Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
122 616 728 4
Connect ID #
122 616 728 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

MTX TN8MS

MTX TN8MS Terminator Series compact powered subwoofer with 8" sub and 135-watt amp

MFR # TN8MS

4.5 out of 5 stars
127 reviews
View this product
MTX TN8MS

Ben from Hamburg, PA on 3/26/2024

2001 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice little unit. Adds quality bass to a basic system.

Pros: Small and Compact.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Jay from FRANKLIN, TN on 2/22/2024

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed and setup. Sounded great for a few days. Sub started distorting, so I lowered the gain considerably. Could barely hear it for weeks. Now it's distorting again and VERY low volumes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/26/2024
Jay, we're sorry you're having issues with your sub. While your order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, please feel free to reach out to our Tech Support team for help, or for information about the 2-year warranty on this sub. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Don't Buy

Kristen from Texas on 2/9/2024

2012 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We're on our second, the first one died within a few months and was replaced by Crutchfield. The replacement has also died. Has power, just won't work. Same as the first. Verified to be installed properly, I just don't think it's worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/12/2024
Kristen, we're sorry you're having issues with your subwoofer. While your order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, please feel free to reach out to our Tech Support team for help, or for information about the 2-year warranty on this subwoofer. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great bass for cheap!

Nathan from MONUMENT, CO on 2/6/2024

2015 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed this powered subwoofer under my passenger seat. Make sure your space can accommodate the full width of the unit so that you can access the channel inputs on the left side. The only downside is that the adjustment knobs aren't usable without a screwdriver or paperclip, making them difficult to adjust after installation. Also, the bass adjustment knob doesn't have much effect past 1/4 of its total range.

Pros: Immersive and accurate bass that compliments the mids and highs.

Cons: Finicky adjustment knobs. Ineffective bass level control.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Jose from Kingman, AZ on 1/18/2024

1986 GMC C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great option for the people who want a little kick but not trying to sound like the vehicle is rattling loose. Price was fair and sounds good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Ben from Belvidere, TN on 1/15/2024

1994 GMC C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

had mine for about a year and it's held up very well. very powerful for how small it is, and the price isn't too bad compared to other compact powered subwoofers, but it definitely won't win you any competition seeing how it's mainly meant for people with small vehicles and don't have room for giant boxes or just for people who don't want to take up much space overall great little starter sub that will round the edges for your system.

Pros: compact, easy install, decent bass

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice unit, knob sux

Joel from Biloxi, MS on 12/26/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For a powered 8" sub in a tiny box honestly I can't complain. The only thing I really dislike about it is the bass knob. It SUCKS!!!! I hoped that since it accepts the same 3.5mm jack as a Kicker amp that I have that I could use it instead. Nope, unfortunately it doesn't work at all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Todd from Summerville, SC on 12/21/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy installation. Great punch

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Michael from Goodyear, AZ on 12/18/2023

2015 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Definitely not gonna hit very had but it does add the bass in a small size.

Pros: Small size

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good value, impresive sound

Andrew from kingsport, tn on 12/14/2023

2009 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

very good output for the size. dont expect it to bump like a full sub in a box but it does pack a decent punch for an 8" . has just enough to fill my regular cab truck, im not sure how well it would do in a larger cabin or mounted in a trunk. it hit pretty darn good for EDM and hip hop. does ok with metal/deathcore. for the $160 it cost me, i cant complain about it. mounted it on the back wall of the cab and im able to play plenty loud with no audible distortion. i would have liked more but this is a reg cab truck so space is limited and the all in one package makes it very easy to set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

BASS

Donny from Old Forge, PA on 12/11/2023

2006 Kia Spectra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Have not yet installed. Appointment for January.check back in Feb.

Pros: Looks sturdy, well built, solid. Driver diaphragm looks metallic. NICE!

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Paul from Ashland, KY on 12/6/2023

2012 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound in a small package

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

2007 Honda Odyssey Upgrade

JSMCO from Castle Rock, CO on 12/5/2023

2007 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

2007 Honda Odyssey Touring. The Odyssey came with the "premium" sound system and under passenger seat sub which is just a small speaker in a plastic box with the system amp serving as a crossover. Removed front seat and old sub. Clipped two wires going into the old sub and connected to one channel of high-level inputs on the MTX. Then just power and ground wires. The MTX is supposed to power up without a remote turn on wire with high level inputs but would not so we ran a remote wire to one of the van's power outlets. Adjusted gain to about 2/3, filter to about 80-90 MHZ and boost about halfway up. It sounds surprisingly good, exceeded expectations. Tight drum hits, deeper than you'd think from an 8". The "brrrrm" sounding rap bass is OK but a bit rattly, but it's rattly with just about any sub. The way the Odyssey's under seat heat vents were placed, the sub had to be mounted a bit more forward than preferred, and it does stick out from under the front of the seat a few inches. I would have rated 5 stars, but for the unexpected extra step of having to run a remote turn on wire. We also replaced the rear speakers with MTX 5 1/4" coaxes and plan to do the same for the fronts but the system sounds really good even with the stock front mids and tweeters. Important note is that you must disable the Honda Auto Noise Cancellation (ANC) to prevent horrible buzzing noises. Disconnect the 5 pin connector on back of the OEM radio to do so.

Pros: Great Value Good Clean Bass Deeper bass than expected

Cons: A bit too long for my application Remote turn on wire required-extra work

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I'll be back!

