Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
138 820 157 4
Connect ID #
138 820 157 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Boyo VTK601HD

Boyo VTK601HD HD backup cam with multiple mounting options

MFR # VTK601HD

4.0 out of 5 stars
114 reviews
View this product
Backup camera

Brandon from MANASSAS, VA on 2/13/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well, great pickup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Kit & Mounting Options

Charles from Issaquah, WA on 1/25/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This kit offers a variety of mounting options that should satisfy any vehicle. Comes with everything you need and plenty of cable length.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not HD

Crutchfield customer from LOMPOC, CA on 1/17/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If by HD, they mean the quality of a 2005 flip phone, they nailed it. Poor quality image and very basic hardware.

Pros: Simple hardware

Cons: Poor quality image Takes hours to run the wire from back to front of the car

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Alison from Arlington, VA on 11/15/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The camera provides excellent clarity in low-light (much better than expected). The installation directions left a bit to be desired though. But the variety of mounting options and the design having the trigger wire for the head unit pre-wired into the RCA cable make it overall a great value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Steven from Macon, GA on 10/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice camera, lots of mounting options

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Caleb from College Grove, TN on 10/23/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good camera, clear picture. Plenty of mounting options

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Quality

Stanley from Ashland, OH on 10/9/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great quality. Plenty of length and applications allowing for diverse installation options.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I'm dissatisfied with this camera.

Scott R from FOUNTAIN INN, SC on 9/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

In my opinion this is a very disappointing camera. Bad colors, picture is not clear, and night vision is terrible. The first time I backed out of my driveway at night I almost hit my mailbox because it was difficult to see it. The very poor instructions have tiny, low resolution pictures and almost no wording. It was even not possible for me to see how parts were supposed to be put together . The instructions had no link to any video anywhere to help. Neither did the manufacturer website. The parts did not fit together well. This particular camera was recommended to me by Crutchfield. I've purchased other backup cameras from various websites and this one is by far the worst. Crutchfield has a great reputation and I've been happy with them in the past, so I don't understand why they recommended this camera to me that I feel is sub par. I will be replacing this new camera very soon. I am very dissatisfied with it.

Pros: None

Cons: Poor night vision, picture is not clear , and colors are not as good as other backup cameras I've used.

Crutchfield response on 9/13/2023
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Casey, reached out to Scott to follow up. We'll either help him get the backup cam working the way it should or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

3 of 4 found this helpful

great camera

Don from Centerville, UT on 9/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Assembly instructions are abysmal. Besides that, great camera and looks quite good and there are options for every kind of installation you can think of. I do wish there would be a way to adjust the lines via the head unit but I can't seem to find that option anywhere. not a deal killer though.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/5/2023
Don, please feel free to contact our Tech Support team for help. They can help you adjust the lines or set up a return/exchange within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Steven from Dacula, GA on 8/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good value with lots of mounting options. Install directions are a bit thin when describing exactly how to insert the camera into the hard mounts - you have to press quite firmly to get it to seat and close. Would be better if the supplied cable were designed to provide power (and ground) to the camera rather than simply a trigger (for installs where power can be supplied from the head unit). Did not try the built-in parking lines because of previous bad experience with a camera's attempt to predict the path - used my head unit's built in fixed lines instead.

Pros: Many install options Good picture

Cons: Sparse directions No included power cable for powering from the head unit.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Louis from Benton, KY on 7/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Although i am pretty satisfied with the product the information provided in the packaging and their websight leaves a lot to be desired. There is absolutely no information on how to assemble the various parts for each assembly nor how to adjust the camera ( how high or low to position it) or how to adjust the guide lines or where they should be.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Andy from Cullowhee, NC on 7/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera is very clear and works as intended just direction's are very unclear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Keith from Mount Vernon, OH on 7/10/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not happy with this backup camera. Doesn't fit together right. Never got it to go together.

