Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
311 864 128 4
Connect ID #
311 864 128 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Kanto YU Passive 5.25

Kanto YU Passive 5.25" Passive bookshelf speakers (Black)

MFR # YUP6

5.0 out of 5 stars
20 reviews
View this product
Awesome Speakers!

Bob from MEDFIELD, MA on 4/2/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I disagree with the reviews saying these are good for the money. They are just great speakers. I am replacing a pair of Klipsch 600mii's with these speakers(I usually love Klipsch). I'm using a Cambridge Audio AXA35 amplifier. They are clear, have tight , detailed bass that fills my medium sized room. Even though they don't go as low as the 600ii's I don't find a need for a sub in my opinion(don't really like sub's for music). I've had them for a few days and have played all types of music and everything sounds great. Check out this review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m07L2ZuAbGM

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kanto YU Passive 5.25"

David from Mount Pleasant, SC on 3/25/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are great. I think they would be very hard to beat for the money. Paired with a decent dac and amp they have really improved my desktop sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kanto YU Passive 5.25"

Jared from PITTSBURGH, PA on 2/27/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this pair of Kanto Yu passive speakers just because I trust that Crutchfield only carries quality products, and boy was that faith rewarded! How these speakers produce what they do for their price is quite remarkable. I'm using them as my rear surrounds and they're back there constantly reminding me of the wise decision I made. Thanks, Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kanto YU Passive 5.25"

Evan from Chicago on 2/11/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I really love these speakers! They put out a great sound. Even without a sub they feel well-balanced. The treble tones are sharp and loud, and the bass tones are clear and full. I bought these as my entry into the audiovisual space and I am certainly happy with these in my home theater setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Entry level speaker for HIFI.

GERARD from PETALUMA, CA on 12/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wanted a speaker that goes well with my decor and also a speaker that does not break the bank. Crystal clear with the vocal. I love it. Very sturdy construction and it doesn't look cheap.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kanto YU Passive 5.25"

Braden from Denver, CO on 12/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very pleased with these. I've only been able to use them for a few days but so far they have been excellent. I did some A/B testing comparing them to my Pioneer DJ DM-50 monitors on my desk. They are much better with the low end and tend to be much less muddy than the Pioneers. After I was done with that I put them I their permanent home as L/R speakers for my living room TV. (I don't have space for floor standers) Even with their diminutive size these speakers kick out some impressive volume and stay very clear when doing so. Pair these with any competent AMP or AVR and you've got a great setup on your hands.

Pros: Look great sound great relatively inexpensive Bottom screw thread to mount on stands

Cons: No matching passive center channel No front grill covers (If you want them)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing quality, solid speakers

Cory from Madison Heights, VA on 10/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I drove them with a Bluesound POWERNODE rated at roughly 80-90w with a 6 ohm load. Some speakers leave a salty taste at higher volumes, but not the Kantos! Even up at 3/4 max volume after break-in period I was able to clearly hear the music, despite it being deafeningly loud. The woofer size does leave some room for bass improvement, so I'd recommend a subwoofer in the mix if you're a bass fanatic, but that's my only complaint! Build quality felt good as well, solid speaker, no loose parts or rattling inside.

Pros: Sound Quality

Cons: Leaves desire for more bass.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic for the price.

David from Fairmont, WV on 8/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very detailed and just sound great. I bought them for a desk speaker and they may be a little big for that purpose. Sonically though I am super happy with them. I spend more time at my desk than anywhere since I work from home and they are clear and nearly perfect. I use them hooked to my PC with a Schiit Modi 3 DAC, into an older Adcom 535II amp.. works great. I have many other speakers and these stand up with any of them for clarity. Bass is fairly good considering their size but if you are a bass head you'll want a subwoofer.

Pros: Price, Sound, looks

Cons: Possibly a bit large if for a desktop setup. No grill might be an issue for some but not me.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kanto YU Passive 5.25"

Derek from Minneapolis, MN on 5/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A winner for my needs.