Michael from Farmington, NM on 12/3/2023

2005 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

To say I was surprised would be an understatement! This little box packs some good bass. You're not going to shake windows or rattle trunks but if you don't have a sub already it will wake up your system. I upgraded my GMC ext cab Sierra with MTX Terminator seperates up front, MTX Terminator coaxials out back, and this little 8" sub box. It didn't break the bank and it sounds really good vs the old factory setup. I'll use the Terminator series stuff again for my budget builds! Thanks Crutchfield and MTX.

Pros: Price, compact size, and surprising sound.

Cons: None with proper expectations from a tiny box.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just enough bass

Eric from SanDiego, CA on 11/27/2023

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This woofer is just enough to give a extra cab Tacoma that bass without taking up space.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Robert from Lebanon, PA on 11/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Decent power and sound pretty clear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wow

Jeff from Rowlett, TX on 11/15/2023

2014 Ford F-150 STX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow! Nice bass in such a small package. It fit nicely under the passenger seat and you don't even know it's there until I turn up the volume.

Pros: great bass

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Jacob from Miamisburg, OH on 11/2/2023

2007 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very powerful for the size - easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Carolyn from Danville, VA on 11/1/2023

1994 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Surprised how much sound came from such a small package. Mounted to driver seat frame of 1995 Jeep Wrangler.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Wesley from MACON, MO on 9/15/2023

1999 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought it at the lower price, worked pretty good then just quit working one day, I never played it too hard and had the setting turned down on the unit itself. Took it apart and the voice coil was completely seized. Not worth the new price now. Maybe when its on sale it would be worth it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/19/2023
Wesley, we're sorry you had issues with your sub. While your order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, please feel free to reach out to our Tech Support team for help, or for information about the 2-year warranty on this sub. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

4 of 4 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Richard from Luray, VA on 9/3/2023

2013 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound for it's size. Fits nicely under back seat. I'm using low level inputs and don't need the wired volume but I couldn't find an underseat subwoofer that was just an amp and woofer but this is the closest I found. I call a couple of times to see if there was such a thing and the phone call was pointless. Works good though.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Just what I needed!

Pablo from Wimauma, FL on 7/17/2023

2005 MINI Cooper

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The unit is the right size for I was looking for. It connects seamlessly with my aftermarket head unit and delivers the right amount of bass for my car. I was looking to improve the sound of the factory Harman Kardon audio and reduce the bass punishment from the factory speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Jason from Fayetteville, GA on 7/9/2023

1993 Dodge D Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Impressive for the size/price. Fits under the seat in my '93 Dodge D250. Good bass, sounds as good as the stock Infinity system in my new car. Wired remote is nice.

Pros: Size, price, all inclusive unit.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Michael from Snow Camp, NC on 4/30/2023

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great option

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Gregory from Ankeny, IA on 4/24/2023

2005 Dodge Magnum

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Best specs in the class. Compact design. No rattles or odd vibrations from unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Jeremy from Marion, IL on 4/22/2023

2002 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Customer service is top notch. I received an enclosure that was malfunctioning ( these things happen) but tech support was fabulous and I had a replacement on its was and installed in 2 days . I couldn't be happier

Pros: Doesn't require very much room and has plenty of " boom" .. perfect for my regular cab dodge Dakota

Cons: Would be nice if there was a subsonic adjustment. but this rocks for the price and size

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Frank from Gainesville, TX on 3/6/2023

1986 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

sounds great for the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Jose David from Jacksonville, FL on 2/16/2023

2010 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect amount of bass needed. Tucked nicely under passenger front seat

Pros: Size price and convenience

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Christopher from Pittsboro, NC on 2/5/2023

2017 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy installation and decent sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good

Francisco from Santa Isabel, PR on 2/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing product

Pros: Look good not install yet

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 4 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Rene from Yabucoa, PR on 2/1/2023

2008 Volkswagen R32

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Thanks, exelent service, and super fast shipping:)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Bang for your buck

Clay from Silverton, OR on 1/17/2023

1999 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A very nice compact sub if you want some bass but the space it tight. Not crazy bass, but plenty for my little Ford Ranger. Its barely fit under the seat, but its nice to feel the vibrations under the seat; just adds to the experience of the sub. When you first start using it, make sure to play around with the dials on the back and tune it; it makes a huge difference.

Pros: Compact size, good clean bass, rounds out the sound system

Cons: Nothing so long as you don't have unrealistic expectations

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sounds good but wouldn't fit under my front seats

Chris from Louisville, KY on 1/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought this to put into a 2007 explorer. It would not fit under the driver's seat because it's a power seat. Tried to put under the passenger, no power, wouldn't fit there either. Had to put it under the back seat passenger side but now I can't fold the back seat down all the way. I didn't think I would have this much trouble getting this to fit in a full size SUV. It does sound good! Perfect addition to the new head unit I recently installed.

Pros: Sounds good, lots of adjustment options to get it dialed in. Easy to install

Cons: Wouldn't fit under the seats of my 2007 explorer

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Rick from Springfield, MO on 1/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It was properly installed by a service technician and worked for 3 days the thermal overload protection led came on and the Amp shut down after checking all connections and letting it cool down for 8 hours and it still doesn't work

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/4/2023
Rick, we're sorry you're disappointed with your subwoofer. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

6 of 6 found this helpful

Perfect in a small application

Tim from Deltona, FL on 12/20/2022

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound in my Silverado. Adjusted the hpf in my receiver and the lpf for the sub to match and it thumps nicely. Didn't even use the bass boost remote. Set it and forget it.

