of the bass. Once The Epicenter was install, the bass hit harder and it sounded deeper. I would definitely add this to my next vehicle I get!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Keller, TX on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install. Works good, but you can over do it with too much. Adds more warm and low end bass

Pros: Clean sound, like remote control to tweak the amount of bass.

Cons: You can overdue the bass and create a bunch of distortion, back off a little and it will sound great.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Essential Bass

Crutchfield customer from Centerville, OH on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Essential for adding a subwoofer to a factory system. My factory system cuts nearly all of the lower bass frequencies to protect the cheap drivers. The epicenter puts the bass back into the signal. Works great. A must have.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 7/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Adds bass to where there's lack or no bass in your music. If you're listening to rap it can bottom out your sub if the sub can't handle low hertz. It truly sounds like an earthquake in your car and you're in the Epicenter.

Pros: Bass adjustments set up near you so you can add or subtract bass.

Cons: Bass control knob adjustment line should be clearly visible. A black line is used and I painted it red.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Katy, TX on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you listen to rap most of the time, I wouldn't recommend getting this. But if you listen to country or anything else that has real instruments, DEFINITELY get this. This will bring out all the missing bass and you will not be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent!!! Works flawlessly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 6/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

good price excellent quality efficiency and speed of delivery

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 5/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Can't go wrong with the original audio control epicenter

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Whitesburg, TN on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked well for what I needed it for. I like the 80"s music, it was my generation. The songs were great but they lacked the deep bass of today's music. A nice compliment to my Kicker system.

Pros: Easy install. Small design. Simple controls.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Crutchfield customer from Fresno, CA on 12/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Work just the way I expected it to. Fit right underneath the captain chair in my Yukon.

Pros:

Cons: Non at all.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Epicenter by AudioControl

Guest from Bismarck ar on 1/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's a must really works and makes the bass really pop

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Quality

Juan from Silverdale, WA on 10/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works as expected. Not the first Epicenter I've owned. I have bought the "off" brand and Audio Control surpasses the competitor in sound quality hands down.

Pros: Awesome sound and quality!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great for some kinds of music, but not all

Scott from Herndon, VA on 6/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I tried this out but ended up returning it as it did not make my kind of music sound better. It really depends on what kind of music you listen to. For example if you listen to older music like classic rock or Spanish music that doesn't have much bass, this device will definitely improve the bass. However if you listen to newer music which already has bass like new rock, metal, or electronic music like EDM then this device will not help you at all. The way it works is it cuts half of the bass out, and the doubles it in a lower octave frequency. For example: if you have +10dB of bass at 80hz, and +10dB of bass at 40hz, then after processing you will have +5dB of bass at 80hz and +15dB of bass at 40hz. If you look in the manual it will show a nice chart and better describe this. So if you play bass heavy songs and then use it, it will actually CUT some of the higher bass and "move" it into the lower frequencies. So low, that my two 12" Alpines couldn't play it very well! Lots of noise and cone movement, but not punchy boomy bass like before this processor. Because of this it made most of the music I listen to sound worse, so I found myself just turning down the knob all of the way which defeats the purpose of it. I also found I had to turn the gain down on my amp because if you are not careful this device can overpower your speakers with too much bass. But like I said, if your music doesn't have much bass to begin with then this device will boost it to a good amount.

Pros: Adds lots of bass, great for large subs (15"+) that can produce low frequencies well

Cons: Can overpower speakers if you are not careful. Does not make all music sound better. Also the controls for the "sweep/width" didn't seem to make any difference.

Crutchfield response on

30 of 38 found this helpful

Great bass

Max gutierrez from Manassas,VA on 5/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good product would definitely continue buying this brand product

Pros: Great bass

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

8 of 9 found this helpful

The Epicenter

Sixtus from Cincinnati, OH on 1/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This product is a buy you can't pass on. If you are looking for enhanced bass then this is the product for you.

Pros: Will do everything it says it will.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Hear and FEEL your music.

Daryl from San Diego, CA on 12/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This functions as somewhat of a bandpass EQ. Use the "sweep" to pinpoint a frequency that you want a strong focus on. Use the "wide" to create the bell-curve of frequencies it will operate in. Don't use your head unit's EQ for the bass frequencies. Let the Epicenter do the work and prepare to be astonished not only by what you hear, but by what you feel. There is no catch-all setting for each type of music. You have to play with it. Amazing product.

Pros: Ridiculous bass. Easy addition to your system.

