Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
138 820 157 4
Connect ID #
138 820 157 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Onkyo TX-NR5100 7.2-channel home theater receiver with Dolby Atmos®, Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # TXNR5100M2BMDC

4.5 out of 5 stars
112 reviews
View this product
Good solid unit

Gregg from Deforest, WI on 1/30/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simple straight forward set-up powering my 5.1 system. Good help from Crutchfield on my selection over the phone. I had some special requirements and they researched & helped.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding Onkyo in RVA

Rayford from Richmond, VA on 1/4/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Set up was great and I took advantage of all the newer connections compared to my 20+ year old previous unit. It is easy to use once you "figure it out". My rear and center speakers are perfectly calibrated.

Pros: Ease of set up

Cons: Would like a scancode for the manual

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Paul from Woburn, MA on 12/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like the two HDMI out

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds Awesome

Manny from CRESTLINE, CA on 11/1/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice Addition to Xbox series x

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good value

Rafael from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 10/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to set up, good sound, and met almost all my expectations. The only disappointment was no dedicated connection for turntable. I am satisfied.

Pros: Easy to set up, great sound for the price, and easy to operate.

Cons: No dedicated connection for turntable.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Tysen from Calhoun, GA on 10/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great!

Pros: Looks great! Easy setup!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Thomas from Pinnacle, NC on 10/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product. Feature packed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic receiver without breaking the bank

Crutchfield customer from MOUNT OLIVE, NC on 9/21/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect middle of the road receiver Noticed an immediate improvement in picture clarity Setup is a breeze Built in Klipsch EQ with selectable models for your Klipsch setup

Pros: Klipsch EQ/crossover setup is amazing. Easy to navigate setup We'll lit display

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, OH on 9/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I needed to replace a similar (old) amp with this new one. It works great, set up was easy and it sounds great. I always read reviews, and was discouraged at the negatives, but the "good vibes" way outdid the bad ones so I pulled the trigger. I'm and old guy but still like the man cave, and this one fits perfectly and not a lot of money. Works for me!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

All you could need

Jaye from Christmas Vly, OR on 7/31/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great the prices have come down to their senses

Pros: Easy setup

Cons: Crappy speaker connections

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

John from Galloway, NJ on 7/14/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love the receiver for the price - it performs exactly as I thought it would - delivery was prompt - actually the next day. Setup was easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Blowns my old surround sound system away

Jack from Davie, FL on 6/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Unbelievable sound quality for the money/ not to hard to hook-up/ entertains the neighbors real good

Pros: A lot

Cons: Not to mini

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Judi from Princeville, IL on 5/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my second Onkyo receiver, very happy with purchase. Crutchfield had best price, fast shipping and free lifetime support. A deal I couldn't refuse.

Pros: Easy to setup, great sound

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Richard from Louisville, KY on 5/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

so much better than my previous Pyle receiver! no comparison to the previous av receiver! its just a better receiver even if its an introductory level receiver! easy to hook up, easy to calibrate, and easy to use. just a wonderful sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Good Value

Rowan from Raleigh, NC on 4/30/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall good value for money theater receiver running 5.1.2 (5.1 with Dolby Atmos). Setup is fairly easy although the version got had wire clips for all but the front left and right which was not great, but I made do and it worked fine in the end. Home theater use works well although it took me a while to realize that I really should simply set it on "Direct" which means the mode matches the input. Music is but meh - I probably need to play with the settings more because on my Polk Audio speakers I wouldn't describe it as "great" vs an old non-HDMI Yamaha receiver I had. I haven't tried the PS5 (4K/120Hz) yet but will do so shortly. Menu system isn't great but is usable. Some menu items are a little "jargon-y". Also the equalizer settings are disappointing because they make assumptions about the speaker bandwidth for each channel by limiting the frequency range for that channel. Overall I'm pretty happy but it's clear that this is a budget offering.

Pros: Dolby Atmos 8k 120Hz

Cons: Music Equalizer settings Menu structure

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Michael from Moss Landing, CA on 4/10/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Have owned Onkyo products for a long time and all have been excellent. This receiver is no exception. Highly recommendedEasy!

Pros: Easy set up Excellent sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Updated with new speaker terminals

Victor from Oakton, VA on 2/14/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Onkyo TX-NR5100 has been updated. The new box graphics label has a dark background with a gamer facing a TV. The rear panel no longer has the spring clips made for small gauge speaker wire. All speaker connections now have thumb screws and are made for larger gauge wire.