Pros: Size, easy to hook up.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Chris from WENTZVILLE, MO on 12/6/2022

2004 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is disappointing. It has okay sound quality and worked good for what I needed it for. It's hasn't even been two months and now I get 50/50 with it. It either works or I get static and it sounds blown. I've checked the 12v power, ground, remote and audio cables. It seems to be something internal with the amp. If I shut my truck off and restart it sometimes that corrects it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/7/2022
Chris, we're sorry you're having issues with your sub. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 4 found this helpful

jeep cherokee

Chris from Hawthorne, NJ on 11/15/2022

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

sounds great in my jeep cherokee ,

Pros: easy to install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

And then... It came ALIVE

Jon from Burnsville, NC on 11/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

All I wanted to do was round the bass in my aftermarket system. The bass was lacking, and I took a chance on this, knowing that it wasn't going to rattle the windows. I didn't expect much.. At first, I was rather disappointed.. The output was just minimal.. My 6x9's seemed to do as much... So... I got out the owners manual for the Kenwood eXcelon head unit.. All the settings were good, EXCEPT the sub size..set to 8" and it came ALIVE (yep, my fault..) I spent the next 10 minutes dialing in the system.. Taking some of the load off the 6x9's, finding the sweet spot for the sub, etc...and the smile on my face just got bigger and bigger... In the end, I gave it 5 stars for doing what I hoped for, fill out the bass in a non amplified aftermarket system. For that, it does pretty good (plus was on sale ??) Note: Do NOT buy this believing it will will thump like a 15" or two 12"'s... it doesn't..I know most of us understand this, but invariably there always seems to be some with unrealistic expectations... Been a customer since the late 1980s. First class customer service all the time every time. I have unparalleled confidence when I buy from Crutchfield

Pros: Solid construction Decent sound Accentuates aftermarket setup

Cons: If you understand it's limitations.. None

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Justin from Cheyenne, WY on 11/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice little unit to add some bass, not a mirror shaker but adds enough bass to round out the system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

5 star

Bobby from Silas, AL on 11/9/2022

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speaker to round out your system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Eric from Sevierville, TN on 11/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good low bass. Not much clarity.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Bang for you buck

George from Federal Way, WA on 11/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pleasantly surprised with the bass this little unit puts out. Fits nice under my rear seat 2006 F150 king Ranch. Only complaint is not a big fan of how the power, ground, and remote wires connect to the unit. I wish they would have used terminal style connections

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Matthew from Brunswick, GA on 11/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Adds just enough depth to my factory system without blowing out the windows. More powerful than I expected and easily fit under the passenger seat of my SUV.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Just what i needed

Larry from REISTERSTOWN, MD on 10/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow installed this sub in my Volvo 940 wagon in the spare tire area . I couldn't be happier ! I wanted nice tight bass but didn't want everyone else to hear me coming . This sub is perfect for my application and the cost was a lot less than the traditional box and sub configuration. I've been buying from Crutchfield since 1999 and I would recommend them to anyone looking to upgrade their existing system !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Bridget from La Follette, TN on 10/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Can't believe this sound comes from something so small,fits great under seat of my old regular cab Chevrolet pick up truck and sounds amazing

Pros: Small to fit in tight places,sounds bigger than it is

Cons: Wish I'd bought 2 when it was on sale

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

GTS ! ! ! (Get This Sh*T!)

Jared Scott from Severance, CO on 9/29/2022

2010 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

when you get it you get it... this is PERFECT for a truck or smaller SUV, Shoot, its perfect for everything. I went the cheap route the go round and got the "dent and scratch" option... you know what they say... you get what you pay for. installed everything to best of my god given ability ; ). had that bad boy bumping for about 3 hours. NOT CONSISTANTLY. like installed at 12pm and at 3pm it STOPPED WORKING! called the homies at Crutchfield. they gave me a few things to try, moved to the multimeter ETC. after about 30-45 minutes of F***** around with it Sal, or someone else put in an order for a BRAND NEW ONE! shipped Monday the 26th and arrived the 28th (September). disconnected my battary - took out the old MTX plugged in the new one... lemme tell you boys! i missed it! all in all, GET IT!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS 2005 Dodge Ram

Aaron from Mulvane, KS on 9/12/2022

2004 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome sound for its size! Fit right under the front seats in my truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Mtx tn8ms

Crutchfield customer from PALM COAST, FL on 9/11/2022

2017 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Needed bass in a stock f150 super crew,,, decided on the mtxtn8ms and I'm not disappointed in any way, shape , or form,,, I adjusted the gains and levels and I am very impressed that such a compact sub can sound so powerful!

Pros: Price, size, amount of bass, ease of installation

Cons: None I can think of

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Coady Wade from Athens, IL on 9/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Do not buy. Not worth the time or money I will be returning it.

Pros: No pros

Cons: All cons. poor quality.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 32 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Leroy from Johnson City, TX on 9/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sad I haven't done business with you sooner! CRUTCHFIELD is fantastic!

Pros: Personal from the fit go!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Died within hours; doesn't go low enough.

