Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
311 864 128 4
Connect ID #
311 864 128 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB 1080p home theater projector with 4K/HDR source compatibility

MFR # V11H930020

4.5 out of 5 stars
53 reviews
View this product
Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Venkateswar from Waxhaw, NC on 3/25/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It is hard to setup

Pros:

Cons: It is hard to setup

Crutchfield response on 3/26/2024
Venkateswar, we're sorry you're having issues with your home theater receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tickled pink!

William from Sanders, AZ on 12/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love it... its my favorite toy so happy i bought it ! The best one i ever owned... and great customer service!

Pros: Very bright! Very sharp picture! So easy to operate..

Cons: I cant think of any...

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Arockiaraj from Uppr Chichstr, PA on 12/1/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Motorized zoom, focus, and lens shift along with memory capability is fantastic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value, terrific image

Damian from CT on 9/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We purchased this projector as a replacement for an Epson Home Cinema 3020 that quit after 8200 hours of good service. We wanted to make the jump to 4k and maintain compatibility with our Epson active 3D glasses. The 5050UB checked the boxes and was at a manageable price point. A cable upgrade was essential to get this projector working with our gear. Even the 1080p cable TV box wasn't able to negotiate a viewable screen to setup a signal with our previous good quality 1080p cabling. We pulled a new 8k plenum-rated cable and the improvement over our previous projector was immediately visible. Fine adjustment of that image did take some care. The optimal resolution and HDR settings were different depending on gear, which for us includes Oppo BluRay, PS5, cable, and older game consoles. Bottom line, we're happy with the purchase. It's a far better viewing experience than the 3020, even at 1080p. It's also quieter and has more options for fine image adjustment. We did run a few different sources, including 3D, and the fine detail is remarkable including the clarity, focus and depth of 3D images. The higher light output really helps avoid blacking-out the home cinema every time someone wants to play a game or watch a short program. If we can get over 8000 hours out of it with regular maintenance I'll be very happy.

Pros: Compatible with existingEpson 3D glasses, good price for image quality, very quiet operation, high output for its size.

Cons: You'll need to make sure your cabling is up to spec. It takes a bit of time to adjust finer image settings.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Chad from Bethpage, TN on 9/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great picture. So far everything is going great.

Pros: Sharpness

Cons: Size and weight.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome, but..

Mark from ORLANDO, FL on 4/25/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Projector has awesome image, looks great vs my old Eason i350. I was worried the fan noise would be too high.. It's not. In the dark, I can use lower light modes and can't hear the fan at all. (It's mounted above my head). On Dynamic mode, I can hear it, but only need that in daytime when there is more ambient noise anyway. BUT. Unfortunately my projector has a flicker, so I need to return it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Jon from Ames, IA on 4/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great transaction!! People I spoke to there, very helpful!! Love the Projection unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 3/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

excellent projector

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Blurry Image

Josh from Cedar City, UT on 12/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this hoping to replace my Sony HW40es. I got it hooked up, calibrated, and dialed in and unfortunately was unhappy with the image. I could not get the image focused. It always seemed blurry to me. I tried setting up in different locations, going through the settings, and adjusting, but I could not get the image crisp or clear. Always just slightly off-focus. I read online of others having this issue and replacements fixed it. Crutchfield was great and offered a replacement, but I was soured and have decided to move on to something else.

Pros: Easy Setup

Cons: blurry image Screen door effect

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Mark from Tequesta, FL on 12/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

excellent non laser projector for price point

Pros: easy set up and adjustments, very good picture and lumens

Cons: no smart control/ apps no universal remote capabilities

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bulu

Dingar Nag from 123456 on 10/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

1500

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 10 found this helpful

Bright and great picture

Thomas from Alpharetta, GA on 9/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far so good. I had a 8 year old JVC ($5K) prior to this that had a repeating problem of frying the HDMI board. After fixing it 2 times ($1.3K each time) and it going out again, it was time to get a new projector. This Epson is much brighter and even with the blinds open you get a great picture. Easy to setup. But this is a beast...I had to cut the whole in my wall even bigger to get it to fit. I will revisit the review once I get through football season and provide an update

Pros: Bright, easy to setup, excellent picture

Cons: BIG

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Internal errors on three units.