Pros: None

Cons: Parts don't fit right

Crutchfield response on 7/11/2023
Keith, we're sorry you're having issues with your back up camera. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Dan from Maryland on 7/5/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not sure if the camera is faulty, but there is decent jitter in the picture - even after I installed Crux PS-RVC to prevent this. I bought this model for the slim bar-style mount option, but the manufacturing seems cheap. It appears the set screws were tapped prior to powder coating, thus the set screws (an undersized allen wrench is provided) are easily damaged when trying to screw them in.

Pros: The camera works, but the picture is jittery and doubt the HD claims

Cons: High cost given quality of product

Crutchfield response on 7/10/2023
Dan, we're sorry you're having issues with your backup cam. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return/exchange within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Cole from GREELEY, CO on 5/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with it in my 02 Toyota MR2 Spyder. Just hook it up right. When I put it in reverse it turns on, and turns of when I put it in gear. Great visual.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Cam

Rick from Buckeye, AZ on 5/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install and great picture on my Kenwood! My Crutchfield advisor was absolutely correct in recommending this cam.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

John from Hernando, FL on 5/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Nathan from Alexander, AR on 4/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not sure if it's this camera or my new radio but the best picture I've ever seen in a backup camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Garbage

Erin from Wichita Falls, TX on 3/30/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's a piece of crap. Most of the mounting equipment is faulty stripped out the set screws camera doesn't fit and then when you get it all mounted and everything the camera resolution is garbage.

Pros: Has a good design if it would work

Cons: Camera resolution and picture is terrible

Crutchfield response on 3/31/2023
Erin, we're sorry you're disappointed with your backup camera. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Robert from Scott Township, PA on 3/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great camera with a variety of mounting options!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cheap camera

Steve from Fitchburg, MA on 3/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked for 20 months then stopped working, contacted customer support and they can't do anything for me . Contacted Boyo customer support and they would do anything either. Camera should last longer than 20 months, cheap camera would not recommend. Will not buy again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Defective Camera

Crutchfield customer from GLEN ELLYN, IL on 2/25/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had this camera professionally installed by recommended shop and not even year since I started using this camera it went bad! Crutchfield customer support was not the greatest and now I have to pay out of pocket for labor/parts to have this camera repaired because a defective product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/27/2023
This customer contacted our Tech Support team, and they replaced his backup cam under warranty. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Robert from Napa, CA on 2/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Like how many options you get

Pros: Like how small and modern it looks

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Matthew from Wv on 2/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Gareth from Greenville, SC on 2/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good kit if you're unsure about where to mount the camera. Initially I had planned on the license plate mount, but realized it would block the plate light. Installation went smoothly, and as always Crutchfield's Tech support have been brilliant.

Pros: Options

Cons: having two different ways to wire it on the same cable run was a bit confusing.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Backup Camera. So-So Instructions

Steven from Glasgow, KY on 2/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought this camera to replace an existing camera. Since I already had a video cable routed to the rear of the truck, wiring was really simple. The resolution and clarity of the camera is outstanding... miles better than my previous camera, and the wife is very happy with it (that was the main goal). The installation instructions left a bit to be desired. Each of the mounting kits are bagged separately, so it's easy to figure out the correct configuration there. However, the tiny photos for the camera housing are really difficult to see. The orientation of the backing plate isn't clear at all in the pictures. A little playing with it, and I figured it out. However, you will need a good precision screwdriver set to get all of the tiny screws into the housing. A few slightly aggravating nits, but with a little patience, it goes together well.

Pros: Outstanding clarity and resolution License plate bracket is great and simple to install wiring instructions are clear

Cons: Tiny housing screws can be a challenge The installation instructions need more detail.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

James from Mount Joy, PA on 2/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall a decent product. Instructions could be much better. Picture in daylight is good not great. At night it is very grainy. When I get a chance I am going to double check my connections to see if that helps

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Its ok

Christopher from Lewes, DE on 2/1/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The small print assembly directions are hard to read. Tiny machine screws hard to handle. Directions don't show whether to use the flat head or round head I. Specific locations. Directions should include recommended install locations , specifically the slim mount assembly.

Pros: Mounting options.

