Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
311 864 128 4
Connect ID #
311 864 128 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Revel Performa3 M105

Revel Performa3 M105 Bookshelf speaker (Piano White)

MFR # M105 WH

5.0 out of 5 stars
15 reviews
View this product
Great sound in a small package!

Kent from Lewisberry, PA on 3/15/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After seeing a good review on audiosciencereview.com and talking with a VERY helpful Crutchfield advisor, I decided to give these speakers a try. They are close wall-mounted in corners of my kitchen and I'm using the port plugs. After adding a sub and the filters recommended by ASR (using Roon), the sound is just wonderful. The amp is a Marantz Model 40n, and I also have a SVS 3000 Micro sub. the combination of the amp, speakers, and sub provides a rich clean, and very neutral sound. A massive upgrade from my previous powered speaker in this area. I've heard people say that they are hearing a familiar song for the first time, and I finally understand the comment.

Pros: Rich, neutral response out of the box Good off-axis response for a room like this where there is no prime seating spot. Beautiful cabinets Great size for my use Easy to wall mount using a plate type setup since they have screw holes in the base for a stand

Cons: Perhaps the bass response is a little weak without a sub Poor quality recordings sound poor quality Cost could be lower :)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great upgrade bookshelf speakers

CT from Maryland on 11/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had eyed these speakers to upgrade from my entry-level Elac B5s and matching center for years after reading plenty of reviews. They went on sale and I pulled the trigger. They sound and look fantastic - everything I had read was accurate and my wife appreciates their aesthetic. I was worried that the effect would be marginal despite costing 5x what the speakers they were replacing cost when new. However, the difference was immediately noticeable. The highs, mids, and lows - supplemented by two SVS SB-2000 subwoofers that were already part - are all better defined. Vocals in particular shine, and the psychoacoustic effect of the "phantom center" is far more effective. They have a great amount of vertical and horizontal directionality for my medium-sized room, meaning that one can sit off center and still benefit from better imaging. My speakers are mounted high and aimed down towards the listener; the vertical directionality makes this less of an issue than with my older speakers. The only issue (described in the "con" section) is that one speaker was mis-wired compared to other, with the black and red posts swapped. A very strange fit and finish issue. Crutchfield's service and tracking was quick and transparent. I'm not far from their HQ in Charlottesville, but even so the speakers were at my door within 48 hours of ordering. Paired with the sale price, going with Crutchfield was a no-brainer.

Pros: Fantastic sound and great looks; major upgrade to my home theater system.

Cons: The only issue, and I'd knock down half a star if that were an option, is that one of the speakers had a loose emblem and its poles switched (the red and black posts are mislabeled and it does not seem I can fix this without major surgery). I connected it to my receiver as marked and Audyssey immediately realized one speaker was out of phase. There are no issues with how it works or sounds after the wiring is swapped, but a frustrating craftsmanship issue for speakers at this price point.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Worth every penny

Kenneth from Kernersville, NC on 10/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This speaker is so very close to what I've been looking for, but fails my preferences in only one regard. I find the vocals to be a bit dry and recessed compared to other portions of the musical spectrum, at my moderate listening levels. I want sweet, clear vocals that the 5 1/4" midbass driver doesn't provide in its dual role of having to give the truly awesome bass extension that this speaker produces. Brasses and woodwinds lack a bit of bite. Those issues might go away if I had a larger space to fill and could crank them up. Otherwise, this speaker is a fantastic performer for its size, with true audiophile characteristics. That tweeter is to die for, shimmering and crystal-clear without being bright. Detail and balance are superb. In a blindfold test you'd think it was 10 times its actual size - I'd swear there was a grand piano in my living room at times! But it should be the tail end of all your system upgrades since it is so very revealing. It also needs power to open up. I wouldn't run it with anything less than a clean 80 WPC (e.g., with the Rotel A14 or Atoll IN80) or it will sound flat relative to its capabilities (e.g., with the Rotel A12). Appearance-wise, that walnut cabinetry is stunningly beautiful, a true work of old world Italian craftsmanship. I suspect that rounded addition to the top is to deter your house guests from setting a drink there and ruining that lovely wood finish. Genius!

Pros: True audiophile performance. Big, clear, incredibly revealing sound in a small package. Beautifully finished real wood veneer cabinetry.

