Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
135 036 947 4
Connect ID #
135 036 947 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Marantz Cinema 50

Marantz Cinema 50 9.4-channel home theater receiver with Dolby Atmos®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility (Black)

MFR # CINEMA 50

4.5 out of 5 stars
30 reviews
View this product
A Journey

Dave from Hampstead, NC on 1/13/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this unit to replace a Marantz AV7005, that I've used for about 12 years. I wanted to get a unit that had a phono input and the ability to output sound to a pair of Bryston amps driving Magnepan speakers. Also wanted to connect a LG OLED 55C monitor and route the sound back to the AVR, same set up as my old system. Well I ran into an issue with HDMI eARC, sound drop outs, disconnections, etc. After about 4 hours of changing HDMI settings on the Cinema 50 I was able to get the LG and the Cinema 50 to "talk" to one another - making sure that the 50 was tuned to the tv input and HDMI control was set to off. I also had an issue with the LFE not working with the phono section. So once again after a couple of hours of experimenting with a host of different settings I was able to get that working. Than I discovered there is no audio output on the 50, no tape monitor loop. I guess I'll be experimenting with a pre amp output or the headphone output, so I can digitize vinyl to my home server. Sorry to make this so long. The short review is, it was a journey for me to get the Cinama 50 set up to my a/v needs, but the payoff was worth it. I use the Marantz phone app and a pc to control the unit, and the interface is very user friendly. I dialed in the sound using the Audyssey setup. I highly recommend this unit. Hopefully your journey will only be a plug and play journey.

Pros: Good Sound. Nice look (I got the Silver one). And it can drive difficult speakers with ease.

Cons: No audio output (tape loop). Setup was a bear but worth it. I enjoy challenges.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz Cinema 50

Ian from WAYNESBORO, VA on 1/9/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I used this AVR to power a 5.1 KEF system with a SVS sub. Moving from a lower end Denon unit, this was a very welcome upgrade! Setup was quick and easy, room correction was spot on, and the power was definitely there. Not only was the audio improved, but since I run most video sources through my AVR, the video quality was also notably improved! There have been some reports of eARC issues, but I never experienced those issues myself at all using a Samsung TV. I look forward to seeing where Marantz takes the Cinema line!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

HDMI eARC Sound Problems

Ronald from WOODINVILLE, WA on 12/28/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Constant sound drop issues with LG Oled G3. Crutchfield sent replacement but receiver has the same issues. Others online who own LG or Samsung have similar problems. Seems to be an hdmi earc problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Easy setup

Julio from Crowley, TX on 12/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've only had it a short bit, but am enjoying it very much. The setup was really easy as I transitioned from an old Pioneer Elite AVR. The number of HDMI input options are awesome. It allowed me to eliminate plenty of cabling from the old receiver. Calibration was a breeze.

Pros: Ease of setup Number of HDMI ports

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz Cinema blew away Arcam

Michael from MORRISON, CO on 11/30/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I returned a new Arcam after being extremely disappointed in its ability to support streaming music from multiple sources. This replacement avr (Marantz Cinema 50) exceeded my expectations. Thank you to Crutchfield for making the exchange as painless as possible.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Big difference!

Matthew from Douglas, MA on 9/1/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced a Yamaha RX-V6A which was a great receiver, but this Marantz blows it out of the water. I wasn't expecting much of a difference, but wow was it more than anticipated. I've read how that Marantz has a warm sound, and would have to angree with those statements.. Great sound. Also, a shout out to Eugene at Crutchfield. I've worked with him previously and he went over in detail my options, and ultimately ended up with this receiver. I couldn't be happier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Happy customer

Jason from St Petersburg, FL on 8/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've only had this unit since Wednesday August 16th 2023 and it's been phenomenal so far. HDMI eARC always connects. The on screen instructions are great. The Marantz AV app works flawlessly. I'm so much happier and glad the Onkyo TX-RZ50 had issues requiring me to return it and paying the extra for this Marantz CINEMA 50.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz Cinema 50

