Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
135 036 947 4
Connect ID #
135 036 947 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Boyo VTL405TJ

Boyo VTL405TJ Backup cam with active parking lines — license-plate-mount (Chrome)

MFR # VTL405TJ

4.5 out of 5 stars
51 reviews
View this product
Backup without a problem seeing.

Robert from Delray Beach, FL on 8/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good Camera but image was upside down. I called the manufacturer and they walked me through taking it apart to fix thye problem. Otherwise camera has sharp image and backup lines are wide and easy to see. You can adjust them also but that was not necessary.

Pros: You can see the little old lady walking behind your car in shopping parking lot.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tim from Salem, OR on 7/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great clarity! Love the ability to adjust the view up or down depending on where and how it is mounted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

David from Bay City, MI on 7/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

John from Pace, FL on 6/5/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Extremely clear picture and adjustable grid lines.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Backup Camera

Raymond from Avondale, AZ on 4/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera has great picture quality. It was easy to install. The parking guide lines give good depth perception. Good value that doesn't break the bank. If you are upgrading your car or truck, I highly recommend this camera.

Pros: Great picture quality, affordable, sleek design, and easy to install.

Cons: No zoom feature.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Overall good camera - 2006 GMC 2500HD

Michael from CHUGIAK, AK on 4/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall good camera with decent picture/camera quality, a low profile and good looking housing, and easy installation. I say decent picture/camera quality because it is a little grainy (not HD and this can be dependent on head unit too), but it is still an overall good view. I had to cut the wire to turn off the camera's built-in guide-lines because even though the design of the lines are quite nice, they twisted and turned way too far with even the slightest turn or angle of the vehicle. It's rather distracting to have illuminated lines curving all across your screen, one way or the other, when you're backing straight up, or nearly straight back. If there was a way to keep the lines and disable the turning assistance feature, I would have done that, but there isn't. It is a great concept and I'm sure Boyo will improve their upcoming versions. Due to picture quality and the overly sensitive turning assist lines I would probably give it a 3.5, but the overall design, ease of installation, and price are worth rounding up the score. Customer service kudo: The first camera I received got bent in the packaging during shipping. As I would expect, personnel at Crutchfield were very helpful and got it replaced ASAP. Yet another reason I've continued to buy from Crutchfield for almost three decades.

Pros: Nice design (not the first thing you notice looking at the vehicle), looks nice when installed, ease of installation, and does its basic job.

Cons: Turning assist lines not quite ready for prime time.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Justin from Colbert, WA on 3/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy installation and a quality part. This isn't very noticeable when installed. I was pleasantly surprised.

Pros: Easy install and setup Sleek design Not very noticeable

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2009 Tacoma

Daniel from Carson City, NV on 2/21/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

No complainants with Crutchfield. One side of the bracket was bent from when it was assembled at the factory. Took it apart and very carefully straightened it out. Die cast metal breaks easily. Either the casting is sized poorly or the paint is to thick to allow a proper fit. I cut the guide line wire and use the lines on my head unit. They were okay but a bit to distracting as they twist around on the screen. Picture quality is good, day and night, but I wish the field of view was just a bit smaller. If my screen was larger than 6.875" the field of view might look better. The plug is small enough in diameter to easily pass through the existing firewall grommet. Overall I'm happy with this camera and would probably buy it again.

Pros: Easy install and decent performance.

Cons: Insufficient quality control.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Joseph from Port St Lucie, FL on 1/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

IT thin and looks great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dennis from Bridgeton, NJ on 12/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Joseph from Worden, IL on 12/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

An excellent add on camera! Awesome screen resolution and fairly easy installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great

Larry from Luling, LA on 11/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great with the Pioneer system I installed. The cables were long enough to reach from the dashboard all the way to the rear of our Mazda CX-9. I highly suggest using the quick connects to tap into the power and reverse lamps.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great upgrade from no camera.

Steve from SAN DIEGO, CA on 11/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed this on a 2008 4Runner. My goal was to get help backing up the trailer and it is a big help. All of the other cars have backup cameras now, so it feels more normal to have one even if I look at the mirrors first. I wired it up to an also new Sony AX-4000. After a week, I'm happy with it and hooking up the trailer is very nice. The one thing that took my by surprise is that the camera seems to be designed for full time on. There is no power cable to tie into the brake lights. The wire from the camera all the way to the head unit is a nice small single wire. That actually made running is easier. The always on option lets you switch to it even when not in reverse. I didn't think I'd care, but for the trailer, it is nice to have the option. I hope it doesn't burn out the camera element. No complaints in the dark. It isn't like daylight, but it is a lot nicer than I expected.

Pros: Low profile over license plate. Plenty good image.

