Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
138 820 157 4
Connect ID #
138 820 157 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Audiovox ACA800

Audiovox ACA800 License-plate-mount backup camera with parking lines

MFR # ACA800

4.5 out of 5 stars
206 reviews
View this product
Great Upgrade

Anthony from Glen Burnie, MD on 10/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great picture, works well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

James from Redding, CA on 10/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

When installed it didn't send a video to radio. Now I need to run the wires again. Not happy about that

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/10/2023
James contacted our Tech Support team for help, and they sent out a replacement backup cam right away. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Died within 6 months

William from GREENWOOD, MS on 6/9/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

When it worked, it was great but didn't even last a year before it failed.

Pros: Good camera when it worked

Cons: died within 6 months

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice unit. Couldn't be happier. Struggled a bit with wiring

Ron from Barrington Hill, IL on 5/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice unit with fairly easy install. I chose the license plate mount as I anticipated a better mounting option without making holes in the car or relying on adhesive solutions. Picture quality is great in my opinion. Manufacturer's wiring directions could be better. "Powering your backup camera" on product page was a great help. Do your research as there are probably ways into your vehicle without drilling holes. I'll note for others since it was an issue for me. I wired everything per the video referenced above. In order to test the system before I reassembled the interior, I put the ignition in the run position without starting, put the car in reverse and nothing happened. Radio worked but no backup camera (image or guideline). At the end of the day everything was wired correctly. However, my car doesn't put power to the reverse lights unless it's actually running. Once I actually turned the car on(engine running) everything worked perfect. Imagine this will vary by vehicle. In testing on my wife's car the reverse lights work even when car is not running (ignition in run position). Very happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Design and Function But a Little Flimsy

Scott from State 48 on 4/23/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed this camera on a 2001 GMC Yukon SLT with a Double-DIN Sony XAV head unit. After a few days, I don't love the camera. First things first: it works fine and adds tremendous functionality to my ole' truck. But like other reviewers have noted the whole rig seems a little flimsy. The RCA cable feels too thin, and this perhaps contributes to the grainy video on screen. And although the actual camera is small, the single tiny screw holding it to the provided bracket is the smallest screw anywhere on my Yukon. I used Loctite to secure it, because the screw threads into the thin machined bracket and not into a separate lock-nut. The camera also had a hard time with the backup lights and license plate illumination lamps at night, washing out the image. I selected a mid-priced camera because I wanted something sturdier than entry level, but if I'd seen this in person I might have kept looking. Some install tips: I used a wheel grinder to notch a small groove in my license plate frame to route the RCA signal wire behind and under the bumper, then ran it up into the rear drivers side brake lamp well, where I drilled two 1/2" holes to get into the cabin near the subwoofer. I used Posi-taps to T-tap into the reverse light for power and head unit signal. Finally, I used black corrugated 1/4" loom tubing, cable ties and plenty of high-temp electrical tape to run the wires.

Pros: Small footprint Backup lines Can reconfigure to front view (non-mirror image) Mounting bracket is secure behind license plate Fair value

Cons: Camera mounted to bracket with one tiny screw - seems flimsy Grainy video quality seems like early 2000s at best RCA cable is thin

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Todd from Menomonee Falls, WI on 3/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We purchased this camera in replacement to one that stopped working. It was an easy replacement and has better quality than the one we replaced. I would purchase again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Camera install

Victor from Oakley, CA on 3/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Grat camera, greT picture. Easy to install. Oly thing is the instructions are weak not enough detail.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Newport Beach

Ian from Newport Beach on 3/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The wire is so thin it is difficult to get any power through it. It is not sufficient gage for the design. The connections are also very loose. In short, the wire is inadequate. I have to pull this item back out of my truck, return it, order a different camera and then install that camera. I would expect this camera to be a $20 camera because of the cheap build. At this price it's way over priced.

