Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
122 616 728 4
Connect ID #
122 616 728 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Panamax MB850

Panamax MB850 Uninterruptible power supply (UPS), voltage regulator, and surge protector

MFR # MB 850

4.5 out of 5 stars
22 reviews
View this product
Great UPS Line Conditioner

Valentino from Las Vegas, NV on 3/8/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Unit performs flawlessly. Will purchase another in 3 months.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MB850

Troy from Sebring, FL on 11/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This would be a great product, if the wattage handling capacity was higher. I own a Sony 83" OLED that can draw a max of nearly 800 watts. The UPS shut off the TV as many as three times a day due to the overload. For today's larger TVs this should be able to handle at least 1000 watts.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Works great with AVR

Geoffrey from Norfolk, VA on 10/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My House power is not consistent and this UPS fixed my power peoblem. Works great with my Marantz AVR.

Pros: No voltage lag

Cons: Blue power light constantly on

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Backup & line conditioning

Beth from Indiana on 7/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought this backup for line conditioning and battery backup in power outages. It is needed while generator comes on and is running . We live in a rural area and power flicks off and on for no reason at times. Also it seems at least once a year storms cause an outage. This unit took care of battery backup and conditioned the generator's electrical output which varies when AC or heat cycle off and on. Previously when on generator an older battery backup allowed power fluctuations to electronics and they would "click" when the furnace cycled on pulling more power from generator. FYI- 55 inch Sony Bravia TV, Roku, DVD, modem, Wi-Fi router, and sound bar all plugged into this unit. Some 12 gauge pigtails needed to plug everything in. Too bad some manufacturers don't just use a grounded three prong plug so all can be plugged in easily.

Pros: Battery backup Line conditioning

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panamax MB850

Marc from Hyannis, MA on 5/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great! In tandem w/our wholehouse standby generator, never lost cable, Wi-Fi, phone, or internet. Follow the directions & all is fantastic. Since purchase & setup, we've lost power from the grid on 4 occasions for a total of 12+ hours: our modem/router, 3 tv's, cable, internet, Wi-Fi, phone worked perfectly during the 20 second lag from grid to generator. Thank you Crutchfield, thank you Panamax.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A strong sense of security

Eric from Charlottesville, VA on 1/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this after a big snowstorm knocked out power in our area. I wanted to be prepared for the next heavy weather incident. The battery backup was the main selling point: I know I can power down sensitive electronics in a safe way even if the grid fails, and can use the battery-powered outlets judiciously to keep my phone charged for emergencies.

Pros: Battery backup

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panamax MB850

Crutchfield customer from Sun City, AZ on 3/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Electrical sockets in back do not accommodate most plugs from devices that have converters attached. Need to be turned 90 degrees or supply adapters.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/6/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your MB850. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Does the Job Well

Crutchfield customer from Callahan, FL on 4/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Panamax products are great, I'm using the MB850 for the DVR, Alexa, and the Cable Router/Modem. Everything else is protected with the larger Panamax 5300-PM for the OLED TV and other A/V eq. I live in an area of the country prone to lightning strikes and this is the best I can do for protection on my budget. Also have a surge protector between the meter and my home.

Pros: Works well to give you some time if the power goes out. Protects against power surges.

Cons: Difficult to prevent all surges and this one has 890 joules rating.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panamax MB850

Rod from New Haven, CT on 9/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great item!

Pros: It does everything as described & is still going strong after considerable time

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as advertised

Crutchfield customer from Frisco, TX on 5/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works as advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

great ups

mike from Whittier, NC on 5/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

love panamax products. bought this for new macbook pro and peripherals. couldn't be happier. quality build.

Pros: functionality and form come together.

Cons: can't turn light meter off.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panamax MB850

Michael from Houston, TX on 8/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Decided to upgrade to a UPS surge protector after a rash of intermittent power failures to protect my TV, DVR, internet router, a PS3, and a CPU, and I'm glad I did. Soon after hooking everything up to the UPS, I lost power. The UPS seamlessly took over, showing 13 minutes remaining on full load. After I powered down, there was enough power left to keep my internet and DVR going through a 4 hour power outage. Definitely worth the price to protect all the devices connected to it.

Pros: Plenty of connections, display window shows detailed info

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panamax MB850

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 7/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

No problems so far

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panamax MB850

SteveJ from Tennessee on 1/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works as well as advertised.

Pros: easy to setup and works well

Cons: non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

DVR Backkup

AlanG from Connecticut on 5/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am using the MB850 to provide uninterruptible power backup to my DVR's. It was easy to setup and gives me the comfortable feeling that my recordings and DVR settings are protected against transient power failures.

Pros: Easy to set up

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panamax MB850

Crutchfield customer from Syosset, NY on 11/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good for what it is. Good value . Don't use it for a subwoofer

Pros: Good value and function

Cons: Not for subwoofer

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

I like it!

Bwket from Nashville TN on 8/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great little UPS. I have my TV, DirecTV receiver, and blu-Ray player running off of it. The back panel layout is very well thought out. You have some UPS outlets and some standard surge protected outlets. Nice display on front too.

Pros: Plenty of outlets, small overall size

Cons: Price, can't power amplifiers (surround receiver).

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Panamax MB 850

Jamie from Okinawa Japan on 2/7/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's tough to drop $300 on a surge/battery back-up for your entertainment center, but well worth it in this case. Especially if you ever have power issues: surges, spikes, etc...

Pros: wonderful product

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

finally

matanzas from new york on 9/24/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After a storm two weeks ago, my directv box reset three times. that means for the hour i was watching 30 minutes was the box resetting. I was going to lose my mind. So i set up the 850 waited a few hours and shut off the breaker, nothing happened. Not even a blip. The box kept humming along. Now i have to order a few more.

Pros: covers time lapse between power outage and generator swing over

Cons: beeps some times and seems to drive my dog nuts

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Not for HT systems w/ a powered sub

Dan from Sioux Falls,SD on 12/17/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this unit for its price, compact size, and non-boxy rack mounted appearance. I generally read all of the user manuals for products that I purchase from Crutchfield. However, this time I skipped by the part regarding powered subs in the first part of the instructions. You know the part that nobody reads that says not for outdoor use, or near aquariums, in a shower, etc. Now, I have to pay to have it sent back. Oh well. After reading about power conditioners I've found that one needs to look for one that uses a "true sinewave" (not approximated or other fancy marketing term to define cheap) to protect your equipment AND one that has outlets for an amp/receiver & powered sub. These units are generally more expensive and boxy looking :( However, if you are going to spend the time and $$ to protect your gear that is the route to take. Summary: Good entry level unit for any HT setup or home office that doesn't have a powered sub. I was offered a different product by the advisor that had protection for the sub, but that was nothing more than a cheap surge protector w/ av plugs. If that's all it takes to protect a sub then why not the same style of power protection for the rest of the system? Hmmm.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 22 found this helpful

Pretty Sweet!

Ryan from Lubbock, TX on 9/22/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far so good - works as stated!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panamax MB850

Alan from Cape Coral, Fl on 4/15/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This product works great! It was put through the test with a recent afternoon storm with lighting and power surges, and it did not affect the any of the electronics, which includes a 52" LCD, receiver with surround speakers, and the cable box. This needs to be a part of any system!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

Compare the sound