Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
658 704 038 4
Connect ID #
658 704 038 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Wharfedale EVO4.CS

Wharfedale EVO4.CS Center channel speaker (Walnut)

MFR # WHEVO4CSWLN

4.0 out of 5 stars
12 reviews
View this product
West Jordan

Spencer from West Jordan on 12/1/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this center speaker a couple of years ago along with a pair of matching EVO4.1 bookshelf speakers for a 3.1 system. I had them powered by a somewhat older Marantz receiver pushing 125 wpc. They sounded odd and poor the first time I ran the Audyssey EQ setup and considered returning them - I was very disappointed. I decided to run the Audyssey set up again using the multiple measurements instead of the single measurement I did before. This resulted in a HUGE difference. The speakers sounded great! Lots of detail in the highs without being too forward or fatiguing. The AMT tweeters have been described as having an "airy" sound. That is an accurate description. I recently replaced the Marantz with a new Yamaha receiver. I encountered a somewhat similar issue when running YPAO the first time. So, I ran it again and the sound quality improved like before. Perhaps these speakers have a tendency to confuse receiver auto EQ measurements for some reason?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Guagua

745 from Guagua on 10/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing center speaker paired with evos 4.2, Svs Subwoofer

Pros: Good looking, sound quality

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clear Dialogue

Frank from SAINT CLOUD, FL on 9/10/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this center speaker to go with my EVO 4.4 towers. The speaker blends seamlessly with my floor standing speakers and provides a surprising amount of bass. I have it tucked away in a custom cabinet but the sound is not diminished by the location. Dialogue with this speaker is easily understood.

Pros: Good blend with EVO towers. Good bass and clear dialogue.

Cons: Even though this the smaller EVO center, it is still very large and heavy.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding

MARK from SCHENECTADY, NY on 8/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Outstanding performance in a center channel speaker. I use this with the Marantz NR7017, two EVO4.1's for my front channels, and 4 EVO4.S for my surround and rear channels. The combo was perfect, and I was very impressed with the quality of the sound of the center channel - for the first time when someone spoke, you could hear them clearly. Upgraded from a Bose enter channel btw. The speaker fit in the upper space in my entertainment cabinet (above the TV), and I had some reservations about the placement - but it works magnificently well. All of my EVO4 series speakers are HEAVY!!! I think they have some extra cast iron or something weighing them down!!! Cabinets are GORGEOUS, and they deserve to be displayed, NOT touched (they supply the white gloves for that). Whafedale is my new favorite speaker company - they look great and sound fantastic. Very thrilled with this purchase - NO buyers remorse here!

Pros: Outstanding center channel performance, Gorgeous construction. No break-in necessary with my unit.

Cons: White gloves included with speaker were too small for my gorilla-sized hands.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.CS

Patrick from Erie, PA on 7/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Generally pleased but I think it requires some break in time. Probably more accurate and objective in 30 days.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.CS

Robert from Foley , AL on 5/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not impressed. This center channel replaced a Bose because I thought Bose was to tinny. Turns out, this one is worse

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/3/2022
Robert, we're sorry you're disappointed with your speaker. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

3 of 4 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.CS

Crutchfield customer from Dorado, PR on 12/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect match fir EVOs 4.2

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Disappointed

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 12/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Have only had this a week so it is not yet broken in. But so far I am disappointed. Voices are artificial. Bass is boomy. A good speaker is supposed to disappear but so far this one doesn't. Worse, the sound is totally different than that produced by my evo4.4s. Have read that this speaker takes a long time for break in so I am hoping for improvement. Hopefully this is not because this speaker is a 2 way rather than 3 way. Would have bought the larger Wharfedale 3way center but it would have blocked part of my wall mounted projector screen.

Pros: Small enough not to block projected image

Cons: So far very poor sound

Crutchfield response on 12/21/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your speaker. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

great center channel

Jeff from Puyallup, WA on 4/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

amazing sounds from a decent size center channel!

Pros: good price very warm sounds

Cons: for a center channel might be just a pinch on the large side

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.CS

Marcelo from ANCHORAGE, AK on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I think it sounds good on its own. If you are trying to match the evo 4.1 or 4.2. I think it is not timbre matched. I think it is on the brighter more aggressive side compared to those. May be you will like it that way (prominent center). I lost the box so i cannot return it but it is not staying with me.

Pros: Looks pretty. Sounds good.

Cons: Not really timbre matched atleast vs Evo 4.1 and 4.2 as those are the only other ones I heard in the series.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome Center Channel Speaker

Scott from West Sacramento, CA on 10/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I got this speaker (EVO4.CS) after receiving the EVO4.C When I saw the box sitting on my porch my first thought was that they had sent me a tower by mistake! Never occurred to me to look at the dimensions. A 60" center?! Yikes! (note to self; check the dimensions BEFORE ordering!) Anyway... Customer service was beyond excellent in getting me the exchange. No charge for the replacement until the return was received at Crutchfield. Shipped out same day and they sent me a return label. Wow!! The EVO4.CS is simply awesome. I had a Klipsch RP-400C / RP-600M system before. The AMT gives up NOTHING to the Klipsch horn tweeter. Nothing. The EVO is a much larger cabinet with and I'm sure that has a lot to do with the sound it puts out. Regardless, I am very happy with the Wharfdale. It has all of the clarity I've come to expect but with a richer, fuller sound and a much larger sound field. Very satisfied with this purchase.

Pros: Superb sound and clarity

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.CS

Crutchfield customer from Issaquah, WA on 10/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I got this along with the Evo 4.3 tower speakers. This sounds just as phenomenal as those. Just wanted to note that I found it took longer for this center channel to break-in than the towers. While the towers only took about a week, this center channel didn't even out until after about 2 weeks of moderate usage. Could probably break it in faster with a dedicated process, but I was just watching movies/tv shows.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Compare the sound