Guest from SPRING, TX on 7/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had the Marantz 50 for about two days. everyone said it was a great machine. I had too many HDMI issues. First, it would never autos switch to my Xbox Series X when I would turn it on. Sometimes it would auto-switch to my PS5, but never the Series X. That is a big deal for me, considering I am 98% Xbox. When I want to watch tv, it automatically switches to tv mode. I did notice that bass is dramatically reduced in this compared to my Yamaha. I had to turn the bass settings way up and add a 3rd sub to equal the two I used for my Yamaha. It would have been a home run if the bass had been louder and Auto-switch between consoles.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/12/2023
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

7 of 11 found this helpful

Marantz Cinema 50

Jeff from Reno, NV on 5/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice receiver. But had to return. As during the second use something popped, lost audio and the unit smelled hot.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Marantz Cinema 50

Robert from Linden, MI on 4/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a Marantz Cinema 50 is a great product.High quality good looks and fantastic sound.The service at Crutchfield is second to none.

Pros: Small size big power easy on screen set up.

Cons: Price but worth every penny.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

First impressions

Harold from Bonita Springs, FL on 3/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I think it is an excellent receiver,versatile and made well. I am still fine tuning . Have occasional HDMI handshake issues other than that no issues.Definitely improved sound image of my system. I look forward to the Dirac update. Till then download the Audyssey multiEQ editor $20 for increased enhancements.

Pros: Neutral sound, versatile ,made well. Easy set up improved sound.

Cons: HDMI handshake, occasional snow when changing between tv and streaming.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz Cinema 50

Charles from Seattle, WA on 3/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice replacement to Pioneer SC07. Warmer low end.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Get it

Robert from Grapevine, TX on 3/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was looking for a AV receiver that would fit in my console cabinet that goes under my TV. My old Yamaha and the new Yamahas were just too deep. This fits. Most folks I spoke with seemed to agree that this receiver was one of the best in this price range. I have a 5.1 system with small Deftech towers ant the corners and front center (relatively efficient) with an SVS sb3000 sub. Speakers sound better than ever and Audyssey balanced the 5 speakers perfectly. The receiver made my current speakers sound better, almost like I got new speakers. Got to see first Mandalorian of the season with new receiver and it didn't disappoint. I still have some fine tuning to get the sub perfectly dialed in, but I am certain it will be perfect soon. Also, I would say the 110 watts is a conservative rating. It drove my speakers well enough. I did have a scare when the menu froze on me, but seemed to get better after a firmware update, so make certain you update.

Pros: Smooth, clear, balanced sound. Decent power. Audyssey balanced 5 speakers perfectly.

Cons: Update your firmware, especially if you have any menu issues.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Marantz Cinema 50

William from Kennett Square, PA on 2/25/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent upgrade to my theater room. Easy install and configuration. On screen guide is super helpful. Marantz App makes it easy to control with my equipment in the rear of the theater.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Vienna

Robert John from Vienna on 2/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I received the Cinema 50 on Nov 15 to replace my Marantz SR7007 (also purchased from Crutchfield) and am very happy with the upgrade. Reasons for purchase include: the ability to add Atmos to my system: and to get the wonderful Dialog Enhance feature so I could turn off subtitles on movies. Years of loud cars and loud music have caused me to not understand voices when accompanied by loud background sounds.The SR 7007's dialog feature was to just raise the volume on the center channel, which did not do much for enhancing dialog. On the Cinema 50 I turned on the "real" dialog enhancement (middle setting) and the mildest Audyssey sound compression. Now I no longer need subtitles. Overall, the Cinema 50 is a couple steps better than the SR7007 on videos, and about the same on music (which was very good). The AVR is perfect except for Heos. Streaming Tidal uncompressed music through Heos sounds ok, but the app is awful. To get around it, I stream music through an Apple TV box.

Pros: Sound, build quality, appearance

Cons: Heos

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Excellent!

Robert from Warner Robins, GA on 2/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic!! More than I expected. I've been using an Onkyo for the past 10 years. I absolutely love minimalist design of the Cinema 50 it sounds incredible. Powering my Bowers and Wilkins 805n and HTM2n beautifully.

Pros: Sound quality, easy setup, beautiful picture

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

9 of 11 found this helpful

Cinema 50

Kenneth from Marrero, LA on 2/9/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Figure I'd splurg a little and step up to marantz, but was greatly disappointed. Sounded great when it worked correctly, but just to many hdmi issues and audio dropouts at random time. Turning off or changing inputs and returning to input that was in use corrected problem, but for a receiver at this price these issues should of been ironed out before release.