Todd from Monument, CO on 8/30/2022

2018 Nissan NV Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm no stranger to car audio. In my younger years, I had some pretty high end systems in cars and boats with large subs. MTX was among the brands I've loved over the years. Now I drive an old dad van (full size) and the stock sound was considerably worse than your typical high end SUV. I replaced the stock deck and it made the lousy stock speakers sound even worse - so I figured I'd use the low pass filter to filter out what they can't handle and use a sub to fill in the low end. That's where this came in. I have a high-amperage 12V power supply so I ran this inside the house in my office for a few days where I was able to tweak the sound and break it in. It definitely got cleaner after break in of a few hours of playing, and I was able to tweak the gain and bass levels. I was surprised that it still couldn't reach some of the lower frequencies that my wife's Yukon does nicely with the stock deck, but it had pretty good punch in the mid-range so I accepted what it was for the price. This last weekend, I spent the time to run the 4 gauge power wire from the battery to the amp location where I already had RCA's pulled, and I fired it up. I was tweaking it and just listening to music in the driveway for no more than 20 minutes before it just cut out. Lights still on, no protection light - just no more sound. That was the end of it. I tested again indoors and still no signs of life. Returned to Crutchfield and I'll try the Kicker 10" instead when I get it tomorrow.

Pros: Price (if it lasts); Simple design, easy installation

Cons: Failed quickly. Doesn't get very low. Remote knob not very linear - rapid change at low end of dial.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

aaron from Salisbury, MD on 8/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pretty solid for a little 8" woofer under $200.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exactly what I wanted.

Robert from Big Bear Lake, CA on 8/28/2022

2017 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I just got it in yesterday and it sounds great! Very easy to install and wire. The instructions were clear and straightforward. It's a bit bigger than I thought, but I was able to angle it in behind the passenger seat of my Wrangler. As others have said, it's not a thumper but it fills in the bass very nicely.

Pros: Easy install, clear instructions, sounds great.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exelent

Rafael from Deltona, FL on 8/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly what i need, have a factory radio and need just a little bass but it mare than enough, thanks have a volume dial. Mounted under the seat.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Matt from Phenix City, AL on 8/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works perfectly with the factory infinity 7 speaker system in my 12 jku Rubicon. Easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Big sound, little boom.

Daryl from Eddyville, KY on 8/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good little powered sub. Brought some life to my c30 farm truck. MTX and RF are the best value priced equipment.

Pros: User friendly and affordable.

Cons: No giant bass boom.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Michael from Palmyra, VA on 7/24/2022

2012 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Ran this with my Sony 20x4 radio, Polk 5x7s in all the doors and Polk tweeters in the pillars of my F150 Supercrew. Just what it needed to have incredible low end and round out the system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Matthew from Charlotte, NC on 7/19/2022

2004 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great and produces a large amount of bass for such a compact size.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Jammi from Virginia Beach, VA on 7/15/2022

2007 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For the price it has a great kick to it. Definitely makes the music sound so much better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Jeremy from Lincoln, CA on 6/13/2022

2009 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing product. If you want ground shaking bass this isn't it. But if tuned in properly it will give you a much richer music listening experience. You will feel the thump and get those kick drum beats you crave that stock stereo systems don't give you it will produce just the right low tones from hip hop as well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Chris from Sabattus, ME on 6/7/2022

2021 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great little sub. Easy to install and hide under my rear truck seats.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Craig from Illinois on 6/4/2022

1997 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound. Very compact. Easy install...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Bruce from Charlestown, IN on 4/22/2022

2013 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Am not happy with the output of this unit. Seems to be a 8" transducer and not a subwoofer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/26/2022
Bruce, we're sorry you're disappointed with your sub. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

2 of 6 found this helpful

Great sounding little sub

Ben from Acworth, GA on 3/5/2022

2017 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wanted to ride with this for a few weeks before reviewing, and I think I've reached a point where I'm finally able to do so. This little sub is a really pleasant surprise. Maybe not so surprising when you look at all the positive reviews, but it's still astounding what it can do. I have it placed under the back seat of a 2017 Honda Ridgeline RTL-T. In the front doors, I have Focal 2 ways; in the back doors, Rockford Fosgate 3 ways; in the A pillars, I've left the stock tweeters. I left the stock subwoofer in place behind the seat and added set of quick connectors so I can remove this sub and reconnect the stock sub in a couple of seconds. I'm using the high-level inputs so I didn't have to add an LOC. The sound quality is really, really impressive. With 8" of speaker, it does struggle to reproduce the really low frequencies at a meaningful volume, but in a mix of hard rock, symphonic rock, heavy metal, classical, and several other styles, it has a beautifully balanced sound. The tiny footprint makes it really convenient in terms of space utilization, and the RMS rating keeps it well positioned within the soundstage without being overwhelming. It'll make your rearview bounce a little and you can make it loud enough to annoy your copilot, but it's not necessary to do that when you can get solid, tight bass across a wide range of music. I think it's a good product and I would absolutely buy another one when my wife's 12 year old 8"MTX tube eventually dies - if e

Pros: Sound quality, price, adjustability, ease of operation

Cons: None for its size - would love for MTX to make a 10" version to better reproduce lower frequencies at volume.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

9 of 9 found this helpful

Just what i was missing

Crutchfield customer from Wantagh, NY on 1/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just what I was missing. Got me the bottom I was looking for without the overwhelming thumping bass.

Pros: Fills in that bass very nicely, small enough to fit under my liberty's rear seat. Sound is very clean and deep.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Impressed with the sound of this small subwoofer!

