Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
593 436 528 4
Connect ID #
593 436 528 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

AudioQuest Irish Red

AudioQuest Irish Red Subwoofer cable (12 meters/39.4 feet)

MFR # IRED12

5.0 out of 5 stars
55 reviews
View this product
Bought this to solve ground hum, didn't work

John from CAMBRIDGE, MA on 1/21/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I initially bought this to see if it would solve my low-level ground hum issue I was having with my REL T/9x sub. Alas, it didn't work. That being said, ground hum has many causes and the chassis ground wires on this cable *might* work for you, even if they didn't work for me. Despite this not solving my ground hum problem - I will say that the quality of the cable itself and the RCA connection points was so high that I kept it anyway and put my old Monster sub cable into storage. As an aside, I was finally able to solve my ground hum issue with a IFI GroundProtect ground loop isolator.

Pros: Very well-made Includes ground wiring

Cons: Expensive

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Subwoofer Cable!

Jerome from Buena Vista, CO on 12/24/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Well-packaged, high-quality cable. I use Audioquest cables for all my connections.

Pros: High Quality Well-packaged

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent RCA Cable with Ground

James from Macomb, MI on 6/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great RCA cable with ground provided excellent results with my SVS PC-4000 Sub. Well constructed cable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Gregory from Gahanna, OH on 3/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Outstanding!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Frederick from Shillington, PA on 10/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome quality product , Audioquest cables are all i will ever use from now on !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Irish Red

Richard from Hudson, OH on 8/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product. I had purchased a black lab cable for my upstairs home B&W Theater previously and was a vast improvement over my old cable so I purchased the Irish Red for my Martin Logan theater system downstairs . Very impressive results.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Arlen from Schaumburg, IL on 6/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very solid cord

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

James from Brunswick, OH on 5/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice solid fit onto the receiver board RCA connector, sound quality is great, no complaints about this product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great option for subwoofer

Susan from Wenatchee, WA on 4/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Outstanding. Sounds clear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality cable

Frank from Rio Rancho, NM on 3/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Seems like a high-quality quality cable. Considering how old and abused my ancient Monster cable sub cable was (maybe 24 years old?), it was past time to replace it. I was getting dropouts where my sub wasn't getting signal, then would suddenly get signal and come on suddenly. Tres annoying. And I know one end of it had gotten smashed over the years and many moves, so, I think the cable was damaged and getting weak and intermittent signal to turn the sub on. I notice the sub is a LOT more punchy now, so, that's a very good thing. I'm happy with it like I'm happy with the surge suppressor I bought from Crutchfield a few years ago now. On a related note, I wish they would do the sub "on" signal like they do for the +12VDC turn-on for car amps, just a simple, constant low-voltage signal from the time the receiver is turned on. This way even if there wasn't any low bass coming down the cable to turn on the sub, the constant signal would turn on the sub and keep it on. There have been times watching TV when there was no low bass signal during dialogue, and so the sub wasn't on, then something suddenly happens on-screen, and the soft start of the sub misses the signal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Frank from Pitman, NJ on 3/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very pleased with the construction/quality of the AudioQuest. Audio sounds much better than the old connectors I was using. Of course, Crutchfield has the best customer service and technical support. No other company comes close!

Pros: Great product. (I also use AudioQuest for my video equipment.

Cons: None that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Perry from Hudsonville, MI on 2/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Seems like a nice cable. Hopefully it holds up for years like my past audioquest cables.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just What The Bass Dr Ordered

OC from Salem, Oregon on 1/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am using two of these to connect my Marantz to two Paradigm Defiance X12's. I have been using Audioquest hdmi and sub cables for years because of the quality of product they produce. And they last for years. When I switched out my single Defiance V8 for two X12's I was using AQ Black dog, a non braided cable,. The cable was four years old and still running strong just wanted better cables for better subs. If you are looking for great cables to bring the boom to your theater room or tight accurate bass to your two channel look no further. These cable introduce no noise interference or cross cable talk. And because they are braided they will survive all the twist and turns you put them through to connect your audio gear to your preamp or receiver. The bottom line is this AUDIOQUEST MAKES TOP QUALITY PRODUCTS YOU CAN TRUST THAT LASTS FOR YEARS

Pros: Build Quality Performance Last For Years

Cons: NONE!""

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 11/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good quality subwoofer cable, flexible enough not to bind.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Crutchfield customer from Sanford, FL on 11/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

exactly the cable I needed. Good quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

26 FOOT AUDIOQUEST IRISH RED SUBWOOFER CABLE

Crutchfield customer from Riverview, FL on 8/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

PURCHASED 26 FEET OF AUDIOQUEST IRISH RED SUBWOOFER CABLE FOR MY NEW KLIPSCH R-112 SW SUBWOOFER AND CANNOT BEE HAPPIER SMOOTH, TIGHT, CLEAR BASS NO HUM AT ALL BEFORE CONNECTING GROUNDS.

