Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
311 864 128 4
Connect ID #
311 864 128 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

MFR # 9500-200891

4.5 out of 5 stars
125 reviews
View this product
Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Ricky from Cleveland, OK on 4/14/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Speaker wire inlets are too small and to close together, other than that,does what it's supposed to do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Jack from Longmont, CO on 4/12/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was somewhat worried that the ground for the RCA plugs are carried over to the "Black" connection of the speaker outputs. This device should work, as long as the power cords of both amplifiers are polarized to keep the ground from shorting out the speaker power output. This should be true for most recent equipment, but not for older amplifiers with non-polarized plugs. I tried this with a very old receiver, and blew up the output transistors, because the plug happened to be plugged in the wrong way (a 50/50 chance). I think it might not always work as it should with older equipment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great alternative

Jordan from Reseda, CA on 4/6/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I needed to replace passive speakers but instead opted for active monitors and the old receiver i have has no RCA-out option. Researched and asked around and there actually isnt an alternative to this since the car ones are for low RMS channels, but my receiver is like 90 watt per channel. So using this saved me alot of money not having to replace the receiver and still being able to control volume from the og remote. I have the loud humming but a wireless power switch on the speakers fixes it. Overall the audio is hugely improved for the cost of just new speakers, not receiver, all thanks to this little gadget. There is a dangerous downside is if the volume gets turned up too high it will blow out your eardrums since the speakers sit at max on their knobs. So be weary not to accidentally sit or laydown on your remote.

Pros: -Prevents e-waste by providing a work around for older receivers. -Retains receiver volume control

Cons: -May introduce humming -Audible static noise from up close -Risk of hearing damage if not careful with receiver volume

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Jerry from Eugene, OR on 4/4/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Item works perfect. Excellent customer service and prompt shipment! I agree with other customers reviews on a cover for the product. Does not hamper operation but would be a bit more tidy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just What I Needed!

Les from Albany, CA on 2/25/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I needed a way to connect the second pair of speaker outs on my Harman-Kardon rcvr to a Bluetooth xmtr, paired with a BT speaker. This does the trick...although when using both speaker output pairs there is about 300ms of delay between spkr pair 1 (wired) and spkr pair 2 (BT), but I suppose that's just the nature of the blue-toothed beast. Well worth the price (in fact, I'd have paid a few $$$ more if it were enclosed).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Russound hets the job done!

Tom from Johnson City, NY on 1/23/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wasn't sure what was available for home audio conversion from speaker to line level. My Crutchfield rep helped me out. Knew exactly what I needed. I've been using Russound products for years and again they didn't disappoint.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent product!

Todd from Williamsport, MD on 1/8/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's pretty amazing what this has done for me to be able to add a subwoofer to a hybrid tube amp that has NO pre-amp output without this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Loud Hum/CLick

jeff from NY, NY on 11/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this to connect my Juke multi-room to an Emotiva A2 mini. With no source signal there was a low level hum (quieter than the hum produced by a Kicker adapter). But with a source signal all it produced was a loud clicking sound, with no music. I contacted Juke and they recommended the PAC model # SNI-35 , which works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/7/2023
Jeff contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Bill from Salt Lake City, UT on 9/21/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super simple, easy to connect. An enclosure option would be a nice addition for a user if that is needed for their solution.

Pros: Super simple, easy to connect.

Cons: Maybe some enclosure options could be added for the product.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Rolando from Spring Valley, CA on 8/31/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Didn't work for my onkyo tx nr6100

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/5/2023
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Rolando to help him further. We'll either help him get the adapter connected correctly or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Ron from Nor CA on 7/25/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Only been using it about a week but so far so good and Crutchfield had fast delivery and everything box good

Pros: Perfect option for receivers with no amp pre outs

Cons: Not easy with larger speaker wire and they don't come with covers of any type

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Wilfred from Gladstone, MI on 6/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The return was easy and I am very pleased. Every purchase from you was provided with expert advice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Kesler from Worcester, MA on 4/28/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm using this to run a signal from my NAD 316BEE to a subwoofer and a second set of powered speakers. Does what it's supposed to do - very pleased. I had tried a much cheaper solution from another retailer but it hummed badly. This one is dead silent. Pretty pricy for such a simple circuit but it works so I'm not going to complain. I don't mind that there's no enclosure - it's easy to tuck away behind the amp.

Pros: Works well.

Cons: Spensive

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from WINCHESTER, CA on 4/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter makes my amplifier clip.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/17/2023
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Robert from Clayton, DE on 4/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works as advertised. An enclosure would be a nice addition.

Pros: Adds a sub woofer needed on the MA5300

Cons: Really needs to have a (optional?) enclosure with it.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Didn't know about these

Crutchfield customer from St.louis ,Mo. on 3/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Using it to connect single subwoofer to my all valve integrated amp. yes it would be nice to have it in a case. I almost didn't buy it because of that. It is like threading a needle to get the wires hooked up. I didn't know if the wires just pushed in or if I should try to lift the little arm and hope it didn't break off. They didn't. Is it possible my speaker sound better? I kind of think they do.

Pros: Easy for sub hookup.

Cons: No directions. No case.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

It Totally Works!

