Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
556 102 428 4
Connect ID #
556 102 428 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-240D

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-240D Wall-mountable flat-panel home theater speaker

MFR # 1064180

4.5 out of 5 stars
22 reviews
View this product
Best speaker ever made my Klipsch

Ashwin Conje from Parlin, NJ on 2/25/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent slim line speakers made my Klipsch. I had been longing to find one speaker that fits my 12X 14 room for side rear surrounds and I never had so much real estate and budget to spend for in wall speakers until I found this lately. Size doesn't matter and fhjs sounds way better than a inwall speaker even though it is 3.5 Inch each driver. Overall a powerful set of speaker which can use used as Front main (L+R)or as a surround (LR) or as a Dolby Atmos Height speaker . highly recommended and these speakers are Damn powerful being Klipsch Reference premiere. Buy from Crutchfield and not elsewhere. Excellent packaging and top notched 5/5 customer service.

Pros: Slim Very powerful size doesn't matter

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-240D

Howard from Waterbury, VT on 12/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love 'em. I bought 4 of these to serve as rear surrounds and rear ceiling speakers in my 11.1 channel system. Did not disappoint. They mate very well with my other Klipsch speakers front/center/sub. The directions say not to ceiling mount, and indeed the speaker is meant as a wall mount. But the speaker comes with a small stand which can mount either horizontally or vertically. I used those mounting holes to attach the speaker to a scrap piece of hardwood floor, and then mounted that combo to the ceiling. Very sturdy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

A real upgrade

Brian from Edmond, OK on 9/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I mounted these speakers as rear surrounds, and they sound great!!! They did replace a pair of speakers from a 32" Sony XBR tube tv from 30 years ago. The picture above the speaker is a redbud I have growing in my yard.

Pros: Easy to mount, Great price.

Cons: There was not a template to mount the speakers but I was able to mount them anyway..

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-240D

Brent from Fayette, ME on 3/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Having this speaker as a center speaker is the cats meow. This was used with the two L&R RP140D speakers and put together with the Denon 1700 and I am one happy 73 year old. Thanks for all your help to the sales team and the tech support group. You know the market well and I really don't know why anyone would buy anywhere else seriously! You have done a great job building a team and proving that the service industry is alive and strong

Pros: The sound is great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

very satisfied

Glenn from Las Vegas, NV on 1/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I use 3 of these. 2 as front mains and one as a center channel, while I use two RP140D for the rear speakers, coupled with a R100 SW sub. Perfect for my livingroom. They sound and look great

Pros: Sound great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-240D

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 8/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you're looking for big sounds in a compact design these all for you. The size and design will not over shadow your wall mount TV. But you are given the option to use with the included base mounts to stand it's your option. Either way you want be disappointed.

Pros: Good sounds and great sleek design

Cons: Only one con I have is . I wish Klipsch would have included a template for the RF-240D speakers. It would have made mounting a lot easier.when positioning the screws to hold the speakers on the wall. The center speaker did came with one does.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

loud and clear but has a radio-sh tone

Crutchfield customer from Woodland Hills, CA on 6/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

it looks very good and its loud, the sound is a bit too horn like. I think maybe that's what you get for small thin speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent speaker

Crutchfield customer from Dexter, MI on 3/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I got the RP-240 D for the center channel of my home theater. It sounds really good in that application. Dialogue is crystal clear with great range. Very impressive.

Pros: Great center channel speaker.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-240D

Crutchfield customer from Lindenhurst, IL on 2/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Small speakers with big sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent speakers

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have been using these speakers (4) in our living room for six months. I'm not sure why folks rate things just after buying them, but I don't. OK: They are great! Excellent sound and really excellent quality. Paired with a Klipsch center speaker they make our living room rock (music, movies, etc.)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Fort Mohave, AZ on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are amazing. The sounds they produce is of theater quality.

Pros: Easy to mount. Sound amazing.

Cons: None that I have found so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A very fair compromise

Crutchfield customer from Chelsea, VT on 11/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers put out a great sound for their footprint. While there is some trade off in terms of range, I find these speakers do the job.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Happy with my choice

Crutchfield customer from Altamonte Spg, FL on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A little bass heavy, but otherwise a great choice for a slim, stylish center channel speaker.

Pros: Slim, Stylish, Great Sound

Cons: Had to lower the bass -2db using EQ.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Not too terribly impressed

Crutchfield customer from Brandon, MS on 11/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

While they are compact, and decent looking, they have little presence. In a R/L/center setup, with the RP 640 as the center speaker, they do okay watching a movie. I am using an 8 inch Sunfire sub and two Kef in ceiling speakers for the surround, so, that setup works fine for movies. But when listening to music, the RP 240's don't live up to expectations (from Klipsch), and I cannot give them a high overall rating for that reason.