Crutchfield customer from Laurel , MT on 12/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds amazing! Adds a lot more depth to the music in my truck. Quite impressed with how much bass this actually produces. Much better than other compact subwoofers that I've used. Would definitely recommend for anyone who wants to add bass to there limited space vehicle.

Pros: Power, sound, price, and size.

Cons: Haven't found any cons yet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Pinson, AL on 12/26/2021

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

excellent unit space saver great sound and well built

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect for simple, cheap sub option

Crutchfield customer from Summersville, WV on 12/21/2021

2018 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really impressed with the results of the bass. Expectations were low since the price was low. Underneath the drivers seat it spreads the bass throughout the cabin smoothly. the power is enough to make my rearview mirror shake but not enough to rattle anything else in the cabin (and that's fine lol)

Pros: -Amazing bass for anyone looking for a simple cheap subwoofer -powered so no need for a amp -small enough to fit under a seat, no wasted trunk space.

Cons: may not be powerful enough for those looking to impress everyone at the gas station or a quiet neighborhood at 3am

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from New Braunfels, TX on 11/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice strong solid thump for a small sub and encloser couldn't be happier

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Surprising punch

Timothy from LATHAM, NY on 11/23/2021

2016 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This little thing really adds some much needed punch. It's not like two 12 in a trunk but more like additional bass right in the 50-80hz range. Most people in your car will never realize its there but they won't be asking for more bass either. Fit perfect under the passenger seat of a Nissan Frontier. I used a PVC board and the factory seat bolts to secure it.

Pros: easy install, set up good punch

Cons: Not going to rattle your mirrors

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Morganton, NC on 10/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome little speaker more than I was expecting hits great mid to high bass Fitts right under the seat in a 2016 civic bass control knob a must some music way to loud great option some lowes good for a 8'speakes all a round great speaker

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Arapaho, OK on 10/17/2021

1989 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Hilo, HI on 9/27/2021

2003 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

ALOHA. I PURCHASED AND INSTALLED THE MTX TN8MS POWERED SUBWOOFER INTO MY 03 TUNDRA. I POWERED IT UP AND WOULDNT WORK. CALLED TECH SUPPORT TO TROUBLESHOOT AND FOUND OUT SUB WAS NO GOOD RIGHT OUT THE BOX. I GOT TO RETURN AND GET A REPLACEMENT SUB. INSTALLED REPLACEMENT SUB AND WORKED. SUB IS OK. BASS DOESNT GO DEEP AND WHEN IT TRIES THE SPEAKER HITS THE GRILLE AND THERES A TAPPING SOUND. JUST GOTTA PLAY WITH THE ADJUSTMENTS AND BASS BOOST. I GUESS I WAS EXPECTING BIG THINGS FROM THIS SUB. I DECIDED TO TAKE THE SUB OUT AND PUT IT INTO MY WIFES 2018 4RUNNER. SOUNDED OK IN THE 4RUNNER JUST ENOUGH FOR THE FAMILY TO ENJOY A LITTLE ADDED BASS. FOR ME IF THERE WASNT THE TAPPING FROM THE GRILLE COVER I WOULD BE SATISFIED WITH THE SUB. TECH SUPPORT WAS AWESOME. HELPED ME TROUBLESHOOT AND GOT SPEAKER WIRING DIAGRAM SO I COULD HOOK UP TO THE STOCK DECK FOR THE 2018 4RUNNER.

Pros:

Cons: SPEAKER TAPS GRILLE WHEN HITTING CERTAIN BASS LEVELS

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Good sound quality for the cost and size!

Tyler from Lancaster, OH on 9/15/2021

2013 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I Installed this under the front passenger seat of a Subaru Impreza. Originally intended to place it in the trunk space, but under the seat worked out well. Had to remove the passenger seat and trim the rear foot vents to fit it, but it has a good snug fit. Only been using for a few days, but it has worked well so far. It can take a little fine tuning, but it produces rather good mid bass quality. I've personally found that dialing out the higher bass, and using some bass boost compliments my door speakers better. The only real con, and a minor one at that. The lower bass frequencies, say around 40-50Hz and lower, don't produce a lot of sound. But that is not a surprise with how compact it is and being an 8" speaker. If you are looking for a decent hideaway sub to save space in a smaller vehicle, but still have a lot of mid bass volume, this one will work out well!

Pros: Relatively easy install, being a compact all-in-one unit. Has good mid bass volume for the size. Not overly complex to tune. Full metal casing.

Cons: Lower frequencies below 40-50Hz are a bit damp even using bass boost or higher gain. Requires tuning out most of the mid bass and high bass frequencies to boost it.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Clear Lake, IA on 9/11/2021

2005 GMC Canyon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding, added that extra sound that was needed, fit perfectly under the seat of my gmc canyon. Will not disappoint.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2005 camry LE subwoofer

Crutchfield customer from Darien, IL on 8/1/2021

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great addition to my Camry, and is just right for the space in the cabin. Anything more would probably drown out the speakers and cause disruption.

Pros: Fits perfectly under the seat. Great addition to speaker system for a smaller sedan.