Crutchfield customer from Alpharetta, GA on 9/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not sure what the problem is. Worked fine for about 11 months. It then threw an internal error and had to be replaced. Epson replaced it with a refurbished unit. The replacement worked for 4 months and then stopped with an internal error. Epson customer service agreed to replace again even though it was out of warranty. The new replacement is now giving internal errors after just two uses. Customer service has been adequate. Just very disappointed in the product itself for an expensive piece of the home theater.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Vincent from Peoria , AZ on 3/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my first experience with a projector of this type. I own a mini projector but it's not to this caliber. So far everything is working great! It's not a 20k projector but it certainly is no slouch either. I like that that fan isn't very loud. As of right now we haven't finished putting this in our theater room but we've played some movies from our Apple TV and the picture is outstanding, again for the money it's a great first projector! We chose this because it has great reviews. We hope to get good use out of it for a long time.

Pros: Great picture! Very quiet.

Cons: It's big so be prepared for that, the projector does get a bit warm but that's to be expected.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Crutchfield customer from Wallingford, CT on 12/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to setup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Very Satisfied with Product!

Frank from FORT WORTH, TX on 12/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought this to upgrade the 1080P Eason that came with my house when purchased. I am lucky enough to have a dedicated media room but was never happy. until NOW!! Absolutely love this projector. Have it hooked up to an Xbox Series X and it looks amazing. When it first arrived I was having issues with the image cutting out and after reading some posts, turns out it was my 1.3 HDMI cable. Replaced w a certified 2.3 HDMI and problem solved. This thing looks amazing and blu ray movies are stunning. Took me a bit to dial in the settings but I am very happy. The fan is not too noisy which was an issue with my prior projector. This is a beast of a unit so be aware it is large. I am using a ceiling mounted set up projecting to a 100 inch screen and could not be happier. Thank you Crutchfield for fast shipping and a great product offering from Epson.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Can't believe I waited this long.

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 11/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Incredible projector!! Easy to install and set up. Replaced an older projector that was on its last leg and now I can see what I have been missing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

1st Time Projector Owner

Jaime from MAYAGUEZ, PR on 11/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Was looking for a first time ever projector for family time and entertainment with my son. It was like one month looking for options, prices, technologies and reviews. At first found DLP technology. Then found about some people being sensible to rainbow effect with DLP projectors. I was sure myself was going to be susceptible to rainbow effect so moved to next technology, 3-LCD. At first 3-LCD were kind of expensive, reading reviews found about how great they were with color saturation and none rainbow effect. So I decided to go with this model. Best decision! Image looks sharp, great contrast and lots of saturation makes just a perfect image. The extra $1000 or $1500 makes the difference and should change you're viewing experience as a 1st time projector owner.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Crutchfield customer from East Brunswick, NJ on 10/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great. Image is sharp. Watchable during the day in a family room with some light control. In The dark the image just pops.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

exceptional image

ZOLTAN from Winchester, CA on 10/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This projector replaces a Panasonic PTAE8000 with the dreaded green stripes that showed up on the screen a few months ago. At first I got the Epson 3800 but it had focus problems so I decided to get the 5050UB, as I saw focus was a common problem on the 3800. Of course the new projector triggered a whole system upgrade - Denon AVRS650H receiver, Sony UBP X800M2 4K Blu ray player, Roku Express 4k +, all new HDMI cabling. I kept the old PS3 as a backup DVD player. I don't have a dedicated theatre room so the family room has blackout curtains but light from the kitchen bleeds in during the day. I have no complaints on the 5050UB. 4K streaming content or media is bright and vivid even in a partially dark room. My wife is happy, so it met the main objective!