Pros:

Cons: wire too small gage for purpose

Crutchfield response on 3/20/2023
Ian, we're sorry you're having issues with your backup camera. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Small and clear crisp picture both day and night

Vincent from SIMI VALLEY, CA on 3/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was gonna install this backup camera but i ended up sending it back to buy and install the tailgate camera on my f150 which is much cleaner . It had good clean crisp picture both day and night but i think its more for a car than a truck, theres other options for trucks but it seemed to be a good quality camera

Pros: Small and clear crisp camera, good quality picture and simple mounting location, Good field of view, easy to install but tailgate camera was a better option for me

Cons: Kind of ugly, more for cars not trucks

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Long over due "Back Up Camera" add: upgrade

Daniel from Stockton, CA on 2/26/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Added this back up camera when I updated the wife's car stereo. It does what it's supposed to????? ?

Pros: Not to hard to install.

Cons: None~

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Stay away

JamalG from Norton, VA on 2/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought in Mar 21 within 4 months had to replace it in Mar of 22. Now in Feb 23 the camera is already burned out and of course warranty is from the original purchase date not the replacement date. Very disappointing and so not recommend wasting the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Frank from Punta Gorda, FL on 2/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

did not get what I paid for

David from Ocala on 1/28/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

You send me an open box when I ordered a new product. seal was broken and product wiring was all waded up inside box. pretty crappy.

Pros: zero

Cons: was baited and switched

Crutchfield response on 1/31/2023
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support specialist, Jamie, reached out to David to follow up. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rear view mirror with camera

William from Plainwell, MI on 1/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice reverse mirror with camera small to keep it out of the way resolution is nice

Pros: The mirror and the picture are nice quality

Cons: The base of the mirror on the window is big

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Ian from DAVENPORT, IA on 1/10/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall very good product. Could do with some form of shield to protect the lens from road grime during wet/snowy conditions, but otherwise it's well built, has all appropriate hardware and wiring, produces a good image and has not been damaged by wet/dirty conditions.

Pros: Easy to install Good image quality Comes with everything you need Multiple mounting options

Cons: Could use some form of wiring hardware(crimps, eyelets, various forms of terminals, etc.) instead of bare wire ends for the reverse interrupt and ground wires.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Hunter from Buford, GA on 1/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Died right before a year of service. Checked the power going to the unit from the male side of the 6 pin conector, and all was still good, so problem definitely seems to be related to the camera itself.

Pros: Worked well for nearly a year

Cons: Does not work anymore

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Bobby from Jonesboro, AR on 1/1/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clear picture makes backing up a breeze

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wow!!!

Joshua from ZUMBROTA, MN on 12/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm so impressed with this backup camera! It looks better than most backups cams I've ever seen.

Pros: -good picture -backup lines

Cons: -none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Anthony from Endicott, NY on 12/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install and very clear!

Pros: Budget friendly

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Kenneth from Chicago, IL on 11/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great for safety!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Failed in Less Than 3 Years

Sam from Alpharetta, GA on 9/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

When I first installed this camera I was very disappointed in how small gauge and fragile the power leads were for this wire. It made it VERY difficult to strip the wires and to splice them onto existing wire. Also, while the camera worked, it sometimes flickered pretty badly. Note that I soldered ALL of the power wiring splices, so a bad connection WAS NOT the problem. Now, less than 3 years after installing it the camera quit working on it and to make the repair quick, I just ordered the same camera again--that way I could just unplug the old camera and plug in the new one and run the wire the short distance from the taillight to the license plate area. Well, they COMPLETELY changed the wiring so I would now have to splice in the tiny power wires AGAIN and rerun the video cable all the way from the back of the truck into the cabin. This defeats the point of buying the same camera again--I would have never bought it again knowing I had to completely redo the wiring. Will probably return and find a better camera, since I'm going to have to completely reinstall the thing anyway.

Pros:

Cons: * super-tiny power wiring is hard to splice. * didn't even last 3 years

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Juewei from WALTHAM, MA on 9/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super easy installation. View angle is great, resolution is not the top but gives me what I need for backing up. The wiring harness is cheaply made though, probably just 10 gauge.

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: Cheaply made wiring harness

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Preston from Liberty, SC on 9/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clear picture quality and hides rather well.

Pros: Picture quality

Cons: The RCA cable is rather thin, easy to break if it gets snagged or pinched

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great image quality

Sterling from SAN FRANCISCO, CA on 9/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great aperture in low light (at least in the city)

Pros: good low light image no ir lights required Versatile mounting harware included Snug fit

Cons: None I can find

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Brian from Cedar Grove, NJ on 9/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

James from Bloxom, VA on 8/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Runting from El Monte, CA on 7/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

fantasitic

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Fred from Covington, IN on 7/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought a head unit and two cameras. Had "fun" trying to make all three play together because each wanted a different wiring connection. Went with the head units description and it worked.