Cons: Installation directions Small hardware

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

David from Las Vegas, NV on 1/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The instructions were difficult to understand. Specifically, the different mounting possibilities and their installation. But, once installed, this camera worked just fine. And, it looks good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Replacement front camera

John from Fort Mill, SC on 10/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Previous camera had the wire cut due to poor wire routing during installation (my fault) I ordered the same camera from Crutchfield and installed the new camera on the car a couple of days after ordering it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Anibal from Aguada, PR on 10/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great options to fit any vehicle, great images

Pros: Great OEM look

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

David from Rch Cucamonga, CA on 10/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm really enjoying this product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Alex from Alameda, CA on 10/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Only just installed as a front camera on a 2013 XV Crosstrek, so I can't speak to the longevity yet. As a front cam, it's intended for trail use, but have already used for tight parking spots. Never thought I'd need one for urban use, but now I have it I like. As a front cam it's looking straight forward, and flares, or at least saturate with traffic lights and streetlights, but the is not an issue when parking. The big story here is the mount kit. I didn't know how I was going to install, so I wanted the options to play with. Most options are intuitive, but some get a bit fussy. The housing for the camera for licence plate mount has 4 tiny screws to hold the back door on. Jewellers screwdrivers would be essential for that. If you don't do fiddly things, look elsewhere. The stick on mount was the easiest option, and looked clean, but did not work for my needs. The circle saw did the job BUT the tip or the pilot drill bit didn't want to bite - so use a small bit to drill a pilot for hte pilot. I only cut plastic, can't speak to how well it would work on steel.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Travis from Brookville, KS on 10/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Decent price but very grainy also had to buy new connector, the inside nipple connecting to the unit fell right off.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/24/2022
Travis, we're sorry you're having issues with your backup cam. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Thomas from Villa Hills, KY on 10/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had about everything

Pros: I wasn't sure how i would mount camera. This allowed anything. Lotsa parts left over

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Dan from Madisonville, TN on 10/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install

Pros: clear

Cons: Images are a lot closer than they look.You have to be careful.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Stephen from Vestal, NY on 10/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my second purchase of a BOYO VTK601HD and once again it is a great camera for backup use. It is hooked up to an Alpine iLX-W650 in my Chevy 2500HD. It adds additional viewing to my stock rearview mirror screened camera. Install and hookup was easy, the picture is clear and bright. I used the metal angle mount high on the cap for a full view of the rear. It is really handy when pulling a trailer and when merging with traffic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Dave from Broadalbin, NY on 9/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A lot of choices for set up I used two cameras two different setups they worked great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit for the money

Scott from Colorado Spgs, CO on 8/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This fit nicely on my 2011 Camaro SS. Had lots of options to use to fit my car. Images are good too.

Pros: lots of options for installation

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Jim from Marysville, OH on 8/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

good product. Install instructions on inernet only.

Pros:

Cons: install instructions only on inernet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Wilfredo from Miami, FL on 7/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Iam very satisfied with the purchase I have made and also for the great customer service. I will continue buying from them. Thank you ??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best products withe the best customer service

Julie from Council Bluffs, IA on 6/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield offers the best products and provides excellent advice, recommendations and support. My new back up camera works beautifully and was a great fit for my wife's car. I love working with the Crutchfield staff and will continue to buy from them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Rockford from Palm Coast, FL on 5/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love the various mounting options. I chose the flush mount option and love it. I love the 170 degree view angle also. The receiver is a little hard to see during sun light.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Richard from Odon, IN on 5/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install. Crystal clear camera.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked well for 1.5 years then died.

DAVID from Olathe, KS on 4/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This item was recommended to me by my advisor at Crutchfield and it worked very well for about 1.5 years. The image quality I felt was excellent for a rear-view camera and I had no complaints. Unexpectedly it just stopped working one day. There was no degradation of the image as one would usually expect before a camera dies, it just stopped responding. The excellent service it provided for 1.5 years was great, but the short life span of the unit is why I gave it 2 stars.

Pros: Easy to install, good picture quality.

Cons: Short life span.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

More options.

Victor from Chicago, IL on 2/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love this product because it gives you options to use either front or rear cam but also mounting options.