Pros: Sounds good.

Cons: To many quirky issues and audio dropouts.

Crutchfield response on 2/13/2023
Kenneth contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

23 of 27 found this helpful

Awesome

Jose from Katy, TX on 2/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The new marantz cinema 50 is a beast of a receiver. It has all the technology that I was looking for plus some. The sound is nice and crisp/clear dialog paired with bowers and wilkins speakers. That you Crutchfield for offering awesome gear with a competitive price.

Pros: Has a very nice looking front face, has the ability to connect 4 subs, ability to expand to more channels. The marantz has alot of power and sounds awesome pair with my bowers and wilkins front stage.

Cons: None for me so far.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Marantz Cinema 50

Jose from Toa Alta, PR on 1/24/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound GReat.. 2 output for my oled and 4k proyector. Upgrade my Yamaha receiver from 6 years.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great Option for 5.1.4 Home Theater

Ryan from MA on 12/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quality AVR. The Cinema 50 does not disappoint!

Pros: Full 8K Ready with HDMI 2.1

Cons: Marantz iOS app is lacking but completely optional

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 6 found this helpful

All I should ever need.

Randall from Franklin, TN on 12/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Cinema 50 sounds good, looks good, and is versatile. I bought it after going through four higher-end soundbars. I didn't like the system hub having to be the TV. With the AVR as the system hub I can set up the system to work the way I want it to work without all the ARC/eARC hassles. The only hiccup I've had was no sound out of the headphone jack. Crutchfield had a new Cinema 50 to me in about two days. They also processed the return within days of my dropping it off at UPS; you can't ask for better customer service.

Pros: 4K120/8K60 HDMI everywhere, PRE-outs for all channels, DIRAC coming.

Cons: Only comes in black.

Crutchfield response on

19 of 20 found this helpful

Marantz Cinema 50

Tom from North Bend, WA on 12/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Delivery was delayed by a snowstorm but still a day early. The set-up software is the best. Very detailed thoughtful and straight forward. It even insisted my subwoofer level control was too high. Could not proceed with room correction until that was adjusted. No firm update required. Performance dramatically is improved on all media sources, even local tv. Now I need more and better speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Great Upgrade

Scott from Boston, MA on 12/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I recently upgraded my Marantz SR7007 receiver that served me very well for many years (also purchased through Crutchfield) to the Cinema 50. After a little bit of fumbling with the setup--this unit has worked flawlessly and is a definite improvement over my old unit. The Audyssey setup has been much improved and once configured I noticed a solidly balanced surround with buttery smooth range. I could not be happier with this unit.

Pros: Solid power and output, easy setup, improved on-screen display capabilities. 4 independent subwoofer channels is a big plus.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great sound, missing the one feature I wanted

Jason from Portland, OR on 11/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased the Marantz Cinema 50, because I needed to upgrade to a receiver that did 4K/120 Hz flawlessly, and had plenty of power with great sound. The Marantz Cinema 50 meets all those criteria, and sounds fantastic. I like it's slightly warmer presentation over my previous Pioneer SC-72. However, the main reason I chose this receiver over its competitors (Onkyo RZ-50, Pioneer vsx-lx505, etc) that do the same things was the supposed ability to downmix any signal from hdmi (Atmos, TrueHD, DTS-HD MA, etc.) to the zone 2 stereo pre-amp outputs. But when you turn on zone 2, the receiver sends a signal to the source that it no longer can decode DTS, Atmos, etc...(tested with an NVidia Shield TV Pro). Unless your source already has an alternate 2-channel audio track, or the source itself can transcode multi-channel formats to 2- channels, it will not output any sound to zone 2 OR the main outputs. So its manual is incorrect when it states that you can listen to any hdmi input signal on zone 2 (when it's set to the same source as the main outputs). The headphone output works correctly to downmix any signal to 2-channel, so I have no idea why they couldn't get the zone 2 outputs to work the same way.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