James from Brooklyn, NY on 2/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I did the research on Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter before I've purchased it. It totally works. It doesn't change the sound from your amplifier/receiver - it now gives the amplifier/receiver the ability to have a Stereo Pre-out. (Be careful with this device. It's a device for really careful fingers) - It should come with an enclosure. (you can create a short-circuit if/when the bottom of device touches any conductive surface)

Pros: Gives the amplifier/receiver the ability to have stereo pre-out

Cons: It's a device for careful fingers. It doesn't have a enclosure. Risk of short-circuit if bottom of device touches any conductive surface.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works, But Hard to Use

Marc from Defiance, MO on 2/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I noticed a pattern in the reviews where people trying to use this in a car got a hum or buzz and the home audio people did not. I used this at home and it is silent. I have an older home receiver that does not have a line out. I bought some new speakers and the old receiver did not have the power to let them really pound. I owned a very old McIntosh amp with RCA inputs. I took the left and right channels into this unit, then RCA's to the amp. Worked like a charm. I gave it four stars because even though my research said you could use 14ga wire to input into this unit, I don't see a way that would ever fit. I had to remove 1/2 the conductors to make it fit. Also, the input terminals SUCK. They are very hard to use and I had to be very careful to to break the unit while simply trying to open them. Thirdly.....c/mon Russound, put it in a darn enclosure, would ya? I had to use this plastic project box and fashion a wood landing pad for it in there. Waste of time when a simple plastic enclosure would do the job.

Pros: Does what it says.

Cons: Have to make your own enclosure and input terminals are hard to use.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Not heavy duty

Bruce from Evergreen, CO on 2/26/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I decided not to use it. It worked but the amp shut down several times. Seems like too much power going through a small adapter

Pros: Inexpensive

Cons: Lightweight

Crutchfield response on 2/27/2023
Bruce, we're sorry this adapter didn't work out for you. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Zachary from Jacksonville, FL on 12/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm using the adapter to connect my integrated amp and it's big front mains to my lower end home theater receiver for surround sound. Work well so far. No loud hum/buzz from the front mains that I experienced with the other LOC I tried to use previously. Only downside for me would be the lack of housing. It seems like a great way to avoid having to buy a more expensive receiver with pre outs.

Pros: -No hum/buzz -Avoids having to buy a more expensive receiver

Cons: -Lack of housing

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

William from Hammondsport, NY on 12/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I didn't have preouts on my av receiver and wanted to amp up the front and center channels. This fit the bill and works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Device!

Anatoly from Teaticket, MA on 12/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great device, pretty much versatile! I bought the second one in order to create "dummy load" to unused pair of amplifiers in multichannel receiver. The first Adapter, connected in parallel to main full range speakers creates line level input for powered subwoofer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Work great

Blase from St Petersburg, FL on 12/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I used two of these to connect external amps to my Sony STR DH-590, which has no pre-outs. They work great, no noise, however the AVR won't detect the speakers if you run the setup program AFTER installing the line level converters. So you have to hook your speakers up to the AVR, run the easy setup, then install the converters and amps afterwards. I bought some outlet boxes from home Depot and put them inside to keep them from being exposed.

Pros: Allow you to add amps to your home theater without pre-outs.

Cons: Need to add your own box

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Speaker Level to Preamp Level

Matthew from Chalfont, PA on 12/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I just installed this device between my a/v receiver's front left and right speaker outputs and a Crown D-75A power amplifier. So far so good. I ran the setup program and it recalibrated. The sound quality is good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

William from Charlottesvle, VA on 11/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed to connect an old receiver to my soundbar. With that I was able to use the soundbar to connect all of the old stereo components via the receiver. One note: The connectors for the speaker wires are easiest to flip open with pocket knife or small jewelers Flathead

Pros: Works well, velcros to the back of the receiver.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

It does what it says, but gain is fixed and watch for ground loops

Dennis from Oakland, MI on 10/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I tried this unit and returned it. My goal was going from speaker level to like out for use with a subwoofer. It works, but a faint grounding loop hum was immediately present. This is difficult to remedy and my setup so ground isolating circuitry would have been helpful. At low volumes from a low power amp, the signal level was too and required almost max gain on the subwoofer for a good response. Lastly, be careful with the speaker terminals. The clips are very hard to move and require some force. Mine separated from the board after opening and closing three times.

Pros: It works

Cons: Poor speaker terminal operation and build quality, no gain setting, no ground loop isolation

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Dayton Ohio on 9/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome awesome awesome I can even control the volume through the receiver so I set the volume up on the speaker and use the remote to adjust the volume along with the rest of the speakers in the system sounds great it's loud I'm so happy I was about to give up on using my bose powered speaker but then I found this little gadget. It works great. So happy now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Hearing is believing

Darryl Mc from Doral, FL on 9/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have a Denon AVR-S750H no pre-outs, runing 7.2 on but want to improve sound, so Crutchfield save me from a expensive upgrade. Was able to add my emotiva BasX easily for extremely great improvement to front and surround. Thinking seriously about center channel addition, will be purchasing more soon. Thanks to Crutchfield Staff for a great experience.

Pros: Extremely easy to install

Cons: Could not get my 14 AWG to fit into the snap ends, so I used a smaller AWG. Works fine all the same.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

A MUST Have

Robert from Arlington, TX on 9/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had an old Kenwood KM-209 power amplifier that I purchased in the 80s sitting in my closet and wanted to incorporate it into my home theater system. I was sceptical about whether or not the Russound ADP-1.2 would work. I am pleased to announce that it was a total success in bridging old technologies with the new. I couldn't be more satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great

Fabiano from Honolulu, HI on 8/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install, does the job perfectly, sounds great ??

Pros: Easy and simple.