Pros: Nice camera.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Brandon from Hillsboro, OR on 2/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was a perfect recommendation by Bethany at Crutchfield! I wasn't sure which camera to get, and my needs might change after I decide on a new bumper / tire carrier. She heard what I needed and recommended this little unit because it has a bunch of different mounting options. So I am running the adhesive mount inside my license plate tray and can reconfigure it later when or if I need. Great picture, very configurable, but I found that I didn't need to clip any of the adjustment wires because my headunit had built in reverse image and backup line adjustments. Yours may not.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Carlos Gabri from Sicklerville, NJ on 1/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall okay camera Image quality was fair- poor Hardware is very small

Pros: Mounting options

Cons: Microscopic hardware, no detailed instructions, poor image quality.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Great view, useless guide lines

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 12/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Mounted under the lip of hatchback lift handle on a 2012 Subaru Forester. Great view especially at night. Hiding the wires was the real chore. I selected this model for the guide lines and multiple ways of mounting the camera. The closest red cut off line is about 1 foot from the rear of the car and that is ok. the far end of the green line is about 6 feet away. The width of the lines is useless. The distance between the lines is about 3 feet narrower than my car. So if you use them as a guide to where the side of your car is located, you will sideswipe the adjacent object. I am seriously considering cutting the loop and disabling them since I have found no way to make adjustments.

Pros: Great view Great night view

Cons: Guide lines useless

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from College Place, WA on 12/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Video quality is good and clear even in low light. All the mounting options are nice to have but you don't need all of them and the quality of mounting features could be better. The cable routing and the use of really tiny screws.

Pros: Video quality is good.

Cons: The mounting hardware could be improved. Feels like they made really cheap mounts in order to include everything in this kit. Instructions for assembly are a 0/10, need to take some pointers from IKEA.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Bad picture

Crutchfield customer from Union, MS on 12/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Instructions not clear, but the picture you get on your reciever is worse. Clarity is definitely a problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/7/2021
We're sorry you're having issues with your backup cam. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 9/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I chose this camera because it has multiple different mounting options and housings. Instead of one long cable, it also has several, making installation and cable routing easier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Wetumpka, AL on 9/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great picture day or night

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Buy

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 8/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Haven't had the time uhbyet to set up the new receiver g you your uhubhj

Pros: Huhhuuhuyhh

Cons: Hu

Crutchfield response on

0 of 16 found this helpful

Do a little more reseach.

Crutchfield customer from Hillside, NJ on 7/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The camera works but the guidelines are as useless as a coffeemaker without beans. When the manufacturer said bench test before installing, they should've said place the camera where do you think you would be in the sure that the unit works effectively. To be fair, it may not be the camera or manufacturers, It could be it doesn't work well with low license plate mounting on the Kia soul. Proper warning or some experience, Would have allowed me to cut the guideline wires before buttoning up the whole car. Initially I thought of putting it on the hatch door 2 feet taller which evidently would've been much better but the kit comes with 1 million brackets but none that cover the original hole of the camera there. Perhaps the company would consider placing a wider base plate to cover existing camera holes.

Pros: It works

Cons: Not for low mounting options.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Happy with it

Denis from Washington, DC on 7/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera quality is pretty good, definitely like all of the mounting options, didn't have too much trouble with the little parts, at least they're all separated by mount style. I did not like that the rubber version ripped so easily, even going in the right way, kind of useless. Wired directly to head unit so it's always on. Haven't seen it at night yet, but day is decent and looks good.