31 of 32 found this helpful

Marantz Cinema 50

Luis from BRADENTON, FL on 11/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After 10+ years of using separates, the Cinema 50 was my first entry into an AVR... thus far, I'm extremely pleased! We have a new home with a smaller room for a HT, so I sold my previous gear and started the hunt for a new setup. After reading and watching several reviews, the Cinema 50 peaked my interest and seemed to satisfy my requirements, so I placed an order. Once it arrived and was unboxed, initial audio / video tests put a smile on my face. Zero HDMI handshake issues with my OLED TV, Nvidia Shield and Apple TV 4k. It has an easy to navigate menu system and much to my surprise, it's driving my Arendal 4 ohm speakers with ease. Can I obtain more headroom and dynamics with seperate amps, sure; however, the Cinema 50 has preamp outputs, so external amps can be added in the future. Its sound signature is on the warmer side of neutral, but that was one of the reasons why I selected Marantz over other brands. Sure, bummer that DIRAC isn't available on day one; however, it will be available within the next few months as a paid software upgrade; can't wait as my previous processor had DIRAC. All in all, I'm extremely pleased with my purchase and would highly recommend this AVR to friends and family.

Pros: Easy to navigate menus, 4 ohm capable, preamp outputs, 4 independently controlled subwoofer outputs, and DIRAC is coming soon!

Cons: HEOS is needed for music streaming. In my humble opinion, HEOS should be put to pasture as it simply doesn't compare to Sonos, BlueOS nor Roon.

Crutchfield response on

30 of 30 found this helpful

Marantz Cinema 50

Dan from Loganville, GA on 11/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

just got it , so far great , a lot of features and a lot to learn

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 10 found this helpful

Marantz Cinema 50

Brian from South Boston, VA on 11/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It is an excellent receiver. First time owning a Marantz and I am very pleased with the seamless operation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Beautiful receiver with Sony BRAVIA OLED compatibility issue

Doug from Meridian, ID on 11/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love the Marantz Cinema 50 by itself. Powerful with great sound, good features and running our 5.1 with BiAmp on a pair of B&W804 mains. As an integrated AVR is where it falls short for our application. The Cinema 50 AVR is not compatible with our ~3yr old Sony BRAVIA OLED TV. Every time the receiver is turned off, it looses communication with the BRAVIA Sync and the remote stops controlling the AVR. The only path to recover is disable/re-enable BRAVIA Sync, go into the Marantz setup-assistant and manually select the TV Audio Setup to re-initialize the Marantz HDMI control. Everything works great until the power is cycled on the Cinema 50. The SR7007 Marantz we replaced did not have any problems with the Sony BRAVIA. HDMI control. UPDATE 12/12/22: Cris from Tech Support reached out to help debug the issue further. With Cris's help, we were able to isolate the issue to a Sony UBP-X700 connected to the Blu-Ray input on the Cinema 50. When the X700 was connected to the Cinema 50, remote communication was out of sync and erratic. Cable were swapped with the Crutchfield 8K and an assortment of known working cables without improvement. Ultimately, we routed the X700 directly to an open input on the Bravia TV and back feed the audio/video to the Cinema 50 via the TV input, everything is working perfectly with the other devices on connected to the Cinema 50 and full integration with the Bravia Smart TV features. Thanks Cris and the Crutchfield Tech Support team!

Pros: Detailed sound stage Bi-Amp capability Powerful

Cons: Compatibility with Sony BRAVIA OLED TV and BRAVIA Sync for HDMI control

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Marantz Cinema 50

Owen from Downingtown, PA on 11/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've been looking for a new 11 channel Home Theater system for a couple years, but just couldn't find exactly what I was looking for in my price range until this I saw a YouTube review of the Marantz C50. I love this receiver and the 3D sound pre-set puts me right in the theater. I have a combination of Polk and Orb speakers and as a system, it sounds amazing. Also a shout out for Crutchfield on how fast the shipping and delivery were.

Pros: Build and sound quality

Cons: I had to do some manual setup to get all nine speakers working after going through the startup menu.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Assignable Pres and Amps

John from Franklin, TN on 11/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound. The decider for me was the ability to use my power amps to drive three large front channel speakers, while using the Marantz to drive the other six.

Pros: Great sound, lots of channels and assignable pre/amps

Cons: Could use a larger display

Crutchfield response on

23 of 24 found this helpful

Compare the sound