Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
138 820 157 4
Connect ID #
138 820 157 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Onkyo TX-NR6100 7.2-channel home theater receiver with Dolby Atmos®, Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # TXNR6100M2BMDC

4.5 out of 5 stars
155 reviews
View this product
Onkyo TX-NR6100

Terence from Wilkes Barre, PA on 2/25/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound. Easy basic setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Keith from ANDERSON, SC on 2/24/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'd been out of home theater for 20 years, but always missed it. Ordered this unit for what we currently have, and to upgrade later to 7.2. I'm really satisfied with this Onkyo, but Onkyo dropped the ball with NO printed owners manual (one call to Crutchfield and they sent a printed version), an extremely cheap feeling and looking (no backlight) remote. To my surprise, when we first powered the unit up, at a volume level of 20, there was barely any volume at all. I kept thinking something was connected wrong, but my son went online and found this is common with this unit. Why??? Movie volume for us is in the 50-60 range on the display. Also, I paired this to an Onkyo cd changer, but the remote with the receiver will not control the cd, and they're the same brand??

Pros: Great unit with only small flaws

Cons: No owners manual, cheap remote, wonky volume levels

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good quality for the price

Cindy from Roseville, CA on 2/10/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This new receiver replaced our old Onkyo TX-NR636. This is almost exactly like it except for updated features including Bluetooth connectivity. I gave it 4 star's because it is a bit of a challenge to set up and program. After the initial set up you don't have on tv screen instructions any longer.

Pros: Price and features

Cons: Challenging set up

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

My Onkyo TX-NR6100

Daniel from Wantagh, NY on 2/6/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy set up, great sound for my 5.1 system. Movies sound incredible, love my purchase and the help from my Crutchfield advisor made it a great purchase

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Colin from Warsaw, IN on 2/5/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great and meets all my needs. I set it up in a 5.2.2 configuration which was easy to do with the audio configuration feature. Use mostly with Apple TV.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Kenneth from Omak, WA on 1/31/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have had Onkyo receivers in the past and they are my go to. It is a great product. I recommend Onkyo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Greg from Mount Pleasant, MI on 1/30/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pretty much the same features as my old Onkyo receiver with some audio playback upgrades. My only complaints so far is the amplifier isn't as efficient as my old receiver and the owners manual is basically useless.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice upgrade

Richard from Southbridge, MA on 1/30/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This replaced a 20-year-old head unit so the technology has change some. It sounds good and like the fact you use the the tv to setup and see all settings.

Pros: Easy setup, sounds great.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Agustin from Laredo, TX on 1/29/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Why a 3-star rating? The product itself is just as advertised! The connection part (speakers, subwoofer, etc.) is rather quick and easy to do! And here is why I give it a 3-star rating; there is no user manual of detail (one comes with the product but it's rather limited; it's mostly a quick start guide). Once I connected speakers (front and back) and subwoofer, I got lost trying to figure out what needed to be turned on in the TV (a Samsung 2023 smart TV 55 inch) and on the SR 6100 AV Onkyo receiver. Since 10am to almost 2pm I was going crazy trying to figure out why I had a tv picture but no sound from the receiver. I called support service and a gentleman by the name of Rudy came to the rescue. Crutchfield tech, Rudy took 20-30 minutes to help solve the issue. You really have to go deep into the menu settings of both devices to get it going. But to a mundane user like me, it was like being in a maze; the more you move in the maze, the worse it gets. There are still many more functions available on this AV receiver and once I know what to turn on, the rating might go to 4-5. This AV receiver replaces an older Onkyo SR5 674 receiver I had bought from Crutchfield many years ago but that one came with detail instructions (user manual) on how to set it up and what to turn on and off. I am satisfied with this new AV receiver performance so far. It's the menu setting up part that is my main critic. That and no included user detail manual.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Greg from Phoenix, AZ on 1/29/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good receiver - does the job - HDMI switching is a little slow but not a big deal - set up is straight forward - setting up a zone 2 is a little tricky but you have to take your time and read the manual. Two HDMI outs is nice (have an outside TV mounted on wall and inside system can do all individual components outside).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Wilborne from Waldorf, MD on 1/25/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does not produce strong clear sound. I was disappointed. Returned it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Richard from Simpsonville, SC on 1/25/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent receiver but I've had better

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Solid receiver, has all I needed

Tom from Suwanee, GA on 1/24/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Only had a week, but it's been great. Upgraded from a Yamaha rx-v683 which died. The Onkyo got great reviews, has all the inputs/outputs I need. The zone 2 is more robust than my prior receiver. Have this hooked up to a Samsung tv and running most things through a fire cube. I found the setup easy. I did tweak some settings after going through it, but it was more my preference Hardest part was setting up the app- but that was due to my wifi setup more than an onkyo issue.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Harland from College Station, TX on 1/22/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is an excellent receiver. The sound is wonderful. I haven't identified any downsides yet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Crutchfield customer from Kitty Hawk, NC on 1/22/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great company fast shipping. Great product. Thank you

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

John from Loveland, OH on 1/19/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced a 15-20 year old 5.1 receiver with this unit. Not sure it can be beat at the $500 price point. So far I haven't taken advantage of the 7.2 capabilities (just using it as a 5.1 system, but it seems pretty future-proof in terms of features. I got a "scratch and dent" unit from the outlet but haven't yet found where the scratches and/or dents might be. I figured Crutchfield wouldn't list a unit with obvious cosmetic problems, so I considered it worth the discount. Looks great and works great so far. There was a mildly annoying part of the setup where it assumed I wanted to connect to a wireless network even though I already plugged it into my router for a wired LAN connection. Had to disable wireless after finishing the setup before it would detect the wired LAN connection.

Pros: Price Solid feature list - I can't see needing a replacement in the near future Decent look

Cons: Slightly bulkier than my old reciever Minor setup issues Minor CEC functionality issues (which could come from other connected devices)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

It's Good!

Scott from TRUSSVILLE, AL on 1/19/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this back in late summer early fall of 2023 but wanted to use it for a bit before I reviewed it. I did buy it on sale for $500 and I don't recommend paying more. As it's off and on sale a lot. I did have some issues setting it up to my speakers, but it was a pretty simple fix. I have to thank Crutchfield customer support for being the best in the industry. Once we got a few things ironed out it was absolutely great. Movies are straight up awesome with this. We watched the new Dune, and I heard things I hadn't heard before in previous views. It was awesome! I was surprised how well it sounds with music too. I do switch to 2.1 channel for music. I am running with a wiim pro plus and Gesselli Labs J2S AK4499 dac w/spakos op amps. Needless to say, but I will anyway. It sounds unreal. Almost like the band is in my room. You can spend more and get more but for the money this hard to beat and it's THX certified too. So, if you're in the market and on the fence get off the fence. Go buy it. It's on sale.

Pros: Sound, ease of use, price is right

Cons: Size it's huge

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Setup/Balance Mostly Easy

John from Georgetown, TX on 1/18/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Plenty of power and not too complicated to set up and balance the sound. Much better than another manufacturer named Den.. Got plenty of subwoofer power.

Pros: Great performance for price.

Cons: Needs phone app for individual speaker output.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Solid and Smooth

Crutchfield customer from East Peoria, IL on 1/17/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's an excellent mid-level theater receiver that goes well with Klipsch speakers. Not top of the line but pretty darn sweet for 3 digits.

Pros: Sounds very good.

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo rocks!