Pros: - Dolby Atmos - DTS/X - HDMI v2.1 supporting all currently available 4K/60 - supports up to seven speakers plus the subwoofer channel (ex. 5.1.2 or 7.1.0)

Cons: - No phono level input - HDMI 2.1 ports limited to 24Gbps (The maximum is 48Gbps for HDMI 2.1) - will need Display Stream Compression for some 4K/120 resolutions - biamp configuration for front left and right will leave 3.1.2 or 5.1.0 as the maximum speaker configuration

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Excellent Onkyo upgrade

Jesus from Phoenix, AZ on 2/14/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This really worked out well for our 5.1 home system, although I purchased to add another 2 speakers for a 7.1 surround system. I upgraded my 15-year old home AV receiver, really like this system, sounds really clear, plenty of power as well, I have all speakers ceiling and wall mounted, and was able to adjust the distance to each speaker from the Onkyo setup menu. Overall very pleased with performance and value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

Excellent receiver

Jerry from ADAMSTOWN, MD on 2/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This receiver was recommended to me by Crutchfield representative, Clarence, who listened patiently to me describe a very complex, but dated, multi-zone audio system in a rental property that I had purchased. Clarence understood my needs for a system that was simple to use, that allowed me and rental guests to stream music from their phones thru the system. Clarence recommended this receiver for use in connecting a Den with TV & ceiling speakers allowing for streaming input from any phone while working with the TV. It is working great and the receiver is doing the job just as described, with excellent sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo NR5100

John from College Station, TX on 2/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield has been my first choice for gear for almost 40 years. The Onkyo NR5100 is a great receiver for my system (Polk tower front speakers, Polk center, and powered subwoofer, Bose surrounds) all purchased from Crutchfield, by the way. Best of all, there was a price drop right after I bought the NR5100, and yes Crutchfield does honor their price policy. I got excellent customer service and because of the price drop I got a price difference refund! The connectivity of the Onkyo NR5100 is excellent at this price point. This is my 2nd Onkyo receiver. I updated my old system to take advantage of the new 4K technology. The NR5100 has great features, a great price, it's solidly built, and Crutchfield gives world class customer service. Plus I got free cable labels. What's not to like?

Pros: Connectivity Price point Customer service Quality build Cable labels

Cons: None at this time

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Regan from Napa, CA on 12/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy set up (by my son) Looks great Ease of use- intuitive Sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Daniel Tyler from Brigham City, UT on 12/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great receiver. Easy setup. Superior sound. 5 out of 5 for sure.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Gary from Marthasville, MO on 12/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice. Sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Kenneth from Canovanas, PR on 11/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent receiver. Great sound with my polk speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Fits my needs at an affordable price

Crutchfield customer from Culver City, CA on 11/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this Onkyo receiver to replace an old Nakamichi RE-2 receiver that finally bit the dust. I was looking for something to connect to my CD player and turntable ........ and also that would connect to AirPlay. This receiver fit the bill at a reasonable price. It seems to me, at least, to be designed more for use with TV/Home Theater/Gaming entertainment. However, it's meeting all my needs. I installed it in a stereo closet in shelving with my turntable and CD player - where it can also connect to speaker wires to power floor speakers in the living room. Because of this, setup was a bit challenging at first. When you first power the unit on, the small display on the unit assumes you're connected to a TV - and can proceed with the setup by what you see on the TV monitor. I had to download the full instruction manual to try to get around this - and get connected to my home WiFi network. Still, every time I powered the unit on, it wanted me to complete the setup process. Finally, I decided it was time to call Onkyo. Very quickly, a technician came on the line and even more quickly helped me complete a quick setup using the unit's remote control. In summary, I'm very happy with my purchase!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Fabulous!

Thomas from Waynesville, MO on 11/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great audio-visual receiver unit. Works great with my LG OLED evo television!