Cons: I'll had to unscrew the seat and secure the sub/amp to the floor. The only downside is the "inconvenience " but gotta secure the gear or pay for it twice.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Best bang for your buck

Sean from Collinsville, IL. on 7/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed this unit under my bucket seat of my Yukon Denali cause I didn't want to use up any cargo space. I'm pleasantly surprised at the bass, being that as a kid I always ran JL subs with a Rockford amp that sounded amazing, as an adult but still a kid at heart this was just the ticket for the truck. Grab one, you won't be sorry.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome Subwoofer

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, OR on 7/21/2021

2005 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have been wanting a subwoofer for under my back seat for a long time and can't tell you how happy i am with the product....thank you soo much

Pros: Excellent quality of bass i love it

Cons: I have no cons about this product it sounds amazing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good Sub I suppose, but did not fit under seat of 2013 Wrangler.

Steve from Jackson, MO on 7/20/2021

2013 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I gave five stars, primarily due to Crutchfield service. I have no idea whether the sub is good or not, because I couldn't install it under the front seat in my 2013 Jeep Wrangler JK Sport. That is why I am leaving the review, so if someone searches, it may save them the time to order and return. I think the sub would have fit in the floorboard area fine, but I wanted it totally tucked under the seat to avoid prying eyes because I keep the top off the Jeep almost all the time. So I sent this back and ordered two of the Pioneer TS-WX130DA. See my review and pics there for the Jeep Wrangler install. Hope this helps some other Jeep owner some time.

Pros: Looks great. Probably sounds good.

Cons: Didn't fit under the front seat of my 2013 Wrangler.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Apo, AP on 7/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Has some good sound, a little punch and will fit almost anywhere. It fades out with some of the lower bass, maybe 20-50 HZ, but I guess that is to be expected with a shallow mount 8. If you are looking to up your stock stereo or just don't like a lot of bass than this is a great sub to work with.

Pros: Small, all in one unit.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Might be your ticket!

Crutchfield customer from Meridian, ID on 7/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect for what it is intended to be. Great little 8" to add some mid-bass to your 6 1/2" components. Be honest with yourself on what this is, it's not going to give you the low end bass and impact of a full sized 8" boxed setup. It is great to round out the mid-bass and slightly reach into the lower end though.

Pros: Size Value Features

Cons: No true low end impact.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

This thing rocks!

Crutchfield customer from Gallipolis, OH on 6/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's an 8" sub, so I wasn't expecting much, but it booms! It also fits perfectly under the passengers seat of my 2015 forester. Absolutely worth the buy, we love it!

Pros: Space saving Louder than I thought it would be Bass knob is great

Cons: Only 8", so bass isn't super deep

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice sound out of a small package

Jason M from OSHKOSH, WI on 6/24/2021

2020 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow! I never thought I would hear and feel great bass out of a small package. Will it rattle your fillings loose, no. But it will give your system a good low end to round out your sound. If you want to crack your windshield, don't buy this enclosure. But if you want to add some clean low end sound to your factory system, buy this now. Fits great in the rear tool cubby of my 2020 Wrangler. Glad I bought this and Crutchfield made installation a breeze.

Pros: Compact and clean sound. Simple hook up.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

AY CARAMBA!!!

cornelius from COACHELLA, CA on 1/9/2021

2005 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

OHHHHHH MY GOODNESS!!! Conveniently nestled directly under the front seat of my civic, this little beast absolutely ROARS!!!! it doesn't take up lots of space but you will definitely be blown away by the sound!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 11/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great punch for the money. Everything you need for a truck cab.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

disappointed

Crutchfield customer from Stone Mountain, GA on 11/3/2020

2008 Audi S4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was very disappointed! I could barely hear it over my factory system. It made the system sound worse. I'm returning it as I write this review!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great all

Steve from DELAND, FL on 10/29/2020

2010 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This thing is awesome, if you are just trying to put a little more bass in your car or truck without being overpowering and clear bass this is for you. Fits under a truck seat or in trunk perfectly. The sound this all in one makes is really impressive. I would definitely put this in another vehicle. This is no competition amp package but it does put down some good bass. You will be impress with it and real easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Ram 1500 classic quad

Scott from Houma, LA on 10/24/2020

2019 Ram 1500 Classic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Better than what I expected. Not window rattling base but very clean. I may buy another to put under my passenger seat

Pros: All good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Wow

Crutchfield customer from Casper, WY on 10/24/2020

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wanted to add bass to my system without taking up all of my available space. I debated on several brands for this type of powered enclosure, and was assured they where all the same other than name/brand. I chose the mtx because of the price, warranty, and aluminum enclosure. I was hesitant cause it is an 8" instead of a 10" sub, thinking this would not fill my needs. I was dead wrong. I mounted this behind my back seat in my 2012 Tundra Crew Max and was amazed by the sound. I can fill the bass in the seats, and makes it hard to see out the rear view mirror. You have to adjust all dials to hone in the best sound. I would recommend reading Crutchfield's website on how to set the amp settings. I've been buying from Crutchfield since the late 90s and have never been disappointed with anything I've bought from them.

Pros: Sound, power, heavy duty, durable, not cheaply made.

Cons: Nothing at all

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Richmondville, NY on 10/12/2020

2006 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just the perfect amount of bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Space Saver

Kenneth from PRESCOTT VALLEY, AZ on 9/28/2020

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great powered sub! It won't win a db drag competition but the bass it delivers is exceptional for its size and power. Installation was very easy and fit nicely behind the rear seat of my Ram 1500 crew cab. Having the option of using high level speaker inputs with remote sense was very nice as this reduced the cost of other needed supplies for the installation. Simple setup with gain adjustment, crossover setting, and bass boost was a breeze. I could not be happier with this purchase. MTX makes great American made products!