Pros: easy to setup bright and vivid colors good contrast

Cons: a little heavy

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Crutchfield customer from Sanford, FL on 9/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product and easy install. Extremely satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Crutchfield customer from Grafton, OH on 8/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replacing my JVC DLA projector with the Epson 5050UB and am surprisingly happy with the picture. Pretty close to what I had before. I would recommend this unit to anyone looking for a great picture. Can't beat it for the price either. Crutchfield has never steered me wrong in the past and always considered their recommendations.

Pros: Easy set up. Great brights and pretty good darks.

Cons: None at this point.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Crutchfield customer from Haddonfield, NJ on 7/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with this purchase. The product is exactly as advertised. The installation is surprisingly easy due to the lens shift. I am shocked at how good the picture is on my 110" screen. I looked at a lot of projectors and just couldn't justify $5k - $10k for a true 4k projector. I also have some small windows in my basement and needed a high lumen output projector. Obviously the picture is best in complete darkness, but you can easily watch sports with friends with lights on.

Pros: Best projector for the money, easy setup, high lumen output, very impressed with the picture despite not being "true 4k".

Cons: No obvious cons actually

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Crutchfield customer from Reading, PA on 6/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Loving it already!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

nice projector, recommended

Crutchfield customer from Roswell, GA on 5/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After reading *many* reviews and purchasing and cancelling an optoma uhd50x (image quality) and a jvc nx5 (bulb price) i settled on the epson 5050ub. while waiting for the epson to arrive i was able to see a brief demo of the jvc nx5, sony 295es and epson 6050ub (which is the $1000 more expensive but only slightly better sibling to the 5050ub). during that brief demo, the three protectors seemed on par with each other so i feel really good about choosing the epson. after using it for a month, i still feel the same. btw, it's paired with a white silver ticket screen. hd looks really good and uhd looks even better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Crutchfield customer from Cartersville, GA on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Let me start by saying I have seen the $7k 4K projector. After trying this light cannon, your eyes can't see the difference at 12ft back on a 120" screen. This projector is incredible! Deep blacks and colors that you'll see for the first time on your favorite films... especially if you're upgrading from 1080p.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Wife approved

Crutchfield customer from Thornton, CO on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced old Epson Home Cinema. Picture is unbelievable. Set-up was so super easy with all adjustments done through the remote. One of the few projectors with a long throw projection. I have a 120" screen from 26" away and it is mounted on ceiling. I buy all large electronics through Crutchfield for awesome warranty and customer service.

Pros: Super easy to set up. Long throw distance. Awesome picture.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Epson 5050UB - Excellent Home Theater Projector

David from Seattle, WA on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I went with the 5050UB to replace a 5030UB, which was suffering from the "persistent cyan line" issue that seemed to plague the 2014/2015 Epson models. The 5050 is slightly larger and heavier, but the mounting locations were identical. It appears brighter than the 5030, with the default settings already looking quite good and with accurate color. Setting it up was very easy. It does not come with a large manual, but the on-screen menus are intuitive and there are good instructions online. Once I had the old projector down, the physical installation and configuration to a beautiful picture on a 100 inch screen took no longer than 20 minutes. I set the mode to "Ceiling mount - Front", sized and aligned the image, got it into sharp focus, and set the picture mode to "realistic" so it was a little less bright in my darkened room. Done. Some definite improvements between the 5030 and 5050, beyond 4K support, is that the new model is very quiet (fan noise on the older unit was noticeable) and the lens controls (alignment, focus, zoom, etc.) are motorized rather than simply mechanical. The 5030 lens controls had thumbwheels that were sometimes hard to be precise with. The 5050 has fine control through buttons that drive very small adjustments. I was pretty happy with the 5030 until it started having the issue with lines in the picture. I hope nothing like that happens with the 5050. So far, it seems to be superior and well worth the price.

Pros: Great picture. Decent price. Very easy to set up. Replaced an older Epson model seamlessly in a ceiling mounted configuration. (Chief RPAU mount.)

Cons: Nothing yet.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Projector Bliss.