Cons: There is no cover.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Works like a charm

John from HENDERSONVILLE, NC on 8/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This thing is great for an amp without a sub output. I was using a cheaper device that was somehow tripping the auto/on/off feature on my sub. The Russound solved that problem. Would be five stars if it was in a little enclosure (but retained the flanges for mounting it to stuff).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Reno

William from Reno on 8/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought two of these in the last 5 months and both have loose connections that make them unusable already.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/10/2022
William, we're sorry you're having issues with your adapter. While your order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, please feel free to reach out to our Tech Support team for help, or for information about the 10-year warranty on this adapter. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect if your AVR has no pre-outs!

Raheem from Las Vegas, NV on 8/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product that works exactly as it is meant to. I have a Yamaha RX-V681 AVR that has no pre-out connections. I wanted to use my AVR as a pre-amp and use my Yamaha R-S202 stereo receiver to power the front two channels to improve the audio performance. After connecting this adapter, the audio quality of both movies and music greatly improved. I would highly recommend this adapter to anyone who doesn't have an AVR with pre-out capabilities. I simply ran a set of speaker cables from the front channel speaker out terminals on my AVR to the adapter. Then, I ran a pair of RCA cables from the adapter to my stereo receiver's Line 1 inputs. The speakers were then connected to the stereo receiver. I know a lot of people have complained about the speaker terminals, but they are pretty sturdy from my experience. I am using 14-gauge cables and they fit perfectly. You just need to apply a little force to open the terminal to insert the cable. I had to open and close them a few times as I was testing different cables but I never felt like the terminals were going to break. My one criticism would be that it is an open circuit that doesn't come in any casing, but I just purchased a small junction box and that did the job. Shipping was fast and I received the product on time. Excellent customer service and I will be purchasing from Crutchfield again.

Pros: Small adapter which makes it easy to hide Terminal were small but felt sturdy Supports up to 250 watts per channel Avoids the need to buy a new AVR!

Cons: Could have come in it's own casing

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

James from Chambersburg, PA on 7/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just what I was looking for. Able to setup Bluetooth speakers now since I needed a leveler. Connected to the speaker output then to a transmitter without a glitch.

Pros: Easy install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Anthony from Sturgeon Lake, MN on 7/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Speaker wire input was very small for 16 gauge wire. Works but if you have a hard time with small things with your hands it's tough to insert the wire, it's not like inserting wire into a speaker that have at least good size recepticals for 16 Guage wire, but it works well once you finally get the speaker wire inserted

Pros: This works well to use if you need to connect to a multi channel Amp and your avr or stereo(5.1 7.1) reciever only have two pre outs like mine does. I was able to power my two main speakers from rca preouts on avr and used the Russound 2.1 adapter for my surround speakers to be also be powered by my amplifier

Cons: Small inserts on speaker wire side of adapter

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Chuck from Bend, OR on 7/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This product did exactly what I needed.to be able to connect a subwoofer to a receiver with out a dedicated connection. Works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Sean from Amarillo, TX on 7/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are fantastic as my receiver didn't have pre-outs for my amplifer and have had no issues.

Pros: Very impressed and would highly recommend.

Cons: None what so ever!!!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome Product

Rodney from Columbus, GA on 5/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is an awesome product. If you don't have any pre out on your AVR. It can take up to 250 watts on each channel. I had doubts at first before I ordered it. This thing works great work a home audio amp but it doesn't have covers. You can work around it because of the performance of the product.

Pros: It's a great product

Cons: No cover

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not good enough

Billy from Deltona, FL on 4/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Got this because the Morel adapter was bogus. Unfortunately it too Can't handle the stock car audio input beyond half volume. More likely better for expanding a home system. 250w rating is either not accurate or my car puts out more. Trying the JL Audio adapter next..400w rating.. will let you know.. 3rd times the charm?

Pros: At least it wasn't expensive. A not so costly learning experience.

Cons: Site info misleads you to think it can handle a car audio signal input.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Duffy from Blounts Creek, NC on 4/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Way faster deliver then said it would be back n stock awsome service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quick assist

Andy from Aptos, CA on 3/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I did an online chat and it was very helpful immediately. He identified what I needed then got it ordered. Excellent!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works - Use At Your Own Risk

Mark from Centennial, CO on 3/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It works! But, beyond that, I would say..."Use at your own risk". I feel the design needs to be improved. Would be good if it had some sort of enclosure. Also, the speaker wire terminals were a bit challenging to go beyond 16 gauge wire (can't use audiophile-grade connectors or cables). To me, the product feel and look is fragile and potentially a fire hazard, or may damage (short) existing audio equipment.

Pros: Simple Design

Cons: No Enclosure

Crutchfield response on 3/8/2022
Mark contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Michael from Greensburg, PA on 2/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are very helpful when obtaining better sound.

Pros: Easy to use.

Cons: Should come with a cover of sorts.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy way to add power amp to receiver without preouts

Kyle from Oglesby, IL on 1/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This works great to take speaker level outputs and turn them into rca or xlr cables to run a powered amplifier. It affords me the opportunity to add The proper power for my speakers without having to upgrade my receiver.

Pros: Easy to use, minimal space required to use

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Works exactly correct!

