Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
899 118 857 4
Connect ID #
899 118 857 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Klipsch Reference R-28F

Klipsch Reference R-28F Floor-standing speaker

MFR # 1060672

5.0 out of 5 stars
42 reviews
View replacement product
Hail to the Victors

Shoghi from Joplin, MO on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing speaker and at a price point you can't beat! I live in a duplex and after buying the R-26 for my front Left & Right channel along with a older RC 7 center and the R10SW i def has to upgrade to the R28-F and place the R-26 as my rear L and R and I was blown away with the highs and low deep end bass that i sometimes leave the sub off. Just one thing to note is these are huge in your face is size and sound... don't delay and buy them now.

Pros: Crisps highs and vocals that seem so real it's like being front row at a concert and the low end bass leaves the walls shaking like no other. Love em

Cons: Heavy and take up a lot of floor space and make my 70"flat screen look small but hey is that really a con?? ????

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-28F

Greg from Lockport, NY on 8/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really a great speaker could not be more pleased

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great speakers

Jeff from Ypsilanti, MI on 8/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am very pleased with these speakers. They do a great job on hitting the highs and the lows. I don't think you can get a better speaker for there price range. I caught the on sale, the Christmas in sale. So the price was phenomenal !

Pros: Great looks Great sound Easy hook-up

Cons: The finish Can mar easily

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch Speaker Are Amazing!

Daniel from Hutto TX on 7/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are amazing! I love the sound they produce while playing video games or watching an action film. The highs and mids are nice and they produce great lows as well, I do not think you would be disappointed with these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome sound

Sean L from Brookville, OH on 7/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The speakers have great sound and works well with yahama RX-A680.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-28F

Crutchfield customer from Olympia, WA on 7/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The speakers have a really clean sound. They match well with the Yamaha 303 two channel audio receiver and turntable. We have an open concept living area in our house and the speakers do well to fill it with sound without sounding strained or overworked.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not as large as I thought they would be.

Peter from Shrewsbury, MA on 6/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Klipsch Reference R-28F speakers are everything I hoped for.

Pros: Clear highs solid lows.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-28F

Crutchfield customer from Cheyenne, WY on 6/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound, I would recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Large tower speakers that sound as great as they look

Paul from MD on 6/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased a pair of these speakers for my music only setup. I am just about past the break in period and wow. Depending on the quality of the source these bad boys can really create a whole new listening experience. The 8" drivers can deliver some solid, house shaking bass without distorting. The horn tweeters really reproduce and distribute the high spectrum of sound clearly, although I do set them down a level or two on the EQ cause they can get a bit bright if you are staying right in the sweet spot. I am usually doing things around the house when I listen to music and they fill every inch of my house with clear sound. I am very pleased and hope to enjoy these speakers for a very long time.

Pros: Full, powerful sound. Deep bass Clear highs They are gigantic

Cons: I'll let you know if I find a solid "Con"

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-28F

Jessica from Lincoln, NE on 6/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound great!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

So well balanced speakers

James from Caballo, NM on 5/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are awesome sounding speakers. The bass and the treble are so well balanced, most speakers you tend to adjust levels to make them sound right.

Pros: Price and sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-28F

Steve from Dover, PA on 5/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Tinging inin sound on the high-end distortion on high-end lacking bass

Pros: Clear sound at mid level

Cons: Lacking bass distortion on high-end tinging sound on high end

Crutchfield response on

5 of 16 found this helpful

Klipsch Speakers

Stephen from Puyallup, WA on 5/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

WOW the first time I listened to these speakers was WOW. They filled the room with deep crystal clear music. Thanks to the Crutchfield staff for all their help.

Pros: Crystal clear room filling sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-28F

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 5/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing sound!!!

Pros: Crisp sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-28F

Jordan from Louisville, KY on 5/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Definitely a major upgrade from my previous surround system. These towers provide some great front surround body and running them bi-amp from a 7.2 channel receiver for a 5.1 sound system makes them even more powerful. Thanks to Crutchfield advisers for helping me select these and the right received to be able to power my speakers to their peak ability. Have heard no distortion listening to all types of audio and media file types.

Pros: Sound, design, power, build quality.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Big sound from big speakers.

Sean from Port St Lucie, FL on 3/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

-Great speakers! I am using these speakers for front surround and listening to music. They produce a full range of sound without distortion. My daughter had her music playing uncomfortably loud and they still sounded good. I played The Last Jedi and they did a great job in their surround sound role. -They are massively massive. I was worried that my wife might freak out. They are deep from front to back. Almost deeper than the entertainment center. They do look nice and seem like they are well made. -I would buy them again!