Cons: Needs a good amount of power to show its abilities. A bit restrained in the vocal regions. Will crucify your lesser-quality recordings and playback components -- I knew my older Pro-ject Debut Carbon Esprit turntable had audible motor and bearing noise, but never knew how much before the Revels showed me.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Excellent

Jerry from Tumwater, WA on 10/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent! Replaced Elac Unifi-Reference UBR62 with the Revel Performa M105s. They are just Better all around performers compared to the Elacs. The highs and mids are exquisite with high resolution audio. Steely Dan's Aja is immaculate. Karen Carpenter's vocals have never sounded better, and Dire Straits Brother in Arms sound stage is alive. Using 2 subs (SVS SB-1000 pro and JL Audi Fathom f112v1) that integrate very nicely with the M105s. Crossing them over at 70hz. No EQ so far, and probably not necessary. Very happy, thank you Crutchfield.

Pros: SQ, mids, and highs. Price

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Revel Performa3 M105

Gary from Bear, DE on 3/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The speaker enclosures are elegant. I don't think anyone would call the KEF LS50 Metas elegant. If your room is just for listening and you have a lot of equipment, wires, etc. around then that probably doesn't matter. But if you are placing them in a living room then these speakers are a nice addition. The improvement from my old speakers was not immediately apparent. I think that was due to the speakers needing to be broken in and my lack of familiarity with details in the music these speakers are capable of producing. As the speakers broke in there was clarity that my old speakers did not have. I hooked up an A/B switch and the old speakers seemed to have a blanket over them, although the difference was very slight. Is it worth the $1,200 difference to most people? I don't think so. However, having heard probably the best speaker in this price range, I got spoiled and will not be returning them.

Pros: Clarity and balance. Recommend not using a subwoofer.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 13 found this helpful

Nuance worth paying for

Gordon from BLOOMFLD HLS, MI on 3/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are lovely speakers. I chose them partly for the look--though they appear to be burled walnut in the photos, they're straight-grain walnut in reality, but still uncommonly handsome: very few speakers reveal wood on the front, as these do (without grills. I could do without the faux grill on top). Though almost "crisp," and a bit light on bass, they do what all speakers should but very few do: let you hear new details in the music. Things like brushes on drums, tapped cymbals, fingers on guitar frets, end-consonants sung by a choir, Yamaha vs. Steinway, the Village Vanguard vs. a recording studio... that would be muddied or lost in most speakers blossom on these, until familiar songs sparkle with beautiful surprises. They also create an almost magical stereo image such that certain instruments or details seem to emerge from some phantom point several feet in front or to the side of one of the physical speakers. (I bought one "open box" and one "scratch&dent"; the former was still shrinkwrapped and the latter had no discernible scars).

Pros: Subtlety, sophistication, and intricately layered depth of sound; beautiful finish

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Revel Performa3 M105

Crutchfield customer from Marrero, LA on 5/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow I love this speaker it sounds really well great job rebel the sound quality is excellent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Top Speaker Contender in its Range

Michael from WALNUT CREEK, CA on 9/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's not a perfect speaker, but I feel that they made a well considered set of trade-offs. The first issue is the quality of the bass (the quantity is sufficient), which is sub-par around 200 and below--likely the port tuning. Port bungs provided with the speaker will reduce some of the prodigious distortion present when not plugged--which I would highly recommend doing if you have a subwoofer available. The other issue is the relatively low efficiency and limited SPL output. You'll need more power to play them at higher volumes in a medium room or larger. For those tradeoffs, you get a speaker with tweeter and midrange performance that is at the top of this price bracket, including many internet direct 'value' companies. Frequency is very flat, directivity is smooth, reasonably wide, and well dispersed. Room interaction as it may be infered, is well controlled. It sounds so smooth, yet detailed without any odd crispness or harshness. They are not as position sensitive as many other speakers, but they are best slightly toed-in with the tweeter at or above ear level. Soundstage is wide, and feels about at speaker level. Imaging is very good. The scientific research and careful engineering of this speaker (Harman in general) is no joke. It extracts the best I could expect for the given parts (which are also very good). An approach the pro-audio world has been using for a long time. Great to have such a product in the home audio area.

Pros: Unusually exceptional tweeter performance, likely due to the carefully made waveguide combined with an excellent part. Also transitions seamlessly into excellent midrange. Hard to ask more from a mid sized two-way bookshelf at this price.

Cons: Towards the bass frequencies, sound volume is there, but lacks definition. You can fix some of this with the provided port plugs and a separate sub. SPL output overall is limited. Perhaps a bit too much of the speaker price is given to the design--an opinion for sure.

