Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
311 864 128 4
Connect ID #
311 864 128 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Salamander Designs Synergy System Model 245

Salamander Designs Synergy System Model 245 Audio/video cabinet for TVs up to 90" (Walnut with Black Posts)

MFR # 245W/B

4.0 out of 5 stars
15 reviews
View this product
Good....definitely not great.

Michael from HOOKSETT, NH on 3/19/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought this almost a month ago and just had it delivered. First, understand that while Crutchfield lists this in stock, it drop ships from the manufacturer and they're not always in sync with the info Crutchfield has on hand. They did not have this in stock and it took a few weeks for it to ship because of a production issue Salamander had. Some back and forths with Crutchfield and a call personally to Salamander, I found out from Salamander what the hold up was. The assembly on this is a good amount of work. Not difficult really, but what was extremely frustrating was the horrible instructions Salamander gives you. Some pieces they included didn't even have any instructions on what to do with them. There are zero install videos on their site or their YouTube channel on how any of this goes together, so you do have to kind of "figure it out" based on what you have in front of you. Now that I have it together.....I've got a handful of parts and a bunch of extra "shelf pegs" that don't seem necessary but it seems solid and it's together.....so there's that I guess. If i could've bought an assembled piece, I would've just bought a BDI for a few bucks more.....but needed something I could get around corners and upstairs, and of this size.....unassembled was the only option for me. Lot's of room for improvement here Salamander (mostly in instructions). For $2500....you should get pretty good assembly instructions for this. Overall though.....not a bad piece.

Pros: Solid Construction

Cons: Horrible Assembly Instructions

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Salamander Designs Synergy System Model 245

Jason from Detroit Area, MI on 6/26/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you're looking at this TV stand, you probably have a large TV and/or center channel speaker. The good news is this stand is pretty nice and the top and center shelf are spacious enough for the largest TVs and center channel speakers on the market. Delivery was fairly quick and painless. The stand arrived on a very long pallet in two boxes. While the parts are well protected by the packaging, several pieces arrived with minor scratches and paint defects. Fortunately, I was able to hide most of them during assembly. The two small doors had paint issues on the front. I called Salamander Designs and they quickly sent me two replacements. Unfortunately, the QC for the replacement doors wasn't much of an improvement, so I wound up installing the two least-bad doors I was provided. Assembly will test your patience, sanity, and possibly your marriage (if you are married). The instructions are outdated. Tolerances are very tight, so everything has to be assembled square and level to fit together correctly. Leveling the shelves and doors was an absolute nightmare because they are infinitely adjustable. My biggest complaint is the paint on the wood and posts scratches very easily. At this price point, I was hoping for something a little more durable. I'm also not a fan of the perforated door covers - it's difficult to see the display of the components on the shelves. Lastly, do yourself a favor and buy the optional casters. I can't imagine trying to move it without them.

Pros: - Looks good - Very sturdy - Build materials are decent quality - My experience with customer service to resolve a warranty issue was top notch - Delivery was pretty quick - about a week - Perfect viewing height for TV (even on casters)

Cons: - Very difficult to assemble - Instructions are inaccurate - Several pieces arrived with minor scratches/paint defects - Paint is easily scratched (wood and posts) - Leveling the shelves and doors is a nightmare - Assembly tolerances are very tight - Difficult to see display of components behind perforated door covers - Purchasing the optional casters is basically a requirement if you ever want to move it again - Paint and build materials could be higher quality

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Impressive!!

Timewarpone from Central, CA on 7/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very, Very Nice!! Looks Great!! (Dark Cherry with Black Posts) Very sturdy and very well made. I bought this to use with my 85 in. TV. Plenty of room underneath. The door panels have perforated metal panels that allow IR signals from your remote to pass through, as well as air to ventilate your gear. The doors also feature special hinges that extend so you can fully open each door. You have the choice to leave the doors off or open from the opposite direction. My Polk Audio CSi A6 center speaker fits perfectly. The back panels accommodate all your wiring needs. This is a very heavy TV Stand. You will need 2 or 3 very strong people to move it. I suggest putting it together very close to where you plan on using it. The 10 feet are pre-installed with carpet gliders. I placed felt ones (Not Included) over these because I have hard wood floors. Easier to move this way. It took me 8 full hours to put it together by myself. The directions could be better but after you get started using them common sense prevailed. This is why I gave it only 4 stars.