Crutchfield customer from Madison,OH on 1/16/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you have the knowledge to manually set up an av receiver, this onkyo will thrill your ears! Tried the automatic setup with the supplied microphone and wasn't impressed. Using this for a small speaker 5.2 setup and couldn't be happier! Something about onkyo sound!

Pros: Incredible clarity!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

David from Winthrop, MA on 12/28/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just replaced an existing Onkyo AV receiver which we bought from Crutchfield in 2008. Based on our great experience, we went back to Crutchfield for the TX-NR6100. Once again, our Crutchfield account rep was very helpful in advising us and ensuring that the new Onkyo would work with our existing home theater system. Aside from a great price and free and speedy shipping, we love doing business with Cructhfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great receiver

Charles from Enid, OK on 12/26/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my third Onkyo receiver. The first one is now powering zone 2. The second one died after nine years. I looked at this one and a Sony and thought about upgrading to the onkyo tx-rz50. The price decided it, got this for under $500. Had everything I needed, but this does not have component or composite video so some older equipment I have won't work with it. Other than that its great. The Onkyo app is a lot better than the older one. I did have three zones on my old Onkyo and this only has two, but it has a powered zone 2 and line out, which run both zones, you just don't have the option of listening to different things. Great receiver and great bargain on sale.

Pros:

Cons: no component or composite video

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Todd from Holly, MI on 12/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice receiver with lots of options. Good price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

David from Muskego, WI on 12/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great update from an old Sony I was previously using. The shipment came on time and tightly wrapped. The guided on screen setup was smooth and I was up and running in no time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Harold from Maumee, OH on 12/5/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This receiver is big and complex. It would be more consumer friendly if the manufacturer would print some step by step instructions showing how to do each connection in a way where a non expert could "get it right" the first time.

Pros: This receiver can do it all.

Cons: Complicated for a non expert.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo Stereo Receiver

Mark from Phoenix, AZ on 12/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this receiver after research and consultation with Crutchfield specialists. The Onkyo has many of the advanced technology features I was looking for in a new stereo receiver. Set up was straightforward and sound quality is excellent. I am very happy with his selection.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sound system

Keith from Milton, DE on 12/1/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am was able to connect this by reading directions and have so far found everything as I expected.

Pros: Ease of setting up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good but not great for 2023

Nicholas from Palm Bch Gdns, FL on 11/28/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good value and replacement for my older Onkyo model TX-SR607 Crutchfield website tools and customer service is great including upgrades and price guarantee. I haven't used all of the features of the new Onkyo TX-NR6100 yet, but so far there are some shortcomings 1.Direct technical support from Onkyo is mediocre at best. 2.Volume issues. Power needs to be cranked up to 45 for basic TV listening. Why ?? 3.UI setup is dated - complex nesting of menus to find good tweaks (late night mode is buried) 4.Takes a while to get it set up right... Online user manual is not vey helpful explaining things. 5.The Onkyo Controller app is helpful in some cases but not for guests playing music to zone 2. 6.No direct cast/airplay to Zone 2 ... disappointment in 2023... App helps but not for guests 7.CEC control had to be disabled for this newer model (was forcing sound thru TV speaker) 8.No way to use a legacy iPod dock or play attached ipod via USB (yes I know its legacy) 9.Remote is lame and no universal TV controls (therefore, you still need a Universal like Logitech) 0. Music server only supports a discontinued version of the limited Windows Media Player. Not sure if Denon or Yamaha is much better but this was on sale and had similar features.

Pros: Good overall value Next level costs double Onkyo App is helpful Crutchfield is Great !

Cons: Legacy interface Tedious to configure Volume/Power seems weak User Manual is limited

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

A wonderfully great product!

J from Frisco, TX on 11/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It is a great product at this price range.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Darrell from Brooklyn, NY on 11/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Previously purchased the Onkyo '7100 from Crutchfield, hooked those up to Klipsch R625a Atmos towers.... Scored the Klipsch Reference Cinema Atmos system, recently, and NOW, with the Onkyo '6100, I have 'House-wide Atmos...and Rue made it ALL happen !!!! THANK...YOU....Rue!!!!!

Pros: Did I mention that Crutchfield has THE BEST TOYS?!?!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

HBind

Howard from Tucson, AZ on 10/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent piece of equipment. Has all of the features I was looking for. AM/FM sensitivity is excellent, tonal capabilities are ,exquisite and hook-up was a breeze.

Pros: Worth the money

Cons: No actual owners manual ( went online)

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Good for ONE HDMI input

Jeffrey from State College, PA on 10/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love this home theater receiver but it has a fatal flaw. All the audio stuff works great and it has a wide variety of options. But, switching between HDMI sources takes an unacceptable amount of time ( 30-60 seconds). This is noted in other reviews but I missed it. I'm looking forward to a re-designed Onkyo rcvr.

Pros: smart phone remote app speaker set up FM/AM tuner

Cons: switching between HDMI sources takes an unacceptable amount of time ( 30-60 seconds).

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Jason Marc from San Diego, CA on 10/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great, expert help with connecting to TV. Super patient. Receive easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works for me

Karen from Vail, CO on 9/30/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've only had this hooked up for a week, but a huge improvement (as expected!) over my 20 yr old Pioneer receiver. I use this in my home theater set up. I was having audio/video sync problems and now with eARC on the new TV and this new receiver, that is not as much an issue. I can use the a/v sync to delay the audio with this. The receiver was pretty easy to set up. I like that it came with a microphone to calibrate the speakers. The one thing I do not like is that it is very slow, everything is hooked up to the TV remote, and now the cable TV takes about 10-15 seconds longer to appear when I turn it on. No idea why as that is the first in the chain (cable->tv->receiver). Also I had some issues setting up Chromecast, I just need to try again when I have more time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Manuel from SAN JUAN, PR on 9/24/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excelente producto.Relacion con el precio es lo mejor que pueda tener.Calidad de sonido y rendimiento de las bocinas.Muy contento con el servicio de Crutchfield.Gracias desde Puerto Rico DJMANUEL...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

James from Lafayette, IN on 9/24/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Happy , it works from the factory. Didn't receive free audio cables or invoice . Blue wrapper paper was 70% around box.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Team Crutchfield and ONKYO

Charles from Hot Springs, AR on 9/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's a great replacement for the ONKYO TXRZ-810 I lost in a lightning strike. Installation was simple but I did have one problem that was immediately solved with a quick call to Tech Support. The problem was with the HDMI connection to the TV not with the ONKYO! It's amazing how much Audio/Video has improved in the last five years. A quick word or two about Crutchfield. Sales (Fae) was outstanding. She helped me find the product I wanted that would do the job for the best price. Delivery couldn't have been better and when the product went on sale three days later they gave me a credit for the difference with a simple phone call. My total experience with Crutchfield and my new ONKYO was easy and more than satisfying.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Ronald from Georgetown, TN on 9/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Have had it hooked up for less than a week, but so far very happy with it. Hope it last longer than my Yamaha RX 6VA

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Lacks umph !

Michael Brett from MUSCLE SHOALS, AL on 9/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have a Sony receiver that will do up to 24/96 via a Chromecast Audio streamer optically connected. I wanted a receiver that would do full ultra hi res at 24/192. The Onkyo TX-NR6100 did this although you have to use an app called DTS Play-fi the first 2 months I had it. Then after an update it started stopping at 4 seconds. So I downloaded the Onkyo Play-fi music controller app and it worked for another month then the dreaded 4 second stop. Have done every troubleshoot multiple times. Crutchfield even sent me another unit and it done the same exact thing. I have super fast internet thru Xfinity and even went and got the latest router. It show I have 100% connection. Also the play fi feature will not transfer to the unit I am totally dependent on the play-fi app on my iPhone 13. It say this transfer unsupported. I have tried other phones and accounts and it does the same thing. Am using Amazon Music and Qobuz, they both stop at 4 seconds. I really wish I had just bought a good streamer and hooked it up to my 24 year old Sony because it sounds better.