Pros: Great sound that fills a large room. Built well.

Cons: They are a big. (I like that they're big...Wife is not a huge fan.)

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-28F

Thomas from Montague, NJ on 3/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They sound great. Powerful and clear. Can't wait to get two more Klipsch back speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-28F

Kelly from Hibbing, MN on 3/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We love it!!!! Excellent service and product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-28F

Kurtis from Lago Vista, TX on 3/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic sound, but I went back and added a powered subwoofer to round it all out. Not the speaker's fault, they perform as designed.

Pros: Great sound, look good, price is great for the performance level.

Cons: Really needs a subwoofer too.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch System, Amazing System

Gary Mason from Jackson, TN on 3/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am extremely pleased with these speakers. I paired them with the Klipsch R12SW and the R1650W for a complete cinema experience. My room is 12 X 22 with an 8 foot ceiling. While viewing an action movie it "feels" like I am in the middle of the action. The clarity is crystal clear. I am one very satisfied customer. BTW, Sam, at Crutchfield was awesome in helping me make my decision.

Pros: Price, Clarity, Feel the sound not only hear it.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-28F

Crutchfield customer from York, NE on 3/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very satisfied with these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

R-28F - excellent speaker, great value for money

Ron from Spring, TX on 3/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought these to replace a set I've built in '84 Comparing both, I'm still very pleased by how well I did back then (long story). The R-28F is big, about the same size as both my old speakers stacked. Weight is slightly less than the old ones (yup, those are heavy). Speakers work very well with my 2 x 25W class A amplifier, crisp sound, excellent high (more than I'm able to hear these days) and deep low (I use a cd with organ music to check .... passed with flying colors). I consider the R-28F great value for money

Pros: Great sound at a reasonable price

Cons: These are very large speakers; half the size would have been better

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound for home theater and front ported too!

Mike from Cornville, AZ on 2/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you need a front ported tower, this is the bee's knees. I auditioned the 6" pair in the store, but they didn't have the R-28F setup. After I got them home and hooked them up, I was blown away by how good they actually are. Then I read on forums how this was "just an upgraded icon speaker", and lots of advice saying skip and get the RP-280F. Well, I did do this - and regretted it so much I went back to the R-28F. First off the Reference Premiere speakers are rear ported - and therefore need to be out substantially from the wall to sound their best. The way it worked out they were way out in my room... and the end result is on movies the R-28F was simply better. I think this is one of the more seriously underrated speakers out there for front mains, and being front ported you can fit them in nice with your entertainment console. I haven't even gotten the center channel yet, because with a slight angle to them, and my Sony receiver mixing to stereo, the simulated center even sounds greater. Five stars from me!

Pros: Excellent theater sound very, very, good music sound (but not quite audiophile for classical) front ported allows snugging back against a wall or in a corner huge sound with 2 8" speakers and a horn in each enclosure

Cons: heavy the grills are not magnetic, so be careful removing them the cabinet is vinyl covered, not real wood (but it looks good and is easy to clean) aluminum tweeter is not true audiophile for classical

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-28F

Crutchfield customer from Omak, WA on 2/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Room

Terence from Katy, TX on 1/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

i'M in love with my new sound. I live in an apartment and the sound from one speaker and one subwoofer is too much. The richness of the highs and lows is incredible. I can't believe I waited so long to upgrade from my Klipsch bookcase speakers to floor standing speakers, but the wait is worth it. And then the subwoofer is wireless. I can put it anywhere there is an outlet and not have to worry about re-wiring any rooms.

Pros: Rich bass Delicate highs More sound than expected

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-28F

Chad from Caledonia, MN on 10/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome sound great customer service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Always the best choice, KLIPSCH !

Terry from Illinois on 10/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Absolutely a wonder to have as my main speakers. From the front port and the Twin 8 inch woofers to the titanium horn tweeter. These babies rock ! I add a pair of 400 watt 12 subs to go with each one of these bad adds speakers. I'm pushing 125 watts through them with my old sony... Pearl Jams; Even flow never sounded better at about 90 watts.... Love all of my Klipsch speakers...

Pros: Great looking, high sensitivity, can pound out clear crisp sound at any level.

