Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
658 704 038 4
Connect ID #
658 704 038 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Epson Home Cinema 3800

Epson Home Cinema 3800 1080p home theater projector with 4K/HDR source compatibility

MFR # V11H959020

4.5 out of 5 stars
31 reviews
View this product
Great AlR projector

Walter from Johns Island, SC on 1/31/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have purchased a benq3550 reat product unfortunately I had to return . The product with a ALR screen was to dark. Love the picture and the product but maybe white screen. So I went with the Epson 3800 4k projector. It was perfect and versatile, we can watch movies any time night or day. So far awesome. What makes even better is Crutchfield people on customer support a d tech support. A perfect match.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

An Absolute Value - Highly Recommended

K from Richmond, VA on 12/15/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My first and only projector. Coming from a Pioneer 111FD (that I will never depart from) I'm a bit spoiled WRT PQ. That said - for this price point this projector displays an incredible image.especially in a room with correct paint (dark grey or varying shades of flat black) and ideal ambient lighting. Depending on your source and processor capabilities it can and will have you saying "what the heck!?" not joking. Please do not simply connect this and start watching - adjustments to brightness and contrast at the very least will need to be done for your specific room. These edits will be in concert with processor settings as well. It's worth it.

Pros: Infinite picture customization Almost 2D PQ (in my theater) Black level VERY good Beautiful color accuracy

Cons: White aesthetic- a black option would be nice.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very good projector with minor Faults to be aware

PY-florida from PARRISH, FL on 8/26/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Epson HC 3800 is a VERY GOOD projector (bright and good picture quality), but I will give only 2 stars for the reasons explained below. I hope Epson will improve in the future. First, I thank Crutchfield customer support for the ease of contacting them and their excellent service. This is my 3rd Epson projector- last one was 5040 UB that conked out after 4.5 yrs. I bought this to replace that , otherwise my setup remained the same : multiple Blu Ray, UHD, DVD players connected thru a Denon Receiver. Output thru a 4 K 20 ft HDMI cable. When I connected this picture did not come. I tried with multiple cables ( I have many) short and long to no avail. Wasted a lot of time. Finally I tried a HDMI booster and then only it worked. I shouldn't have to use a booster. The last 2 Epson s worked without a booster and with a 30 ft cable. A second point is that I did not like the lens cover . It is too flimsy and trying to put it may alter the focus somewhat. Last 2 Epsons had good lens cover. Projector is now working fine after all my efforts. I am posting this info so that future buyers know what to do if the picture doesn't come.

Pros: Very good projector . Bright picture. High Quality Picture

Cons: problems connecting to a receiver. dislike the lens cover

Crutchfield response on 8/28/2023
PY contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Uniform focus issues; had to returned it

Dipal from WILLOUGHBY, OH on 2/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Like many of the 3800s Epson has a QC issue. No matter what I tried and after spending several hours on it I could not get the entire screen to focus. I would have been fine with just the corners not being in focus and the rest of the screen was (from the center going outwards). Either 75% of the top half would be in focus and bottom 25% half would not. Try to adjust and now the 25% top half would it out of focus and bottom 75% would be in focus. Reinstalled my exiting 5030UB and lo' and behold. Uniform focus! I was hoping that my HC3800 would be different than the several 3800s out there plaguing focus issues, I was wrong. I also did not want to play the Epson refurbished lottery either so I returned it.

Pros: Bright, Colorful, Decent HDR, Smooth Zoom and Focus wheels

Cons: Uniform focus issues. Lower but livable contrast (when comparing it with a 5030UB)

Crutchfield response on 2/21/2023
Dipal contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love the projector

Stephen John from Eastanollee, GA on 12/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing projector. Very easy to install. I mounted the one I got to the ceiling. It took me a little while to figure out how to flip the screen. The projector out of the box is set up to run sitting on a desk/shelf. I would recommend checking that out on YouTube prior to instalation. Very easy, just a few clicks and it's done.

Pros: I have a blacked out basement theater. It looks amazing in the dark environment.

Cons: None at this point.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Epson projector

John from Newtown, CT on 9/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far good. haven't put it through a full movie yet. but I'll let you know

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 3800

Mike from Fishersville, VA on 8/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Outstanding projector. It's bright even with some ambient light and middle setting bulb. Colors are great. Set up was a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A great value and a great projector! I would buy it again.