Crutchfield customer from San Rafael, CA on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I know what you might be thinking... not real 4 k, what about when they update their line after Cedia or CES? Blah blah blah. These things are irrelevant. This is by far the most transformative product I've purchased in a long time. I test drove a benq tk850 but the rainbows killed me. This thing is amazing. Inky blacks, tons of adjustability, sumptuous colors, room to grow, I'm not saying it's at all future proof, but watching Hugo via Apple TV last night, I was completely immersed in Scorsese's world. You will love this projector. And kudos to Crutchfield for their availability and quick shipping.

Pros: Beautiful image.

Cons: All in your head.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Fantastic picture

Norbert from Seffner, Fl on 12/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had a 5030 and the picture quality from this model is far and above it. Fantastic picture quality. Easy set-up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Crutchfield customer from Monument, CO on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy setup with easy to set keystone, zoom and lens shift to position image in a way to fill the screen. Fantastic picture quality. Very quiet

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Crutchfield customer from Clermont, FL on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect picture very low noise and bery easy set up.

Pros: User friendly good looking unit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very happy

Crutchfield customer from Dobbs Ferry, NY on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing picture quality at a reasonable price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

We Love This Projector

Crutchfield customer from Palmyra, VA on 11/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We love this projector. The contrast and colors on this projector are very impressive. The blacks are black and the colors are vibrant and beautiful. It truly has a superior picture to that of my 4K LED television. The remote also makes it very easy to adjust picture settings for different movies. I highly recommend this projector.

Pros: Excellent picture quality Beautiful contrast Wonderful colors Very quiet Easy picture adjustment

Cons: Big A bit pricey

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Your own movie theater

Crutchfield customer from Los Gatos, CA on 9/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It was easy to install and set up. A really gorgeous picture and many easy ways to modify all the parameters. The remote is simple and easy to us. Overall I would find it great value for the money!

Pros: Beautiful picture, easy to adjust, Vivid colors

Cons: No manual

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Crutchfield customer from Saint Johns, FL on 7/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

its working fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Crutchfield customer from Valparaiso, IN on 7/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Stunning picture, quiet operation cannot say enough good about the 5050UB

Pros: everything

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Douglasville

Robert from Douglasville on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Omg the picture is amazing. I upgraded from the Epson 8350 that I had for 10 without any issues. I was really skeptical at first at what the picture would look like because it's not "true" 4k. I'm glad that I made this purchase. We started out with a bluray disc to set up the projector and immediately noticed a huge difference in picture quality. Afterwards we put in a 4k movie and my entire family was speechless. My wife says it shows better than her 4k television.

Pros: Amazing picture

Cons: The instructions are a little vague

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Crutchfield customer from Westerville, OH on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First impression - this thing is HUGE! Almost 2X the size and weight of the Sony it's replacing. Have it temporarily resting on an open shelf because I have to completely revamp the ceiling mount. Now, to the good stuff. The picture is stunning. Basic setup is easy and factory settings are really pretty good. I'm also really surprised at how black the blacks are - not OLED levels, but far better than I've ever seen from a projector. The Epson's 4k performance compares amazingly well with my OLED flat screen - something I wasn't expecting! For the first time, I'm tempted to have a tech come and tweak the settings so all my 4k sources can finally be exercised to their fullest. It's only been 2 weeks, but I can't stop smiling every time I turn it on. Most I've ever spent on a video device, but well worth it.

Pros: Incredible picture in all aspects (brightness, edge-to-edge sharpness, contrast, blacks, even illumination, etc, etc). Works well out-of-the-box, but has menu after menu of adjustable parameters that can make it "perfect" (assuming you have the knowledge, equipment and time). And, of course, the Smile Factor!

Cons: Heavy (25 lbs); generates a lot of heat - can hear fan when lamp is on its brightest setting (which shouldn't be required unless you have a lot of light in your theater).

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Crutchfield customer from Moline, IL on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Thrilled with my purchase. Though not a "native" 4K projector, yet beautiful picture quality! Great to see stuff in upscaled 4K mode. Even Bluray appears so much vivid, every wrinkle on the face revealed in great detail on my fixed frame 120 inch screen. Good customer service by Crutchfield.