Cons: The included mounting screws were strange. They seem to want a thru bolt, but my license plate already has a threaded insert for a screw. Always on design is TBD on how long it lasts.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Charles from Milford, MI on 10/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

first unit I received was DOA - replacement works great. Metal bracket feels sturdy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Benjamin from Ocean Springs, MS on 6/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Horrible a night, image looks distorted almost like old cameras negative films and lines run throughout the receiver screen. Works great during the day.

Pros: Works great during the day.

Cons: Horrible for night use.

Crutchfield response on 7/4/2022
Benjamin, we're sorry you're disappointed with your backup cam. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love it

James from Benson, AZ on 6/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sleek and a great picture. Easy hook up but complicated getting it to work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Vincent from Fuquay Varina, NC on 6/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Made great very nice looking and love the features

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Germantown

Frank from Germantown on 6/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed on my Toyota Tacoma, camera seems to be of very good quality and the picture is also very good quality and a wide view area. My only two complaints are the red lines show that I am about to hit something backing up when I am still a couple of feet away and the gauge of the wire it's the smallest I've ever seen which I'm sure is all you need to power it but when wiring your standard crimp or tap fittings will not work I had to skin the sheathing wrap the wire around and solder it which I know is how you are supposed to do it in the first place but not all of us are that motivated. But for the money you cannot really complain although I just did

Pros: Good camera build and a great picture

Cons: Gauge of power wire and accuracy of red line on back up which I assume cannot be calibrated

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jeremi Shayn from Decatur, GA on 6/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great backup camera for the price! Great field of view and resolution is good. I installed this in a 2003 Toyota Tundra that has a camper shell so there was no good place to add a camera. This works well as it fits in the space at the bumper without any interference.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install , great product

Kevin from Blairsville, GA on 3/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

From the expert help from Jenny to the high quality picture from the camera I couldn't be happier . Anyone that purchases this will not be sorry

Pros: Nice clear picture and great quality product . A snap to install .

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality built, great picture

Steven from Lehigh Acres, FL on 3/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The camera body and housing are quality built with a nice finish. You can barely tell there is a camera there. The picture is clear even at night. The only down side is the active camera lines are not as reactive as I had hoped for. They do not react to subtle turns as well as my factory systems on newer cars. It's not that big of a deal as this is much better than a camera without active lines.

Pros: Beautiful finish, Clear Image even at night

Cons: Poor wiring instructions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Started good but Quickly went bad

Daniel from HOWARD BEACH, NY on 8/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had high hopes started working perfectly but a few months later it decides to cut out and now all I can see is black. Had the setup looked at by Subaru master tech (my car is a WRX) everything is set up correctly but the camera still decided to blackout.

Pros: looks good when working

Cons: stopped working too quickly

Crutchfield response on 9/1/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Daniel to help him with his backup cam. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Summerville, SC on 8/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Payson, AZ on 6/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera installed in 2006 F 150. Camera has a nice clear picture. I also like the fact that I have a reverse camera even when the tailgate is down, something I hadn't considered when I was looking at tailgate cameras. Glad I ordered this one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Belle Fourche, SD on 6/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great!! Nice clear picture, easy installation too..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Hillsboro, OR on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

What a great purchase! I really like the quality of picture, easy to install and interface with a brand new Sony head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Delafield, WI on 2/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install and set up with the new receiver. The guidelines and picture quality are excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ryan from Show Low, AZ on 2/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works good. No complaints.

Pros: Good clear image. Nice wide view. Frame doesn't cover the name of the state which makes it legal, unlike other camera frames.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Flower Mound, TX on 2/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great product. It is so sleek and inconspicuous that it doesn't bring attention to the camera and I didn't have to change anything to add this much-needed back up camera!!!

Pros: It looks great and works great!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Columbia Falls, MT on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice metal housing with a easy adjustment

Pros: Great picture

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A great buy

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, NC on 1/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This camera was suggested by the Crutchfield advisor and I was a bit skeptical. However after seeing the picture from this camera and an easy install and adjustment, I know why they recommended it. We wired it hot from the head unit and used the switched wire from the reverse light of his car so that with the push of a button, he can see behind the car with or without being in reverse.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Temperance, MI on 1/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The picture isn't as clear as a factory camera but its the next best option. Clean sturdy look

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Pass Christian, MS on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice heavy construction, not plastic. Blends in well with the trim already on the truck. Installation was easy, Crutchfield support help clarify the instructions and provided more than a enough suggestions for a successful completion. Image l ooks great on my new Alpine receiver.

Pros: Well made, metal body. Optional lines for parking. Plug and play install. Reversed bolts for security. Crutchfield ready to assist.