Pros: good quality, lots of options

Cons: rubber option rips easily

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Poor Choice for License Plate Mount

Bob from Southbury, CT on 6/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Well, I'm swimming against the tide of prior reviewers but I give this camera one star and I haven't even fired it up yet. Maybe some of the mount options work fine but the license plate mount is just absurd. First, there are no installation instructions in the box or online. There is just one sheet with photos so small it's impossible to make anything out. Second, the parts don't fit together well, particularly the rear cover of the camera housing. Third, some of the assembly screws are so, so tiny you actually need a jewelers screwdriver to put it together. Pretty tough in you are in a garage with not great lighting, particularly is you drop one. Another thing that bothers is that you pay for a ton of extra mounting parts you won't need regardless of which mounting method you choose. If you want a simple license plate mount I would highly recommend another choice and if Crutchfield doesn't have one shop for it elsewhere. I have otherwise found Crutchfield's customer service and tech support to be superb but I think they do a disservice to customers to recommend this product as they did.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Pt Charlotte, FL on 6/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works good the directions suck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Casselberry, FL on 6/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought this due to the different options of mounting. What I used looked like it was factory and the picture is really good.

Pros: Good picture Different mounting options

Cons: Great

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Better opions exist

Allen J from WAUKESHA, WI on 6/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Lots of mounting options but wiring is extremely thin and instructions are weak to worthless.

Pros: Lots of mounting options

Cons: Wiring harness is too thin for easy installation. I didn't have a stripper for 28ga (guessing at this) so it took several tries to get a successful strip of the insulation.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Leonardtown, MD on 6/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was going to use an enclosure on my license plate, but I couldn't figure out the hardware, instructions were poor. So I chose to mount it by cutting a hole in the rear tailgate. The drill bit worked ok. The 'up' sticker on the camera was wrong, I aligned it myself. Installed on a 2006 BMW X3 with an aftermarket display bought separately. Recommend improving the instructions for others

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo camera.

Crutchfield customer from Evans, GA on 6/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice package but didn't meet my needs for a front camera. Designed for rear. No instructions except wiring diagram. Had to call their tech assistance to decide I couldn't use it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/14/2021
This customer contacted our Tech Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

2 of 6 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Rustburg, VA on 4/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had plenty of options to mount

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Colonial Beach, VA on 4/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Multiple mounting options was what i needed since I wasn't entirely sure on where i was going to install the camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Safety.

Crutchfield customer from Cameron, NC on 4/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

No more banging into stuff like old people are prone to do. Yet! One tiny hitch after install, one 3 minute call, hitch eliminated. Stuff happens, Crutchfield makes it go away faster than anyone else in the biz

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Monroe Township, NJ on 4/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Lousy instructions snd and ridiculously tiny hardware. All but needed tweezers to assemble. Also, some bracket options had pieces that did not fit together properly. I had to customize my wiring because tge instructions had the camera powered by the reverse lights. They would only have turned on while backing up. I have 2. One is on the FRONT OF MY VEHICLE ??? ?. The front camera shows a mirror image that I can't seem to change. The bracketry is flimsy and for the price, I feel like they could have thrown in some instructions, sone split loom and a few zip ties.

Pros: Easy to install "intellectually "

Cons: Hard to install "physically " due to tiny parts and large RCA plugs that must pass through holes, the dashboard accessories and grommets.

Crutchfield response on 4/21/2021
We're sorry you're still having issues with your camera. If the problem continues and you'd like our help, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 3 found this helpful

Good buy

Alan from Riverside, RI on 3/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had ordered the license plate bracket style and it interfered with the handle for the hatch. This gave me multiple options to find the best place for the camera. Picture quality is ok. Mirror and guideline loops were already cut. Instructions for wiring are not so clear and I ended up sending voltage from both the head unit side and the tail lamp side smoking the reverse circuit on the PAC(oops). Crutchfield was cool about it and hooked me up with a replacement PAC module and all is good now.

Pros: Flexible mounting options. Decent video quality.

Cons: Instructions are vague.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Bradley from BINGHAMTON, NY on 3/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The camera works. I had to get a replacement because the screw holes were not threaded correctly. Once I had the new camera it all went together properly. The big problem is the lack of any kind of instructions. There are none. There was nothing that told you what wires did what. Not everyone is a pro at this stuff. Thankfully Crutchfield has great help. I couldn't have completed installing all the things I had without the technical assistance.

Pros: It works after Crutchfield helps you install and troubleshoot.