Pros: Chromecast Air play2

Cons: Play_fi

Crutchfield response on

5 of 9 found this helpful

Onkyo 6100

Matt from Tucson, AZ on 9/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love it easy to hook up great picture and the sound is awesome not the most expensive but worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Greg from Tehachapi, CA on 8/30/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy connections and great on-screen setup. The setup mic worked well to set levels.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Raymond from Roseville, CA on 8/15/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I thought my Onkyo tx nr676 was good. until I replaced it with a new 6100. The new 6100 does so much more. It is easy to set up and use. I would buy it again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Don't waste your moneywith this unit!

Tony from PHOENIX, AZ on 8/5/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We purchased this particular unit after discussion with a Crutchfield sales rep ...this was in March of 2023...he steered us to this and told us that the unit would be more than enough to power our 2- 500 watt Cerwin Vegas, a Definitive Tech center speaker and two Definitive Tech surround units....well, after 3 months, the unit failed miserably...wont put menus up on the tv and in between the horrible electronic spikes thru the speakers, the sound quality absolutely is horrible! Volume output is poor and sound quality...well there isn't! We contacted Crutchfield Tech and they informed us that the 60 day period had expired for us to return the unit for credit and purchase a higher priced QUALITY DENON unit. However, they did agree to send us a replacement Onkyo TX-NR6100 with a return label for this old unit.....We will put up with the replacement for a while but based on this model's overall disgusting performance and ridiculous short life, we will soon be forced to purchase a DENON in the upcoming months. OUR ADVICE....stay away from this ONKYO unit...it does not live up to its claimed output and if this is quality...something is definitely wrong! We are also very disappointed with Crutchfield with the fact that they wouldn't issue a credit for an obviously poor quality unit that failed 2 1/2 months after the 60 day return policy which was purchased with the recommendation of their sales rep. We have done business with them going back many years..time for a change?

Pros: none

Cons: many..see above

Crutchfield response on

21 of 47 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

john from BIG BEAR CITY, CA on 7/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've had it for a few weeks now. Works great. No issues, Sounds great. Powers 7 speakers and a subwoofer well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Johnny from Luling, LA on 7/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great recover, easy to operate. The best customer service.

Pros: Best value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Happy Customer

Kent from Hobe Sound, FL on 7/10/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my 2nd Onkyo receiver, and as usual after opening up the box, the quality has not changed! My old TX-DS494 unfortunately died after @24 years of service. The setup was a little tricky, but after a couple of minutes of head scratching, everything went well. I was able to remove multiple cables not needed anymore, which cleaned up the back of my entertainment case. This unit has plenty of power, and sound quality is awesome, especially with my fleet of Klipsch speakers. Another excellent product and great price from Crutchfield!

Pros: Excellent quality and sound for the price.

Cons: Setup was a little tricky.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Crutchfield customer from NASHUA, NH on 6/23/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

AccuEQ Room Calibration is terrible.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Excellent low-mid range reciever with lots of features.

Jeffrey from Longwood, FL on 6/15/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quality construction. Lots of features for the price. Sound and video are top notch. A little slower than I would like switching between video sources but tolerable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Receiver

Craig from Staten Island, NY on 6/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I renovated my place recently and was ready to dump my Denon 1913 receiver that never worked right and always gave me problems. So, after reading quite a few reviews I took a chance when placing my order online for the Onkyo TX-NR6100 that indicated some varied experiences. It's been a few weeks now and so far, so good. Hoping for the best in the long term. I'm sticking my neck out saying this too early in the purchase, but this receiver is a Boss! The setup was not as expected because it happened quickly and without incident. Using a new LG 4K 50 inch flat screen. The sound is outstanding on my new system and the remote is easy to use. Nothing negative to report and hope that remains the case. If they had decided to go with a back lit remote that would have been great, but I'm not complaining just suggesting. Bottonline, I'm a happy camper. Shout out to Gage in tech support, I called Crutchfield after setup was complete to ask some general questions. He's awesome and took the time to help me with my speaker settings with my Infinity subwoofer and Klipsch RB 61 speakers all of which were ordered from Crutchfield years ago. I'm loyal to this company because they've had my back since 2012. Thank you and hugs to the Crutchfield team. I appreciate your great support!

Pros: Everthing

Cons: Nice to have a back lit remote

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Less might be More

John from Colorado Spgs, CO on 5/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quirky, sound is hard to manipulate, doesn't "play as well with others in the sandbox" as I had hoped. Hand held is cheap feeling and slow.

Pros: easy set-up wide range of features does most everything one would want

Cons: hard to manipulate sound choices minimal w/o equalization hand-held feels cheap and response is slow doesn't support wireless but does have sonos connection

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

6100 internal amp stops working

Nick from Clermont, FL on 5/21/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So I bought this back in November with zero to know issues (keep in mind I wasn't using this that often the first month after just moving into a new home. The more I used the more I found out that the internal amp in the 6100 would just shut off out of the blue.. I called Crutchfield a few time to hard reset it and it would work for about 5 hours until it started up again. I've done this about 50-100 times since I've had it. Short answer it hasn't work properly since first getting it.

Pros: Works great after getting out of standby mode or a hard reset than within 12 hours has the same issue.

Cons: Please see above

Crutchfield response on 5/23/2023
Nick, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. While your order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, please feel free to reach out to our Tech Support team for help, or for information about the 2-year warranty on this receiver. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

6 of 7 found this helpful

Onkyo 6100

Louis from Zephyrhills, FL on 4/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Plenty of power and clarity.

Pros: All good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Larry C from Spring, TX on 4/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I will always pay more for Crutchfield's devices. The customer service for years on end is worth it to me! They are the best.

Pros: Support

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Superb Receiver

Bobby from Signal Mountain, TN on 3/23/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just replaced a Yamaha which previously replaced another Onkyo that I had for years. Big fan of Onkyo and glad to be back. Straight-forward set-up, feature packed with all the new formats supported, and good clean power.

Pros: Sounds great. Very easy to use, i.e., switching sources, sound field adjustments. Looks good.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Solid product, easy to use, great sound.

Arnie from Fresh Meadows on 3/21/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am partial to this make as this unit replaced an older model. Set up was straight forward and successful on my first attempt. Not a fan of auto calibration so I went manual. Unit has had no glitches to date and sounds quite good. I caught a sale so good for me. Recommended

Pros: Straight forward set up; easy to operate; ample amplification.

Cons: A bit pricey. Try to catch a sale.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Onkyo

Ray from Cleveland, OH on 3/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Setting up receiver and rear 2 channels are not working crutch field is sending out a new replacement

Pros: Fantastic technical help and customer service

Cons: receiver not working properly

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Very satisfied

Karen from , CA on 3/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We are impressed with the improvement in our home theater and music audio after using this receiver over the past week. It was simple to hook up to our sources and our older 5.1 Klipsch reference speakers purchased in 2003. The set up and sound calibration quickly allowed us to start listening. We have found the audio to be crisp with an appropriate range and balance. Akso i want to give a shout out to the very knowledgeable, helpful Crutchfield team !

