Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
899 118 857 4
Connect ID #
899 118 857 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Alpine HCE-C2100RD

Alpine HCE-C2100RD Surface-mount, multi-view backup camera — designed for Alpine video receivers

MFR # HCE-C2100RD

4.5 out of 5 stars
18 reviews
View this product
Alpine HCE-C2100RD

Andre from Crystal City, TX on 9/10/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly what was needed for my509

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine HCE-C2100RD

Crutchfield customer from RIDGEWOOD, NJ on 8/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I recently bought the Alpine HALO 9 receiver, so figured I'd get the matching alpine camera. In a nutshell, I'm disappointed in the camera quality, especially for this price. Camera display quality is just meh, to say the least. Have been in many newer cars that have 10x the resolution. I suspect there are better cameras out there. Crutchfield was once again great with their install support.

Pros: Plug and play

Cons: Poor picture quality

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Poor Image for lots of $$$

Jim from Butte, MT on 8/5/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you want a crystal clear image and think that spending the most money will get you that... You're wrong. I like the different images feature and the parking lines that are adjustable. Those are nice, but if it wasn't already installed and a pain to get out, it would be going back. HUGE failure for Alpine. I have an early 2000's flip phone that has better images. I expected a lot more from a high-end product from Alpine. This will leave me questioning every future Alpine product and now has me looking at other brands. MAJOR DISSAPOINTMENT!!

Pros: different angles and adjustable parking lines.

Cons: Image Quality

Crutchfield response on 8/9/2023
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Fred, reached out to Jim to help him further. We'll either help him get the camera working the way it should or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

4 of 4 found this helpful

Cost/quality mistmatch

Adam from Eugene, OR on 5/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Upgraded from the HCE-1100 after being disappointed with the resolution (paired with the Alpine ILX 509 headunit), which is quite poor. I thought I would be solving the issue by upgrading to this unit that boasts a higher resolution, but the only thing improved is the viewing angle (133 vs 180 degrees). Visual quality is not notably improved. The technology feels antiquated, like first generation type of quality. Really I've been disappointed with the entire Alpine experience. The headunit is super buggy and slow, the Bluetooth volume control knob doesn't automatically connect to the headunit, the camera visual quality is poor, etc. these things would be easier to look past if not for the enormous cost. Unlikely to buy Alpine products in the future.

Pros: Wide viewing angle Super easy install with Alpine head units

Cons: Poor visual quality High cost

Crutchfield response on 5/15/2023
Adam, we're sorry you're having issues with your backup camera and your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return/exchange within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine HCE-C2100RD

Tim from Milford, MA on 4/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great backup camera Alpine HCE-C 2100RD

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine HCE-C2100RD

Garth from Beckley, WV on 3/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super clear

Pros: Great stuff

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Verdict still out if its worth the premium

Andrew from Olympia, WA on 9/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Well its a little premature yet to give a full verdict on this camera. It does have multi-view and even hitch mode. You can adjust the lines, for distance however it doesn't have driving guidelines (like OEM when you turn the wheel and it projects where you are going). Honestly I haven't upgraded a system like this in a long time, so I can't tell you for sure if that is feasible now-a-days anyways with aftermarket?? I paired this with the iLX-507. What I really liked was the single wire to the head unit, no extra power or grounds or anything. That was the main reason I went with it. I also went with the Alpine license plate holder (very high quality metal, nice finish, has included additional LED's if it blocks your original lighting). Mine original lighting were fine, so I didn't hook them up as my understanding is the more LED's close to back up camera's the more chance of feedback causing lines in the display. I haven't really had much time to come to verdict on the picture quality just yet. Time will tell. So far I can't say I'd upgrade over the lower model UNLESS you want the multi-view and a single wire to the Alpine head unit. Personally I don't want to do it again (time is very valuable), so I just went with the best camera for matched pairing to the Alpine unit and wanted quality.

Pros: One wire only to Alpine Head Unit. Multi-view's including hitch view

Cons: No projected guidelines for backing up, only zone distance lines.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Alpine HCE-C2100RD

Joseph from Southlake, TX on 8/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect companion to an Alpine touch screen head unit! Tip: add a drop of threadlocker to the screws that mount the metal bracket to the camera. Mine loosened without it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine HCE-C2100RD

Charles from Sitka, AK on 2/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like the multiple views

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine HCE-C2100RD

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 8/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great image

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine HCE-C2100RD

Crutchfield customer from Herndon, VA on 4/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great camera. Recommended. Resolution and clarity are excellent. I suppose the only way to improve it would be to add a hood for sun glare.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Back up Camera

Crutchfield customer from Wheeling, IL on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crystal clear images

Pros: Incredible clarity

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wide dynamic range and field of view are great

Crutchfield customer from Alpine, TX on 2/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It is not a high definition camera by any means but the extreme wide-angle capability and wide dynamic range has proven useful. Not directly compatible with the ILX-F259 head unit. Alpine's product planning seems odd.

Pros:

Cons: Wanting this camera's "Wide dynamic range and field of view" with the ILX-F259 head unit necessitates the purchase of their KCX-C2600B switcher and their HCE-C2600FD front camera. Pricey combination!!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine HCE-C2100RD

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, PA on 1/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install. Brackets are a little light weight.

Pros: Cables are long enough for even trucks

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine HCE-C2100RD

David from Omaha, NE on 7/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great camera. Love the multiple views.

Pros: Great quality!

Cons: A little pricey.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just Works

Crutchfield customer from Abilene, TX on 6/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works as advertised. I may go ahead and buy one for the front too.

Pros: It's like 4 cameras in 1.

Cons: Overpriced

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine HCE-C2100RD

Crutchfield customer from Diamond Bar, CA on 4/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install, works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine HCE-C2100RD

Crutchfield customer from Kennewick, WA on 2/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The camera was easy to install, Quality built unit and harness. (I'm an automotive instructor and technician, I have seen a lot of lesser quality) A little more costly than other models, but well worth it. I will be buying another one for the rear of my camper trailer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Compare the sound