Douglas from Buckeye, AZ on 6/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I recently purchased this new Epson to replace my 10-year old Epson Home Cinema 8350. While it was a great projector in its day, it ate lamps like crazy and was never as bright as they said it was. Enter the 3800! This projector (which has menu after menu to configure it) took almost no changes to configuration right out of the box. It's much brighter than my old one and has far greater depth of color and detail. Even just looking at reruns of Downton Abby on my Roku, the detail and colors are astounding! I have a configuration DVD that I got with my old projector, and used its menus to configure the new one, but I made almost no changes at all except actually turning OFF some of the original configured items. The auto-iris is rather annoying on a bright scene. Oversampling just cut down on what was being displayed, and blurred some of the fine pixels for grays and dark colors. I would not say that the 3800 would be just as bright in a fully lighted room as a partially lit or dark room as Epson states in their documentation, but it is bright for a home theater projector. I could have bought this anywhere, but Crutchfield offered the best warranty for the product with a 60-day return and free shipping both ways which wasn't offered by anyone else, including Amazon...who wanted $300 more for it!! And it came in just 2 days!

Pros: -Very bright and clear on my 120", gray screen. -Dynamic color and fine definition -Even at today's prices, still a great value. -Epson's best in class zoom and tele adjustments. -Great contrast ratio as viewed on the screen. -Great setup menu availability for those with better taste than I have!

Cons: -Although bright, it's not as bright as they say it is. You can only go so far with 3000 lumens. -The picture alignment dials on the projector are a bit "jumpy" but still offer a wide range of alignment options.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Picture and Features - a step up !

David from Penn Valley, CA on 1/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I upgraded from the EPSON 2040, which offers a very nice 1080p picture, to the 3800. I think it was a good decision. The picture offers more clarity and fullness, and the higher contrast ratio is noticeably better. I use it on a stand that I used for the 2040 and while it is larger and heavier it still fits just fine. A key addition to this model is the Bluetooth. I purchased a Roku 4K streaming stick on sale over the Holidays and I can now stream Amazon, Disney+, etc. and send the sound to my 5.1 system using a Bluetooth adapter using the 3800. No HDMI cable needed! The 4K picture and sound are very nice. I have a Sony UBP-X700 player that we use for watching both Blu-ray and 4K discs with. The picture is richer with 4K, but the Blu-ray picture is also very good. Haven't tried out the 3D yet. Lastly, this projector is very quiet in ECO mode. If you are looking to upgrade or looking to buy a projector for the first time, I think the 3800 is a solid choice.

Pros: Very nice picture Bluetooth Quite ECO mode Easy setup

Cons: Not really CONS just comments At 15lbs you want to make sure have a good handle on it when you're moving it. No built-in lens cover. I liked this feature that on the 2040

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Love it!

Marlin from Coatesville, PA on 12/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We have been researching projectors for a while now. Based on other peoples reviews along with the fact the features covers everything we were looking for we pulled the trigger. Couldn't be happier this is an excellent product. It's our ,win tv that we use every day. It's projected directly onto our wall. Picture quality is excellent.easy to set up. Simple to use. I highly recommend this projector. The built in speaker is fine for basic listening. I'll probably hook up a larger speaker soon for when watching movies or live sports.

Pros: Picture quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Such a nice projector

Crutchfield customer from Shorewood, WI on 12/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Picture looks fantastic! Easy set up right out of the box.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Solid looking projector with amazing color and brightness

Garrett from San Tan Valley, AZ on 10/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very well made projector with amazing color however picture is very soft. If you are used to DLP its not as sharp however what is nice. You gain color, brightness, no rainbows and very quiet. So you have to decide what you like image wise and consider the pro and cons. UPDATED 10/13/21 - I originally was a bit hard on rating this projector. At first I could not line it up to my screen. However after learning how to use the adjustment knobs its dead on now. Next I had a green edge on some white images. I found out how to adjust the red and blue outputs to align it even better. So after some work on this I put the trusty blue-ray copy of avatar. WOW this has the best picture I have ever seen. The contrast is amazing and the color is so rich its like its a painting. The wow/pop factor is simply incredible. Be patient with this projector. For the money I feel its the best out there!! Of course if you have the cash go for the 5050ub but in my case I wanted some left over money for a upgraded SVS sub and some 3d glasses. ENJOY!

Pros: Amazing color and very bright. Very quiet. UPDATED 10/13/21 - More compact, lighter and brighter then other Epson models. Incredible color pop and contrast. Lots of adjustment. 18gbps hdmi 2.0 input. Very low input lag for games, 3d. All at a great price point.