Pros: Not bad but not as clear or bright as a factory model

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple

Adam from Chula Vista, CA on 7/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clean Krisp camera

Pros: Nice to attach above plate

Cons: The screw that holds the camera at an angle should be tighter.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

August from Tulsa, OK on 6/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit perfectly and works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Camera

Robert from Fort Worth, TX on 5/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great picture

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

must have

Dennis from Avilla, IN on 5/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great Product, Crutchfield is great to work with. I called with questions and they had the answers.

Pros: plug and play

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Anthony from Pittsburgh, PA on 4/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice camera quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Works great for price

Joseph from Marion, OH on 4/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great so far. Camera is clear and install was fairly easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice camera

Ashton from Florence, SC on 3/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to hook up quality looks good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Broken easily by automatic car washes.

Stephen from SANDY, UT on 3/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The camera worked as promised. However, the design (small camera box hanging over the license plate) was not ideal. The camera is easily battered and knocked apart by automatic car washes. It's easy to put back together, but the wires inside finally broke. I'm now looking for a camera that has the camera integrated into the frame, not just hanging free.

Pros: Great picture.

Cons: Broken easily due to design.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Dan from Cedar Rapids, IA on 3/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Instructions to mount this to my vehicle blow.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Steve from Ionia, MI on 2/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Keeps me from backing up into or over things but the picture is not quite what I was expecting. It was pretty inexpensive and I can see well enough for now. I did tweak the bracket as my license plate light is in the top center of the pocket. I tried under the plate but after a trip thru the car wash, was watching the sky. Put it back on top but moved over to miss the light and the car wash didn't catch it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Robert from Port Angeles, WA on 2/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great value!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

James from Mountain Home, ID on 2/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Seems noisy...cables are suspect.have to keep pressing them together. Need a more positive lock when connected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Back Up Camera

Robert from Staten Island, NY on 2/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install back up camera, no need to drill holes to mount to body, reasonably priced with grid lines.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

James from Vinton, VA on 1/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

10/10 recommend, clear and brilliant picture

Pros: Beautiful picture

Cons: Distance portrayed in camera takes time getting used to. Objects closer than appear

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Ralph from Marion, OH on 1/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really high resolution and worth the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good Camera

Crutchfield customer from Sanford, NC on 12/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera works great, easy to connect to my Alpine head unit, daytime is crystal clear. night time is a little less clear & it shows two circles in the middle of the display, which I think are sensors, it is livable for me.

Pros:

Cons: odd circles in the display at night.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wires too short for mid-SUV

Crutchfield customer from Moore, OK on 12/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera seems to work fine. My issue is that the supplied wires were about 7 feet too short for my 2009 Highlander, which is only a mid-size SUV. Had to buy an extension and solder on more wire for power.

Pros: Camera works well once installed

Cons: Supplied wires probably not adequate for most SUVs or large sedans

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Norristown PA on 12/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Solid camera, great picture and guide lines. Plenty of cable length, reached all the way to the front of my F150 Supercrew with extra to spare.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Brandon, MS on 12/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great. Easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rear Camera

Crutchfield customer from Longmont, CO on 11/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

good picture and easy hook up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Pelham, AL on 11/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera does ok. It could be a little better on video quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rear view camera

Crutchfield customer from Caguas, PR on 11/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excelent equipment

Pros: Very good quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Norman, OK on 10/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far it is doing the job

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Coral Springs, FL on 10/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good video quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Aberdeen, SD on 8/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great addition to improve an older car (2005 Buick LaSabre) It was connecting two wires and plugging it into the receiver. The hardest part was routing the cable from the stereo to the rear license plate. Clear picture. I will purchase another one for my older truck for easier trailer hook up.

Pros: Easy install.