Cons: Instructions very small, did not give detail regarding extension wiring.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

REAR VIEW CAMERA

Crutchfield customer from Heber Springs, AR on 11/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The first Boyo VTL425TJ I received and installed had a short in it that only showed up when adjusting the viewing angle. The folks at Crutchfield were great, they promptly sent a replacement which kept me from having to pull out all the original wiring which had been run over, under, around , and thru most of the underside and inside my truck. New camera arrived in a couple of days, old camera removed, new camera installed and all is well. THANK YOU CRUTCHFIELD!

Pros: Quality picture, fairly easy install, attractive

Cons: fairly expensive, not available in flat black

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Suffolk, VA on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome camera and easy DIY install. With certain head units, it offers different set ups and integrates into existing sensors. I had no experience and installed in less than a hour.

Pros: Easy installation.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poplar Grove

Rodney from Poplar Grove on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

this camera is great,picture is crystal clear and parking lines are bright,you can adjust it up or down depending on vehicle, solid not cheap plastic,entire camera assembly is metal, no regrets, going to buy another for other truck.

Pros: easy wiring to radio,

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very said product.

Scott from Columbia, MO on 10/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Doesn't work at all. Install instruction only show you how to bolt on. Very said product, a simple stick drawing would have been helpful. Hate to say but wasted money. Look for something of better quatlity.

Pros: 0

Cons: Rating 1 star is to high.

Crutchfield response on 10/19/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Scott to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great universal camera

Crutchfield customer from Piedmont, SC on 9/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera works great with a nice field of view. The steering lines work great, a very unexpected perk. I thought they would not work without an electronic steering wheel.

Pros: Steering lines move when backing up

Cons: Installation instructions

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Needs a Better Description

Robert from Hampton, VA on 9/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was not able to use this product, so I will give it the benefit of the doubt it give it 3 stars. It seems well made, but the bar can only be used when you have a through hole for your license plate mounting hardware. This uses a bolt and nut to secure the camera bar and license plate to the vehicle, most vehicles have a threaded hole for the license plate. It is difficult to tell this from the description, but you can see that the head of the bolts are recessed into the bar. Also, as other have stated, the instructions are almost pitiful, but this seems to be the norm these days.

Pros: Seems well made.

Cons: Limited applications.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Derby, KS on 9/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a sharp camera...looks good on the car and picture quality is great. Very happy with it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Mabel, MN on 9/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works pretty well. Overall I really like it but at times I get horizontal lines going through the image. Otherwise it works well during the day and night,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

High quality rear back-up parking camera.

Dave from Port Orchard, WA on 8/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This rear back-up camera is great. It is so small, no one notices it. It looks like a nice black piece of trim over my plate. It's mounted on my 2008 Dodge Ram 2500 pickup. It's very easy to install and the pic looks very clear. The back-up parking lines move with your steering wheel & are very clear. I turned the parking lines off from my new JVC receiver, as I had two sets of parking lines showing for a while. Snaking the wire was a little tricky, especially as I put all exterior wire into split wire loom.

Pros: Very small nice looking camera.

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, TX on 7/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install and great picture. Easy to adjust and stays locked in, when you adjust it to where you want it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Seminole, FL on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great picture quality and really like the active parking lines.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Dunn, NC on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great with my Sony XNV-660BT.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Decent Camera

Crutchfield customer from Buffalo, MN on 6/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a good camera but a little pricey for what you get. The image is ok but we do like the wide view. Overall, the camera is doing what we expect it to do.

Pros: Wide angle turning lines

Cons: Installation instructions

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Vienna, WV on 6/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simple easy install. Good picture quality.

Pros: Easy install , good picture quality.

Cons: Need a magnifying glass to read the directions. They are printed so small and fine it's almost impossible to read.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 6/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

You will definitely need to have Crutchfield's tech support with this. There are no installation instructions / diagrams included on the package. The tracking backup lines do a good job of tracking most of the time but on occasion will stick in a turning pattern when backing very slow.

Pros: clear color picture on the screen and adjustable lines.

Cons: When turning the tracking parking lines occasionally will stick with the fist turn / track and not straighten back to center when backing very slow.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Beckley, WV on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good camera for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Nampa, ID on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install and connect, clear picture, would recommend and will likely get another for my dad's pickup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Monclova, OH on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed on a 2008 mustang, very compact and clean looking. I removed my interior so the instal was easy, only had to drill one small hole to feed the wire through the bumper cover.

Pros: Looks great, camera position is adjustable so you can set the view to your preference, that is what the small Allen wrench is for.

Cons: Installation instructions are very minimal, A quick call to the Crutchfield Tech Support team and all my questions were answered.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Compare the sound