Cons: No instructions.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

My first back up camera install - worked great. (2006 Acura MDX)

Crutchfield customer from Washington, PA on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First backup camera I have installed - worked great, loved the mounting options. Bought this camera at the suggestion of a Crutchfield advisor as I have no prior experience with back up cameras. I really appreciated the many mounting options as I was not sure exactly how my install was going to work out. I found the wiring explanation, although simple, still less direct than it needed to be. The instructions seemed to confuse what is a relatively straight forward application. The multiple +12V power feeds shown independently on the diagram make it look unnecessarily complicated. Picture of this camera is as expected fed through a new Sony receiver in dash. The installation took patience for how I wanted the camera mounted and the wires routed, but the results are top notch. It really brings my 15+ year old car into modern day convenience, especially for the teenage drivers in my house.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 3/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I didn't realize till now how handy a rear camera is. I'm so glad I added this one to my install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Columbia Falls, MT on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this equipment for my motor-home. It is still in storage as we still have to much snow on the ground as of yet. The crew at Crutcield was very helpful in getting what i needed for the project.

Pros: crew was very helpful.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo review

Crutchfield customer from Kennewick, WA on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

looks OK, good price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Chelan, WA on 2/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks factory. Nice field of view

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Davisville, WV on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed on FJ cruiser liked seeing different options to instal with license plate being off centered on back hatch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from East Lyme, CT on 1/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Can't get better than this it comes with a bunch of mounting options.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great options

Crutchfield customer from Clarkson Valley, MO on 1/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic kit with many options. Integrated perfectly.

Pros: options

Cons: It does not wire itself!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Adequate camera with a bunch of mounting crap you don't need

Crutchfield customer from Shepherdstown, WV on 1/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The camera works as advertised after mounting. The cable sent had a bad power wire. No way I was going to route another one, so I bypassed it. The included mounts (the real selling point) were over the top but had lots of options. My advice is to just decide on a mount and avoid all the wasted small hardware bits in this kit. I probably used the cheapest one in the end and wasted the rest. Maybe I'll make a small sculpture out of them called "rear view waste" or similar.

Pros: Good camera Tons of mounting options if you have trouble making decisions ahead of time

Cons: Bad wire Too much crap for mounting.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Mohawk, NY on 1/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I really actually have not gotten everything installed yet but everything with Crutchfield has been great, everything I have installed so far works awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Mabel, MN on 1/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great camera. The picture is very good and has lots of mounting options

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Garretson, SD on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I really like all the mounting options. Very nice for a novice backup camera installer to have several options to choose from during the install.

Pros: Multiple mounting options

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Liberty Twnshp, OH on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera back on the camera case did not tighten properly. Screws are way too short. Boyo was very helpful though and simply told me to return the camera and request a replacement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/13/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and they sent out a replacement right away. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Simple mounting & clear output

Crutchfield customer from Norwalk, CT on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Lots of mounting options and super easy to wire up. Camera video feed is clear and works great mounted as a front camera on my Jeep.

Pros: Mounting options, video clarity, ease of wiring

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Copperas Cove, TX on 1/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Silsbee, TX on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well, but would benefit from better quality mounting hardware. Particularly the camera case.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Backup camera

Crutchfield customer from Titusville, FL on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The one issue I have with this item so far is there are no instructions on the various ways to mount the camera including their website. Very frustrating.

Pros: Good camera

Cons: No instructions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Salina, KS on 12/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good looking camera ... lacks instructions. Lots of choices for mounting. Overall it looks like a camera. Currently installed for 2 weeks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install

Crutchfield customer from SIMPSONVILLE, SC on 11/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install. Instructions aren't the greatest, but it was simple enough. Quality of image is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Cartersville, GA on 10/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The kit had every available mounting option. Great camera at a great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks factory

Crutchfield customer from Floyds Knobs, IN on 10/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clean display and great mounting options. I went with the flush mount. Their kit even included the hole saw. It looks factory and now my 370z has a much needed backup camera.