Pros: Very good range for music audio So many choices for movie audio Lots of features Easy set up

Cons: Finding the current onkyo remote app in apple store

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Justin from CHESAPEAKE, VA on 3/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Old denon was getting glitchy and having issues so went with this and been happy so far. Plenty of features and newer specs for what I need and the extra wattage is def nice. Also went to a 4K TV so needed the extra spec plus will add Atmos speakers eventually.

Pros: Wattage, 4K, Atmos, newer codecs for video/audio

Cons: Forgot to check dimensions so had to do some modifications to get it to fit. Don't forget to check that!

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

John from PEDRICKTOWN, NJ on 2/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Volume levels are medium, switching from cable box to game console takes a good half-minute, longer if you use HDR10 on the console. OSD stopped working, network connection stopped. Time to trouble when I have free time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/22/2023
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to John to help him further. We'll either help him get the receiver working the way it should or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

20 of 25 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

William from Fort Wayne, IN on 2/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I just moved and decided to upgrade everything to 4k so My Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver had to be replaced since it no longer transferred the 4K video stream to the projector because of it's outdated 4K protocols. Everything worked seamlessly! Initial setup was a snap and the picture and audio quality was outstanding! It was the perfect receiver for my media room. I only needed 7 amps and they didn't have to be high powered. Most of the power is really being pushed by 2 Klipsch subs. I have Klipsch in-ceiling speakers for my height and surrounds, Klipsch center and Polk for the front left and right.

Pros: Easy setup; Onkyo Control management app; clean design

Cons: Can't think of any!

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Michael from Lancaster, CA on 2/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This receiver is a great fit and meets all of my needs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

MARK from AKRON, NY on 2/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Disappointed in the whole system sound quality is not very good very low volume for the wattage it says it has I should have spent the extra money and got the better one cheap isn't always better

Pros: There are no pros

Cons: too many to list

Crutchfield response on 2/21/2023
Mark, we're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

6 of 13 found this helpful

CLOWNED my Denon AVR-X1200!

Michael from Renton, WA on 2/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My Denon AVR-X1200 would sound different every time I turned it on. ONE random speaker of my 5.1 setup would be WAY louder than the rest of the speakers EVERY TIME I turned it on, so I would have to listen for a minute to figure out which one was too loud and dial that speaker level down to match the rest of the speakers. This Onkyo sounds amazing and has fixed that issue! I like that it has 8k video and dolby atmos capabilities for future upgrades. Setup was a breeze. I used banana plugs on my Denon so it only took a few minutes to plug everything into this Onkyo and slide it back onto the shelf. I ran the accuEQ setup with the included mic, but I had to make manual adjustments to please my ears. I dialed in the settings for music and movies to my taste and am very pleased with the dynamics and smoothness of the sound AND how much better the surround speakers sound. Movies sound like the theater, and music fills the room without sounding like the surround speakers are clashing or too quiet, which was a problem with the Denon. This Onkyo has exceeded my expectations!

Pros: everything

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Robert from Atlantic Beach, FL on 2/14/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great perforance at a reasonalble price!

Pros: performance price Zone 2 speakers

Cons: on line owners manual a little difficult to understand all of the functionality

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great sound and features

Luigi from Centereach, NY on 2/9/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Features are great and sound is awesome. Significant upgrade from my previous Onkyo. Had a hard time getting audio from cable box but I think it is an Optimum issue. The fix was running hdmi from cable box into tv.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Crutchfield customer from Boston on 2/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am experiencing ARC drop from my receiver. I currently have the tx-nr6100 and an LG nano smartv. When running apps like YouTubeTV, Disney+ and hbo every time I change the volume the audio drops and takes a few seconds to reboot. I am running a 25ft "Long 8K HDMI Cable 25FT/7.6M 48Gbps, Highwings 2.1 High Speed Gaming Cord 4K@120Hz 8K@60Hz RTX 3090 eARC 3D Compatible for PS5, UHD TV and Blu-ray Player" from the receiver to the tv. I previously had a Sonos beam running to the tv and didn't have any problems with arc drop. This is extremely frustrating as every time I change the volume there is a problem. I spoke with Onkyo support and they told me that sometimes their products software do not interface with other technologies as intended. They actually recommended that I buy a new TV!!! I wish I tried to fix this within 60 days so I could return everything. Just too expensive to have the audio drop every time I change it. I just can't recommend this product to anyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

19 of 23 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Marcy from Pt Charlotte, FL on 1/24/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great. Easy setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Daria from BIG STONE GAP, VA on 1/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super clean and clear sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 10 found this helpful

Onkyo TXNR6100 SETUP

Paul from Camden, NY on 1/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy to set up even with adding the speaker wires (glad I kept them sorted and ID'ed). I was actually able to receive the 4k video which was the primary reason for this upgrade (my Onkyo NR656 did not have that capacity). So, once everything was plugged in properly and turned on, all systems were go. No problem with my streaming Fire tv - just need to check my computer to see if I can access zoom for Sunday church...I am very impressed with the 4k TV from Samsung and it marries nicely with the new receiver. BTW-the speaker test on setup was very useful to confirm correct connection of the 5.1 speaker setup.

Pros: Pretty easy setup for all the connections and installation.

Cons: Well, once setup-I found numerous 'extra' tv choices that I didn't have previously-Samsung tv, Prime tv, etc. I guess this isn't much of con but the choices can be daunting.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Paul from New Lenox, IL on 1/9/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After 3 days, very happy with this receiver. Movie soundtracks have never been better. No HDMI issues. Relatively easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Almost Perfect

Benjamin from SCOTTSDALE, AZ on 1/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Highs - Sound is fantastic. This is driving Definitive and Focal speakers and couldn't be happier. It has all the possible connections and formats you could possible need at this price point. Lows - Interacting with the menus and apps (Tidal) feels like it's a decade or more behind where it should be. Also, there's a weird HDMI(?) issue where something reloads 2-3 times within the first 30 minutes of turning it on. The TV goes dark while something is reloading on the receiver. I don't like mentioning what may be a one off issue in product reviews (i.e. my product arrived damaged and didn't work, ONE STAR!), but from what I've seen many receiver brands/models (looking at you Yamaha) often have the same bug. Something to be aware of, do your research. Going to open a ticket with Crutchfield tomorrow, I'm sure they'll get it straightened out. That's why we buy from them!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

Satisfied Buyer

Donna from Grove, OK on 12/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have been buying from Crutchfield for the last eight years. I have never been disappointed with their service or products. Fast delivery, great products, I don't even think about buying products other places. But I do compare prices and other retailers can't beat them on prices.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Just the Ticket!

Steven from Lake Oswego, OR on 12/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly what I need! My advisors/delphic oracles at Crutchfield helped me sort out what was wrong with my existing gear (lifetime support!) and I decided it was time to replace my old Onkyo with a new one. The team at Crutchfield provides unmatched expert help and for that - and my new Onkyo - I am grateful!