Pros: eARC capable, ATMOS capable, easy to setup, plenty of power for a living room

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

James from Simpsonville, SC on 10/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Lots of features for the money. Little trouble with eARC, but customer support resolved very quickly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

James from Edwardsville, IL on 10/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Was torn between the 5100 and the 6100. I went with the 5100 even though it had a little less power because of the 8k ability. If theres one thing i dont like about it is all but the front speakers have spring loaded speaker terminals. I know this was for cost savings but it wouldnt be that much to include them across the board.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Don't buy an Onkyo

Kristine from Ames on 10/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Negative 5 stars. Easily the worst product from the worst company I HAVE EVER SEEN. No customer support: your remote doesn't work on a 4 month old stereo? Sucks to be you. Stereo changes input to Chromecast when you turn the volume down? Too bad, so sad. Try a Sony. I hate that these people took my money from me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/4/2022
Kristine, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or give you further information about the 2-year warranty on this receiver. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

10 of 26 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Thomas from League City, TX on 9/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to hook up and worked first time!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Dana from Harrisonburg, VA on 7/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's a fine receiver-amp. Setup was easy and intuitive. Using it is easy. The owner's manual available online fills in any gaps that are not immediately evident.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome first receiver

Lauren from IL on 6/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my first receiver. I got it as a scratch and dent and it was in great condition. I have 5 speakers in our room and 2 in our Den and the AB zone feature works great. I'm going to add a subwoofer after hearing how awesome everything sounds. You need a TV to output to in order to configure it on start up. That sucked a little bit since when we moved in we didn't have a TV right away. Once I got it plugged into our TV, it was easy to go through the menu. We set it up with the microphone to adjust all the speakers. I don't have any immediate complaints. It works as expected and our living room surround sounds great. I like that this model had 4k 120hz and at this price point it's hard to find any gripes.

Pros:

Cons: Need a TV to setup

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good sound, but not good for big music libraries

Art from Wilmette on 6/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The receiver generally sounds good. HDMI works fine. Easy enough to set up speakers in whatever configuration is desired. But I have a big annoyance with music playback from a USB storage device: you can't make it shuffle between your music folders. You can have multiple folders and nest folders, but no matter what I tried, it will only shuffle files within one folder. If you want it to shuffle your entire music library, you would need to have your entire library in one folder. Two problems with this: 1) there is a limit of 20,000 files/folder, and I have more than 20,000 files. 2) If you have all your files in one folder and you want to find something by a specific artist, it's very difficult because you can't organize anything, and the on-screen interface only displays the song title while searching scrolling list of all files. It's 2022, I think a modern receiver should be able to handle a simple task like shuffle play between folders. I did reach out to support at Crutchfield, and they did their best but were unable to help with this issue.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Eric from Saint Paul, MN on 4/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall good, but note before buying that the HDMI 2.1 ports max out at 24 Gbps, or about half of the HDMI 2.1 spec. There are similarly priced receivers that get the full bandwidth.

Pros: Looks good

Cons: half-bandwidth HDMI 2.1 ports

Crutchfield response on

16 of 17 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Christopher from Foley, AL on 4/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good unit but limited banana ports.

Pros: Good value

Cons: Limited banana ports

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Babak from Minneapolis, MN on 4/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am very happy with it. I replaced my Sony with Onkyo (it my second Onkyo AVR) and I don't think I will go back to Sony. I have a 7.1 setup. I don't have a 4K source but my image quality have improved. I switch between TV and projector with ease.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Good Upgrade with the Included Feature

Carl from Boise, ID on 3/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I mainly bought this unit to get some new features that were not available on my previous receiver (7 year old Marantz). One is to get the Zone B capability to use a Bluetooth transmitter to another unit in an adjacent room. This unit has a Bluetooth transmitter built in but its audio delay sounds longer than the delay from the Zone B outputs to my existing Bluetooth transmitter. Another feature I wanted was internet access with this unit. It's so good I can get local FM stations using the built-in TuneIn app that I don't need a wire antenna connected to the back. The Chromecast feature works well but I wish it also included video. I have an older Google Chromecast that I use to cast websites from my laptop. It would have been nice to have this function integrated. As it is, the old Chromecast dongle doesn't seem to work well when plugged into this receiver compared to my last receiver. Instead, I plugged the dongle into my TV and used the eARC function. eARC works fine but I have to toggle it off for the receiver to output sound from its sources once I switch the TV inputs. I'll have to look into both of these problems to see if I am doing something wrong or if there is a work around. The CEC function works a lot better than my last receiver. Plugging speaker wires into the spring loaded connectors in the back of the unit could be easier if the holes were bigger.