Cons: I had to drill one small hole into plastic near the license plate to run the cable.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, NE on 8/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

works well for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good but not great

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, NC on 8/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installation was a challenge given my license plate is located on my hatchback. Routing wires from the camera through the hatchback, then to the reverse light, then to the front of the car was an all day project. Found a Youtube video that showed installation tricks on a similar car, so that made things a bit easier. Colors are pretty distorted, and overall image is only fair, I guess what you could expect from a $70 camera. Certainly helpful, and the wide angle lens gives a comprehensive view behind and to the side of the car. Three stars, no better, no worse.

Pros: Economical, easy to mount on license plate

Cons: Distorted colors, image quality is only fair

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Tuttle, OK on 8/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install. Working great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Indian Trail, NC on 7/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

it works as expected so far

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Port Angeles, WA on 6/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great little camera, easy install. I'd like to add that if you have a 4 door extended bed truck the video wire will most likely not reach to your dash

Pros: Easy install, good picture

Cons: Video wire may may be short for longer vehicles. Limits wiring to reverse tail light

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Urbanna, VA on 6/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great and easy connection with the help of the Crutchfield team of course!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Scott from Warner Robins on 5/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great camera. Slightly more than most but it lasts. Great image.

Pros: Great image Lasts a while Mounting options

Cons: Slightly more pricy but with it for quality.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 5/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall good camera and picture quality. Extension cable has very cheap connectors that bend easily.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Voxx cam

Crutchfield customer from Summerville, SC on 5/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not a fan of the instructions but it's ok

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 5/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

good deal for the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 5/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Naples, FL on 5/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works very good but still could be better in low light situations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Lillington, NC on 5/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera resolution, brightness, and response were all very nice. The bracket doesn't deal well with license plate frames and could be more adjustable, mine was a little crooked (minor complaint) but to fix that would have required bending the bracket which I didn't want to risk. Overall it works fine and I especially liked the modular design which gives different options for tapping into power and routing the cabling. Would buy again.

Pros: clear, bright, quick, modular connections

Cons: slightly crooked bracket

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Brighton, MI on 4/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Hook up was straight forward and it has a very good view of the rear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Extention video cable too short

Crutchfield customer from Palmer Lake, CO on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quality of the camera itself is good. Video output is as expected for the price. The install instructions are simple enough. The video out extention cable was about 6ft too short for my vehicle so I had to buy a 12ft RCA and female to female adapter and cut off the L/R audio cables. Even if I went the l shortest distance (maybe straight back through the headliner) and kept the cable very tight, I still would have been too short. Subaru Outback

Pros: Instructions and video quality are good

Cons: Extention video cable too short

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Chris from Loveland, CO on 3/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clear picture, plenty of cable left on a double cab SR5 Tundra. It will make backing up to a trailer so much easier when doing by myself. Instructions were not clear but Jacob at Crutchfield provided a wiring schematic that was easier to understand as there was no instruction on where the red wires should go and also drew two different ways to wire it.

Pros: Great picture and adjustable.

Cons: Instructions need improvement.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

ramsey

Scott from ramsey on 3/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera seems to work fine and has a good picture, although not as good as a factory camera. Biggest issue is that things looked far away and it was difficult to judge distance. It will take some getting used to, and its better than not having one. Have not tested at night, so not sure how that will work. Used with Boyo VTM43TC and connected up fine after I figured out the auto trigger hookup. The true test is how the camera will withstand weather. My factory camera in my Dodge got water in it after 4 years, so pretty disappointed in that. Also, the adjustment was limited, i have it fully pushed up and it could go higher to get the exact right spot.

Pros: It works, and hopefully will survive the elements

Cons: Power and ground wires are very small gauge, but i think that is typical

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Opelika, AL on 3/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Decent for an add on camera

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Power leads are a little short for my liking

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

added benefit

Crutchfield customer from Gainesville, GA on 3/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This camera is easy to install and provides an added benefit to my daughter who is just starting to drive. the picture quality is good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Springville, AL on 3/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nicer camera than the one that came in our Toyota

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install

Crutchfield customer from Danbury, CT on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install clear picture