Crutchfield customer from Northport, AL on 1/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

excellent small and useful adapter. does exactly what is says it will do. I needed to connect a powered sub to an older receiver via speaker outputs .very happy with it's performance. highly recommend if you need one for this type of application

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Connect receiver's center channel (analog) to (digital) Sonos Playbar

Mit from West Linn, OR on 12/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This thing is fantastic. I used it to connect my Denon's center channel speaker out (analog) to my (digital) Sonos playbar. My setup... Denon receiver center channel speaker speaker out (80 watts) to Russound ADP-1.2 adapter (capable of 250 W attentuation) to RCA out to some 3rd party RCA in to Optical link out converter to Sonos Playbar that only has optical in. It was amazing once I got the Sonos Playbar dialed in to have it integrated with the rest of my surround sound setup. When I did the Denon Audessy calibration, it thought the center speaker was 33 feet from the listening area which is kind of funny because physically it is only like 9 feet. I assume that the additional delay comes from the 3rd party RCA in to Optical out converter. In any event, the calibration is perfect and all the audio and video is in sync. I tried a Scosche Loc80 to do this speaker-level to line-level conversion but it created a significant humming noise that no amount of fiddling would make go away. Yes, it doesn't have case. Used some black electrical tape to cover the circuit board pins. It is worth every penny!

Pros: Did the job perfectly

Cons: I didn't find this product first

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 12/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works

Crutchfield customer from Lake Zurich, IL on 11/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simple voltage divider, does what it is supposed to do. Not sure why it is not in a case, but easy enough to mount.

Pros: simple, passive voltage divider circuit.

Cons: No case You can build your own in 15 min if you are handy.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

excellent for adding amp to receiver

Crutchfield customer from Camp Hill, PA on 10/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

works very well for adding an amplifier to a receiver without preouts.

Pros: easy to connect

Cons: no covers

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Simple solution to add a subwoofer

Crutchfield customer from Lititz, PA on 9/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simple enough to connect and helpful for adding a subwoofer. The absence of a protective cover for the circuitry seems like an oversight. Overall I do recommend this converter.

Pros: Overall a simple solution for converting speaker output to line output.

Cons: No protective cover for circuitry, speaker terminal is slightly cumbersome to open.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Colonia, NJ on 9/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's ok the holes are to small

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pre-Out Wonder

Crutchfield customer from Renovo, PA on 8/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought a new amp for a 1993 JVC avr 5.1 surround. Two channels are now supper charged. Love this little device, and I see a future sale for a new AVR in Crutchfield's future ,this year I hope. So, if you don't have pre-out connections this device will work wonders for you. Thanks Crutchfield and Russound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 5/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The electronics work as advertised; unit has done a perfect job of connecting an RCA subwoofer to my receiver's speaker outs. Only complaint is the size and robustness of the speaker wire terminals, which are small in gauge and a bit flimsy, though once locked do seem to hold the wires securely. A box would also be nice, but perhaps not at additional expense.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Ambler, PA on 5/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This adaptor works better than I expected . Nice , clean , very usable line level output .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

ADM 2.1

Jimmy from Northampton on 4/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have a slightly older Onkyo Integra A/V r and after randomly seeing a YouTube video I was directed to Crutchfield a the product worked very well signal test showed only 0.06 -db. line noise. Thank you Crutchfield for the mounting video tips.

Pros: Product works great only 0.06- db line noise and extremely easy setup.

Cons: For the price at least a plastic cover could come with it. It wouldn't hurt the profit margin.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 4/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Product works as it should . Perfect for what I needed .

Pros:

Cons: Would be nice if it had a cover .

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Perfect Hack!

Crutchfield customer from Warrensburg, NY on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I used this to convert a 1960's stereo tube speaker amplifier into a tube preamp for bass guitar. Worked wonderfully!

Pros: Does exactly as intended.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Not what I depended upon

Crutchfield customer from Roy, WA on 3/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

When the product arrived, the connections where the wires were attached were VERY Loose and I felt the product could have been built more rebust.

Pros: I needed this product to provide a PRE OUT to be able to bi-amp my speakers

Cons: The sizeof where the wires was to bw inserted was of inferior firmness and was not secure but we'll see how it goes...

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Howell, NJ on 3/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked great .just what I needed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works as advertised!!!

Crutchfield customer from Parrish, FL on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Like other reviewers have said, this adapter is a little bit pricey for what it is, and a cover would be nice. The build is a little bit flimsy at the line-level connectors. With that said, it has solved my connection headache and so far it's performing splendidly. Aside from the build issues, I am very happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Did not work

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 3/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

No matter what I did I could not get the hum out of the system. Even added an extra ground wire. Bought a different system and it worked perfectly.

Pros: none

Cons: Did not work.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Allowed me to use a sub with my tube integrated amp

Crutchfield customer from West Chester, OH on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Allowed me to use a sub with my tube integrated amp. The amp, which sounds wonderful, had been sidelined for a while due to no subwoofer/preamp output. Works great, though it would be nice if it came pre-mounted in a box or something.

Pros: Works great

Cons: Rather industrial looking

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 2/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The item worked great!! Thanks for directing me to buy it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works as advertised

Ronald from Wood Dale, IL on 2/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great to pair a sub to my vintage receiver - would be nice if there was some sort of cover for the price but got the job done

Pros: works perfectly

Cons: cost, lack of cover/case

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Just What I Needed.

