Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
827 091 247 4
Connect ID #
827 091 247 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Wharfedale Diamond 12.0

Wharfedale Diamond 12.0 Bookshelf speakers (Black)

MFR # WHD120BLK

5.0 out of 5 stars
24 reviews
View this product
Quality sound in a small package

Jay from Helena, MT on 12/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm not a true audiophile but I do appreciate quality sound. The build quality on the 12.0 is very well done. At first they sounded very flat and a bit muffled. Once I turned off the dynamic EQ function on the Denon receiver I was able to use the manual EQ on the Denon app and the Wharfdale's came alive. For a small bookshelf speaker, they are pretty impressive.

Pros: Build quality, small footprint, ability to tune to your liking

Cons: They need to be paired with a quality receiver and that receiver needs to have a lot of sound adjustments to bring the speakers to life.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 12.0

Lee from Mooresville, NC on 12/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The pair of Wharfedales finished our surround sound system. They work well with our other speakers, pleasantly giving a full sound range.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great bang for buck

Joseph from San Antonio, TX on 11/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great for a $200 pair of speakers. Nice separation and clear mods and highs. Nice bass too.

Pros: Well built and they sound great

Cons: Na

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Fantastic sound quality

Claudus from Wetumpka, AL on 11/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful in appearance and sound. These speakers are perfect in every way. I have had speakers that cost five times what I paid for these and didn't deliver half the quality sound. Do not hesitate to indulge in this exceptional sound experience.

Pros: Appearance, construction, sound quality.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

new speakers

Frank George from Rio Rancho, NM on 7/23/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love these speakers !hey have great bass, sidetone and highs. And they are distinctive simultaneously when they are playing. No muddy sound with these speakers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 12.0

Tyrone from Marrero, LA on 4/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very impressive speaker happy required

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 12.0

Chris from Troy, OH on 1/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've just today started listening to these and I am impressed. They perform bigger than they are, with a clean and faithful sound. So far I'm very pleased with the room filling sound I'm receiving from such a small package.

Pros: Very solid and well made.

Cons: Not really a con, but kinda wish I'd gone with a darker color instead of the oak, since it doesn't match our furniture, But I did save $50 wit the sale price.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 12.0

Jeffrey from Garden City, NY on 12/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Full range of sound - lots of depth. Great value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mighty Monitor

Glen from Front Royal, VA on 12/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

What an excellent little speaker this is. These white/simulated oak beauties are absolute gems. They are clearly better than any mini-monitor I have heard in a long while, and are probably the best small speaker I have owned in my 30 years of audiophile listening. There is no harshness in the treble, and no "lightweight" uptilted sound, which is the achilles heel for most small designs. I do not have to turn up the volume in order to hear the bottom end. The lower frequencies are punchy, rich, velvety. The midrange is clear and lifelike without being overpowering. Best of all, the sound produced by these speakers is flat-out realistic. I can hear the "air" and "movement" in the music. Couple all of this with top-notch build quality and the 12.0 is a true diamond. These are a no-brainer, and do not waste your time or money looking elsewhere for a high-end mini-monitor. Bravo, Wharfedale!

Pros: Above all else, realistic sound

Cons: Zero

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 12.0

Edward from Ulster Park, NY on 11/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound.Good value

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Speakers for a Good Price

Christina from Merion Station, PA on 11/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I haven't had the luxury of a stereo system in quite sometime - but recently decided to resurrect my old Marantz receiver and purchased both a new turntable and these bookshelf speakers for a small studio room in our house. The Crutchfield representative sent a good deal of time presenting the most suitable products in my price range and I could not me more pleased with my upgraded system. It's pretty cool to be able to listen to my vinyl albums again - especially through these new speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Delightful

TH from SAN JUAN, PR on 10/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I decided to go with the 12.0 Diamonds last year to fit a micro component system inside a shelf, tight space and all. Together with a sub, these speakers deliver fatigueless sound through a Class D amplifier. Digital sources or vinyl, their sound is delightful. In hindsight I could have fit a 12.1 pair, but probably the use of a subwoofer, and the fact that I am sitting pretty close to them in my tight listening area make the 12.0s shine. Plus, should I ever plan to upgrade to a home theater system, they make for great satellites. If you are in doubt whether you should go with the 12.0s or rather 12.1s for a simple stereo system, if you can fit the 12.1s they probably are the better choice if you do not use a sub and your listening space is at least of average size.

Pros: Fits small shelf spaces. Bi-wiring or bi-amping possible but not required. Great craftmanship. Strong magnetic grills.

Cons: Not really anything.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Fantastic speakers

Philip from Brooklyn, NY on 10/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These things rock! I'm very much pleased by the sound coming out of these speakers. The sound is very clear and balanced with a good amount of bass built in to the sound, whether I'm listening to bebop, orchestral music or rock/pop (my receiver is a 90s Onkyo TX-8011). I would *definitely* recommend them to anyone wanting to get into hi-fi that may have certain budget limitations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 12.0

Andrew from New York, NY on 9/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The sound is a bit thin

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Exceptional Budget Audiophile Experience

Jacob from Vista, CA on 9/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For reference, I owned a pair of Edifier R2000DB's. I had done a TON of research and wanted to upgrade my listening experience in a budget-friendly manner. Since I'm used to an active speaker experience, going passive really was daunting for me, but I am so happy that I did! These speakers, paired with Loxjie A30 amp, brought a whole new versatility to my CD playing experience that sound incredible at this price range.