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Gold Canyon, AZ on 2/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great but the video cable was about 6 feet to short for my truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Dawsonville, GA on 2/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome set up with my Bose speakers in my 2003 2500hd! Instructions good just eager to get it in and had to go back over the wiring to get speakers going! Backup camera is good but want another one to show gooseneck hitch in truck bed and be able to switch back when done! Over all so far love it! Thank you Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Acworth, GA on 2/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great camera for the money. I would buy another one if I had the need.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Yale, VA on 2/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

easy to install and works just as it should. Makes hooking to a trailer by yourself much easier,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Fort Collins, CO on 2/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very clear picture, pretty straight forward instructions for install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for Price, Clearer Instructions

Crutchfield customer from Statesboro, GA on 2/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good picture, guidelines seem disproportionate. Plenty of wire, clear pic, average nighttime pic. Will definitely meet my needs for price. Wired all the colors as diagrammed but there is a purple wire (?) that has to connect to 12v power or camera won't override unit when in reverse. So that wasn't super clear and is going to cost me on install. Once wire fixed going to be perfect for my needs.

Pros: Clear Pic Night Pic

Cons: Guidelines Wiring Instructions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Lewisberry, PA on 2/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was a great addition to my daughters vehicle. The install was very easy. The image quality is great and is very bright even at night. I would definitely recommend this backup camera to anyone who is looking to add this feature to their vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, GA on 1/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install. Be careful with the cable ends though

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Back up camera

Crutchfield customer from Plainfield, IL on 1/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice camera with a very good picture when it works. This was the second time I bought this camera because the first one I bought just a few months earlier stopped working. I have no idea why and can only suspect maybe water got inside it from a car wash. Once I replaced it with a new one I broke open the old one and the inside did not look water damaged. Guess that means it was a fault with the camera. The hardest part about installing these cameras is all the trim removal necessary for running the cables. I have a large SUV and there was a lot of trim to remove. When I bought it the second time I did not realize I was buying the same one again so now my fingers are crossed it does not fail again. I had forgotten which model and brand I bought the first time so when I searched the website somehow I picked this one again. I guess that says something but I'm not sure what but I do know if it fails again that will be the last time I buy anything from that manufacturer.

Pros: Price and picture quality

Cons: First one stopped working

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great for the price

Crutchfield customer from West Columbia, TX on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Install intructions are well laid out and simple to follow. Shows a great image on the head unit display, even in low light. Nice camera for the price.

Pros: Low cost, easy to install following instructions, great picture even in low light.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Moncks Corner, SC on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Okay picture

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Floresville, TX on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Steven from Valencia, CA on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very low profile and clear image. Looks great at night and love that it's adjustable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pretty nice camera i purchased this to go along with my stereo and it works great. Installation directions could be a little more detailed but was not difficult to figure out. Installation was easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Henderson, KY on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly as expected

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Lares, PR on 12/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

very easy to install good quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not the clearest , but serves the purpose

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent camera with clear picture

Crutchfield customer from Milford, OH on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have this installed with the wires run through an access hole in the rear bumper of my 2003 Ford F-150. Due to cold and damp weather I haven't run the wiring up into the cabin yet, but I did test it by connecting temporarily and it provided a crystal clear picture (in daytime). The installation instructions are ambiguous at best, and at worst are worthless. I contacted Crutchfield's tech support and left my number for a call back. In about 5 minutes I received a call back and my questions were answered. The tech that helped me was very polite and knowledgeable and had received similar calls so knew exactly how to help me. The gist of it is the LONG cable contains a 6" red wire on both of the yellow connector ends. There are no instructions on what to do with it. The tech explained that the red wire connects to the reverse sensor wire on the radio harness side, (I got the ready harness with my system and it was clearly labeled) and on the rear end it connects to the power feed for the reverse light bulb. There is also a red and black wire from the camera that is a solid pair. Just pull it apart a bit and the red wire connects to the SAME red wire for the reverse light power, and the black wire just goes to a convenient ground. Will do a permanent installation and wire run once temps warm up and it dries out a bit. I have completed the radio side of the installation and have the LONG wire with the yellow plug and 6" wire for the camera side tucked away for now.

Pros: Crystal clear picture and fully adjustable camera. Bracket fit perfect behind my "FLY NAVY" license plate frame and camera is barely visible.

Cons: Very confusing installation instructions. Contact tech support if what I stated above doesn't make sense. They explained it very simply. Lack of lights will determine how effective it is at night.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Worked finally but too finnecky.

