Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
130 335 647 4
Connect ID #
130 335 647 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.
Great Upgrade

James from Middletown, DE on 2/16/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is one of the best high end AV Receivers out there, well worth the money. Fully loaded with all of the features available for video and sound, and paired with my Difinitive Technology 9000 series speakers and an OPPO 4K Blu-Ray, just totaly great all around. It's built solid and weighs a little over 30lbs; it is substantial in a good way.

Pros: Great Video and Sound, Features, Build Quality.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AVR worthy of the Marantz lineage

Frank from Bradenton, FL on 2/5/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I still own a Marantz SR 8002 AVR that I've had for 16 years now and is still going strong. I felt it was time to upgrade to support all the newer tech (8k HDMI, Atmos, app controlled, etc) and since I've always loved that "warm" Marantz tone, the Cinema 40 didn't disappoint. It retains all the sound characteristics I desire in an AVR. However, one of the main selling points for me was the inclusion of Dirac processing. I've tried the Audyssey and Dirac processing and I'm very impressed with Dirac. The Audyssey processing has certainly improved from my SR 8002 but still doesn't approach what Dirac can do. It is pricey but I found it worth it to get the absolute best sound that this receiver and a great pair of speakers are capable of with minimal hassle. This is a solid receiver with more than enough power for a medium sized theater room.

Pros: A+ build quality. Classic Marantz sound character. Great UI for navigating on screen or in app. Great web manual.

Cons: Port display on front a bit small. Remote a bit large for a modern control - though it is complete and well laid out.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz Cinema 40

Jeff from Antioch, TN on 1/27/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Finally a surround receiver that is excellent for music too. Easy setup and calibration process. Seems expensive but worth every penny.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

GREAT AV Receiver

Rick from Yuma, AZ on 1/24/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Cinema 40 is my 6th AV receiver and 4th Marantz. I had a 7010 that was terrific but I wanted to catch up with the latest features, specs and compatibilities. Yes, at first glance the Cinema 40 is a bit expensive but they really sweated the details on this AV receiver. Everything works perfectly with the exception of HDMI-CEC (who's does) which may or may not be Marantz's fault. The Cinema 40 really disrupts the old belief "Marantz for music, Denon for movie". The Cinema 40 is wonderful with both. Both brands use the DSP circuitry so the surround processing is superb. I can't say enough good things about the Cinema 40. It is a well polished and refined product that sounds terrific. It might be premium priced but it is obviously a premium product. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Pros: Great sound for both movies and music. Great quality.

Cons: HDMI-CEC is buggy but who's isn't? The entire AV industry is loaded with HDMI-CEC issues. It's not just Marantz.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz Cinema 40

Paul from Onalaska, WI on 1/11/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Owned a lot of receivers over the years but this is by far the best!!! It's not cheap but you get what you pay for! Besides Crutchfield's a great place to buy from! It's a win win as far I see!

Pros:

Cons: Haven't found any!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Highly Recommend

Keith from Stafford Spgs, CT on 12/31/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have been using this AVR for a couple weeks now and I love it. In my theater zone, I am powering Focal Aria 926's for my fronts, a Focal Aria CC900 center, Focal Aria 906's for my surrounds, and a Martin Logan Dynamo 1100 for my sub. My television is a 65" Sony XBR with a Roku Ultra and a Sony 4K Blu Ray Player. My outside zone is currently running stereo mode and powering a pair of Polk Audio Atrium 7's. The interface of the AVR is excellent, and I have intentionally only used the manual setup for my speakers, and running no EQ mods so it's flat and natural sounding. This was a huge upgrade from my Denon AVR 3200. I do plan on upgrading my setup by adding the Focal Flax Dome speakers for my front Atmos height speakers, and will also look to power my Main zone speakers with a McIntosh MI347 7 channel amp to get the most out of my speakers.