Pros: Power, latest HDMI and other technologies

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

If it fits your configuration buy it

Karl from Sevierville, TN on 12/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Short version: Very nice, full-featured AV receiver capable of handling both today's and it appears the next generation of HDMI devices that will come along. I replaced a TXNR-626 with this, which was doing the job EXCEPT that it could not switch and pass HDR 4k content. Then again that was a quite a bit older unit and HDR10 didn't exist when it was made. I have a 4.1 main area requirement and use the second zone for my gym to stream music, so that's important too. I'm a bit disappointed that the former remote which was serviceable as an "all for one" remote to anything that does CEC has been downgraded to a receiver-only unit. It seems something is always cheapened these days, and that was the choice here. The old one, ex the "setup" button, however, is compatible and works. If you need/want Atmos (e.g. 6.1 or 7.1) main with a second zone this is not the unit to buy, but otherwise it is. My mains are KEF 104/2s and a center channel speaker that can actually compete on sound quality with those would cost a fortune, so I run phantom there and this unit does a good job in that regard. One note -- my unit had an update available on install but went wonky after it. Full power cycle (pull plug) and all was well and has remained so. No HDMI compatibility issues and the automated EQ profiling works well. Nothing to complain about and the price is reasonable. Recommended.

Pros: For 5.1 or 4.1 main with a powered 2-channel second zone its hard to beat. If you have no second zone then 7.1 will be fine too.

Cons: No 7.1 w/powered second zone capability. But at this price-point that's a very reasonable limitation. Remote has been cheapened and lost capability to be an "all in one for HDMI/CEC connected things."

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Nice Unit!

Carl from Bordentown, NJ on 12/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy setup. Better quality than the Denon AVR I had bought and returned.

Pros: Easy to set up. nice sound quality

Cons: can overheat at 75% volume Does not like Sony BluRay units

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Brad from Downingtown , PA on 12/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great service, arrived timely and in good condition. Performs as expected. Onkyo is the only receiver brand that I purchase. The TV ARC connection is a nice addition from last Onkyo receiver, which provides a nice power/audio tie in with the TV.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Best Product & Service!

David from Peoria, IL on 12/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is our 3rd big Onkyo receiver & we are happy with the product. We bought from Crutchfield because of their outstanding service, price protection & technical support!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

David from Goodyear, AZ on 12/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Disappointed in not receiving my speaker wire labels. My order listed the labels as a free gift. Have not hooked up receiver yet as it is a Christmas gift.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 15 found this helpful

Low Quality

Andrew from DeKalb, IL on 12/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's pretty terrible. The sound cuts out entirely every hour or so. I can reproduce the same issue if I switch apps on an Nvidia Shield TV Pro, change channels on FuboTV, or change the input to/from my Xbox Series X. I used the same TV, Xbox, Shield, on 3 Denons, 2 Sonys, and 1 Yamaha. None of those brands have trouble with audio... The menu goes berserk, check the screenshots. So every 60 minutes or so I have to get up and go hold the power button for 5 seconds to force to reset. Then its good! For another hour or god forbid if I click on the wrong app.

Pros: - Powers on - It's black - Lots of buttons

Cons: - Audio doesn't work if you plan to change apps, channels, or pause - It's enormous - The remote is really bad too, it's squishy and doesn't glow or light up. Which would suck if I wasn't getting up every 60 minutes to reset the receiver, there's light over there

Crutchfield response on 12/13/2022
Andrew, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo

9 of 17 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Chris from Wilmington, NC on 12/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I really like it and love the upgrade from my Onkyo 608, looks like an early Christmas present!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worked right from the start

Jeff from LUTHVLE TIMON, MD on 12/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I first tried a Marantz NR1711 but it did not get along with my new Sony TV about half the time, so I returned the Marantz. The Onkyo worked from the start. I skipped the built-in AccuEQ calibration and did it manually (tape measure and some back-and-forth with the menu-driven white noise tests). I did it this way because the AccuEQ will not let you apply your own EQ settings afterwards and I like enhanced bass as I am running bookshelf speakers without a subwoofer. Overall, I am very pleased with the Onkyo. Sounds great driving a pair of Polk Reserve R200s, a SVS Prime Center and couple of Polk Blackstone TL1s in the rear (running Crutchfield flat speaker wire under the rug). Works well for the medium-sized room where we watch TV and movies.

Pros: Sounds great. Not too tricky to set up. Same green LCD glow as my Onkyo CD player from many years ago.

Cons: Would be nice if you could apply custom EQ after running AccuEQ but I have no complaints with the sound I arrived at manually.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Problems out of the box, Lemon?

Derrick from Phoenix, AZ on 12/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this during the black friday sale for $600 given the features vs price point compared to other models. The 100w per channel rating and 4k 120hz gaming compatibility were the biggest selling points. However, the initial setup was a nightmare as the receiver kept freezing. It kept telling me to "wait" throughout the entire setup process and this went on for as long as you would let it. I had to run the setup 3 times before the sub and HDMI ports would finally recognize. The wifi never connected and wouldn't setup using an iOS device either. Bluetooth never worked. The AccuEQ had a mind of its own and would apply different speaker frequency settings (full range, 60hz, 40hz, ect) each time it was run. Factory resets didn't make a difference. The sound was decent, but nothing spectacular. Loud, but not refined. I think Yamaha's produce much better audio. After 3 hours of reviewing the online manual and trying to get it setup and connect to wifi I gave up and called Crutchfield the next morning for a return label. I had high hopes for this one. I'm leaning towards the Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A4A or RX A6A as a replacement.

Pros: 100w per channel, 4k 120hz gaming and 8k compatibility, quick touch buttons on front of receiver.

Cons: Initial setup was problematic and took 3 tries. Wifi and bluetooth never worked. Loud, but not refined sound quality. Remote feels and looks cheap for the price. Remote isn't back lit.

Crutchfield response on 12/6/2022
Derrick contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

13 of 17 found this helpful

Great Onkyo receiver

Robert from Mooresville, NC on 11/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

sounds great, definitely need the extra power from this unit. Setup was easy, ARC is amazing! unit is much deeper then its smaller little brother!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Solid performance and it uses the same IR codes as earlier products

Steve from Little Rock, AR on 11/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The receiver works as I expected. Because I am dealing with Logitech's decision to end support for their Harmony programmable remotes, I ordered the TX-NR6100 to replace an earlier generation Onkyo receiver that had been damaged by lightning. Due to Logitech's decision, I'm not able to change the programming on my remotes. Thankfully, Onkyo kept their IR codes from their earlier generations. Onkyo's decision saved me hours looking for and setting up a new remote.

Pros: Performance Cost IR code compatibility

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Lindsay from Collierville, TN on 11/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased this receiver as a replacement for an existing Yamaha model that crapped out (after 10 years). This Onkyo was less expensive but close to an equivalent in specs with the more expensive Yamaha. I have been happy with my choice.

Pros: Price, power and ease of setup.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Pj from Oceanside, CA on 11/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this so I could listen through Bluetooth Hearing aids while others in the room listened through the speakers. Requires a separate zone 2. My first purchase from a different retailer didn't work after multiple calls to tech support, and didn't understand the problem. I called Crutchfield, and they were able to determine the problem and recommend this AVR. It was a little tricky setting it up so called tech support, and they were able to get me set up in less than half an hour. Works perfectly. Very happy with the product and the support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Cp from Marietta, GA on 11/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Onkyo is a solid performer. One thing I didn't realize... the built-in Chromecast will only play to Zone 1. One of the reasons I bought it was to stream via Chromecast to Zone 2. The guys at Crutchfield were fantastic in helping to troubleshoot the issue and suggest work arounds. Try to get that at other retailers..lol

Pros:

Cons: Can't stream built-in Chromecast to Zone 2

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Very good receiver.

Eddie from Roseville, MI on 11/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very pleased with this receiver. Works perfectly with my Samsung S95B OLED, Panasonic 4K DP-UB820,and Xbox Series X. I had to replace Onkyo RZ 720 to pass 4K 120hz gaming. Would I recommend this to anyone looking for a receiver under $1,000? Absolutely I would.