Bob from Sarasota, FL on 12/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The knowledgeable crew at Crutchfield directed me to this piece of equipment. I used it to connect a 2 channel stereo receiver without a sub out to a powered subwoofer. It solved the problem and the sub works perfectly. Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Russound ADP-2.1 that doesn't exist

Crutchfield customer from Hanover, IN on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product but when first talked virtually with Crutchfield tech said this type of device didn't exist. After wasting my whole Sunday researching and verifying its operations and functions guess who I find out stocks and sells it? You betcha, the place that says it doesn't exist. Crutchfield used to have the most knowledge staff about their product line and now it blah. Been a customer over 20 yrs and my last couple interactions have been rough. Back to the Russound ADP-2.1, it works amazing. The second virtual assistant apologized for the other techs bad advice but said might be some noise when using this device. I used this to add a Klipsch R120SW to a RX-731 Pioneer, no per outs of any sort. I paralleled this in with the R820F'S and I have zero distortion on the accessory its running. Only thing on the market that can handle over 50 watts rms input, think it rated at 200watts rms input and can still safely convert to pre out level.

Pros: Only thing on the market that does exactly what its supposed to. No extra buttons, nothing to setup. Just hook your patch cables and speaker wire and you're done.

Cons: Wish it's circuitry covered

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Englewood, NJ on 11/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I used this for speaker out to line level in. It's easy to attach wires. Sound quality seems very good in my high level system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great little adapter!

Crutchfield customer from Beaverton, OR on 10/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This speaker-level to line- level adapter works well to hookup my powered sub-woofer to my older receiver without pre-amp outputs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Harrison, NY on 9/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great ! Wish it came in an enclosure.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Much needed accessory

Crutchfield customer from Fenton, MO on 9/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had a good sony 7.2 receiver that I wanted to add a crown amp to for listening to vinyl but my sony didnt have pre outs and the amp only had rca,1/4, or xlr ins. This did the trick

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Wellington, FL on 9/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works for what I needed. Allows me to continue using old Receiver with speaker level sub-woofer connections with a new speaker system with powered sub woofer.

Pros:

Cons: No cover or case

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Cecil, WI on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Product cannot be used at each end of the speaker wire. Only one end.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 11 found this helpful

Groveland

MICHAEL from Groveland on 8/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Has worked very well so far. I don't hear any buzzing or noise coming from it. This was exactly what I needed to run my powered studio monitors (Foster PM-1) on my AV Receiver (Denon AVR S540-BT). Seems pricey for a little board, but worth it for the conversion instead of buying $$ speakers. Having to buy another one as I think lightning blew it along with several other items. I do wish it had some sort of enclosure, but I just screwed it in to the back of my TV stand as shown in the picture.

Pros: Good quality No noise Works perfectly

Cons: No enclosure

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Converts without noise

Crutchfield customer from Spring, TX on 6/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The product converts my speaker level outputs of my AVR to pre-amp levels without any discernible noise. This allowed me to connect my AVR to an Emotiva A700 amplifier despite the lack of pre-amp outputs. Inexpensive stop-gap solution until I can upgrade my AVR.

Pros: No additional noise.

Cons: No cover for components

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Perfect Solution to connect Home Theater Subs to Vintage Recievers

Craig from Golden, CO on 5/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This little bit of simple electronic wizardry was just what I need to connect my Klipsch SW-310 subwoofer to my Pioneer SX-1050 receiver and combine it with Chorus 714V tower speakers. I was previously running the SX-1050 pre-outs through a line-level distribution amplifier (CE Labs Model 400) to split the signal between the subwoofer and the SX-1050 amp. This worked okay, but after listening to Paul at PS Audio I decided to find out if better results would be obtained by sending the signal to the subwoofer after the SX-1050 amp worked its magic. Well, the answer in this case is yes! The sub blends well with the speakers even without a crossover to split the high and low frequencies between the speakers and the subwoofer. The sub has only gain, lowpass, and phase controls. There is no line-out since the sub is designed for home theater systems. Inputs are Right and Left/LFE RCA. I connected the ADP-1.2 to the B-speaker outputs on the SX-1050 and connected both right and left channels to the sub. I don't even notice the sub is on until I turn it off, which I see as the best praise. Though a case to protect the electronics would look nice, the ability to see the simple circuitry might alleviate concerns about the ADP-1.2 distorting the signal. In any event, no added distortion is apparent to me in the sound.

Pros: Works great!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Henniker, NH on 4/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I does work. It looks cheap and seems way over priced but it works. I am Bi-amping my front polk monitor 70s with a sony 1070. I am running a beringer a800 with this adapter and it is working fine. Was a worthwhile venture that seemed like a cheap way to get the power I needed. No extra noise heard.

Pros: works

Cons: expensive , no cover

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Exactly what I needed

Dan from Charleston, SC on 4/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This item does seem pricey for what it is, and that is the reason for 4 stars instead of 5. With that out of the way, I can say that it worked perfectly for my purpose, which was to connect a receiver with no line-level subwoofer output to a sub with no speaker-level input. I ran 16 gauge speaker wire from the receiver's left and right B speaker outputs to the adaptor's color-coded input (it's able to accept up to 14 gauge wire). I then plugged in a male to female RCA Y-connector to combine L and R output channels into the sub's line-level input. It works perfectly, and of course puts no significant additional load on the receiver. I used double-face tape to secure the adapter to the back of a bookcase. Five stars for performance minus one for the price.

Pros: Works great!

Cons: A bit pricey

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Works quite well

Crutchfield customer from Gretna, NE on 2/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I needed to integrate my two-channel system into my home theater and my receiver doesn't have Front R+L preouts. I connected the Russound to the Front R+L speaker outputs on my receiver and then a pair of interconnects from it to the Home Theater bypass input on my two-channel integrated amp. Works very well! Sounds excellent, no indication of a high or low frequency roll-off and the sound is uncolored and clear. I do detect a very, very slight bit of audible noise coming from the speaker now if I listen closely with nothing playing but it's really, really low in level and certainly not audible at all when watching a movie. Given the type of unit this is and the function it's performing by converting a high level signal to low level I expected a little bit of noise and it's actually far less than I anticipated. In my case, this thing works beautifully and was well worth the cost.