Pros: Internet access CEC Zone B

Cons: Speaker terminals Chromecast

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Service with Product Knowledge

Bklynroad from New Jersey on 3/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Manny displayed his professional knowledge and responded to all of my needs and questions. I wanted to upgrade my AVR receiver from a 4K pass thru unit to a 4K upgradeable AVR so I could use some of my older equipment. The experience was seamless. It was a pleasure working with Manny. I have been purchasing products from Crutchfield for years and hope to continue in the future. I purchased a Onkyo TX-NR5100 for the room that the receiver will be used in. I will update this Onkyo TX-NR 5100 product review sometime later in the future. :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Jamie from Tully, NY on 3/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Onkyo receiver sounds great, show up a day earlier than projected. The set up was easy for the most part, after connecting to WIFI a firmware update popped up and was downloaded easily. The only issue was connecting the rear surround sound speakers as it is not a post on the rear of the receiver it had a push type connector which was hard to get all the wires in. If not for this issue I would have giving it a 5 star rating. Overall love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Moca, PR on 3/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The best

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Onkyo TX-NR5100 Fits Me Perfectly

Scott from Laupahoehoe, HI on 3/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Onyko TX-NR5100 was a very good choice for me. I wanted a good quality amp for the classic 5.1 home theater system with a hard wired speaker option. It turned out to be everything I wanted. I paired it with the Polk RC60i, 65I In-Wall, XT35 Monitor Speakers, and Klipsch R-10SWi Sub. The sound is Awesome ! The Onkyo's set up flexibility and ease to conform to any surround speaker setup from 3.1 to 5.1.2 , with or even without a sub, this was the kicker for me. Use the speakers you have or what you can afford today and expand later if needed. I love the Zone B speaker option so I can feed other speakers around the house . The Auto set-up was great and the AccuEQ Room Calibration work fantastically . I primarily pair it with my Samsung Q70A TV and Spectrum Cable Box, the only remote needed, for the most part, after setup is the Samsung TV universal controller. The only issues I had was having multiple HDMI components with eARC and power on priority which was resolved by disabling CEC on all the units except the TV. WARNING: If you have any strange or eratice operational issues check your HDMI cables I found 2 cables which I thought were good quality that I used in the past but were sub-standard ! They caused HDMI data transfer problems and intern slow boot up and other operation and erratic problems. All in All I am Super Happy with this Unit !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyno TX-NR5100 purchase

Robert from Point Pleasant, NJ on 3/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased this receiver to replace an older Onkyo receiver. GREAT receiver, GREAT value for the money, and GREAT Customer Service support at Crutchfield

Pros: Value, Performance

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Bruce from Chelsea, MI on 3/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Everything as advertised work great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Frank from Kokomo, IN on 3/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sakes staff was very helpful and able to help me in my decision making. I a. Pleased with my purchase and will definitely consider further purchase through Cruthfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Anthony from Schenectady, NY on 2/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

What an upgrade to my existing amp, simple set up and easy to operate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Keith from Port St Lucie, FL on 2/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy installation and setup. Excellent value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Luis from Caguas, PR on 2/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love it. Great sound, easy to set up.

Pros: Easy set up, sound adjustment mic is perfect.

Cons: No cons for me..

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great features for the price

Steve from Brimley, MI on 2/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent value for the price. Quick, easy setup, great sound quality and features. I picked this unit because I know the brand and have had good success with them in the past. It also has two way Bluetooth which I wanted to use my Bose QC35 II headphones without adding a sperate bluetooth receiver. It worked great and paired quickly. The Bose don't pair with everything and most of the time need the app so I was very pleased they paired up with this unit. I didn't find this feature on most of the name brand competition. I had it unboxed, connected and setup in about 45 minutes including balancing the 5.1 surround speakers. I would give it 5 stars but the cheaper "push connects" for some of the speakers is a pain to connect but once it's done all works as expected. It also seems a little larger than it needs to be so it takes up one shelf on my stand all by it's self. I'm sure there is a reason but you need to have room to fit it. Nice features for the low end pricing and so far great sound. I would recommend for the average home theater multi-function receiver.

Pros: Two way Bluetooth Easy setup Great price on-line

Cons: Push connectors for front and center speakers Physical Size of the unit

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from englewood, OH on 2/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

my receiver stopped putting out sound after 7 months i was sent to repair shop 40 miles away and told a minimum of 3 weeks. i have friends coming over for superbowl. very disappointed. will contact onkyo to see if they will just send replacement.