Pros:

Cons: Ordered from Crutchfield on June 7th. but received from the manufacturer on June, 30th. 23 days later by freight.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Assembly Nightmare

Crutchfield customer from Naperville, IL on 6/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a tough review to write. It looks great in our living room and supports our 85" TV really well. The parts, once put together, look high quality. The reason for the 2 stars, as other reviewers have stated, is that the assembly is absolutely the WORST I've ever experienced and I've put together many awful pieces of furniture from IKEA and other places through the years. I'd rather put together a warehouse full of IKEA than put this thing together again. Our instructions came missing 2 pages, so the first thing we had to do was find the instructions on the web. That part was easy enough, but once we had the directions, they helped very little. They were confusing and unintelligible. This is an expensive piece of furniture, Salamander!! It is beyond ridiculous what we had to go through to get this together. It also arrives via freight on a giant pallet that you have to figure out what to do with. This stand was our last resort after looking elsewhere for a stand that would work for a TV that big. This should be everyone's last resort because assembly is awful.

Pros: beautiful once assembled sturdy

Cons: assembly instructions the stupid little ruler

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Salamander Designs Synergy System Model 245

Crutchfield customer from Ashland, KY on 9/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice! The instructions could have been a whole lot better!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Seller cant manage to deliver this product

Kirby from Crestview, FL on 7/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Ships from mfg. Locked down distributor pricing. Ships in pieces, instructions are difficult, 3 man lift

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

The most beautiful TV stand.

FEDIK from Gurnee, IL on 4/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the most beautiful, and sturdy TV stand in the market!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Salamander Designs Synergy System Model 245

Crutchfield customer from Round Lake, IL on 4/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great solid product and not difficult to put together.

Pros: Very solid with tons of space.

Cons: Huge packaging and not very clear instructions .

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Beautiful cabinet

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, NC on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love the looks and quality of the Model 245 and think it looks great with the system in it. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is b/c it has the worst instructions I've ever seen. In fact, they are counterproductive when putting it together. Better instructions and an online video would help with the CORRECT order of putting the pieces together. I have many years experience with this type of project and this is easily the worst instructions I've ever seen. Besides that, the only issue with the product was two of the aluminum supports were not threaded completely. Fortunately I had the necessary tap to thread them further.

Pros: Great looking, high quality

Cons: Absolutely terrible instructions, incomplete threading of two aluminum supports

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Salamander Designs Synergy System Model 245

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 2/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic quality product and looks great. Awful to build hence not 5 stars

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great quality, annoying assembly.

Crutchfield customer from Olympia, WA on 10/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic build and quality parts. The finish matches really well with Paradigm's walnut finish. Prestige 55c fits perfectly. Sony 85" TV sits on top and looks proportional. You need to assemble it IKEA style, and that assembly takes waaaay too long. The directions and pictures are inconsistent, for example showing two ways to attach the center shelf, neither of which actually holds it in place. It's also not super easy to get the doors and everything aligned so that it looks square. And lastly it arrives on a giant pallet via freight, so you'll have to figure out how to receive and dispose of that. So if you are fine dropping a couple hours on carrying heavy stuff and assembly, you'll end up with a quality piece, but for godsake i would love a more white glove solution.

Pros: Quality parts

Cons: Really annoying assembly

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Engineering Marvel

Crutchfield customer from Garner, NC on 9/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Assembly is not for the faint of heart but what an exceptionally well engineered piece. It's constructive quality easily equals what you can find in some of the best furniture stores.

Pros: 1. Premium construction 2. Thoughtfully designed for a clean installation.

Cons: 1. Tedious assembly 2. Very heavy

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Salamander Designs Synergy System Model 245

Michael from Vail, AZ on 1/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very solid well made TV / entertainment stand, but not the easiest to put together.

Pros: Well made and sturdy

Cons: Hard to assemble

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Salamander Designs Synergy System Model 245

Amarilis from Melbourne, FL on 4/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We love the tv stand, but were disappointed that not all parts were in the box. This was not the fault of Crutchfield, but of the manufacturer Salamander. Crutchfield contacted them right away and asked for replacement parts for us.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality, functional and flexible

Eric from Seattle, WA on 3/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My second model purchased; this one a 4 slot in walnut. The other a 3 slot in cherry. I don't use the doors or rear/side panels. It houses an FM tuner, Tivo, Furman, separate 2 and 5 channel McIntosh amps, along with separate McIntosh surround and 2 channel preamps. Apple TV and Sonos to complete the overkill system. Bottom line: the cabinet holds a ton of gear, wood in walnut is beautiful but subtle and it's very easy to assemble. No regrets, worth every penny -and the Crutchfield delivery experience was flawless. Just make sure someone is home or you specify delivery to a local drop off facility.

Pros: Quality materials, holds a ton of gear, can be modern or traditional. But this is coming from a geek with separate 2 and 5 channel systems in the main living room...

Cons: Honestly none.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Compare the sound