Cons: Not as sharp as DLP, unit is larger and heavier. UPDATED 10/13/21 - No motorized adjustment. Setup is a bit more challenging. Its not a 5050ub.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

decent image, bad focus

ZOLTAN from Winchester, CA on 9/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

got this projector a week ago. 120" screen, 11.5' throw, rear ceiling mount, family room location with some ambient light during the day. Picture is bright and colors pop right out of the box. HDR streaming content can take on a reddish hue on darker scenes. Contrast varies with content. Watched 'Greater' streaming via Roku from Amazon Prime and the picture was stunning. Watched 'Hunters' and nighttime scenes took on some red. My biggest complaint is that I cannot get an even focus across the whole screen. bottom left is fuzzy if middle center and upper right are crisp; or I can balance it all with the whole picture being a little soft. Projector is mounted dead square to center of the screen, but I had to use vertical shift (lens is even with top of screen, recommended location is 29" below top center). I tried rotating the projector left or right a few degrees and it then causes key stoning, so I know I'm squared to screen. Sending the Epson 3800 unit back, and decided to upgrade to an Epson 5050UB as I wanted better contrast and it doesn't appear to have focus problems that appear to be noted in other reviews of the Epson 3800. Awaiting delivery of the 5050 and will post a review once I get a chance to install.

Pros: bright picture quiet good color balance

Cons: can't get even focus across the whole screen contrast isn't the best with some content

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 3800

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 8/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great picture and I'm only shooting on a dark gray wall until my screen comes in. We're thrilled with the picture quality and image brightness. Was worried we would have to sit in the dark on game days but it's plenty bright with multiple lights on. Tried out Fortnyand noticed no image lag.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 3800

Crutchfield customer from Queenstown, MD on 7/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great projector for what I was looking for. Great picture and quiet as long as you don't crank up the brightness.

Pros: Quiet at Cinema level

Cons: Big

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent value for the money

Crutchfield customer from Andover, KS on 7/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Epson Home Cinema 3800 has an excellent picture when paired with a Blu-ray player connected by a 75' directional HDMI cable (with an internal signal booster). What is very impressive are the various controls that remove trapezoidal effects of the image on the movie screen. Although I have the audio connected by an optical cable to a Sony receiver with 5.1 to Klipsch speakers, without all that you get very good sound from the 3800's two "onboard" speakers of 10 watts each.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 3800

Crutchfield customer from Plainfield, NH on 7/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy setup. Image great. Very bright. Speakers middling as expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great projector

Crutchfield customer from Fonda, NY on 6/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

At this price point, this is one of the best projectors I have ever used. I would recommend this product to anyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Outstanding picture quality!!

Ricardo from Kissimmee on 4/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This projector is Epson's mid level Pro UHD projector. Its a wonderful value for what you get. With 3000 lumens of brightness, 100,000:1 contrast ratio and horizontal and vertical lens shift. Its a great value for its price range.

Pros: Bright and colorful image out of the box. Excellent color accuracy. two HDMI 2.0 inputs (some projectors offer one) 18 Gbps HDMI bitrate. 12 bit processing.

Cons: Only 2 year warranty.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product, Better than I hoped

Crutchfield customer from Summit, NJ on 2/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow. I really like this projector. I upgraded form an older 1080P LCD projector. I picked this for its features, reviews and also it was the perfect distance for my 100" screen at 12 feet. I used the same ceiling mount my old projector used and was up and running in 15 mins. I have been watching UHD disks and thrilled with how good they look, but I am also really impressed with how 4K streaming content from my Amazon fire stick looks. I have a dark room and this projector is so bright that I actually had to put it in ECO mode to reduce the brightness.. This is a great projector. I agonized over which one to buy and could not be happier. I did have to play with the image enhancement settings. I like it on 'preset 5'- super sharp image. I like Cinema and Dynamic setting depending upon the content. GREAT purchase. I am very pleased.