Pros: Simple, easy, works quite well with very little noise.

Cons: A bit odd it isn't housed in an enclosure but given it sits behind the equipment, hidden away and poses no real issues being unprotected it's not a big deal.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Get some!

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, NE on 1/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works flawlessly, sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Russound ADP-1.2 worked as advertised.

Crutchfield customer from Lewis, KS on 12/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Russound ADP-1.2 worked as advertised. My intentions were to use the speaker level to line level adapter on my valve amp output to drive my headphones, which it did, but at a very low volume level. I was hoping to have more headphone volume available. My amp did not have enough speaker level to drive my headphone through the adapter. The ADP-1.2 would work great to drive another amp's line level input though. This was a experiment on my part to add a headphone connection on my valve amp without adding other equipment. The sound through my headphones sounded great, I just needed more volume control.

Pros: The Russound ADP-1.2 speaker level to line level adapter works great at reducing the speaker output to drive another amp line level input.

Cons: No cons.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works well for a sub-woofer

Crutchfield customer from Marina, CA on 12/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I tapped this into the speaker outputs of my tube amp so that I could add a powered sub-woofer. It seems to be working very well and with no discernible distortion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Davis, CA on 11/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This adapter allowed me to connect my sub-woofer to my older integrated amp. It was simple to set up and works perfectly!

Pros: see above

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does the job

Steve from STERLING HTS, MI on 11/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Using it on a receiver that has no pre-outs so that I could hook up an amp, works great. I did not realize it was such a simplistic circuit and could have built it myself for a fraction of the cost, but do not regret the purchase. Took a star away because there is no cover, WYSIWYG.

Pros: Small, passive, functional, easy to install.

Cons: No cover

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Gainesville, VA on 11/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great. Be sure to use 14 gauge or thinner wire.

Pros:

Cons: Circuitry is not covered.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Wish I tried this first.

Crutchfield customer from Marana, AZ on 9/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This simple gizmo was a third try because most dividers are designed for use in cars, and I wanted to use this for whole house audio. I have an upper-mid-fi Denon system with 150 w zone 2 power - good enough to keep but old enough to lack line-out. The car versions introduced distortion; primarily, they used too high a tap ratio, so I had to turn down the Denon output unreasonably. The Russound also seemed to be much better constructed, with higher quality resistors and a more appropriate input range. A bit expensive, but less than equivalent DIY quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Worked Perfectly, but Really Needs a Cover

Jeffrey from Charlotte, NC on 8/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The product worked exactly as intended and allowed me to add external amplification to a receiver that didn't have line-outs. Only reason I can't give it 5 stars is because of the lack of any type of cover - I felt like I had to be really careful the whole time during installation and am still nervous it could get damaged with a minor touch (or if anyone sneezes around it).

Pros: Worked perfectly Cost effective solution

Cons: Lack of a cover

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Inwood, WV on 7/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It works well but I find it lacks in sound quality compared to other inputs such as tuner, CD, etc. I'm an audiophile, the sound quality is real good but not great. I really wanted to like this item.

Pros: Most casual listeners would be quite happy with the sound.

Cons: Produces a slightly muddy sound from about 4000 hz and below.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Alabaster, AL on 4/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great with trying to get the new active soundbars to act just as true center speaker

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

New digital life for old analog equipment

Crutchfield customer from Santee, CA on 4/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Although the board has a build date of 2003, that is much newer than the Carver AVR I bought in 1988. It appears to be made simple and well. Open design allows it to dissipate heat as it is rated at 250W continuous and has a 10yr warranty from Russound. This design is not made to work with class 'D' amplifiers but works well with class 'A' or 'B'. I will go out on a limb and speculate class 'D' means digital and this is meant to be analog. How well does it work? Fantastic, the sound is clear. I am using it to play Radio Shack minus 7 bookshelf speakers in the kitchen and dining room that are hidden from view from the Carver being fed a signal from speakers 'B' from the Denon which is my redneck way to use what I got so I can listen to Spotify from my phone through the Samsung Bluray player connected to the Denon.....did I lose you? As you may wonder...yes the volume of the Denon will affect the volume of the Carver. When the Denon is playing comfortably loud, the volume on the Carver is about 30% and it is comfortably loud. When turning down the Denon volume, this will effectively turn down the Carver volume by reducing is feed level.

Pros: Works as it should, an option to return it if it does not for you.

Cons: You have to wait for it to arrive.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 6 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Hastings, MN on 2/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked perfect, would be nice it came with a case

Pros: works as described

Cons: no case

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

If you're missing pre-outs, this is the way to go

Andre from Los Gatos, CA on 1/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product: does exactly what it says. I needed a line-level adapter for a specific purpose. My home surround receivers simply didn't have enough power to feed my very power hungry Polk RTI A9s. So I introduced a Power Amplifier into my audio mix specifically the Crown XLS 1002 after speaking to Crutchfield in depth. When I originally purchased the Polk RTI A9s I was told they were hungry (and I thought my receiver had enough power but learned my receiver was tailored more for a surround sound set up 7.2 (and all that power wouldn't be dedicated to these awesome towers! Moreover, I wanted to tailor this specific room to music listening. Boy did my Polk RTI A9s come alive once they had the juice they needed from this Crown XLS 1002. It wouldn't have been possible without this line-level adapter (as my receiver did NOT have a pre-out) and I did not want to buy a new receiver as this one works perfectly.