Crutchfield customer from Alpharetta, GA on 12/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Decent picture but extremely flakey during install. Had to get replacement after first install and camera stopped working 24hrs later. Seems to need very delicate hands and slightest touch of camera wires can cause video feed to fail.

Pros: Price

Cons: Durability

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Maybe a fluke...

Matthew from FRANKLIN, KY on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked great while it worked. Housing came apart and water ingress causes camera to not function. When it dried out, it worked but the image was distorted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Clovis, NM on 11/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent upgrade to my 2004 F-150

Pros: Easy installation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Joseph Edward from Cheshire, CT on 11/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works fine, still trying to figure out how to remove the Giant Orange Cones from view. After two trips to fix it, they keep coming back like some kind of spectral force... Update 12.04.2020 - Works great. It turns out that the large orange cones that showed up on my screen were actually a default setting created by the Alpine head unit. Audiovoxx support was very responsive just like at Crutchfield. To remove the cones if you have alpine, just go into settings and choose the second tab for the camera page. The picture is sharp and I give the product five stars.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovix Excellence

Crutchfield customer from Sachse, TX on 11/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Extremely well made product!

Pros: Ease of install and use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 11/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good backup camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Ringwood, NJ on 11/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera is ok. Should be sold (or include) a $5 power filter (which you absolutely need to remove the multiple horizontal lines on screen).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent back up camera

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral, FL on 10/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works fine

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Terrible directions

Crutchfield customer from Salem, VA on 10/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice camera

Pros: Tech support was great

Cons: Directions are not very well had to call tech support

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product but very basic instructions

Crutchfield customer from Petal, MS on 10/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good purchase and quality. The instructions weren't great and Crutchfield provided no instructions. But, I got it done from watching some videos.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Madison Lake, MN on 10/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

works as promised. clear picture. reasonably priced

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great little camera for a great price

Crutchfield customer from Newburyport, MA on 10/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This camera was an add on to the Alpine ILX W650. Installation of the camera was simple. Running the wires from the rear of the car into the cabin was easy. Harness was long enough to accommodate a crew cab pick up truck.

Pros: Ease of installation. Works really well. Picture quality is high. The modes for guidance are either cones or lines for backing up. Can select either or none. Pricing was good for the value.

Cons: Wiring diagram is missing details for the red tracer wire in the long cable with the RCA jacks on either end that connect to the ACCY power for energizing the camera. It took some research to get to the details.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good Price Unit

Oscar from Los Angeles, CA on 10/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great and does what it suppose to do. Definitely worth the money!!

Pros: Price Easy to install

Cons: Resolution (good for the price)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent for price

Andre from Pittsburgh, PA on 9/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good picture. Easy to adjust.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent product, possibly defective

Brax from Pleasant Grove, UT on 9/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The packaging was cool, but the lack of instructions made it sort of tricky to install. The red wire for example is used to send the reverse signal to the head unit. I give it one star because I fired it up and it worked great the first day, but it has been a black screen ever since and I have tried troubleshooting all of it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/5/2020
Brax, we're sorry you're having issues with your backup camera. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Saint Cloud, FL on 9/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The camera does a good job at this price point and works great for seeing the hitch ball and attaching my boat or trailer along with just backing up. I installed this on a 2007 Silverado crew cab and had about 10 inches of cord left from the radio to the tag mounting. The reason for 4 stars is the poor directions for installation especially the 2 red pigtails. I also ran a designated ground to the body which helped a lot.

Pros: Works great, good price point and the tag mount bracket for installation makes it easy

Cons: Terrible directions for hookup, had to youtube to figure out.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Fairchild Afb, WA on 9/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great kit

Michael Anthony from Kennewick, WA on 9/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed this in my f-150 supercab. Came with plenty of cable to run from the back of the stereo all the way to the rear license plate.

Pros: Placement Size Cable length Video quality

Cons: Thin wire

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox AVA800

Crutchfield customer from Everett , WA on 9/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The picture is great. The installation was simple and straight forward. The only complaint the wiring was18 inches to short. I have a 4-door pickup with 8 foot bed. I just used a RCA cord I had laying around the house. Works great with my new Kenwood navigation system.

Pros: Good picture and easy to install.