Pros:

Cons: see above

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Great product for the price!

Ryan from MADISONVILLE, LA on 2/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy setup and great sound from a budget friendly receiver. It has many features found in more expensive setups. Great product for the price.

Pros: Great features and easy setup

Cons: speaker wire connectors on the back of the unit are push pin for center and surround.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Overall Pretty decent

Craig from Otsego, MN on 2/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall it's a pretty good unit. Just a couple minor thnigs that ya gotta get used to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Robert B from Bardstown, KY on 1/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had originally wanted a Denon AVR S-960H but they were on a national backorder. I talked with Crutchfield to find another receiver close to the denon. Ordered the Onkyo TX NR-5100 and have never looked back. Great receiver with plenty of power. Easy setup amd a great setup up-front my old denon s700. I really can give any negatives about this receiver. Great product for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Lisa from Steilacoom, WA on 1/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Arrived on time. Packed perfectly. Sounds great!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo home theatre

Carey from Lexington, NC on 1/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound, plenty of power, easy connections to speakers , tv and other equipment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very Nice

Gordon from New Albany, IN on 1/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought this to replace a 100 Watt per channel Onkyo (pretty old) that had dual zone. I haven't noticed any difference between the quality of the sound. In addition the TX-NR5100 comes with additional features!

Pros: Dual zone. Ability to use Alexa

Cons: None so far!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent

Mike from Elizabeth, CO on 1/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with this unit, also highly impressed with the 'sound' - would recommend to anyone.

Pros: Easy set up Excellent sound Economical Versatile

Cons: 'Fine tuning' not covered in instructions still discovering what I can do

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Ahmed from Sandy Spgs, GA on 1/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very sophisticated receiver. Easy to set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Mark from Augusta, WV on 1/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good sound can hear more in movies than before

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Scott from Laguna Niguel, CA on 1/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

so far, so good. Easy set-up. Sounds great - music, movies...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not bad for the money

James from Owens X Rds, AL on 1/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great some of the advanced features are not as advertised but over all

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great receiver for the price

Edward from New Braunfels, TX on 1/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very solid receiver for the price. Perfect to run my master bedroom 5.1 . Many features on this unit that you won't find with others a t this price point

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Manuel from Aguada, PR on 1/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound, easy to opérate.

Pros: Sound as a teather using fiber optic .

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Aguadilla, PR on 1/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great value for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Hazleton, PA on 1/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super receiver. terrific sound at an even better price! Highly recommend.

Pros: Solid performance.

Cons: No complaints

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo receiver

Crutchfield customer from Queensbury, NY on 1/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was disappointed there is not a manual. Need to access online. The initial set up was easy enough although being a elderly person there are advanced setting I don't understand. Unit shipped as promised from Crutchfields I have always thought there products were well vented. I would order again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 1/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

In order to have a good sound volume needs to be at almost maximum

Pros: Good product for the price

Cons: volume limitations

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Spring Hill, FL on 1/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

No phono port.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from High View, WV on 12/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This receiver does everything I needed I to, from playing music on my outdoor speakers, to using BlueTooth for portable devices, to interfacing with all my audio/video gear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

A Satisfied Customer

Crutchfield customer from Concord, CA on 12/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simple to hook up and excellent sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Tamaqua, PA on 12/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love it. The service from Crutchfield was second to none! Fast delivery too!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Amp

Thomas from RIDGECREST, CA on 12/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great amp, worked to perfection for the house system. Love that it has Bluetooth

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great amp; lot of value

Crutchfield customer from Simpsonville, SC on 12/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have owned three different Onkyo amps over time and all have been top notch in terms of performance, reliability, and value. The only feature I wish this amp had is the ability to adjust the gain from external components like my TX-RZ series. Other than that, it's perfect.

Pros: Value, great performance for the money

Cons: Needs adjustable gain levels for connected components.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Bell, FL on 12/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy set up and sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Parrish, FL on 12/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent . Handles all my audio/video needs. Sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Johnstown, PA on 11/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A nice receiver, just enough features, reasonably price.

Pros: Good Remote for editing sound quality

Cons: Rather large

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Must have amp

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 11/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This amp has great power. This is much better than my older Onkyo receiver that I have. Love the Bluetooth and Sonos port feature. This is a must have amp.

