Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
827 091 247 4
Connect ID #
827 091 247 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Klipsch ME-800-C

Klipsch ME-800-C Metal pre-construction enclosure for Klipsch Reference Series in-ceiling speakers with 8" woofers

MFR # 1001184

4.5 out of 5 stars
11 reviews
View this product
Worth It!

Darrell from Elgin, IL on 2/15/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product. Built very well and not flimsy. Installation was easy and came with connector to pass wire through enclosure. Then I used silicone to seal any gap around the speaker wire. Finishing the basement currently so haven't had a chance to hear how they sound compared to my non-enclosed Klipsch ceiling speakers in another living room. Disappointed that Klipsch discontinued the in wall speaker enclosure. Guess I'll have to built out of MDF.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch ME-800-C

Sean from Sudbury, MA on 12/5/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice product but Insulation does not provide complete coverage behind the speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound, solid quality, easy install

Jeffery from Broadview Hts, OH on 5/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Product is as described. The pre drilled holes allowed for easy installation in my ceiling joists. This sound enclosure is built solid. The sound from the in ceiling speakers in the enclosures was so much nicer. These enclosures really enhance the sound of the speakers. I used these enclosures with Polk Audio rc80i speakers in an outdoor pavilion. I was worried they would not fit being they are made by klipsch for klipsch speakers. Extremely happy my Polks fit. Would recommend for in ceiling installation during the construction phase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch ME-800-C

Rob from Marietta, GA on 5/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am adding Atmos speakers into my media room and decided to add backboxes to my ceiling speakers. I really wanted to cut down on the noise transfer to the other rooms in the house. I choose these units because the serve that purpose and I could work with the large holes I would need to cut to retrofit them into my space. I was only able to use two of them because while these boxes are designed to go between the studs, the back box is ~12" wide. This presents a challenge in my case because the ceiling studs are spaced 11" apart.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch ME-800-C for the Win!!

David from Madison, MS on 3/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great Product. I decided to take on the installation of the new sound system in our new construction home. A couple of reasons I chose these backing boxes: 1. I had already researched and decided I wanted to use the Klipsch CDT-5800 C II speakers for our 5.1 surround sound 2. I would be able to install the boxes and run the wire to them now, allowing construction to move forward and at the end of build all I would need to do is install speakers (holes will already be cut by sheet rock installer) 3. They would improve the sound of the already great CDT-5800 C II. They were easy to install and will provided a clean finished look and better sound. Win/Win

Pros: Easy to install Will provide a clean install and look Will provide a better sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch ME-800-C

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 6/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch ME-800-C

Crutchfield customer from Mascoutah, IL on 11/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A little pricey, but you get what you pay for. You cannot go wrong with klipsch, high quality. Building a new house, can't wait for everything to come together. Contractor installed 5 in the living room and 2 outside under the porch overhang.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch ME-800-C

Crutchfield customer from Lynbrook, NY on 9/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased 4 for home theater installation. Haven't finished the project but I am impressed with quality of construction. Insulation is thick inside and I'm sure it will help to direct the sound into my room and not up through the floors.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch ME-800-C

Crutchfield customer from Moscow, TN on 4/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fast shipping! Quality product as described!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth the Price

Joseph from New Holland, PA on 12/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed these along with a set of the CDT5800 when I was finishing my basement. I can say that the combination of the speaker enclosure and the speakers themselves sound fantastic. I am running them as my rear channel in a 5.1.2 setup. If you are doing in ceiling speakers spend the extra money and get the enclosure, do it right the first time, it can't hurt. I did have to add some wood bracing in the ceiling so that I had something to screw into when I installed them. I also took it a step further and added some sound insulation above and around the speaker box, just to help prevent sound transfer to the first floor.

Pros: Great fit, awesome quality, serves its purpose

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Well built!

Michael from Mahwah, NJ on 11/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very well made enclouse. Built with heavy gauge steel. Be aware that your joists in the ceiling shoudl be 16" on center and not doubled up. In my case, my customer had an older house and the joists were reinforced by doubling up the beam. This led to a very tight fit, just barely made it. And I was not able to use the wire clamp connector. Instead I drilled a 3/8" hold from the top of the enclosure. This is absolutely no fault of the product but rather the house's construction but just letting people out there to check their mounting circumstances. For grin, I tried it in my house, which is much more modern and it fits perfectly. My house has wooden I-beam joists if that helps. The speakers have not been installed yet so I don't know the effect it has on the sound but I'm sure it would be much better than mouting the speakers freely in the ceiling.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Compare the sound