Pros: Picture quality- Color Ease of install and set up Brightness Setting options 4K/60P inputs allowed Lens Shift for set up Nice Remote with lighted buttons Size of projector- not too big Did not need to use Keystone- perfect image

Cons: lens shift knobs feel imprecise- but do work Noisy fan when it first comes on

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Happy Home Theatre

Michael from HAMILTON, MT on 11/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice picture, very happy! This is a sweet projector. The picture quality is fabulous and the fakey 4K works well. I have this set up in our front room with a 106" retractable screen. It's a wireless setup outside of the power cord. I'm using a Roku Streaming Stick+. This has the USB power for the Roku - a great feature. I'm using Bluetooth audio to a pair of Klipsch bookshelf speakers with a subwoofer (2.1). Sounds really good and the audio sync works well. I didn't want a big TV that would take over our space so we still have a nice living room that converts to a home theatre. As a pro photographer and former teacher of video production, I have a decent eye for color and resolution. This projector really impresses. I know you can get better contrast for more money but I don't feel like I'm missing much. The only trouble so far is running in daylight. The contrast is pretty weak when there is a lot of ambient light. Was considering a Grey screen from Elite screens that helps with this but didn't want to spent the extra money. I got a screen that is Cinema white and am very happy.

Pros: Sharp picture Good contrast Wireless possibilities

Cons: Daylight contrast minimal

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great Buy!

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn Park, MN on 10/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After several weeks of researching 4K/e4K HDR projectors around the $1500 price range, I decided on the Epson HC3800 based on reviews for its color accuracy (Rec. 709), 4K HDR @ 60Hz input support, low latency, large optical throw ratio, no rainbow effect, and bright image. I am projecting a 135" image from approx 17' onto a Silver Ticket STR-169135 1.1 Gain White screen. This replaces a 10 year old Epson EX51 computer projector that my family has been using for movie nights, game nights, and outdoor holiday projections. I always run in eco mode since the fan noise kicks up too much in normal mode trading off only for a smidge of extra brightness. This is true on the HC3800 as well as the EX51. However, on the HC3800 I can't hear the iris at all. Much much lower noise overall than the EX51. Though if you power cycle the HC3800, the fan will start off loud for a few minutes before winding down again to a silence. For home viewing at sitting distances of 8'-12' away, I'm very satisfied with Epson's 4K enhancement (4 vs 8 megapixel) implementation. With a 4K input signal, you barely make out the screen door effect up close, especially with the rough Silver Ticket screen material. Overall, my family loves our new Epson HC3800 projector purchase from Crutchfield and I would highly recommend. The Crutchfield return policy and support were incentives that gave me the peace of mind for these kinds of purchases.

Pros: - produces a very bright picture in eco mode even during the day with the window & sliding door blinds closed - colors are crisp with a sense of realism - no noticeable lag with PS4 gaming (last of us 2, horizon zero dawn) - super low fan and non-existent iris noise in eco mode - 3D works great with aftermarket glasses Sintron ST07-BT

Cons: - lens shift adjustments knobs feel like an etch-a-sketch - LCD's not in perfect alignment one corner of the screen, due to upright-high positioning and heavy lens shifting - 3D signal detection was finicky, especially with an older Sony BluRay 3D player - No optical out, so I had to get a 4-to-1-hdmi switch with optical out

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Epson Home Cinema 3800

Crutchfield customer from Saipan, MP on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simple and easy to use. It's very good value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Epson 3800

Crutchfield customer from Bethesda, MD on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far it's been great a huge improvement from my epson 2045. The picture quality is fantastic and it does well in both dark and ambient light environments. A bit difficult to get the focus just right but that's how all manual focus is (saves you some cash on paying for motorized) I do wish it had WiFi so I could use my phone as a remote. Checks off every requirement for 4K hdr 10 with my Xbox one x and has 18gbps hdmi so should be ready for next generation consoles . I also wish it had a built in lens cover but it does come with a removable cover. The fan is extremely quiet which is great when you using it with volume turned down. Much better than the Benq 4K I have seen.

Pros: Great Picture quality Speed Hdr10 Xbox one x comparability Lens shift Lumens

Cons: No WiFi No remote app No built in lens cover

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Replaces a great, still working, 7 year old Epson 8350

Crutchfield customer from Ft Walton Bch, FL on 7/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Outstanding picture quality upgrade. 4K Blu-ray is great and there is such an improvement in 1080p Blu-ray. Always wanted the 3D option too. Love that I have complete control of the picture settings, even in 3D. Brightness can be turned up and up. Love the brighter 3D picture. Now I've got all three, 4K, 3D and great 1080p.. As mentioned in a previous customer's review, my new Epson 3800 seemed to need a bit of a burn in time when first used. I could not get 100% focus across the 110 inch screen. Epson Customer Service told me to just "play with the focus knob". Hummm, strange answer? Now, after several hours, about 4 or 5 movies, it seems to be better. Brief Owner's Manual in the box is simply a quick setup. Looked at the owner's manual online. No detailed answer to questions there. Still "playing " with the focus.