Pros: Okay in a movie setting, as most of the work is done by the bigger RP 640 in my setup.

Cons: No presence, not very warm sounding, and would be dismal without a good subwoofer. And then speaker covers, OMG, Klipsch, what were you thinking...

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-240D

Crutchfield customer from Montgomery, TX on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Curtchfield and Klipsch said these speaker were not a ceiling mount. I used these speaker from the ceiling to replace exiting speakers. They work great and have wonderful sound. I modified/ungraded the speaker mounts which hang them down from the ceilingI bought and they work great. These speakers compliment my other Klipsch speakers very well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Top-Notch Surround Speaker

Dave from Helena, MT on 3/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought 4 of these to serve as my surround and back speakers. I couldn't be happier. These go nicely with my RP-440D SB speakers (one on each side of my movie screen, mounted vertically). The low profile, wall mount design of the RP-240D is perfect for my home theater. And the sound reproduction is fantastic. Klisch really does stand out. Maybe that's why Crutchfield has 'em! For home electronics I check here first. Great customer service, fast affordable shipping, and competative pricing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wonderful Sound

Austin from Erie, CO on 2/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound. Super easy install. I have one RP-240D for each side of my 65" LED TV and a RP-460D as my center under the TV. Looks absolutely beautiful.

Pros: sound quality style easy install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Replacing Boise 4ohm to 8ohm

Crutchfield customer from Lakeside, CA on 9/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Total pleasure: Replaced a ten year Boise life style system with the guidance from technical I went with the 240D front and rear with a larger center speaker 62ii and Klipsch 10 inch sub woofer powered by Marantz receiver. This surpasses my old system in muscle and quality. Thanks Crutchfield!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Awsome speakers!!

Scott from West Sacramento, CA on 8/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First, let me say I'm a HUGE Klipsch fan so take this review with a grain of salt.... I have 3 of these. In my system they are the Left, Right and Center channels. I combined them with 2 similar sized Polk speakers for the rear channel. (sorry Klipsch but I had to have white speakers for that wall to keep the boss happy) They balance perfectly. I wanted something that would respond well at lower volume levels with no loss of that crisp Klipsch sound I love. I already had an Infinty powered sub and the Sony 1030 receiver. Plenty of power and bass already there. So, after speaking with the online support tech, I took his advice and got the RP-240D's. These speakers are awesome once they have been played a while. Don't judge the sound until you have some hours on them. My initial response was mild disappointment but it wasn't long before I started to hear the detail I was used to from the big towers. Just be patient and give them time to break in. Now, I have clean, clear dialogue from the center unit and the surround is fantastic! No loss of depth of field! I can hear the hecklers in the stadium and helicopters still zoom through the room! Get these. They produce awesome sound. (Duh...they're Klipsch). Just don't expect then to blow out the windows like the R8 towers. They're awesome for what they were designed to do; small size, big sound.

Pros: Sound quality. Easy to mount. New grill cloth is very cool design. Glass base is very classy looking.

Cons: Takes some time to break-in. No white version available.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-240D

Crutchfield customer from Maggie Valley, NC on 4/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent quality sound at an affordable price. Beats my old Sony home theater system in a box hands down.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-240D

Crutchfield customer from Egg Hbr Twp, NJ on 1/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

As far as a "add on speaker" to a Television, they sound fine. I would have liked to have heard them before purchasing, but that was not possible. I didn't find anything that would fit in with our set up and that had better frequency response. We only use our home theater system when we watch DVD's and Movies and the new TV's speakers fire downward and could not be heard. The speakers look good and mounting them on the wall was easy. If we had the space I would have purchased the MartinLogan Motion® Vision X

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 7 found this helpful

Just what I was looking for

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 1/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was looking for flat speakers that could be mounted on the wall next to my TV and provide good sound for music, TV, and movies when paired with a powered sub and some Polk OWM5 surrounds. The RP240D speakers are impressively well made and super easy to set up. They can put out an impressive volume and have a very good dynamic range for their size. The speakers are replacing a Polk soundbar that wasn't doing a good job separating left, right, and center. The sound is not as rich as my old Polk RTiA3 bookshelf speakers. But I wasn't expecting that out of flat panel speakers. The Klipsch RP240D speakers delivered just what I was looking for.

Pros: size, quality, easy setup, sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Compare the sound