Pros: Sonos port connection Options Bluetooth Wireless connect Power Clear sound

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Great Onkyo Home Theatre Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Mocksville, NC on 11/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful, powerful, functional replacement for old home theatre receiver. Onkyo did a great job with this unit! Having lifetime tech support and great pricing by Crutchfield made this purchase a pleasure!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 11/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

works like a dream

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Easy

Crutchfield customer from Ronkonkoma, NY on 11/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simple and easy hookups. Calibration with included microphone made speaker setup very easy, just read and follow instructions.

Pros: Setup

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice Amp- Awesome Service

John from NEWPORT NEWS, VA on 11/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far so good with this AVR purchase. We'll see how it performs when my new Fluance speakers arrive. I did want to say props to Crutchfield as a company for their service. When I purchased this there was note that said if a purchased within the next xxxx, I would receive it the next day. No way I thought at 4PM it would get turned around and delivered that quickly but it certainly was. It was rainy outside on delivery day and the fact it was so nicely sealed was a plus. Thank You!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Euclid, OH on 11/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice receiver that handles all of our various components. I like that it has labels for each HDMI input on the back. Would like the volume control to be a little faster, that is, it takes several seconds to make a noticeable change to volume.

Pros: Easy to set up, nice labels on the HDMI inputs.

Cons: Volume control increments are very small; takes several seconds to make a noticeable change to the volume.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Daniel from Vega Alta, PR on 10/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The TX-NR5100 works very nice in my small room. Great sound in movies, music and games, specially when you consider the price.

Pros: Excellent sound for the price. Support for popular stream music services.

Cons: Spring connectors for center channel and satellite speakers.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Danville, IA on 10/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased this from the Outlet and when arrived it looked like it was brand new. Has provided the sound that I was looking for with my new TV and the music that I have in the den.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Aptos, CA on 10/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does everything I hoped for at a reasonable price. Excellet quality. Power more than adequate and controls get the job done and do not present the challenges to some some do.

Pros: Quality and functionality.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 9/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound, easy set up

Pros:

Cons: Heat produced. Not over whelming but warmer then the unit it replaced

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Weehawken, NJ on 9/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very disappointed. Have always owned Onkyo receivers since the early 70's. Purchased this for the Dolby Atmos experience. But could not get any picture or sound through my eArc connection to my TV. I was on the phone with Crutchfield support and Onkyo customer support but we couldn't get it to work. It only worked when I used the TV's HDMI 1 or other inputs but would not work with eArc input. I had to return the reciever to Crutchfield I'm am still trying to find a receiver that doesn't have this problem. From what I've read a lot of recievers manufactured in 2020 had some kind of glitch with their HDMI hookup.

Pros: Great sound from the internet like spodify and pandorra and FM was really good.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

19 of 28 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Yulee, FL on 9/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

love the dolby atmos,brings out the best sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Whitefish, MT on 9/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super fast shipping, great customer service. Our representative was very knowledgeable and helpful in choosing the receiver. Have not plugged it in yet, as we are moving. I'm sure I'll be very happy with it. All our past Onkyo products have been great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Mason, OH on 9/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

From Onkyo to the next, quality and features are second to none for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great so far!

Crutchfield customer from Bethesda, MD on 9/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far I think this receiver is great. The automated set up and tuning features for my speakers using the TV were very helpful. The one thing that I think it is missing is a next generation remote control that does not require the direct optical line of sight. I keep my AV equipment in a cabinet in the back of the room and I would prefer not to have to point the remote control to it.

Pros: Automated set up on the TV

Cons: Optical remote control

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Canton, GA on 9/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I upgraded my 20 year old Onkyo receiver to this one to be able to support the new home theater interfaces of the my new TV. It is a huge change from the old technology and a bit of a learning curve. The only reason I gave this a 4 star rating is my old receiver has all metal parts, whereas this one has a good deal of plastic. Especially the volume knob which I really can't stand a plastic knob. One thing I noticed is to achieve a good surround experience, I need to have the volume level set to at least 60%. Lower levels doesn't have as good of an effect.

Pros: Sound quality Surround sound formats supported Internet based radio stations

Cons: plastic volume knob

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Hyattsville, MD on 9/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love the Onkyo Tx-NR5100 it's like that

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 9/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great. Simple set up. A little confused why the receiver likes to power off with the TV. I found no setting options to turn this off. Only issue that I have with it currently after a couple days using it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Almost Perfect...