Pros: 1. Outstanding picture quality. 2.Control of major PQ settings, even in 3D. 3. Great that there are so many PQ controls right on the lighted remote. 4.Don't have to use keystone adjustments, and possibly give up some of the resolution, since Epson includes generous lens shift. 5. Love the extra brightness as needed for for 3D.

Cons: 1. Concerned about getting 100% focus all across the screen.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Projector ever by Epson

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 6/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great projector. The picture quality is great. It is very quite.

Pros:

Cons: Lamp life could be more.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

General

Crutchfield customer from Pottsville, PA on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing service from Crutchfield. Product came fast.

Pros: Excellent performer

Cons: Would be nice if it had motorized zoom

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

good upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Willard, MO on 6/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

replaced a home cinema 2150 that had died within 6 mos (and it was a replacement). am hoping this unit will have better longevity. Out of the box the image quality is good. the faux 4k is pretty good, hard to tell how good without a side by side with a true 4k, but definitely feels like an upgrade from a 1080 HD only projector. The unit isn't 'small' so be aware of that but is not atypical when getting into this quality of a machine. So far we're happy with it. It has pretty good brightness for cutting through ambient light for an acceptable image and of course for 'movie night' will want it dark. there are many tweakable settings but so far messing around with that has not provided much of an improvement passed the good image out of box but you can play around with it.

Pros: great image right out of the box; a good amount of lens alignment features for if you can't do a straight on approach (keystoning, lens shift) fairly quite, at least on eco mode. and still not that noticeable on higher modes.

Cons: kinda big and heavy which makes ceiling mount a harder process. the remote is huge as they put buttons that map to many of the tweakable settings that you'd typically just go to a Menu for, but some may welcome this.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Well worth the upgrade from previous gen 3700! Bright, punchy beauty!

Richard from Brandon, FL on 6/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Folks, this is a great projector, especially for the price. I upgraded from the previous generation (Epson Home Cinema 3700), and this is a whole new ball game. A few thoughts & pointers: *Great image quality on Natural out of the box. Using an Oppo 203 (source direct). Brightness/black level is good at 50. For SDR, set contrast/white level using typical calibration patterns; for HDR, set contrast to taste (i.e., yes you might be clipping the highest whites, but you gain a very dynamic picture). *Cinema preset can look good out of the box, but really needs a pristine source (UHD Blu) & even then you will run into some sunburned faces. Really needs a proper calibration w/ equipment on this preset, else just use Natural. *Fan noise on High, while still not ideal, is not nearly as loud as on the 3700. I broke-in the first 100 hours on High Lamp, and fan noise isn't as much of a factor as I was anticipating. (If you can do a proper grayscale/gamma/tone mapping calibration (I use HCFR with an EODIS3), you can get away with ECO and still have a bright, punchy picture!) *Full 10-bit color processing is super evident; no banding whatsoever. 4k/24Hz 12-bit 4:4:4 sources look stunning (as does 4k/60Hz 12-bit 4:2:2 which is the max HDMI 2.0/18Gbps can achieve). *Being able to "hot-swap" the old 3700 using the same mount is pretty great. Even if your current HDMI run isn't 18Gbps, you can still do 4k/24Hz 12-bit 4:2:0 which looks outstanding.

Pros: *Great image quality on Natural out of the box *Fan noise not as obtrusive as the HC3700 on Medium/High (ECO is virtually silent) *SDR and HDR content both can look stunning *Lots of light output; perfect for living room ALR screens

Cons: *Does not achieve full WCG (~75% DCI/P3) *Fan noise on High still unacceptable for the discerning low-noise floor junkie *Cinema preset exhibits sunburned faces (especially in HDR) without proper calibration *Custom Gamma controls seem to be broken (might be fixed in future firmware)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Epson 3800 Home Cinema Projector

Guest from San German, PR on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far it is working like I expected. Only thing is that it taking a little to analize the signal and proyect it on the screen. I have it instaled exactly at nine feet from my 120" screen and color and sharpness are very good. I had to add an extra home made aluminn leg to my generic proyector to reinforce the stability. I will update my rating as the times goes but for now it meet my expectation.

Pros: Very good 3000 lumen projector for it price. Nice color and sharpness.

Cons: It is not a short throw projector. Need a strong ceiling holder.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best in price range. Great darks.

Crutchfield customer from Glen Cove, NY on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great projector at this price point. It's a huge step up from my previous Epson 2030 projector. I can finally see the more subtle darks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Compare the sound