Pros: Small, easy to install, looks factory

Cons: Lines don't turn with my steering wheel like oem backup cameras

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Anasco, PR on 10/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excelente producto y con muy buena resolución la camara

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 9/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The included instructions are not super in depth. But overall fairly easy to install and the camera works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 9/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice vision

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Versatile camera kit ..Good Value.

E from New England on 9/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Needed a backup camera on a pickup truck. Picked this kit due to the multiple mounts. I was not disappointed, 6 mounting options. Video was good, parking lines were clear. Night time video was decent. Install was fairly easy, assembling the housing was the most difficult part. Durability will be tested this winter. So far no complaints and the price was not much more than a standard cam with 1 mount option. I recommend this if you are not fully sure how you want to mount your camera at the time of purchase.

Pros: Several mounting options Can be wired for parking lines or no parking lines Can be used as a front-facing cam

Cons: Included directions could have been better

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Hillside, IL on 9/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good, not great.

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's good, it's not great. The camera itself is good - it turns on quickly and you get a nice image. The mounts are not good. There are several mount options, so there's a lot of stuff in the box. The instructions are incomplete and what is there is tiny. There are parts that don't seem to go with anything at all. Finally, not matter how you do it, you will need to be creative and come up with extra mounting to ensure it's firm and secure. In every case, the camera was not stable/firm in the mount, and there's no way it would survive the bumps and other vibrations without falling apart. I ultimately chose the flush mount, which included a small hole saw to drill the "right" size hole, which was a little too small, so needed to ream it out a little. The mount itself was very weak, and the camera can move around inside with just the slightest touch. I ended up using some RTV inside the housing, and around the mount itself, which worked nicely, because it holds it firmly but also seems to dampen vibration. The instructions on the wiring is poorly written. Thanks to the Crutchfield tech support team for clarifying. Overall, I'd recommend shopping around more. This one is only so-so, and if you're not really handy or experienced, it will be hard to get it installed correctly.

Pros: Good camera view

Cons: Low quality mount(s) Poorly written instructions

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Perry Hall, MD on 8/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great camera for the price. Versatile install options.

Pros: Versatility with install options.

Cons: The instructions could use more detail as to the hardware use.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Salisbury, NC on 8/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Hard to find a solid install location for my truck

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Milwaukee, WI on 7/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great camera!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Bahama, NC on 7/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wish there had been more instructions but with some research it's a good camera and quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Garnet Valley, PA on 7/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great Very Small camera that can be used as a backup Camera OR a front camera. I used it as a front camera, with the parking guidelines on a Honda. The image is amazing. It is so much smaller than I thought it was in the image on the website.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Limited install instructions and for me was very frustrating to instal

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 7/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Video quality is decent. It's my first attempt at installing a reverse camera but man, it was a pain in the ass to simply install it using the supplied license plate hardware. I could not not for the life of me get the camera "squared" and true inside the metal housing. I ended up using the ultra low profile license place mount and finally got it working. I've been an automotive tech for nearly 3 years now and this one had me stumped. I had to walk away from it last night and try again today. I've only used it a few times so I can't speak for longevity but at least it's functional now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Idaho Falls, ID on 6/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install Affordable for such a great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Baraboo, WI on 6/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great options for mounting.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 5/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The camera itself works great. The mounts are good and give you more options to try out once you start working on your install. The one problem is the enclosed swivel mount, the one in the upper right of the product photo, does not come with the correct screws to mount the back bracket to the front bracket. I bought two of these for two different vehicles and niether package had screws that fit so it wasn't just a single mistake in one package. I tried every screw that came in the kit and none of them work so I couldn't use that mount at all.

Pros: Lots of options

Cons: One option doesn't come with the correct screws.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Decent picture, great install options

Jeff from Modesto,Ca on 5/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect size for where I was wanting to install. 2006 Mustang GT. Installed in the keyhole for the trunk. Utilized the stock bracket for the cylinder and it meshed perfectly with an added water behind (To make sure no water leak inside.). Works perfectly with the engine not running. Once the engine is running, I noticed some feedback. (Checked my ground, power and everything with a multi meter and all is good. So it must be the camera. Barely noticeable but I still see it. Could be a defective camera or just feedback) Hooked up the power wire to the ACC on the head unit ( Alpine W650) so I can turn the camera on whenever I want, not just reverse activated by hooking up to the rear lamp bulb. Disabled the parking lines since my head unit has adjustable lines. All in all a great camera with awesome mounting options (I didn't use any of them, wish they would sell the camera by itself).