Pros: Upto 8K video pass through, 4K 120hz Gaming, Atmos/DTS X. It has all the makings that anyone looking for a good 7.2 receiver for their hometheater at a good price this it.

Cons: Not on the level of RZ Onkyo receivers. You can tell the difference between TX and RZ models with audio or sound.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

William from Lathrop, CA on 11/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good receiver. I was able to get around the limited digital audio inputs using HDMI, except for the CD.

Pros: everything else

Cons: limited digital audio inputs

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Works Flawlessly for Mixing Video and Audio Sources

Craig from Durham, CT on 11/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This replaces a 4K 4Port switch box and older receiver. A key capability is switching mixed 4K and HD sources and allowing me to listen to network music (iTunes) while watching video from SAT box or AppleTV4K Gen 2. I have a 25 ft in wall cable that connects the receiver output to the eARC input of a 4K Sony TV that hangs above a fireplace. My setup uses an older AppleTV Gen3 (ATVG3)* on the mantel with optical output fed through the wall (25ft) to the CD input of the receiver and the video fed to another HDMI input on the TV. The ATVG3 is wirelessly connected and these are less expensive (used) than a HDMI optical extractor and allows me to use stream my personal music collection while watching a separate video (Dark Side of the Moon with Wizard of Oz or RiffTrax!) on the ATV4K. All other devices are hard wired. This all works! No dropouts, no playback stalling I can set up the playlist on the ATVG3 using the HDMI input on the Sony. Switch the TV to the eARC input select the video input (SAT Box) then press the CD input to get the mixed video/audio I want. & control the ATVG2 with my phone. see manual p 91. There is a slight delay (relay click) when changing audio modes) Music = Direct. SAT, ATV4K, DVD and 4K Blu Ray are multi channel. * you do have to tape over the optical sensor on the ATV4K to prevent interference from the ATVG2 remote. ATV4K RF doesn't need it anyway.

Pros: Switching works with multiple resolution HDMI inputs and a long run (25 ft) output cable The ability to mix audio signals (music) with a different video source allows me to enjoy American Football 3 weeks in, after playing almost 2000 songs and using all inputs, I'm loving the design and the functionality as well as the sound.

Cons: In the safety precautions (see below) the spacing required would have required demolition of my built in casework. I only have 2.5" on each side and about 5" above. I was able to use supplemental cooling fans (AC Infinity MULTIFAN S7, Quiet Dual 120mm) on lowest setting to keep the temperature around the receiver at 81F and below. *Precautions Leave 20 cm (8") of free space at the top and sides and 10 cm (4") at the rear.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

My take on my purchase.

Anthony from Port Washington, NY on 10/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love it so far. Replaced Denon AVR 3600. Was looking at the Onkyo TX-RZ50 but couldn't justify spending that amount since I only have a 5.1 system. My speakers need at least 100w to drive them. I have NHT 2.5i (6ohms) tower speakers, and 1.5 (8ohms) back speakers. Center is also NHT AudioCenter 1 (8ohms). The Denon definitely had more power, but the Onkyo works just fine. Music sounds great. The movies I still need to calibrate the speakers to get the sweat spot. I used to use a sound meter and Video Essentials to calibrate my system. It will be interesting to see how it goes with the AccuEQ automatic calibration. Setup was easy, I know the first time it I setup a system it was a bit daunting. The one thing I had to figure out is that I had to plug my projector into the main for initialization even though it suggested sub. Once I got that I got through the setup. Lots of options, made sure to select 6ohsm > option. The remote would be better if it was backlit. I don't use it because my system is tucked away in another room with the projector. The remote app was essential to me because of my setup. The app doesn't have a good rating, but it works for me. My son seemed to have no problems with it. No buyer's remorse for me. I would recommend it for someone that does not have a big budget and wants all the features, giving you the ability to upgrade over time. I plan to try the bi-amp setup. I'm just someone that loves movies and all ty

Pros: Lots of features, pleased with the sound, easy setup. 100 w/channel, hard to find. bi-amp support

Cons: Remote should be back lit. App remote is sufficient but could be improved and made more intuitive.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

A/V receiver as system control/switcher

George from Annville, PA on 10/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this receiver for basically a switch box for my two 4K DVD players, as my new Sony TV only has 3 4K/120 Hz inputs, and I would have 4 4K sources! I feed my Satellite and Roku boxes into the Onkyo, and the output to HDMI 1, while my two DVD players go to HDMI 2 and 4 respectively

Pros: Very versatile, excellent price!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Honkyo if you love Onkyo

Robert from Brentwood , MO on 10/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic unit. Replaced a 10 year old Denon home theatre receiver. I think this unit has more punch than the outgoing unit and more than accomplishes what I need it to do. Bluetooth pairing with the phone is seamless and great for "Zone 2 excursions" onto the patio while the TV is on zone 1. Highly recommend this unit. Lots of bang for the buck too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Dan from Medina, NY on 10/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds good pretty easy set up over all happy

Pros: Sounds good easy set up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Minor quirks but overall very good so far

Michael from Oceanside, CA on 10/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've only had it for less than a week but so far I'm pretty happy with it. Just a couple of things that I'd like to point out. 1) The audio calibration is super loud and takes some time. So don't do it in the middle of the night if you have neighbors or loud speakers. 2) Chromecast is for audio only. It took me way too long to realize this and was getting really frustrated not being able to use it for video. However, it does have AirPlay if you have an Apple product. 3) Spotify connect only lets you adjust volume on your casting device. This is super inconvenient when one click of the audio control is the difference between too quiet and very loud. But overall I'm pretty satisfied. Sound quality is decent and it's fairly easy to set up. Happy with the purchase so far.

Pros: Features, ease of set up

Cons: Chromecast, Google Home integration and Spotify volume control

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Receiver

Scott from Saint Louis, MO on 10/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great! This does a lot of things so it took some time to learn but wasn't too difficult. There are a lot of features for the money.

Pros: A lot of features for the money.

Cons: It does have a clicking sound when turning off and on and changing sound settings. It's not too big of a deal though.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Fast shipping great product

Ben from Rigby, ID on 10/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Everything is great so far. Haven't really cranked up the volume im still breaking in the speakers but works and looks great. Shipped fast as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Exceptional value!

Steven from HALFMOON, NY on 10/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've had this receiver for a couple of months now and am extremely satisfied with the overall performance. I'm using this in an apartment setting with Polk Signature Elite speakers and a Klipsch sub - and it fits the bill perfectly! It took a bit of adjusting because of my room layout, but it's definitely steps above my previous soundbar. Sound is balanced and clear; picture is great; features are plentiful. I feel that the 6100 is a phenomenal value for it's price point. My devices connect and switch seamlessly, with no lag or interruptions in dialog, sound, screen, or play (Apple 4K, PS4, Sony 800m2). I'm not quite sure what the THX feature brings to the table yet (really wish it was IMAX enhanced), but there are plenty of other sound modes to choose from for movies and games. Currently running this in a 5.1.2 configuration, but may switch it up to a 7.1 in the future. I did some homework prior to purchasing and I'm not sure you'll find a better ROI at this price point. Special shout out to Manny at Crutchfield for his help, knowledge and patience with the decision and purchasing processes. Highly recommend!