Cons: The best of these are a little to much for my budget.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Loud loud

Jeremy from Missouri on 9/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome fronts they produce good hard bass awesome addition to compliment your subwoofer

Pros: Very nice speaker loud and clear great sound

Cons: These speakers are not really intended for use with a basic receiver I upgraded to a dennon 3300 and love it

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch R28F Reference

Thomas from Buena Vista va on 9/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I upgraded from the monitor bronze Towers because they didn't seem to do the job for me they were great for movies but I wanted a little more extra Bass these klipsch towers do the job great I even got the centerpiece, the only downside is they can easily be scratched on the outside so be careful if getting these, would give it 5 stars if it wasn't for that but they still in my opinion look great and I like the port being in the front at the bottom instead of the rear

Pros: Look good sound great

Cons: The outside can scratch easily if not careful

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-28F

Crutchfield customer from Tell City, IN on 9/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good sound and bass for the size of speaker.Very heavy and we'll built cabinet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

These bad boys can handle a big room with ease and finesse!

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 8/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am a musician and music lover but I am probably not what you would call an "audiophile" - my perspective may not be that of someone with years of listening to expensive audio equipment. Having said that, my take on the R-28F is that for a large room they do an amazing job of filling the space with balanced, articulate sound. A copy of Bill Evans / Chet Baker Alone Together simply stunned me. Acoustic instruments just feel transparent and deep. I think the 8 inch woofers in these Speakers really help fill a room but are probably unnecessary for smaller listening areas. These speakers are big, bold and beautiful - and seemed to be a better value than their competition. Really happy!

Pros: Big sound, awesome clarity, stunning looks

Cons: They are BIG!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound

Mike from Burlington, NC on 6/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome speakers, solid bass. Very clear even when they are cranked up. I can't describe how solid the sound is at all volume levels!

Pros: Great sound

Cons: They ship freight, i had 3 items ordered at the same time showing up on 3 separate days. Bit of a schedule challenge but worth it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing Sound!

Anonymous from Kalamazoo, MI on 4/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have 2 of these speakers paired with a Kilpsh Sub R-112SW and an Onkyo 656 receiver. The combination give a near surround sound experience with only 2.1 speakers. I do plan to upgrade to 7.1 in the future but for now I am smiling ear to ear while enjoying room shaking movies!!

Pros: Clarity, depth, and warm sound!

Cons: These are expensive but they sure sound great!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-28F

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 3/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great speakers i'm replacing a pair of klipsch I've owned for over 20 years

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-28F

Gerard from Toronto, ON on 3/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've been listening to really good speakers for some time with my home theater. I've had PSB's previously, and I just upgraded from a set of Monitor Audio speakers (relatively obscure British fine speaker maker) to these R-28F's. Immediately, I was getting significantly more bass out of them with the dual 8" woofers, absolutely, and the horn tweeters provide wonderful high's. Definitely more punch and the sound quality is excellent across the board. I've since upgraded to Klipsch centre, as well as back channels for my 7.2 system. Next step is to upgrade my subs. I seem to have absolutely become a "Klipsch guy" seemingly overnight! 2 thumbs way up for these!

Pros: Incredible clarity and punch

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Awesome Upgrade

D from Waynesboro, PA on 3/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I upgraded from a 5.1 speaker set that came with a home-theater-in-a-box system. Using these as my front L/R made a huge difference! The clarity is better than I expected, and they can provide decent bass even without a subwoofer. I have read some debates between aluminum and titanium tweeters, and which is better. Personally, I say go with what sounds good to you, but the aluminum horns in these speakers are on point in my opinion. Simply beautiful sounding!

Pros: Great for the price! Doesn't take much to power these

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

great price

Shane R from Spring Creek, NV on 12/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

set these speakers up with a denon 3300 av, and they sound awesome compared to the onkyo av rz 800 i tried at first ,these speakers sound very full ,i got 2 subs backing them up, but dont need them for music,

Pros: rich sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-28F

Crutchfield customer from Glendale, CA on 12/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm no beginner when it comes to speakers, having owned Bose, Infinity, and JBL but these are the best! I use them for music as well as movies as they are part of my surround system - when I played the overture to the 1962 "Mutiny On the Bounty" it was like hearing it for the first time. i could go on praising them further but think I've said enough. D. Moore

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 14 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-28F

Guest from Demotte, IN on 11/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

just bought these speakers an they are amazing... awesome sound and really crisp highs

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-28F

Mike from Mays Landing, NJ on 10/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Very good product

Michael M from Austin, TX on 8/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Klipsch speakers are clean and clear. No problems.

Pros: Good price for stand speakers with good, quality sound.

Cons: A bit large.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-28F

Crutchfield customer from Kirkland, WA on 8/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wonderful sounding floor-standing speakers for the money. Not over whelming bass, and pleasing highs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

Compare the sound