Crutchfield customer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 9/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my first experience with the Onkyo brand, and I must say that I'm pleasantly surprised at the TX-NR5100's performance and ease of setup. At this price point, the feature set is virtually unbeatable; in fact, in my opinion this could be the perfect AVR for someone who needs compatibility with all of the capabilities inherent in the HDMI 2.1 specification. My only quibble is with the push-pin binding posts...they made connecting the unit to my speakers a lot more difficult than it should've been.

Pros: Full compatibility with the HDMI 2.1 specification.

Cons: Push-pin binding posts used for all but the front left and right speakers.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from N Charleston, SC on 9/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy setup and sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Very good entry to ht

Crutchfield customer from Canovanas, PR on 9/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good receiver for the price. Sounds more powerful than what the #s sugges. Also very easy to set up. Very good way to start your new home theater system.

Pros: Sound and ease of use.

Cons: The speaker connectors should be banana connectors at this or any price range in 2021.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Very satisfied!

Crutchfield customer from Trinity, FL on 9/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A great sounding system! It met all of our needs and then some. I had a little difficulty with the setup, but the folks at Crutchfield jumped in and walked me through each step. The lifetime technical support is one of the reasons I purchase from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound for great value

James from BIRDSBORO, PA on 9/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced a Yamaha receiver with this one. I have been a Yamaha fan for a long time. Love the features of this Onkyo. I can stream and chromecast with the push of a button and no longer have to mess with clunky menus. 4k and 8k ready so it works with my 4k tv and xbox series x as well as the new tivo stream which is 4k enabled as well. Receiver is new but I already love it. Sound is fantastic and the price was more than reasonable. So glad I made this purchase.

Pros: 4k/8k Hdmi pass thru Chromecast Streaming apps Wifi Dolby Atmos Price

Cons: What everyone else complained about was having to remove their banana plugs on speaker wire because only FL and FR accept them. All other speakers have speaker wire clips which is a little bit annoying.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Drexel, MO on 9/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install and a helpful tech department when asked.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Akron, OH on 8/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Missing music for almost a year after Covid began. Very nice Onkyo system. Sounds great and only had about a half hour setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good options for the price

Crutchfield customer from Tacoma on 8/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Currently running in 5.1.2, but I have 5.1.4 setup waiting on the NR7100 to get in stock. So, my other 2 rear height speakers are just sitting there bored.. :) Will move this to bedroom later. I had 2 issues when I first set it up. It wanted to do an update and I was doing it via network(wired connection), it reported error every time. I had to do it via USB and it worked. After that, during initial setup, when it got to speaker calibration, all speakers played the white noise to verify connection. When it got to the actual calibration, the first tone test, RF speaker did a quick sound and then the receiver shut down. Then it came back on, no sound from speakers. Powered off/on, then it was saying check speaker cables. No sound or anything. Redid all speaker connection and went through initial setup again and it's been working fine since. My older NR787 calibrated from 3 different spots, so was a little disappointed this only calibrated from one spot. Feature wise, it has all for what I need for a smaller area(bedroom/living room). Great sound paired up with my Klipsch(RP-160M/R-41M) and using the 5.1 Klipsch(set from Costco, using for height/center/sub speakers). Fills up my 13x16 living room with no problem(watched Ready Player One as a test). This is my 3rd Onkyo and have been happy. Waiting on the RZ50 for my dedicated medial room.

Pros: Future proof features(for now)

Cons: Should be all banana plugs instead of spring clips for speakers Auto calibration(needs more than one location for calibration)

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great product except for auto calibration.

Crutchfield customer from Clovis, CA on 8/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Definitely brought my speakers to life. Everything sounded much more alive and crisp. However, the calibration mic and/or software could use some work. I had to self adjust the sound levels myself because the auto calibration set the levels extremely off.

Pros: Great bang for buck Beats out Sony model I had Crisp and alive music & movies

Cons: Auto calibration set up Lack of power

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Opelika, AL on 8/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice receiver. Replaced my Yamaha AV receiver which died prematurely. Appreciate the Ethernet connection. Appreciate the built in Pandora, Spotify and Amazon Music.