Cons: Wiring was to short for my large pickup.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Acceptable with one detractor

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Decent camera with good daytime clarity and so-so for night time. (*maybe as good or a bit less than my factory one) Active parking lines work fine and operate well. One detractor is that the manufacturer includes a really cheap camera wire for external routing on a truck but only time will tell there. Happy with it currently

Pros:

Cons: Camera wire is really cheap

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works well

Crutchfield customer from Woodruff, SC on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well, still early

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works well, good price

Crutchfield customer from Greer, SC on 9/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well with the JVC head unit purchased with it. Warning lines in the image are helpful as-is, no need to use the ones from the head unit. Good low-light capability. Makes my Ridgeline a lot safer going backwards- well worth the price!

Pros: Price Ready to go out of the box

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great back up cam

Crutchfield customer from Texarkana, TX on 9/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install, great picture!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great camera.

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 9/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great camera, very easy to install. I love the view.

Pros: Easy install, great picture.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality camera at a good price

Crutchfield customer from East Wenatchee, WA on 8/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super easy to install and the cords have plenty of length for any vehicle your installing the camera in. Picture looks good is super helpful.

Pros: -HD picture quality -active backup lines -easy to install -brackets for license plate mount or bumper -can be inverted for front facing camera

Cons: -no IR / LED lights for night driving

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great price for the quality!

Crutchfield customer from Valrico, FL on 8/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

When installing make sure you have a way to make sure the yellow connection doesn't come loose. This will result in a fuzzy video feed that looks like your watching a fuzzy channel on an analog television set.

Pros:

Cons: Connection can easily come loose if not secured properly.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Towanda, PA on 8/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's a good camera for the price. I would have liked the mounting screws a little bit more robust but, overall pretty happy with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 8/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great, easy to install. Why didn't I get one of these sooner?

Pros: easy mount, easy wiring,great picture

Cons: none,what can I say

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 8/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The wire was a little short so I had to tap into it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wide field of view without distortion

Michael from Paulina on 8/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Extremely pleased with the video quality and the highly visible colored grid. The 150 degree view angle gives a wide field of view without distortion. It's been mounted on our 2004 GMC Yukon for ~1-1/2 years and has worked flawlessly.

Pros: Quality video. Highly visible colored grid. Easy to install. Reasonably priced.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cheap-o Camera

David from Haverhill, MA on 7/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First, this camera comes in a really nice, sturdy box with the fancy magnetic closure. I think it was the most expensive component of the purchase. Too bad it just gets thrown out and the money didn't go into something useful to the buyer like better parts or a better manual. I wouldn't say the unit was not what I ordered, but don't be surprised to not find the Audiovox name or logo anywhere on the box. The included hardware is cheap, flimsy, and missing parts. The instructions describe a grommet, not something one normally has laying around, so I assume it was missing. But, there wasn't a parts list, so who knows? And, the supplemental bracket was not machined well and I had to bend it in a vise to get the camera to sit true. The instructions stink because they do not mention how the red wire on the RCA cable is to be connected. I had to waste time researching its purpose and then call Crutchfield to verify. Trying to find information on the AVX web site was futile, so don't bother. I hope this piece of junk makes it a year, but am not holding out hope. At least I've run the wires.

Pros: Inexpensive Gets the job done

Cons: Cheap Flimsy Poor Manual I expected better from Crutchfield

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Alamosa, CO on 7/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not enough RCA cable

Travis from SOUTH WEBER, UT on 7/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I tried to install this today and the RCA cable that it comes with is not long enough for a 2006 Silverado crew cab short bed..This isn't a very long truck and you would think they would consider the size of regular sized trucks. I might send this back.

Pros:

Cons: RCA cable is manufactured too short for most trucks

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Lousy Instructions

Crutchfield customer from Stafford, VA on 7/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The only reason I'm giving this 3 starts is because they didn't explain in their installation instructions what the red wires were at the ends of the video cable. I had to call Crutchfield which instantly knew what I was talking about, but why didn't the manufacturer indicate what the red wires were for. Experienced installers probably know, but if you are doing it for the first time, you have to figure out yourself. Otherwise the camera works fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 12 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to set up, works great. Good price for the quality. All in all, the perfect balance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Camera

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, TX on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install and great camera. I love the back up lines too!

