Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
596 354 818 4
Connect ID #
596 354 818 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Simplified MFG AUDEX1

Simplified MFG AUDEX1 HDMI audio extractor

MFR # AUDEX1

4.5 out of 5 stars
14 reviews
View this product
Works part time

Eric from Macomb, MI on 3/24/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far not happy and may end up returning it. About every 10 minutes or so I lose picture and sound for 1 two seconds on the hdni signal to my receiver. I'm not sure what is causing it but it is annoying as heck.

Pros: Splits the signal as it says. Great for those they need an optical signal for their AVR to use in zone two. Great idea so far it seems poorly implemented in this box.

Cons: Must choose pcm or bitstream. It won't send bitstream via hdmi and pcm to the optical. It's one or the other to both hdmi and optical out.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works well

Dwane from Frisco, TX on 2/26/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked great to extract the audio from an Apple TV for outdoor patio speakers. HDMI passthru works great as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works

Aram from Dickinson, TX on 2/20/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works grest

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So Good I Don't Even Think About It

Eric from Lake City, MN on 1/18/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchase a cheap version from Amazon. What a complete heap of POS! Not only did it not do its one and only job, it crashed and required restarting all the time! At least 5 times a day. Seriously? It's a piece of hardware, not Windows 95. Anyways, this product does exactly what it's supposed to do flawlessly and without any video or audio loss. I've not had to even consider it once since installing. If you are on the fence about spending a little more for this type of equipment, stop. Spend the extra money. Totally worth it!

Pros: Works Flawlessly

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

BAD INFORMATION!

Chadwick from Lenox Dale, MA on 1/14/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bad info, product rating unknown.My equipment: Onkyo TX-SR805, Hisense 58R6E3.Receiver is pre-ARC HDMI and I was lead to believe the extractor would pull Dolby Digital audio from the tv's ARC HDMI port, convert signal to Optical and my receiver would have a signal it could read. According to Advisor my tv only sent two channel stereo through Optical Out and that was confirmed by my prior experience hence my pursuit of a device. Advisor confirmed extractor would solve issue, however, no configuration of settings or hook ups would get a signal from ARC HDMI on tv to extractor nor receiver.Tech could not help either.Simplified was notified,while waiting I reconnected Optical Out on tv to my receiver and this time Dolby Digital was availavle!Perhaps altering settings made a change, regardless device was not needed.Simplified called and confirmed their device/extractor does NOT pull ARC HDMI audio from source. Crutchfield was relaying false information from device specs and TV's, there are disclaimers at the end of most specs so no one is at fault.However, time was wasted and frustration could have been avoided.The only change I can attribute to multi channel appearing from TV Optical Out is I turned Roku menu's DTS off, could also be a change I made in Hisense software?Either way, your TV may have multi channel Optical Out even if not listed in Specs.Device listing is being changed to prevent further customer stress.Maybe Crutchfield will offer me a discount code for trouble.

Pros: NONE IN MY CASE

Cons: BAD INFORMATION LEADING TO WASTED TIME AND FRUSTRATION

Crutchfield response on 1/23/2024
Chadwick contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfext for the XBOX Series X

Arron from Criders, VA on 10/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked perfect for connecting my Xbox series x to my Vizio sound bar.

Pros: Very easy to set up.

Cons: None that I can think of

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simplified MFG AUDEX1

Adrian from Campbell Hall, NY on 9/30/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Although the Simplified MFG AUDEX1 did not work with my stereo receiver because it is very old, I'm confident is a good product because I tried it in my brokers newer equipment and it worked.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

so far so good

Richard from Hephzibah, GA on 8/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This audio extractor is working great so far. It was easy to hook up and operate. I was hoping if I bought a better brand then what I had before that it would last longer thana year. Here's hoping. :*)

Pros: small size and easy to install

Cons: none that I can think of right now.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simplified MFG AUDEX1

Salvador from Albuquerque on 12/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you just need sound to be extracted this is your item. If you dont want bad quality sound or a drop on your high frequencies and all you here is a muffled, scrambled and underwhelming experience on your audio sources this will not be for you. Should have realized something cheap can not deliver great quality. The sad part is that my xbox controller delivers better audio. Now i have lost money because i thought it was my audio system, now its too late to return. Beware of cheap audio components.

Pros: Cheap

Cons: Very bad audio representation

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good things come in small packages

Thomas from Houma, LA on 12/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quite a bit smaller than I had thought, and allowed me to add another component to a single HDMI television set.

Pros: Size and construction quality

Cons: Zip zero

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Magic Audio Box

John from Nashville, TN on 6/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This tiny box works perfectly. Passes through HDMI audio and video to the TV but outputs optical audio to the stereo. We bought this so we could listen to music online without the TV having to stay in all the time.

Pros: Tiny

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Simplified MFG AUDEX1

Crutchfield customer from Hatfield, MA on 11/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this to route audio from an Nvidia Shield to an external DAC. It actually sounds a little clearer than the optical out on our Sony TV, though I'm not sure why. The most useful feature was that you can select 2 channel audio only, which changes the EDID. It makes the Shield disable/downmix surround sound, rather than dealing with the unreliable settings in software. It runs very cool, and unlike cheaper ones I've tried, I just forget it's there.

Pros: Nice clear sound. No sync issues. Runs cool. Works so well I forget it's there.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Simplified MFG AUDEX1

Crutchfield customer from Fort Wayne, IN on 8/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simplified MFG AUDEX1

Crutchfield customer from New Roads, LA on 7/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

works as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Compare the sound