Pros: Small, does exactly what it says, inexpensive considering the alternative is to purchase a new receiver with preouts

Cons: the inputs can only accept a certain size awg - no larger than 12awg, 12awg is really pushing it finishing touch would be a case to keep it protected from dust and any potential mishaps

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent When Line Level Output Needed

Jon from Corte Madera, CA on 1/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This little device saved the day after I bought a new Klipsch subwoofer that did not have speaker level inputs to connect to my vintage tube amp. I didn't know these existed outside of the car stereo world until CJ found it for me in live chat! Exactly what I needed, easy to connect and sounds great!

Pros: Small, easy to connect, effective in converting speaker level signal to line level signal, when your amp doesn't have a sub-out and your subwoofer doesn't have speaker level inputs.

Cons: No cons!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Bonita Springs, FL on 12/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well but needs a case.

Pros: Easy setup,

Cons: No case.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great amp tie-in solution

Christian from Mesa, AZ on 12/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This does exactly what it's supposed to do, and does it well. When the receiver lacks pre-outs, this is the only real solution. My only minor complaint, like others, is it lacks any enclosure as an option.

Pros: Great solution to a vexing problem.

Cons: Would like to have an optional enclosure.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect for my need

Dennis from Lafayette, IN on 11/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect for my need! I needed a way to hook up a subwoofer to a tube amp with no preouts. This little item did the trick.

Pros: Easy to use Purpose built Fairly inexpensive

Cons: Would have liked it to come in some type of project box

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Venetia, PA on 10/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This circuit board worked great. It allowed me to connect my receiver to my Sonos system using the RCA jacks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Windsor, CO on 10/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nothing complicated about this product, it does what is supposed to do. Very pleased with the ordering process and receiving the delivery on time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Berwick, PA on 7/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great! Just what I needed. Thanks for all your help and expertise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Simple adequate low cost solution

Michael from San Leandro, CA on 6/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The unit is without a costly housing, and cab be located anywhere....great!!!

Pros: Simple way to get from speaker output to signal input...it works!!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

JR from Federal Way, WA on 5/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My HK receiver does not have preamp outs. I wanted more power to drive the L and R speakers when listening to music. The adapter is working great driving a Crown 1002 amp. It is clean and quiet.

Pros: Works great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great little unit

Johnny from Kapolei, HI on 4/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It may not look nice but it works! I am using it to send a signal from my integrated tube amp too my subwoofer. Fast shipping and great build quality. I also installed the unit in a home made enclosure to protect the unit.

Pros: Build quality and components.

Cons: Lack of an enclosure to protect the electronics, but is no big deal.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Wrightstown, NJ on 3/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly what i needed to support my Denon AVR + Parasound amp. Super easy install, no discernible noise or unwanted side effects - amp sounds amazing! Like that it is open (no case) and comes with a mounting bracket, perfect install on my DIY TV stand. Crutchfield got it to me in just a few days and i don't think it could have possibly been packed any better! Highly recommended if you have the need for such a device. Thanks Crutchfield for an overall excellent experience & very effective product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Old receiver connected to new subwoofer!

Ben from Selma, CA on 3/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This product works. My subwoofer only has line in input and my receiver only has speaker out; this is the only way I found to get the subwoofer to work, and it sounds really good to my ears. My only complaint with this product is that it does not have a covering; the electrical components are completely exposed to dust etc, which makes it very awkward to mount. In the end, I used the foam sheeting it was packaged in and created a cocoon around the product; then I taped this to the top of the receiver. Not very elegant but it works. For not having a proper casing, the price could have been lower, but I couldn't find any other products on the market that do what this does. Overall I am happy with the purchase.

Pros: works great

Cons: -no enclosure; -bit pricey for exposed electrical components

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

0607-2569 from Lockbourne, OH on 3/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

With my ONKYO HTR-494 Dolby Atmos receiver I connected Harman Kardon Speakers. The Center speaker lacked clarity. I replaced my harman center speaker with BOSE GS Series II Cinemate speakers with the help of Russound ADP-1.2. Solved my problem as there is no pre-out in Onkyo 494. If you have no pre out on AVR this is the solution. Awesome Russound. I am planning to buy 2 more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Ken from Dallas, GA on 3/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great Product, not pretty but it works very well.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 1/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

turn ok but then my denon avr would protec mode

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Can't get rid of my friends and my neighbor.

David from Seattle, WA on 1/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm not an electronic tech guy. Was looking for a long time for this solution and finally got it. Installed between my Onkyo Entertainment 7.2 and M-Audio BX8 for using as the front L & R. Guess what! It rocks. Pounding my ears and chest. Chip solution for upgrading from regular speakers to a Studio Monitors. Gosh... Never before could heir sounds and noises coming from movies didn't know are included. Now just need more to upgrade all surround speakers for monitors and I will be a part of the games and movies. The cool tiny thing makes wonders.

Pros: Works awesome.

Cons: Two days long to figure it out that I need to flip up all the way above the conductors all four black plastics like a switch. That's the way should insert the speaker wires firmly. (No estar bueno)! ?? Dummies like me we're need more instruction details, please.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Quick and easy

Dave from Pennsylvania on 12/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked great for conversion of my speaker level amp output to line level in for my home audio powered sub.