Pros: Great bang for your buck; extremely versatile and capable; plenty of features

Cons: The automatic calibration/mic system doesn't (seem) to produce great results for my particular room layout; really wish it were IMAX enhanced; no ability for future expansion - 7 channels is all you're ever going to get.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Roland from Elizabethton, TN on 10/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This has proven to be an exceptional receiver for my Home Theater. It has all the connections, features and functions that I need plus room to expand later. It has adequate power to rock the house and the sound is crisp and clear at any volume along the reasonable listening scale. With the Klipsch speakers I am using with this receiver, I have an outstanding Home Theater with robust surround sound for movies and sharp clarity for fine music. This receiver was priced well, is moderately sized and the display is clearly readable in bright or dark lighting conditions. The remote control is compact, easy to use and has each function and feature clearly marked. In my opinion, the only detractor to this receiver is relatively minor and that is the connections for the speakers on the back of the unit are uncomfortably close to each other. The angle of the holes used to insert the speaker wires into the stem of the screw-down connections on the back of this receiver makes it difficult to add additional speaker connections adjacent to the ones already in place. During the process of connecting speaker wire to the receiver, patience and extra care are needed to ensure that errant strands of wire or other cross-over contacts do not occur between speaker connections that could cause problems with the sound later. Overall, this seems to be a great receiver and it is performing very well as the core of my Home Theater set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

The reciever that does it all!

Paul from Yorktown Hts, NY on 9/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This reciever does it all! Audio, Video, 7.1 Surround and even has a second zone for patio/deck or a second room!

Pros: All the best features at a reasonable price point.

Cons: Setup is a bit tricky so I needed and got some great technical assistance from the Crutchfield team!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Impressed with the sound quality

Jeffrey from Clarksville, TN on 9/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super quick shipping, much appreciated. Really easy to hook up and set up. Sound is awesome, rich and full. This unit is replacing a 20 year old Ingera system. So far this Onkyo performs amazingly from lows to highs even when the volume is turned up high. For this level of stereo the remote could be much more substantial but it gets the job done. We're happy with our purchase, sounds great, easy hook up and set up, convenient button placement on front, lots of features from bluetooth to home network.

Pros: Easy hook up Easy set up User preference tweaking Bluetooth, Network THX and Dolby Atmos

Cons: Less than impressive remote

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Marvin from Fultondale, AL on 8/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

fast shipping. pleased with purchased. customer service is great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Carl from Port St Lucie, FL on 8/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great reciever Great sound quality especially when you watch a 4 k movies. Great all around reciever.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Nicolas from Barceloneta, PR on 8/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Onkyo has all the quality and features for less price compare to others, it's simple to setup and friendly to work with.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

Great Receiver

Randy from BROOKSHIRE, TX on 8/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love this receiver. I have an Onkyo TX 26 from 1985 that still works, so I've been sold on this brand for quite a while. Just connect everything, run the set up, and let the receiver do the rest. My system is pretty simple. I have Sony UBP-X800M2 Blueray player and an Apple TV connected to the receiver. Output to a Sony XR-75X95J TV.

Pros: Easy Set up Great Sound

Cons: Would prefer a few more line out connections to add amplifiers.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Receiver doesn't work as advertised

Robert from Austin, TX on 8/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After doing the setup to calibrate the Bose 6.1 speaker system, this receiver did not recognize the subwoofer nor did it recognize the rear center speaker even though both of them work with the receiver. Also, I can't get the Surround system to work on the rear speakers when watching movies even though the receiver recognizes them during the speaker calibration setup.

Pros:

Cons: The remote doesn't have the ability to illuminate for use when it's dark

Crutchfield response on 8/17/2022
Robert, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If the problem continues, please just reach back out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

7 of 8 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Steven from Lake Hiawatha, NJ on 8/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So many great options on this reciever. With zone 2 and the onkyo app I can play music from my pool without going in the house wet. Picture and sound are excellent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Marcell from Bryans Road, MD on 8/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love this receiver. My only comment is that the setup process required some support from crutch field

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing sound and 40gbs 2.1 hdmi

Pablo from Harlingen, TX on 7/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was in the market for a future proof avr after owning the onkyo nr777 for 5 years. I pulled the trigger on the yamaha v6a but returned it after I realized the 2.1 hdmi it was capped at 24bps and decided to pull the trigger on this onkyo instead. Best decision ever!!! I have it hooked up to an lg c1 and two klipsch 820f . The sound is superb and after changing the tv out to 8k enhanced, I was able to get VRR and ALLM on my ps5 via the AVR. No regrets here!! I was a bit hesitant buying another onkyo after reading they went bankrupt but at this price point, 100 watt 2 ch driven, and 3 40gbs 2.1 hdmi, it was a no brainer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

13 of 13 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Thomas from Saint Joseph, MI on 6/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good solid system.

Pros: Good sound and power. A lot of capabilities for the price.

Cons: User interface is not entirely intuitive. Requires some learning.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Erich from Tullahoma, TN on 6/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice looking amplifier, great sound, lots of power to run my 7.1 klipsch speakers. Easy to set up

Pros: Lots

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 7 found this helpful

Awesome receiver

Aaron from Dixon, IL on 6/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love the ease of set up and the unit sounds great with many features. The only gripe is the remote, it's not ergonomic with the hand at all and needs future improvement.

Pros: Quality

Cons: Remote

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Frank from Hammonton, NJ on 6/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install and great tech support

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Outstanding value in a multifunctional receiver

Louis from Staten Island, NY on 6/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow! What a sweet machine. It supports my Martin Logan speakers and sub for 5.1 surround sound. Allows integration of an xm radio, cd carousel, phono, blue Ray, and fare connects to the Internet. You need nothing else!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Great Receiver

Laura from Bradenton, FL on 5/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just hooked up and love how it sounds with our ceiling speakers.

Pros: How the receiver works with phone app and Alexa.

Cons: Had to hire help to set up.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Nicole from Wallingford, CT on 5/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing product. Love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Eric from Lenoir, NC on 5/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It was great I ordered it in less than 24 hours it was on my doorstep

Pros: All Pros no cons

Cons: I can't find anything wrong with it it's a great receiver

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Frank from Myrtle Beach, SC on 5/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my second Onkyo AV system and I love it, much more digital options and awesome sound. I am still trying to connect my Sonos audio system but I am sure I can make it work(after all I am 77 years old)

Pros: simplicity and great quality

Cons: set up slightly difficult for elderly

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Thomas from League City, TX on 5/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was able to hook the Onkyo up with no problems, program the new receiver without any problems. This is the fourth Onkyo that I have owned. I had to reboot the satellite receiver, Onkyo, and TV to get everything in Sync. My surround system is up and running with no problems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Better than expected

Joseph from PORT ST LUCIE, FL on 5/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Unfortunately had to replace an Onkyo TX-NR656 that was only about 4-5 years old. Decided to stay with Onkyo and couldn't be happier. This 6100 is a very nice upgrade. the automatic THX settings done with the microphone during setup have set my crossovers to a level that has my sound experience sounding like it never has before. Now I just can't wait until I can incorporate the Klipsch RP8000f that are sitting unused as I am looking to do a minor remodel to the room to accommodate the custom entertainment wall that I built years ago. I would 100% buy this again and would recommend it to anyone.