Pros: TIGHT, CLEAR ,SMOOTH, NO HUM, BASS

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Crutchfield customer from Keller, TX on 6/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Happy with the quality of the product. Bass is tight and clean.

Pros: Quality cable

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

New AudioQuest Fan

Crutchfield customer from Eastham, MA on 6/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased a new subwoofer and decided to upgrade the 17 year old interconnect cable as well. I had not yet tried the Audio Quest product. I noticed an immediate quieting of the noise floor and an increase of articulation that was not there when the old cable was connected. I didn't need to hook up the ground connection but wanted the option. Reasonably priced for the quality. I will definitely purchase the brand again.

Pros: Well made, Snug RCA connections

Cons: Have not found any.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Crutchfield customer from Okeechobee, FL on 5/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It works GR8, but I question whether a less expensive cable would too?

Pros: Easy hookup

Cons: A little to long for my application (over a double door to the subwoofer). Expensive.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Crutchfield customer from Prescott, AZ on 4/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Well made cable and good looking

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Crutchfield customer from Fort Wayne, IN on 4/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quick & easy connection for my sub & best of all NO HUMMING... Excellent build quality on the connector as well. Very excellent investment for those looking to eliminate that annoying constant subwoofer humming.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Crutchfield customer from Oley, PA on 3/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Appears to be very god construction. Still breaking the cables in, but sound quality from my subs is clear and deep

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Quality cable and Peace of Mind

Crutchfield customer from Palmetto, FL on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

High quality cable and high qualify signal transfer. The LFE output on my AVR uses a Y-splitter (also from AudioQuest) to send the LFE to my dual subwoofer configuration. I have 2 (1 cable to each subwoofer) of these cables at the same length to provide signal.

Pros: 9m length braided jacket Snug fitting connections Separate ground wire (if needed)

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sub Cable!

Crutchfield customer from Agoura Hills, CA on 2/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great cable! Provides clean, tight, accurate bass! You won't be disappointed. I use AudioQuest for all of my interconnections!

Pros: Professional sounding bass!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works just fine

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding!

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Outstanding!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

worth the money

Crutchfield customer from Shoemakersville, PA on 12/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I connected my IRISH RED cable, it seemed to make my bass a little tighter and not as boomie.

Pros: Improved my bass.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No Complaints!

Crutchfield customer from Perrysburg, OH on 8/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

No complaints, seems like better sound than the cheaper cable I replaced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great cable for a subwoofer

Crutchfield customer from East Moline, IL on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This subwoofer cable seems to be working very well. It had been highly rated and I wanted a new cable for my new subwoofer from Crutchfield. It is nice looking and, for me, the right length (2 meters). I am very satisficed.

Pros: appearance, brand, flexibility, quality

Cons: was thinner than I expected from the photos, but seems to work very well

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, MI on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product, subwoofer sounds great with all my other Klipsh speakers. Highly recommend this product, it's expensive but it's a one time purchase. Do it right the first time and you wont waist money trying to troubleshoot why your system doesn't sound as expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Big Improvement

Crutchfield customer from TOLEDO, OH on 4/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

i replaced a big box brand of subwoofer cable with the AudioQuest Irish Red. Big impovement!! Base is tighter and clearer ....not just a little but a very noticeable improvement. The sound will continue to improve as the cable ages in to my system. Quality manufactured. I highly recommend this cable.

Pros: tight clear bass

Cons: none nothing nada....

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Crutchfield customer from Gilbert, AZ on 10/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very slim design great for hiding along the baseboards

Pros: Slim design and provides great sound

Cons: A little expensive and needs a y splitter for older subs

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cable works as designed

Thomas from Bowie, MD on 4/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The dedicated sub woofer cable works well. I am happy with the purchase.

Pros: The length is what I needed.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Crutchfield customer from Toa Alta, PR on 2/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Lo recomiendo excelente alternativa para un buen subwoofer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

buy and try

kvr from TAMPA, FL on 2/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

No doubt i see improvement over SVS sub woofer. the difference is this sounds more sharp and tight and we can go louder. on the other hand svs more blurred sound and often needed to reduce the sub volume . i wish, i could not hear the difference between basic 15 $ cable and audio quest cables, so that i could have saved money by not updating these. Again i feel why we should not spend on quality cable when you spend 3000$ on home theater . again no point buying these with basic entry level sub woofers setup. ultimately buy and try ,if not returned it .