David from Port Townsedn, WA on 12/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great near-field monitors without spending a fortune. I was looking for a good set of computer monitors to pair with the Audioengine N22 amp and a good DAC without breaking the bank. When streaming high bitrate audio files, these sound lovely. Great imaging, very open and warm. I have rotated several sets of small speakers through this setup, most recently a good set with horn tweeters, and the Kantos are much more to my liking. Paired with a moderately powered amp and small tight sub, these would be fine for filling a medium sized room.

Pros: Nice build quality, nice price, smooth sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Impressive with a capital I

Ali from Chatsworth, CA on 12/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very impressed by the sound quality these sleek guys produce! Going from Sony SSCS5s, these Kanto YUs are worlds better in every department. They handle many different audio sources flawlessly, and I can't recommend them highly enough.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kanto YU Passive 5.25"

Tyler from Los Olivos, CA on 11/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I went from a cheap $50 dollar pair of speakers to these and they truly blew me away. It was the first upgrade to my sound system that really made me appreciate quality gear. These speakers have everything I could want from speakers especially with my current small apartment set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kanto YU Passive 5.25"

Peter from Dix Hills, NY on 8/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent range. Rear bass port works well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice little speaker

Kirk from Girard, PA on 8/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice little speaker. Nice complement to my Klipsch 160 M bookshelves(?). A little light on the bass but that's why I got them, to balance the Klipsch.Would definitely buy another pair if needed.

Pros: Small size is a plus

Cons: Nothing really

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Small Office Big Sound

Christopher from Houston, TX on 8/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect for my office. Needed something that was clear in the mids and highs but still had some lows. These exceeded my expectations for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

YU Passive perfection

Kelly from Harrodsburg, KY on 7/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Before a few weeks ago I had never heard of Kanto, and that's a real shame because these speakers are something else.: Well built: They are very simple looking but that shouldn't fool you. They are tasteful with a great vinyl wrap and there is noting cheap or badly made about them. Sound: Wow, I did not expect these speakers to fill up a large to mid-sized room but they do. Very neutral to warm sounding but the highs are sweet and well defined. I have used to Class A/B amps on these speakers 25W and 100W and the sound is superb. Imaging: These things image incredibly and that's with both amps in play. I can only imagine how good these would sound with a really good tube amp. I have a couple and it'll be fun to hear just how holographic these speakers get. Bass: You know, you really don't need a sub-woofer with these, the bass goes down to a really satisfying level and it is detailed and chunky and wonderful to listen to. I have a sub-woofer (but then I love my sub-woofers. But in a mid-sized room you really don't need one. I suppose it just depends upon the amount of bass you want. Music: I've heard piano, male/female vocals. Electronic and traditional music. There is nothing that doesn't sound good on these. Of course a good quality source is required as with all speakers. For the price? You just cannot get a better deal. I can't stop listening to them and there is absolutely no fatigue if you have them in a session for long periods of time. Get 'em! You

Pros: Great price, well built and wonderful sounding.

Cons: No grills, but then I can live with that and it says on the box, no grills. So, no shock there. And they really look good without grills anyway.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Just as I predicted, Awesome!

Michael from Brookings, OR on 6/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I knew they were going to great just from all the pro reviews but know I can attest to the reviews that they are great! Thank you Crutchfield for the option of an open box set that saved me a few bucks

Pros: The sound first off second the style is modern in the white matt finish

Cons: ZERO!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kanto YU Passive 5.25 Black

Wayne from Asheville, NC on 2/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My satisfaction with the Kanto SYDs I've purchased from Crutchfield led me to these YU Passives when I needed wired speakers for a simple amp/turntable set-up in a 12X25 room. I'm really happy with the clarity of the mids and highs but most impressed with the depth of bass they generate. It's truly impressive low end from a small (but very solid!) cabinet. I'll have no need for the sub as others have recommended. I missed the great sale price because I dragged my feet but still happy to have chosen these at regular price.

Pros: Deeep lows, great clarity. Rock solid enclosures

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sound great; look great

Kurt from Elmhurst, IL on 2/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound great; look great; great speaker for the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kanto YU Passive 5.25"

Jacob from Hamilton, OH on 1/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to set up, no problems whatsoever. Sound and build quality are solid.

Pros: Neutral sound, good build quality, easy to use, looks great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Compare the sound