Pros: Ease of set up, sound clarity

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Jack from Fort Davis, TX on 4/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The remote works great on these Onkyo's. As with all brands of receivers it's hard to set up the settings to get it how you want it to operate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

David from Fort Wayne, IN on 4/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy set up and easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Dennis from Atco, NJ on 4/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just purchased the Onkyo TX-NR6100. Only had it for about a week. The unit is smaller and much lighter than the older receivers. The sound is good, but it doesn't seem to have as much punch as the older units. It's rated at 100 Watts, but for some reason to me it doesn't perform like it. I've had issues with it communicating with my Samsung 65 inch TV. Not sure as of yet what's going on. I'm hoping I can work out the kinks and that this particular unit is not defective.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Edward from N Ft Myers, FL on 3/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love the Onkyo. Previously had one and glad to buy another. Sounds great and manual is much easier to understand than previous.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Pradeep from Oakboro, NC on 3/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very satisfied

Pros: Great variety of audio/video features.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Mark from Clarksville, TN on 3/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Setup was easy sound is great. Only complaint now when I turn off everything the TV and receiver comes back on and goes to DVD. Still trying to figure this one out. I will call for support but want to try on my own first.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Jay from Sarasota, FL on 3/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Received when expected, setup was assisted through the excellent people at crutch field and working like a charm

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Great value and sounds fantastic for the price.

Brandon from Denver, CO on 3/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Look no further. This does about everything you'd want, 4k/8k, dolby atmos, bluetooth, wifi, etc. Sounds great, and the microphone used for the speaker setup calibrates frequency, and levels automatically. Great value for its features and price

Pros: Easy to setup, sounds great.

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100 A/V receiver

Roger F from Raymond, NH on 3/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was time to upgrade my audio system to include HDMI eARC streaming movies. This receiver exceeds my expectations -- especially after taking the time to download the manual and configure all that is engineered into it. The speaker setup process with included microphone is outstanding! We also love the integration of streaming audio channels (minimizes need for Bluetooth and smartphone), and how it integrates with the TV to display menus, make selections, and display audio source info.

Pros: Well engineered, very capable (includes phono M/M input).

Cons: You need to download the manual. Changing from Dolby 7.1 to 5.1.2 (for Dolby Atmos) requires the manual.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

LOVE this ONKYO amplifier

Eileen M from Davis, CA on 3/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

LOVE this amplifier which replaced my 20-year-old VC. It is compatible with my older peripheral components and will work with new ones when they need replacement. It is a GREAT amp. The Crutchfield advisor steered me completely right to get this terrific amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Scott from Excelsior, MN on 3/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced an 11 year old Onkyo AV receiver when the board went out with this model. Great performance and easy to setup. Prefer to use banana plugs and this receiver supports those speaker inputs for ease.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Love the TX-NR6100

Jesse from Ham Lake, MN on 3/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced my old used and abused Onkyo with this unit. Has the same great sound processing that I expect from Onkyo. Paired with Klipsch RP-280F and Klipsch Reference R-120SW. This system sounds absolutely fantastic. The Onk delivers plenty of power and has many sound EQ and level options. The only downfall I have is that you must enter into the menu system to make certain adjustments to the levels or sound. You cannot do this in "real time" which can make fine tuning a bit challenging if performing by ear. Otherwise, it is a very user friendly unit and easy to navigate the menus and settings. I have all the in/outs I need as well as multi-zone and other features ready for system expansion. No issues after a month and looking forward to years of listening enjoyment on this unit.

Pros: Power, sound quality, Ins/Outs, large system expansion capabilities, audio adjustments, setup. Great price for performance.

Cons: Making some adjustments to audio levels/crossover during live playback is limited and can be time consuming.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Crutchfield customer from Rowland, NC on 3/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Grate unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 34 found this helpful

Perfect has all the up-to-date technology can't beat it for the price

Jaime from Houston, TX on 3/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This receiver is awesome don't be fooled by the reviews saying it is lacking an audio quality because it is definitely not. I upgraded to this one from my 12-year-old Sony receiver and it is Perfect. Has all the up-to-date Technology. I am running this with all Polk speakers and two subwoofers. To my ear this thing sounds amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Love my 6100

Shawn from Collegeville, PA on 3/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Once the firmware updated the TX-NR6100 was a breeze to setup. The menus and functions are very similar to my other Onkyo receivers. I purchased this receiver because of the strong value it provides. It is very hard to beat Onkyo's offering of atmos and VRR at this price point. I added this receiver and Polk 90-RTs to my existing setup and all I can say is wow. Atmos changes the feel of the movie completely and somehow my existing speakers sound better too!

Pros: Sound, features, and price (especially if you by open box like I did)

Cons: Availability is the biggest challenge right now for most receivers.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Donald from Texarkana, TX on 2/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is an awesome receiver. I had originally gotten klipsch kd series speakers, but changed to polk.. This receiver has so any adjustments. Plus the thx .

Pros: Lots of adjustments

Cons: Only thing I didn't like was the remote not being UHF. But as an app.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Brendan from Fort Worth, TX on 2/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great so far. Was easy to set up. One primary factor in my purchase of onkyo brand over denon was works with sonos feature to optimize integration with my sonos port - this also has worked as described.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Jeff from N Cambria, PA on 2/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this to upgrade an older onkyo mainly for 4K passthrough, upscaling and bluetooth features. But it didn't perform well. 1st problem was the cable input wouldn't work. I called Crutchfield tech, which was very helpful. I explianed the problem and told him I hooked it up the same as my old one seems pretty simple. I also informed him theres no directions. He told me I had to download them off the internet. The only directions (Booklet) you get are in chinese. A piece of equipment at this price and they can't give ya directions in english, WHAT Onkyo. The tech had me try another input which worked. 2nd the bluetooth didn't I coundn't get any sound out of the speakers I tried 3 different phones, we could see the display on the tv and receiver as to what was playing just no sound. 3rd while watching tv it would just go black you could still hear sound but the tv would go black for like 10 seconds did't matter what channel you was watching. I packed it up after 2 days of use and sent it back. I have to say Crutchfield was very understanding on the return.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

31 of 37 found this helpful

Well Designed Home Theater Receiver

Rodney from Fairfax, VA on 2/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This receiver sounds great. The on-screen setup is easy to navigate. I really like the Chromecast functionality. When I cast to it, it will automatically turn on from its standby mode. It's been a great addition to my home theater.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Nice System

David from Eustis, FL on 2/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quirky but not too difficult to set up. It sometimes changes the input source without being requested upon start up (BD on HDMI 1 vs Fire stick on HDMI3) I haven't been able to trouble shoot that yet. Bluetooth transmit caused issues with HDMI after being used resulted in a reset to correct. Sound quality with BD Dolby Atmos is terrific. Music sources (phono,tuner,CD) is just average.Since this was purchased mainly for a home theater use, it is fine but if your emphasis is music maybe not so much. Overall it seems to be a solid piece of equipment. Crutchfield's delivery was excellent as always.

Pros: Home Theater Sound Quality

Cons: Music quality not the best

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Robert from Abingdon, VA on 2/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am very pleased with the Onkyo TX-NR6100 as it is an upgrade from a Sony STR-DH790.The Onkyo plays music and movies with ease and great authority.It has everything that I need in an audio video receiver plus the speaker terminals are not the cheap spring loaded type that some offer, but rather the kind that receive banana plugs and heavier gauge wire. It is also large ,weighty and beefy , a welcome change compared to some other models trending toward smaller, lighter designs. I first heard about Onkyo fifty years ago, and have not owned one until now , so far I am impressed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

David from Oakland, MI on 2/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

AWESOME!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 9 found this helpful

Worth the money

Zachary from Sulphur Spgs, TX on 2/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a very good receiver. Handles everything I throw at it spectacularly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Great buy!

James from Pawtucket, RI on 2/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I did a little research so I would know exa