Pros: Sound quality, AV capability, Interface, Aesthetics, Build Quality.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz Cinema 40

Julian from Pensacola, FL on 12/21/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am very pleased with this receiver. My previous receiver, same company but different brand, produced some distortion with male voices at certain frequencies and higher volumes, the C40 does not, even though it is only 10w more powerful. The build quality is very good, even the activation and deactivation of the amps is quieter. Set up is easy, haven't messed with any of the room correction as I tend to leave the receivers in Pure mode. The remote lights up, which is nice, even though it is rarely used. The app is okay. The sound quality is very good, smooth, non fatiguing, and warm yet not muted, provides a good sound stage. I have it paired with Paradigm 800F and C600 with their 12" sub. I am pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Marantz sounds

Louis from Gold Canyon, AZ on 10/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I remember the Marantz tube amplifiers of the 60s and 70s. They kept their room space heated year round. We acquired two Cinema 40 receivers (living room and main bedroom). The included Odyssey speaker sound adjustment equipment completely changed the sound in the room. I can actually hear the words in the music and Cleary hear the speech of tv programs. We reused the existing the in wall speakers from when the home was built in 2002. We also got new and larger Samsung LED TV screens. We plan to upgrade the speakers in the near future These are a precision made electronic devices that carries the detail to even the front control panel hinges an knob turning. Marantz has been called the Cadillac of the audio world and I agree with that sentiment. These amps are heavy so one has to plan the install and wire hookups with that in mind when installing into an existing enclosure recessed into the wall.

Pros: The sound and fit and finish.

Cons: The transformers that make that great sound are heavy.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Significant upgrade

David from Tacoma, WA on 10/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've had what would probably qualify as a mid-level home theater system (NAD/Definitive) for a number of years. I recently upgraded to the Marantz Cinema 40 and can't believe how much better my system sounds. Easy, intuitive setup. Totally worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz Cinema 40

Ruben from San Juan Capo, CA on 8/9/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Supper reliable receiver I love it !!

Pros: Complete receiver

Cons: It's a to big and heavy

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound. Poor Dolby Vision 12bit Support

Guest from San Francisco, CA on 8/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this upon a recommendation as a receiver compatible with the 12-bit Dolby Vision standard. "Dolby Vision Compatible" in this context means it will take a Dolby Vision input (e.g., Apple TV 4K) and downgrade it to a 10bit, even if your TV (e.g., Sony, LG, and other NON-Samsung tvs) and HDMI cables (fiber-optic HDMI in my case) support Dolby vision. To verify that your TV, Apple TV, & cables support Dolby Vision, you can connect the Apple TV directly to a Dolby Vision TV. My setup to verify that this receiver downgrades from 12bit to 10bit: - AppleTV hardwired to ethernet - fiber optic HDMI from Apple TV to the receiver's media box input - fiber optic eARC HDMI from receiver output to Sony XBR 85" TV - set signal to the equivalent of 8K/4K-120Hz setting In the music app and other apps you will notice contour banding Contour banding may not be an issue for most people, but if you want Dolby Vision, this receiver won't do it. I learned that Dolby Vision uses 12 bits per color (red, green, and blue), whereas HDR-10 uses 10 bits per color. While those 2 bits per color won't mean much with a lot of material, they allow more subtle detailing and eliminate artifacts such as contour banding that can still crop up under some circumstances with 10-bit color. I verified the contour banding in several apps on Apple TV, e.g., the music app. I'm open to suggestions and in the market for a receiver that supports Dolby Vision 12b

Pros: build quality sound quality remote switching multi-zone support Blu Ray upscaling Low harmonic distortion Great Airplay 2 Support Setup

Cons: 12-bit Dolby Vision Support

Crutchfield response on 8/8/2023
We're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

7 of 28 found this helpful

Sturdy upgrade

Rob from Rockville, MD on 7/21/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Marantz Cinema 40 replaced a Marantz SR 6014; I changed only the AVR in my system. The audio quality, video quality, and user interface each improved immediately. I hear better separation among instruments and the overall sound is clearer. The audio enhancements are more pronounced in multichannel (e.g. Dolby Atmos) than stereo (e.g. turntable and CD). Auro audio processing is a helpful addition. The Cinema 40 provides a commendably sharper video picture with enhanced color saturation. The Cinema 40's oval and front information panels are easier to read from 20 feet away and supplement unit status information, which also is on monitors using both AVRs. The Cinema 40's set up and Audyssey are easier to navigate. I have not tried the available Dirac processing. The Cinema 40's build quality seems superior, it runs surprisingly cooler (especially in 'Eco' mode), and the remote is backlighted. Overall, the Cinema 40 enhances Marantz's Swiss Army Knife reputation among AVRs.