Pros: Sharper punch, i can go louder volumes with out blurriness

Cons: obsessively price. feels not good when i think i spent 240$ for just 2 of theses cables

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Better Bass

Crutchfield customer from Paso Robles, CA on 8/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works perfect Subwoofer is alive now much more definition than with old cables.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Gets the job done

Alex from Tampa, FL on 7/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Met expectations for product quality. The cable was thinner and less bulky than expected, judging by the appearance on the website photos, which facilitated installation while still delivering the good performance.

Pros: Good quality and performance. Thin gauge.

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Victor from Waldorf, MD on 5/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great for the money

Pros: Very functional!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Seems great

Mark from Sahuarita, AZ on 3/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Solid, easy to use (if its not, you are the rare traveler here who needs an Installer - Now). Reputation seems to be on par with my experience, as it has definitely made a difference for the other sub in my 7.2 set up. You really do not need Solid Gold Braided with Silver and Copper, wrapped in Carbon Fiber for everything. But good interconnects really do make a difference, and not just to audiophiles whose ears bleed at wow, flutter or some signal loss. I'm guessing that if you're reading this you need an informed, real world recommendation. Consider this one of them.

Pros: Easy and sturdy

Cons: Bound to get surpassed in bandwidth as 8K comes on, like bricking ANOTHER AVR.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Crutchfield customer from Guaynabo, PR on 1/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent product and on-time service delivery!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Crutchfield customer from Maumelle, AR on 12/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A high quality, robust cable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

John from Poulsbo, WA on 11/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Since the placement of my powered sub required a fairly long run of interconnect cable I wanted to make sure I purchased a high quality cable. This cable appears to be well built, looks good and sounds good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Cable

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, CT on 9/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Cable helped to "clean-up" bass sound. No background noise with this cable.

Pros: Bass sound is very clean with this cable.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Crutchfield customer from Fenton, Mi. on 6/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic product! Very easy to run through the wall.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Anthony from Carol Stream, IL on 6/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worth the extra money if you want your subwoofer to work its best.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Does the job

Joe from washington on 2/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The AudioQuest Irish Red sub-woofer cable is very well put together. The main thing with sub-woofer cables is that they have to be well shielded to avert hum and distortion. This cable does that and delivers a strong signal to the Sub-woofer.

Pros: Well shielded,very flexible, extra ground wires on each end if needed

Cons: None noticed

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Anthony from Gaithersburg, MD on 1/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A high quality sub cable for long runs does indeed make a difference. Great product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

Crutchfield customer from Urbandale, IA on 11/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic cables!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Subwoofer Cable

Earl from Hayward on 5/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This cable reduced about 95% of the subwoofer humm. The only way I can hear a slight humm is if I turn the gain to max, I have a 15 inch Rythmik sub and max is unnecessary. I strongly recommend buying this cable.

Pros: Substantially reduced subwoofer humm

Cons: I'd be nitpicking

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Irish ears are smiling

Justin from Charleston, SC on 5/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am running a pair of Def Tech 8040 towers, with built in subwoofers. I had an audioquest sub cable running to my old cube, and it sounded great. Now having two subs with the 8040's, I needed a new cable, and this one keeps things tight, precise, and without distortion. Over time, I have updated all my cables to audioquest. They make quality products all around. Discerning ears can certainly hear the difference.

Pros: Build quality, size, performance

Cons: Audioquest can be pricey.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Great Product

Jon from lancaster, NY on 3/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent Quality & Sound

Pros:

Cons: Expensive

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great cable!

Don from Nevada on 12/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Like everything AudioQuest makes, this is great cable . It won't radically change the sound coming out of your subwoofers, but the sound will be slightly smoother in quality, at least better than what I was getting out of the stock cables that came with my two JBL SUB250 subwoofers.

Pros: Nice looking well made cable.

Cons: Pricey just like everything else AudioQuest sells but then, you get what you're willing to pay for when it comes to electronics.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

AudioQuest Irish Red

JimK from Massachusetts on 10/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you buy a good subwoofer buy a quality cable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Irish Red

Rene from Washington on 4/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice looking cable. Silly me! I thought I was buying a pair. Only one arrived. I will update review after I buy another one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

AudioQuest subwoofer cable (Irish Red)

SandyU from Appling GA (near Augusta) on 8/4/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield's good service, plus AudioQuest's high quality at a reasonable price (for cable). Maye you can go wrong there, but I can't see how. Can you?

Pros: Relatively inexpensive for what it represents Welded, not soldered (longer useful life) AudioQuest: A name and a company you can trust Crutchfield gives the best price on AudioQuest I could find

Cons: Well... You could buy more expensive stuff and maybe get better sound; but have you voiced your system yet? (HINT: Voicing your system will always do more for you than upgrading yours ICs and cables.)

Crutchfield response on

6 of 13 found this helpful

Compare the sound