Pros: Moderate price Solid construction

Cons: 150 page user guide is highly technical. Not written for your average educated person.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great receiver

Crutchfield customer from Lombard, IL on 8/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great receiver but no dsl. It works great with my Atmos Klipsch speakers.

Pros: Good Power. Has Atmos .

Cons: No DSL My universal control did not recognize it.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Tacoma, WA on 8/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased the Onkyo TX-NR5100 to play my vinyl records on. I am very pleased how crisp and clear they sound. I use the stereo out and sub-woofer only. This drives my Klysph speakers and sub-woofer, the sound is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

My Second Onkyo Surround Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 8/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My second Onkyo, love the new features, this is even easier to set up. Wish it had legacy connectors on the back for older DVD players and for VHS players (we still have one!). But everything is HDMI in back and those solutions are pre HDMI. Otherwise great unit.

Pros: ease of setup

Cons: lacks non HDMI connectors for DVD and VHS players

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Welcome back Onkyo!

Crutchfield customer from Bellevue, NE on 8/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm back to owning Onkyo and I couldn't be happier! This receiver is fantastic both in sound and features and for the price cannot be beat.

Pros: Lots of features. Ease of use. Wonderful sound. Incredible value.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Yigo, GU on 8/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great looking, very simple.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Worth the wait!

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, NJ on 7/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm glad I waited for this model to make it to market. It is the perfect combination of features, specifications, and footprint (a crucial factor in my case) for my application. So far everything works exactly as advertised.

Pros: A lot packed into a fairly shallow receiver.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Fergus Falls, MN on 7/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My movies & Music have come ALIVE! Connecting this Onkyo to my Xbox series X is freakin AMAZING!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR5100

Crutchfield customer from Eaton Rapids, MI on 7/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I preordered this unit based on advertised gaming features of 4K/120Hz UHD gaming, Auto Low Latency, Variable Refresh Rate, etc. for Xbox Series X. On day 1 there were some issues with the firmware causing incompatibility with certain Xbox features, but after a firmware update released 4/20/2021 those issues were resolved. I can report it now does successfully handle Xbox Series X 4K/120Hz UHD (though not Dolby Vision), as long as you go into settings and change the HDMI 4K/8K Signal Format from "4K Enhanced" to "8K Standard", which is what supports ultra-high speed HDMI for 4K 120Hz. But do be aware that all 4 HDMI inputs are only capable of 24Gbps, so at 4K/120Hz it will use YCbCr4:2:0, not the full YCbCr4:4:4/RGB color space that is possible for devices with HDMI input that support 42-48Gbps. Most folks I'm sure won't even notice this, it works, just not at the full color space possible with higher-end receivers. All other features are great! This is a swiss army knife of supported features, including many music streaming services, Chromecast built in, etc. As noted in other reviews, it was easy to setup. I also appreciate eArc support, which has been working well. My only other comment is that it does occasionally (maybe every 30 minutes or more) make a single click sound (from receiver itself, not from speakers) while listening to a consistent source. It's like the sound it makes normally when turning on or switching inputs, but during normal liste

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 16 found this helpful

Awesome sound and easy to install

Eric from North Carolina on 7/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I ordered the receiver from Crutchfield on a Friday and it arrived the next day - awesome! I'm absolutely awful when it comes to following instructions and doing anything technical. If there is a way to screw something up I'll figure out how to make a mess of it. So, I was dreading crawling behind the TV/stereo console and snake pit of wires to connect this new Onkyo receiver. Shockingly, I got everything to work on the first try. There were some minor wiring differences from my 22-year old Yamaha receiver that took a couple minutes of thinking to figure out, but it was still easy. IIRC, the optical digital cables from the DirecTV box and DVD player were no longer needed. The automatic room calibration feature was great. The old Yamaha receiver was still working like a champ, but we needed more connections and it wasn't taking advantage of the sound optimization on some shows and movies. The improvement in sound quality, as well as picture, was immediately evident. I've got a 5.1 system with 22-year old Boston Acoustic speakers and it sounded fantastic - very happy! If I can figure out how to route the wiring I'll add two up-firing speakers but that's a challenge due to the room set up. Still, I spent more than I planned on the receiver but elated as this 2021 unit seems to have everything needed plus future proofs upcoming changes and improvements.

Pros: Great sound. Picture improved. Easy to install, even for someone who has trouble following directions. Most recent updates and future proofing Lots of HDMI connections

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Compare the sound