Pros: Budget friendly. Exceptional sound/build quality. The white is gorgeous.

Cons: None to point, but maybe some isolation pads or speaker stands could elevate the experience.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 12.0

Bland from Caney, KS on 9/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great, good quality and doesn't take much to power them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 12.0

James from Canandaigua, NY on 9/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful sound, nice heft

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Outstanding in every respect

smerdyakov from Virginia Beach, VA on 8/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I recently noticed that the fabric tweeters in my D330 speakers sounded better than the metal dome units in my other speakers. Given that, I decided to try a pair of Wharfedale bookshelf speakers, the Diamond 12.0. I am very pleased with the results. The high end is very detailed and smooth, and the bass is surprisingly good. In addition, the build quality is excellent, and the black grill on a white cabinet is very attractive. The size also makes them very unobtrusive. The presence of biamp terminals on such a small speaker is a nice surprise. And, as always, thanks to Crutchfield for outstanding service.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Blown away by these little speakers

Robert E. from Cambridge, MA on 4/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am REALLY impressed by just how good these sound. I'm using them as near-field speakers in a smallish office, streaming Qobuz from my desktop PC, and they sound so good that it's distracting me from my work! The clarity is phenomenal. You can push these with some serious amplification and they handle it without breaking a sweat. I don't think I've heard anything that I'd remotely characterize as distortion even on quite high volume. I bought these to replace a pair of PSB Alpha P3s, which I used for a year and never felt they were anything better than adequate. I can't believe how much of an upgrade these Diamond 12.0s are, for not that much more $$. I could never go back to the PSBs after hearing the Diamond 12.0s. If you're looking for small-ish bookshelf speakers for your PC or office that deliver audiophile sound quality, you really must try these out. You won't be disappointed!

Pros: Outstanding sound and clarity, able to handle substantial amplification. Build quality is outstanding, and they look fantastic. Perfect speakers for a desktop computer or office.

Cons: None that I've come across!

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Small, but Powerful

Crutchfield customer from Mount Vernon, NY on 8/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought these speakers to replace my ten year old Polk Audio TSi100 speakers that I was using for my home theater system. I was happy with the Polk speakers, but wanted to upgrade to higher quality speakers and after a lot of online research, I chose these Wharfdale speakers. The Wharfdale speakers are much more crisp and clear and have plenty of low end base . The small size of these speakers is deceiving because the sound is what you expect from a much larger diameter speaker. I was so happy with the sound from these Wharfdale speakers, that I purchased the Diamond center channel and I'm amazed at how great these speakers sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 11 found this helpful

Absolutely beautiful.

David from PEMBROKE PINES, FL on 7/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have been using these speakers in my primary desktop system. They produce such a nice sound that I can't help but get tingles when listening to a guitar riff or hearing someone hit the high note. I have these paired with a Jamo S808 sub and they work well together for a small room. Speakers themselves are gorgeous and look amazing on my desk. Highly recommend if you're looking for some smaller speakers with great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 12.0

Crutchfield customer from Princeton, NJ on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They sound leagues better than my old Dayton B652s. Much more bass too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

La Pequeña Gigante

Crutchfield customer from Caguas, PR on 3/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Es una bocina pequeña, pero resalta detalles que no se pueden obtener en bocinas de torres. Excelente

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 17 found this helpful

Little but mighty sounding

Kevin from East Islip, NY on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wanted a speaker that I can put in a vacation condo and I didn't want to spend too much or get something too big. But I am somewhat spoiled by my Dynaudio speakers in my current system. I decided to try these 12.0's after poking around the internet. I listened to Wade Preston's piano on "Subconscious Blues" and it sounded very natural with good tone; the string sections as well. At several spots on the song there are birds chirping and they fooled my dog who sat up and tilted her head to get a better listen. The moody bass was strong and present on Cigarettes After Sex "Apocalypse". Nora Jones vocals sounded strong on all the songs on "Come away with Me". As for fast paced rock Dire Straits "Solid Rock" sounded great. I think most people would be very satisfied with these speakers, given their size and price. They have a nice balanced sound, can play moderately loud, and sound bigger then their size. Build quality is very good. However I just wasn't quite sold on them. I felt they were just a little bit congested sounding. So I ordered the next model up the Diamond 12.1. I figured I would keep the 12.0's if I wasn't impressed with the bigger speaker. Well the 12.1's turned out well worth $100 more with a more open airy sound. I suggest the 12.0's are excellent if you are on a tight budget and want something balanced and musical. The 12.1's, they do everything just a little better though. BTW placement is critical with the 12.0's. They muddy up wh

Pros: Really good balanced speakers. 5 stars given price and size. I am still surprised at how good these tiny 10 inch tall speakers sound. If the 12.1's didn't exist I would have kept them for sure. They don't have that boxy sound that some budget speakers have or at least had in the past. Possibly the best value of all the speakers I have owned including numerous high end brands.

Cons: Despite being small enough for a shelf, sounded a little muddy to me when very close to a wall. Sound improved dramatically when placed on stands about 2 ft. from the wall. If you plan on putting them on a bookshelf you might want to audition them yourself to see if you find that to be the case. Crutchfield's return policy is Excellent BTW. If you like a bright in-your-face dynamic type sound there are better choices. Personally I think a balanced sound like these speakers is more vers

Crutchfield response on

18 of 20 found this helpful

Compare the sound