Pros: Audio, video, and user interface enhancements. Build quality. Runs cool.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Marantz Cinema 40

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 7/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I previously had a Denon 4520 and upgraded to the Marantz Cinema 40 due to needing HDMI 2.1. I really like the exterior styling of the Marantz. The menu system is very similar to my old Denon, but it's been tweaked to make it much easier to use. The *big* change with the Marantz is just how "musical" it sounds. My Denon was a bit punchier when it came to movie sound and dialog in particularly was very clear. But when listening to music, the Marantz absolutely blows the Denon away for 2.1 channel audio. It has a wider soundstage, and that wonderful "warmer" tone. Vinyl on the Cinema 40 sound excellent. Overall, I would rate the Marantz 4.5 stars. The only weird "quirk" it has is that sometimes it makes a loud "clunking" sound I power the unit on or off. I'm guessing this is something about the power supply. It doesn't happen all the time, but it's a bit obnoxious when the "clunk" happens. The only other oddity was that it took me a long time to get Apple AirPlay to work. For the first few weeks I owned it, AirPlay would connect but no sound would play. But after I installed the HEOS app on my iPhone and ran it, AirPlay began to work just fine from all my music apps (Spotify, SiriusXM, iHeart Radio, etc). So if you've got a new Marantz and are having AirPlay issues, try installing the HEOS app, use AirPlay through it, and then hopefully AirPlay will work natively from then on. BTW, thanks to Crutchfield. I will definitely be a repeat customer:)

Pros: Great styling. Easy to use menus. 2.1 channel music sounds incredible to my ears.

Cons: Movie dialog not quite as clear as Denon. Had some initial AirPlay issues. Power supply sometimes makes a loud "clunk" when turning the unit on or off.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Leaves nothing to be desired

Brian from IOLA, TX on 7/5/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quality product thru and thru. Everything worked for me perfectly out of the box. Following on screen set up was a breeze, Auddessy worked like a champ. Soundstage was spacious, deep, and articulate. My wife and I sat and enjoyed movies and music with a newfound A/V joy. Gorgeous unit. The delicate up lighting behind the faceplate evelates the unit out of the 90s AV black box duldrums and into something that can sit out and be admired. In the end, it was overkill for me and I returned it for a Marantz 40n. What this uni made me realize is that my 90% use case is 2 channel. That being said, if someone wanted a do it all AV that won't let them down: get the Cinema 40 - you won't be dissapointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Tiene 5 Años de Garantía-It has a 5 year warranty

Guest from Laredo, Tx. on 6/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

La pagina Marantz.com confirma 5 AÑOS DE GARANTÍA para éste equipo. The Marantz.com site confirms this unit has a 5 year warranty

Pros: Excelente equipo Excellent Unit

Cons: Precio The Price

Crutchfield response on 6/14/2023
Translation provided by Crutchfield's International Sales and Support team.

1 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz Cinema 40

John from San Jose, CA on 2/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my fourth Marantz receiver, and definitely the best! The signature warmth of the sound through this thing is incredible. OSD is clean & very easy to navigate. The new look for this new cinema line is really classy. Took some extra bucks to get 7 HDMI inputs and more power over the Cinema 50 but it was well worth it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

A Revelation

Cameron from Centreville, VA on 2/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First, surprising next-day delivery once Crutchfield received a Cinema 40 shipment. The Cinema 40 replaces an SR6008 that started to have HDMI CEC issues with my 2nd gen 4K Apple TV and LG C9. I've worked decades in telecom manufacturing and know how critical manufacturing processes are - such as ESD mitigation to avoid damage (or worse, partial damage) to integrated circuits. Soldering processes to avoid contamination and solid component connection are equally crucial. For me, manufacturing at the venerable Shirakawa facility with its seasoned and superbly trained team provides substantial protection against performance deterioration. Connections were simple. The on-screen guide is pleasant to use, helps with Audyssey and provides confidence no steps are missed. As an aside, banana plugs were added to speaker wires to make the AVR swap quicker and easier vs. twisting copper strands, attempting to find the location of speaker jack holes, and hoping no errant strand touches a mating terminal. CEC operation is now perfect (note the factory default is CEC-control off), so the remote for the Apple TV powers the LG & Cinema 40 on and off and controls Cinema 40 volume. Automatic selection between stereo, Dolby Surround, Dolby Atmos etc. is wonderful to experience - and the sound and clarity are thrilling. My wife and I love Dialog Enhancement. A spectacular long-term investment. Well done Marantz! Well done Crutchfield

Pros: Thrilling Clarity Made within venerable Shirakawa facility to assure long-term performance Perfect CEC control Automatic sound field selection Dialog Enhancement Crutchfield

Cons: No regrets

Crutchfield response on

55 of 62 found this helpful

Compare the sound