Pros: Beautiful picture

Cons: A small point about "Lens Focusing". Since it is "motorized" precise adjustments in focusing get a bit difficult. Either a further option of " fine adjustment" or a "manual" mode of focus adjustment would be nice. I guess, living in a "digital" world, one has to get used to it.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Crutchfield customer from Ada, MI on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great projector. In spite of it's size, easy to install. Intuitive to run. Reasonably quiet. Great picture in moderate light. Awesome picture in no light. Very happy that I made this purchase. Crutchfield support was very helpful with their insight regarding bracket options. Will buy more from Crutchfield. In fact, I already have... They got my trust.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Crutchfield customer from Kent, WA on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far so good. Easy set up. Looks great on a 133" screen. Crutchfield had great customer service!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not 4k but the technology is great

Crutchfield customer from Thornton, CO on 3/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The projector does the job. Great blacks and resolution is quite nice. Unfortunately I have an issue, not Epson's fault. Due to constraints in cabling, I had to use an Ethernet (RJ-45) extender, which would generally be a great idea, but I intermittently lose video signal across the ethernet cable. If you're going to make this purchase be sure to have HDMI to HDMI connection. I really think this good device and catching the sale makes it better. I have connectivity issue that spoils the experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Crutchfield customer from Belchertown, MA on 3/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fan's a bit loud, but it looks awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

So far, so good

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, VA on 2/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is an upgrade for my dedicated home theater so that we can view 4K UHD movies. So far we are quite impressed the brightness, colors, contrast, and flexibility of the projector. I have been a customer of Crutchfield since the 1970's and have never been disappointed in the quality of products and service. By the way, your website is superb.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Crutchfield customer from Asheboro, NC on 12/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent projector for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Crutchfield customer from Walla Walla, WA on 12/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

it is a upgrade from a Epson 8350. well worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Just buy it already. :)

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 9/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have been waiting on purchasing a '4K' projector until a 'true 4K' projector became affordable. After reading multiple reviews about the picture quality of this projector vs a true 4k projector, I took the plunge. I couldn't be happier. The picture quality on this is amazing. I replaced a Epson 5030 projector and it is a huge jump in picture quality. The clarity of the image on a 120" screen. The colors of HDR. Everything exceeded my expectations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Wow!

Guest from Harrisonburg, VA on 6/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clarity and brightness are impressive. Excellent choice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Merlin from Austin, TX on 6/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This projector is incredible! Day or night, ambient light controlled or not I get a great picture. There are so many options for processing formats, brightness, color/image enhancement, etc. I literally think it's THE projector for every room and situation. The generous vertical and horizontal lens shift is incredible and allows this projector to be placed in virtually any space. Every once in a while, I can tell it's not a true 4K, but 98% of the time I'm extremely happy with the image. I have velvet blackout curtains for the room but we like to have friends over for sports too. With the curtains drawn open on a sunny day and two walls of windows we were able to enjoy today's game with the image as brilliant as if the curtains were drawn closed. Everyone was very impressed with the image, colors and detail. I had to make a call to Epson support for a minor issue and the tech immediately knew how to solve my problem (Apple TV 4K and Nvidia Shield send hdmi signals to put the 5050 into standby when they're idle and go to sleep). Changed a couple settings, problem solved. I did a lot of research and arrived at the 5050ub - I couldn't be happier (with both the projector and Epson tech support).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Crutchfield customer from Greenwood, SC on 5/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love it!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 5/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

As a long time epson 8350 owner, this upgrade was very worthwhile. The improved contrast and resolution were immediately noticeable. I'm still dialing in the settings, but even out of the box color and appearance were great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 5050UB

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, IL on 4/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Loving this projector. Replaced my 5040UB and the HDR improvements alone make it worth the upgrade. 4K HDR looks fantastic even on Youtube.

Pros: Easy to install; bright enough for my living room when paired with an ALR screen(replaced my TV completely); tons of calibration options if you're up to it.

Cons: Not true 4K, but hardly matters; would love a laser engine vs lamp with the same performance.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

Compare the sound