Pros: Compact design, great power, easy installation.

Cons: Does not hit the low frequencies very well.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Merced, CA on 9/28/2020

2017 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great adds a nice bump to the music. Only one thing I would change is the remote could be better only uses double sided tape to mount and feels extremely cheap

Pros: Good bump for size

Cons: Controller quality

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

LOVE it!!

Crutchfield customer from Sherwood, OR on 9/23/2020

2006 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Tremendous bass from a single 8" sub, super easy to install with the built in amp, simple and easy "tuning" instructions for initial setup, easy to use bass adjustment remote switch that was a piece of cake to mount on my dash, and most of all the super slim profile made finding a spot in my truck a cinch!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Sn Bernrdno, CA on 9/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The MTX TN8MS sounds great in my 2006 mazda 3 hatch. The bottom end it produces is just what the sound needed.

Pros: All good

Cons: Would've liked to have numbers printed on the unit for crossover adjustment. Tricky to dial in.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, VA on 9/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had my Hidden subwoofer amp from Crutchfjeld installed in my Box truck. Work days are great now. It was shipped to me for free, in one day. I am really happy.Go Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Litchfield Park, AZ on 9/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed in my pontoon boat sounds great.

Pros: Sounds great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TN8MS...WOW!

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 9/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First time installing a preamp sub on my own. Thanks to the Crutchfield support was court and knowledgeable. The quality of the sub box is great and easy as well to mount. Wow is all I can say to the quality sound it has. The sound has exceede my thoughts and the sound is shear quality. I would recommend te TN8MS. You won't be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome sound from a heavy small package unit

Chris from Social Circle Ga on 9/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

You will be pleasantly surprised how much bass you get out of the tiny unit. Very heavy and well made. I put it under my back seat in a 2001 dodge dakota and I could not be happier with the sound quality. As always Crutchfield shipped it quickly and install was a easy.

Pros: Very well made, easy install

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice subtle base

Steven from SAN DIEGO, CA on 7/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed this sub in the back of a Jeep Renegade. My initial plan was to install in under the passenger seat but there wasn't enough room. The base produced by this isn't earth shattering but it definitely provides subtle base. I am still tweaking it to get the best sound. I think in retrospect, I would team this up with an LOC. Only complaints are when I turn off the vehicle and the unit powers down, there is a loud pop. I wish there was a different EBC so that I could install the unit behind a panel or blank accessory knock out and just drill a small hole for a dial. In addition to this powered subwoofer, I installed Kenwood KFC-835C in the dash (sound amazing!), Rockford Fosgate P1694 in the front doors, Rockford Fosgate P1525X2 in the back doors. As I said before, I plan on adding a Sound Control LOC since I think the stock stereo is really holding this system back.

Pros: Easy to Install Solid feel Decent Bass Priced right

Cons: EBC dial not the best design

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Wasco, CA on 6/3/2020

2016 Chevrolet Spark

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great bass for a low price. I have this installed in my 2016 chevy Spark. I sounds amazing in here. Can't hear it down the street, but I didn't get it to impress anyone outside of my car.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, IL on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I thought it would have a bit more thump than what it does, but the factory stereo in a new car I believe is culprit even with lc2i

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Kirksville, MO on 5/19/2020

2012 Kia Sportage

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good clean bass. Not window shattering. Love the remote to turn gain up and down. Mounted right next to drivers seat. If you like deep bass with no distortion this sub is a very good buy. If u are wanting the neighbors 4 blocks away to hear you coming then look at the giant box size and very powerful amp. The MTX is perfect for my wife and me

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Graham, WA on 5/19/2020

2003 Kia Rio

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works and fits like I expected very pleased

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Goodland, KS on 5/14/2020

2003 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fitment for my vehicle says that it won't fit but in fact if fits rather nicely under passenger seat of my 03 F-250 extended cab. Only complaint is that the knob for adjusting the volume you could say doesn't really have any adjustment either on or off basically.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Omaha, NE on 5/14/2020

2008 Honda Fit

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice having multiple ways to adjust the bass and gain

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very Good Option

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 5/12/2020

1997 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The sub sounds great. It really adds to the overall sound quality of my system. I really like how the amp is built into the unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Veedersburg, IN on 5/12/2020

2011 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good sound from a small sub. Just what my single cab truck needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Conifer, CO on 5/8/2020

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This sub gave me just the extra bass kick I was looking for. It fit perfectly behind the seat of my 2012 Tacoma Double Cab.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pleasantly surprised

Crutchfield customer from Fort Pierce FL on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed this sub in my 2017 Nissan Rogue to add some bass to the stock system. It sounds great and has enough bass for my taste.

Pros: Great sound from a small sub. Very affordable

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Powered sub

MAHLONE H. from HAYES, VA on 5/4/2020

2013 Ford Transit Connect

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great upgrade to the system. The bass response is tight and accurate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

2010 Tacoma

Jacob from Clarkdale, AZ on 5/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy to install and Great Sounding. Installed it in a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. Was just what the system needed...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sub

Crutchfield customer from Willard, NC on 5/2/2020

2007 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The MTX TN8MS has great sound. I could not believe the sound I get from this. Installing it was a breeze and tuning it was simple. The only problem I had was it did not fit under my 07 Dodge dakota seat. But that was my fault I did not see the hump under the seat.