Pros: Multiple mounting options, small size, good resolution night or day.

Cons: Feedback when engine is running.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Eden Prairie, MN on 5/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Everything works great! Throughout this Cov-19 pandemic the customer service has been outstanding. I purchased the Alpine iLX-W650/ alpine speakers, and the back-up camera for my work truck. The back-up camera links with the Alpine Deck, great HD quality picture. All of these purchases were recommended for my needs. I'll be purchasing more products in near future for my personal vehicle. Thanks Crutchfield and your expert help! I'm glad I didn't go to the local big box store!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Plenty of install options! I did it the best though.

Plenty of install options! I did it the best thoug from Modesto,Ca on 5/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed in 2006 Mustang GT. Remove the rear trunk lock and installed with stock parts. Perfect ground and perfect 12 V power. A little visual feedback When the car is running. All in all a great product. Easy to install and a great picture for what I need.

Pros: Multiple mounting locations. Small camera.

Cons: Feedback when engine is running.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Necedah, WI on 5/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works very goog good quality camera for the price

Pros: Good product

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Powder Springs, GA on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The perfect buy. It gives more than enough mounting options. I got the look I wanted for my daughters 2010 civic. It looked like factory

Pros: My daughter loves it. It has the parking guide lines.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice backup camera for the price!

Crutchfield customer from Duluth, GA on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well with my Sony XAV AX7000, good image, and I really really like the guidelines imposed on the image. Comes will all necessary parts. Loved that the video cable provided a signal line for the reverse light hookup to connect to the receiver, so I didn't have to add a wire I didn't realize I needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great back up camera

Crutchfield customer from Gainesville, VA on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

super quick shipping. Great price. Just wish that the instructions were a little better.

Pros: Lots of options to install Good , strong camera housings

Cons: Poor Instructions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

5 star mounting 3 star camera

Crutchfield customer from Sammamish, WA on 4/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Mounting is great but why supply an inexpensive camera with such a nice mounting?! The field of view is per specs - good, so what's wrong with it? The image quality in both daylight and low light is poor compared to similar cameras. It looks to me like they tried to fit in a certain price and then spent to much of the budget on the mount and compromised including a lower price camera. They should provide an option to buy a higher quality camera that can be used with the mounts.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

High Quality Backup Camera

Truong from Houston, TX on 4/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera Quality: 4/5. The picture is clear day and night. Below is the picture I took when I used it during the daytime. At night (sorry for not having picture), I drove my car to the darkest area in my neighborhood, and even I did not turn on the car light, the night vision was as perfect as the day vision. I installed the camera right in the middle of my license plate, and the parking guideline perfectly reflects my car wheels on the road. Mount: 3/5. I bought it because of The Bar Type License Plate Mount. However, the camera is bigger than the mount, so I have to use another option. Services: 5/5. Even though I might speak broken English, the technical supporter was very patient and explained to me how the reverse wire from the stereo works. My reverse wire somehow did not get any current go through, so Lloyd, my Tech support, suggested me to connect it to the fuse box. However, I don't want to mess with the fuse box due to its complex design and installation. Based on his explanation, I asked him if I could take an extra wire to lead the current from reverse light to my reverse wire from the stereo to trigger it whenever I turn the reverse mode. He confirmed and made my day. I know my review is wordy, but I hope the additional information will help people who struggle to install the backup camera themselves for the first time. One thing that I cannot confirm yet is the camera vision in the raining condition. Overall: 4/5.

Pros: High-Quality Day and Night.

Cons: The Bar Type License Plate Mount does not fit. Concealed License Plate Mount is needed to be bent a little bit to rotate the camera.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Boyo VTK601HD

Crutchfield customer from Plantersville, TX on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Compare the sound