Pros: Easy in install and looks OEM

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Baton Rouge, LA on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works and looks great. Running below vehicle was a challenge but doable with a little patience. Took a while to figure out how to connect the power to a circuit that only comes on when in reverse. Only negative is the video quality gets a little grainy at night due to license plate lights near the camera. However, it's a great value for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great camera

Crutchfield customer from Fort Benning, GA on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install camera and the picture is a good quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Alvin, TX on 6/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera has a nice clear picture, and the wiring was of good quality. Video cable was long enough to fit a Suburban.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Backing up

Crutchfield customer from Niles, OH on 6/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great. Looks almost factory!

Pros: Easy installation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Waycross, GA on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The product is great overall but the instructions kind of sucked. Self installation is not very easy with the given instructions. I had to watch a few YouTube videos. Once I got it installed it is a great product with a clear picture.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Dale, TX on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

works well.

Pros: easy install

Cons: camera is vulnerable attatched to license plate. I was able to modify bfacket to recess camera between bomper and tailgate

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, SC on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy to install good picture

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800 with Sony XAV-AX1000

Crutchfield customer from Saint Charles, MO on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera give a good picture. The licence plate mounting is easy to use and makes the installation look like it came out of the factory. Paired it with the Sony XAV-AX1000. Works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Johnson City, TN on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product, better picture than some OEMs

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from St Paris, OH on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Bartlett, TN on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good backup camera with a small profile. Bracket fits behind the license plate with just the small camera showing over the center of the tag. comes with a LONG cable that was plenty long enough to reach from the camera to the radio in my Dodge Ram 2500 quad cab truck with an 8ft bed. Clear picture day and night with a big field of view.

Pros: Comes with and extra long cable for installing on larger vehicles. Small profile.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

easy to wire up and install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Anaconda, MT on 5/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Descent picture quality for the price, easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clear good picture.

Crutchfield customer from Allen, OK on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great picture, easy to install. Just make sure you make a good connection on your power wire (in my case the reverse light power wire) only down fall, I could not figure out how to take the reverse lines off. I pared it to a JVC head unit and it looks amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Milton, FL on 4/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a really nice backup camera for the price. It's low profile and unobtrusive on the exterior and the connection between the RCA cable and the camera is super skinny and well designed. Video quality is good even at night. The only issue with it is that where the RCA hooks up to your head unit, there is no "pigtail" power wire to hook up to your head unit reverse sensor. This requires you to run a power wire from your backup lamp to the head unit or tap into the reverse lights under your dash. Not a huge deal though I just used a second T-tap to pull signal from under the kick panel in my truck.

Pros: Low profile

Cons: No power wire pigtail at head unit

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Mcdonough, GA on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good backup camera easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from North Dartmouth, MA on 4/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Removing panels then reinstalling them took the longest. Actual install was about 2 minutes. Great field of view, nice addition

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Bozeman, MT on 3/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great camera with great picture. Added to a 2012 Expedition that took some work (no fault of the camera), but has added a great rear view!

Pros: Greta picture, would buy again.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good view

Crutchfield customer from Corrales, NM on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clear video image. Embedded marker lines pretty good green is about 8 foot back, red is about 2 foot back for my installation. The hardest part was routing the cable to the back of a extended cab long bed truck

Pros: Pretty goo image in day time, haven't tried night yet. Cabel is long enough fot a extended cab long bed pickup.

Cons: The camera with its mount bracket looks vulnerable just above the trailer hitch.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice backup camera

Crutchfield customer from Kihei, HI on 3/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Image is very nice and works like it should. Install was fairly straight forward however routing cables was not not (but that's not a fault of the camera). Power cables are long enough to reach tail light area. Video cable plenty of length to reach front dash area. Glad my advisor recommended it.

Pros: Clear image

Cons: No grommet included for running cable through rear door in my case.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Camera

Crutchfield customer from Baraboo, WI on 3/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great with my Sony head unit. Excellent clarity and field of view.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Placerville, CA on 3/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Instructions and install took a while, as I wanted a complete OEM look with no visible wires. Works as advertised with great resolution on my Honda Element paired with a JVC KW-75BT. Very happy with purchase for the quality and price and as always Crutchfi