Pros: Easy install Great Sound Easy tuning

Cons: Did not fit under my seat

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Turlock, CA on 4/27/2020

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good sound quality. I like that everything is on one panel instead of 2 . Only draw back is I wish controls were retractable knobs instead of have to go in with a small screwdriver to adjust.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Works great - fast shipping. Crutchfield gets it done!

Crutchfield customer from Grand Forks, ND on 4/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this for my 2014 F150 STX crew cab because the factory (non-supreme) stereo needed a little extra punch. This unit is well built and looks durable, I'm going to mount it eventually but it's currently at home under the right rear seat. I connected it to the rear speaker outputs by teeing into the speaker wiring where it's located under in the channels that run under the door sills on each side. (No door panel disassembly required.) I grounded the unit with a 10 gauge wire right to the vehicle chassis and ran the main power wire feed directly to B+. With it connected to the speaker level inputs, it senses an input and powers on automatically. One thing I was concerned about was this speaker or the door speakers "thumping" as the truck is turned on/off and that doesn't occur at all. It doesn't "rattle the windows" but it adds enough supplement to the low end to keep me happy. I didn't give it a five star rating, because I typically don't do that....it seems silly to rate something "perfect". Crutchfield's service was outstanding - I actually ordered this via my phone online during my lunch break at work and about 45 minutes later I received a message that it was packed and sent to shipping. THIS company knows how to do business!

Pros: Appears to be well built, powers on/off without annoying "thump", has wired remote, easy to install.

Cons: Not really a "con", but your expectations need to align with what the product actually is. It'll supplement the low-end if your system currently lacks it, but it isn't going to rattle your windows.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Jonathan from Trunk on 4/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I think this is perfect foa upgrade to a factory radio and speakers puts out just the right bass for a car that your nothoung to keep forever and yoy would like some boom

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Lake Elmo, MN on 4/14/2020

2015 Nissan NV Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great, easy setup!! Mounted in back door of my Nissan NV passenger

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Mayaguez, PR on 4/12/2020

2006 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Kodak, TN on 4/8/2020

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Impressed with the sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great little bass box.

Crutchfield customer from Waxhaw, NC on 3/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Once you have this dialed in it adds the right amount of low end sound to your system without going overboard. The price was just right too.

Pros: Price, easy to use, mounting made simple, great sound.

Cons: A little too big for under the seat, machine screws for the feet are small and difficult to get in.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Punch-ish

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 3/15/2020

2012 Nissan Versa

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds ok, not enough punch for my taste. At 200 watts, I expected a little bit more. The product itself is well constructed and great quality.

Pros: Quality built

Cons: Needs more power.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Jason from DOTHAN, AL on 3/6/2020

2009 Chevrolet Cobalt

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

everything about the sound emanating from this 8" sub is very impressive, it is not sufficient(yet) for the space of my cobalt, but I just got it and still have some tweaking to do. What is not so good was the master sheet(or installation instructions). the instructions were for the door and deck speakers and not for the sub, this is a minor issue, but one that the Crutchfield staff should have known and corrected...thank goodness for all the helpful people on youtube, and great instructions(including one from Crutchfield) that is available. one last thing, I do not know exactly how a speaker size is determined, whether it is a sub or woofer, but this sub is not a true 8", I measured three times, with three different types of tools and each time the subwoofer measured only 7"'s(from one side of the rubber surround to the other side of the rubber surround), so unless there is a clerical error, typo or whatever, this also needs to be corrected. All things considered, this is a fantastic sub made by mtx...so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Perfect match

Crutchfield customer from Bowie, MD on 1/19/2020

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is an excellent purchase. The sound and subwoofer are a perfect match for my pickup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Crutchfield customer from Elgin, SC on 1/15/2020

2001 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install, great product to complete sound in a regular cab truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Little Boomer

Crutchfield customer from Brasher Falls, NY on 12/15/2019

2009 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Lots of boom for such a small product. Fit nicely in my truck and really helped balance out my audio set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Lo Recomiendo - I recommend it

Crutchfield customer from Catano, PR on 12/14/2019

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excelente lo instale Freightliner m2 106 2010 lo que estaba buscando. Excellent. I installed it in a 2010 Freightliner M2 106. It was what I was looking for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/31/2019
Translation provided by Crutchfield's International Sales & Support team.

5 of 5 found this helpful

It's "Ok"

Crutchfield customer from Alpine, CA on 12/6/2019

2019 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I gave this 3 stars for a few reasons. Ease of installation was good and straight forward. The instructions were a bit vague so I had to call in to confirm so things. The unit is a good size but the screws that came with it are a bit cheap. Snapped the head off one without even trying. The bass output is a little weak for my Hyundai Santa Fe but it's ok. Maybe I'll upgrade in a few years if I still have the car.

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: Not a whole lot of bass

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

MTX TN8MS

Brad from Bend, OR on 10/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great compact subwoofer for applications where space is a major constraint. I installed this in a '19 Ford Fiesta ST underneath the false floor in the hatch area and it fits perfectly. Bass output is impressive for such a small package and the low frequency bass is good for such a small enclosure. Overall, I think this is a great sub to pair with a factory system, like the Sony Sync 3 system in my car.

Pros: Great sound from a small package 2 year warranty period

Cons: Mounting screw holes were painted/powder coated over and difficult to install

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Compare the sound