Crutchfield response on

17 of 19 found this helpful

Outstanding Neutrality and Range

Allan from Apex, NC on 4/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

There's a lot that can be said about these speakers but I'll keep it brief. I highly recommend the M105 if detailed uncolored neutrality in a loudspeaker is important to you. Look for and study Revel and competitive spinorama data then trust your ears. I have Revel Concerta M8 surrounds and a C10 center, chosen as much for physical dimensions as neutrality, but knew little else of Revel or their speakers. I have to say, the more I research the topic and continue to conduct A/B comparisons with another highly regarded competitive speaker, the more impressed I am with the M105 and Revel in general. My use is relatively low volume 2 ch music. I'm using a sub crossed over at 80Hz. Subjectively tasteful application of the sub is okay but I'm finding the M105 operating full range without the sub is enough for my environment (14'x20' multipurpose ie cluttered office/spare bedroom). Most highly recommended.

Pros: Bang for the buck. Neutrality. Frequency range. Detailed.

Cons: One arrived with the emblem off kilter. It surprised me that something so obvious would pass quality control.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Brings out the all the subtle details of all types music

Crutchfield customer from Sun Prairie, WI on 3/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love my new M105's! I've waited a long time to treat myself to a really nice pair of bookshelf speakers, and these were worth the wait. I don't listen to music screamingly loud but appreciate the quality of sound put out by speakers. These deliver a pure, detailed picture of whatever I play. The highs are crisp and pop out, but are not harsh, and with my subwoofer helping, the lows are amazingly punchy. The best part is hearing the subtle room ambience and reverb, a spaciousness or depth, on the recordings that I've never noticed before. I know they are brand new now and will only get better with use. I must also say that the support at Crutchfield is amazing too!

Pros: Beautiful looking and they sound absolutely amazing!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Great Home Theater Center

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought one of these (open box) to use as a center channel in a home theater setup with two Revel Concerta 2 F35s as fronts; the combination sounds great! The M105's smooth, neutral sound and excellent imaging abilities make it perfect for reproducing dialog. The cabinet is beautifully made and it looks awesome in my media stand. Crutchfield was great to buy from, they shipped fast and took great care of the open box packaging.

Pros: Rich, detailed sound Build quality

Cons: I bought rubber feet to stand it on in my less-than-ideal media stand setup to reduce bass rumble. Not a fault of these speakers, but something to keep aware of

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Revel Performa3 M105

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Incredible sound. The speakers themselves just seem to disappear giving way to a broad sound stage and big sweet spot.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Revel Performa3 M105

jerry d from Andover, MN on 9/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Revel M105 speakers are incredible, well worth the money invested.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

As good as I've heard at twice the price

Scott from Ashland, OR on 11/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a phenomenal speaker for the price. Revel has put massive research into their speakers, and that technology certainly trickles down to the models that are in the reach of us mere mortals. The M105 combines neutrality and musicality better than any speaker I've ever heard. By "neutral" I mean that there is no boomy bass, overly bright highs or any other obviously coloration. By "musicality" I mean that it doesn't get fatiguing, even at higher volumes, and instruments sound realistic. The driver coherence is remarkable, better even than the Harbeth P3esr, which was my former standard in this area. The bass, while not thunderous, is very well controlled and defined. It just seems that there is nothing that this speaker can't do. As you try better and better equipment, it will scale up well. I've compared it to several models up to $3k (Dynaudio, Focal, Harbeth), and the Revel stood out as the best.

Pros: -Neutral, dynamic sound -Well defined bass -Hold up at high volumes -Very flat frequency response -No listening fatigue

Cons: -Absolutely none, even at twice the price.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Beautiful speaker that looks and sounds wonderful

J from Tallahassee, FL on 4/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm new to hifi, having owned a giant JVC stereo in the early nineties, and then lots of junky desktop systems and all-in-one surround sound systems over the years. I had recently purchased a set of used Definitive Technology 45s, paired them with a Peachtree Nova, and got hooked on decent sound that wasn't quite good enough. I wanted the speakers to vanish into the room, which is why I tried the Revels. I'm not at all disappointed with them. They're crisp and fill my living room well. I haven't sat to just listen to music for hours at a time in a very long time, but I'm doing a lot of that now. I also have an SVS sub, which is set low; just enough to provide a little bit of the low end when needed. I'd recommend these to anyone, but take that with a grain of salt since I'm not an expert and have only heard a few systems, one in the $65,000+ range, but most in the $2,000 to $4,000 range.

Pros: Handsome design with a great finish. Brilliant highs that aren't harsh or difficult to listen to. The speakers dissolve, with music seeming to come from a phantom center channel.

Cons: Lacks low-end punch, which the M106s probably have, but I prefer the physical size of the M105, and when paired with a good sub, it sounds just about perfect.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Compare the sound