Cons: I wish AudioControl would put numbers on the dials so that you knew exactly what frequencies you were modifiying.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Unbelievable bass

Ruben from Reedley ca on 11/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed a JL Audio 3v3 10 in a ported box powered by a fosgate 500 amp under the back seat of 2016 ext can sierra. Using stock speakers for kids and highs. Sounds great but on some sounds it didn't hit as hard. So I installed the epi center and omg people don't believe the I'm only running one ten in my truck.it makes a world of difference. Impressive bass on any song

Pros: Easy install inexpensive ext control

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Gives You What You Have Been Missing

Jerry from Texarkana, AR on 10/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had a great sounding system. But it was missing something. My brother said get an Epicenter. The difference was night and day.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Make your own earthquake with the Epicenter!

Charles from Staffordsville, KY on 10/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Epicenter does not only make your bass louder (by boosting the RCA voltage) but it makes it deeper by creating a bass note 1/2 octave below the original bass note. Play a 100 Hz bass note and the Epicenter adds a 50 Hz bass note. A 60 Hz not gets a 30 Hz note, and so on. It works up to 250 Hz, so it should be placed before any subwoofer crossover. The dash mounted remote knob controls the volume of the added bass note. The wide and sweep controls on the top allow you to pinpoint a specific frequency area that you want boosted more. It also has a built in subsonic filter to protect subwoofers from damage. It's really a neat unit that adds fun to every type of music.

Pros: Nice small unit that make your bass deeper and more fun

Cons: Can't be used after a subwoofer crossover.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 19 found this helpful

EPICenter

mdbeats from texas on 6/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This product is great, really helped put bass back into the music I like listening to. I bought this because the spanish and rock music I like had no bass in my set up. This epicenter solved my problems.

Pros: I am no car audio guru but it was very easy installation. The quality of the sound that comes out is second to none. Great product

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Awesome!!!

Matt from Albany, OR on 12/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have an old Zapco Z100S2 190-watt amp that runs one 10" Rockford Fosgate sub bridged. It sounded OK... but it was just missing "something". After listening to it, a friend told me to get an Epicenter, so I bought an open-box and holy cow... it blew me AWAY! It was just what my system needed! The increase in bass response was amazing... no matter what I'm listening to I can just adjust the remote knob accordingly for just the perfect amount of bass. AudioControl simply makes an outstanding product, I also have an older 3XS crossover that is superb. And if you need to call them directly (like I did), they will go step-by-step with you to get your settings on the Epi just right, which can be a little confusing for the newcomer. Thanks Crutchfield and AudioControl for giving me that extra "something" that was missing from my music!!!

Pros: Easy-to-follow directions and install

Cons: None so far!!!

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

What are you waiting for! Get it!

mb from madison heights on 8/31/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

you can win a Bass competition playing nothing but music from the 1940's. This is the neatest car stereo product you will ever own! Don't pay any attention to anyone saying it won't do anything for today's music, It will make the modern music' s bass sound WICKED! anyway just get it and if you don't like it Crutchfield will let you return it. so there is nothing to loose!

Pros: everything

Cons: what cons?

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Audio control Epicenter

Threcio from Tortola, British Virgin Islands on 9/20/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This product is awesome. I have it connected to a 15 inch Kicker Comp and it pounds. I recommend the epicenter especially for songs that dont have much lows. This product really backs up its name.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

awsome bass

Aaron from Houston, Tx on 10/6/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This product is awsome. It gives your system that extra bass it is missing. It makes my two 10 in subs hit super hard. Every one that loves bass should have one. I recommend to everybody.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Epicenter

MICHAEL from Henryetta, OK on 1/7/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It did ad more bass, but dash mount control knob was more like a volume knob for bass which now is a very hard bass. Manual is not really clean or unit is not marked at what frequencies the control knob is adjusting like on their 4.1 EQ. The other adjust the width of the bass. I have it with a 25 Hz sub sonic filter using Alpine Rs in a ported to Alpine's Optimum Specs of 1.7 c.f. For me the bass hits to hard and not as musical, but maybe some of you guys like that. JVC head unit with EQ and Surround Sound adjustment does OK and just wanted to be able to restore what they said was lost bass, but it seemed harsh to me, not sure of Ipods etc with loss bass only use CDs FM some HD FM. A actual EQ would work better with marked frequencies and ability to know what your adjusting. It's a very hard hitting bass which is better if you used a EQ!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

Compare the sound