Pros: Ease of use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 11/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Speaker side connector difficult to open for wire insert as is disconnect feature Othetwise, audio signal processing does its job I would recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Salem, OR on 9/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had to connect speaker output of amp to line input. This device works great and easily.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 7/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The product is just awesome and received on time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked perfectly!

Jason from Spring, TX on 12/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am using this because my onkyo receiver does not have pre-amp outs, but I want to power my new Polk RTi A7 speakers with a stand alone power amp (Crown XLS 1502). Works great, was easy to connect and the sound is clean! I can't tell that there is any added noise in the signal due to adding this device. I am happy with the purchase and would highly recommend if you want to run an external amplifier, but your receiver doesn't have pre amp outputs.

Pros: Small and affordable

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 12/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product for using powered speakers with a receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

James from Duxbury, Ma on 12/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed to add an amp to power my outdoor speakers on my Sony receiver. I would of had to disable a pair of speakers to use the preamp output on zone 2 but by installing this everything is working together

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Should be enclosed

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, indiana on 8/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked exactly as expected. It could use a simple cover to make it more attractive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Simple way to get sound to another room

rmjb from Trinidad and Tobago on 6/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

When my house was built I pre-wired for speakers in the living room, but did not consider speakers in the back porch. I installed speakers in the back porch last year and tried a couple wireless options to get sound outside with poor results. I also tried to pull wire all the way back to my receiver, but because of concrete construction was only able to get to the living room's speaker posts on the wall. This unit was a simple, straight forward way to connect to those speaker posts and get a line level signal. Once I had this I hooked up a simple small T-Amp and now I can drive the speakers in the back porch. This solution is working much better than either of the wireless solutions I tried; no extra load on the receiver, no delay between the rooms, sufficient power from the T-Amp and the ability to turn off the T-Amp when no one is outside. If you have a need for something like this, highly recommended.

Pros: Does exactly what it says

Cons: I wish it were enclosed. A little pricey compared to other options, but those are for car audio purposes and this one is from a home audio manufacturer, so it just works.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Product meets exactly my needs

John D from Washington, DC on 6/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this for a solution to send my Center Channel on my Denon AVR wirelessly via Bluetooth to my soundbar in my home theatre that doesn't accept speaker level inputs. I purchased a small enclosure for it for protection since its usually a vehicle under-dash install.

Pros: performs exactly the needed unique solution for signal transformation.

Cons: An option to buy it with an enclosure would make it perfect

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Product solved multiroom challenge, great tech support

B. Smith from salem, MA on 2/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Was looking to solve multiroom, multi-amp challenge. Had tried feeding secondary amp with RCA backconverting high grade inwall speaker wire. Got signal but way too much noise. Initially tried car line to rca converters but no signal at all, prob impedance issue. Ordered Russound product and appeared to cause the dreaded hum from primary amp even if powering channel to Russound was off. Called Crutchfield tech support they went above and beyond to help troubleshoot prob (several calls). Long story short we solved a polarity issue in wall jacks followed by a ground loop issue (used PAC rca filter). Difficult challenge, all issues solved with the help of Tech support. Nice work

Pros: Can be used to feed secondary amp in home audio system where few options were available

Cons: Not much in terms of install trouble shooting. Be sure to be aware of polarity and ground loop

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great product overall, dubious about the design

Alex P from new orleans, LA on 1/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The device does exactly what it is supposed to. Brought my speaker output on my vintage pioneer receiver down to line level for input into a powered subwoofer. I only question the design. The circuit board and all components are exposed if left the way it is. Would be sturdier if encased in some sort of housing. Could "DIY" it but for the price, would be nice if it came that way out of the box.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Works!

bvaldyke from Florida on 11/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simple, inexpensive, works as stated. If it's what you need, it will work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter Reviews

JeffO from Birmingham, AL on 8/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works as advertised. I used three of these to provide signal to three power amps on my living room surround system (Receiver did not have audio preamp out). Would have given 5 stars if there were a cover for the unit, but I suppose they're intended to be mounted to an amp board in a vehicle. Work well.

Pros: Small and inconspicuous.

Cons: No cover... board will collect dust.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Works for my needs

Kevin T from Alabama on 6/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this device to run a pair of subwoofers from my Line Magnetic LM-518IA (integrated amplifier). The 518IA does not have any pre-outs to connect to a subwoofers and my subwoofers do not have speaker level inputs. I was able to use this device to convert the 518IA speakers outputs to line level inputs for the subwoofers without any noticeable issues. It works perfectly for my needs. Your mileage may vary.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Russound ADP-1.2 Speaker-level to Line-level Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Louisiana on 3/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this product after discovering that the Russound Amp that I purchased could not be joined with another amp unless I converted speaker level to line level. After adding this product, everything works fine. I'm not sure why this product is so bare, but it works....

Pros: Works

Cons: I little pricey and bare

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Russound ADP

Crutchfield customer from Dallas Texas on 1/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This little gadget saved the day.

Pros: Does everything it's supposed to

Cons: If it had a case it'd be better.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Speaker to line level converter

Colin from Florence, Oregon on 11/12/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This device takes amplifier speaker output levels and converts them to line levels for input to another amplifier, or any device requiring low level input. It works perfectly for me. I use it to provide surround sound signals to my Recoton transmitter which are picked by by a recieiver connected to self-powered rear speakers. The alternative would have been to crawl under the house to route speaker lines to the rear speakers. My wife said laying them across the floor was not an option.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Compare the sound