Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
138 820 157 4
Connect ID #
138 820 157 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

PSB Alpha T20

PSB Alpha T20 Floor standing speakers (Black Ash)

MFR # Alpha T20BLKASH

5.0 out of 5 stars
18 reviews
View this product
PSB Alpha T20

DEV from ALTAMONT, IL on 1/18/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These sound fantastic I have to admit I had never heard of psb speakers the rep (Rusty) at Crutchfield told me about them after I tried to explain what I was looking for I am glad I listened to him the best way to describe the sound is super tight

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Monster Sound for Their Size

Mark from Rowlett, TX on 1/16/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had my eye on these for couple years now after doing some research and found these to not only fit best dimension-wise in my surround set-up, but the reviews and ratings and Crutchfield audio show videos were very positive. These are well-balanced, well-designed and constructed speakers I am using as surround speakers, and I couldn't be happier with them.The clarity, range, and bass are exceptional for the price, not to mention the warranty. UPS did pierced the side of one of them and smashed it's grill cover, but the sound plays on and is awesome as I had hoped. As usual, Crutchfield has already moved ahead on getting me a new replacement with their awesome customer service!

Pros: Exceptional build,sound, and value.

Cons: Optional feet are mentioned, but I only received the round rubber ones. May have to reach out to Crutchfield on this.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PSB Alpha T20

Thomas from Healdsburg, CA on 5/26/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound and form factor for a small space.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great little speakers!

Roger from Turner, OR on 2/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought the Alpha T20's for our great room after coming to the realization that our 16' x 30' room is just too big for a pair of bookshelf speakers. I was really hoping to be able to find towers that had enough low end that I wouldn't need a subwoofer, and after reading numerous reviews, I decided to try the Alpha T20's. Overall, these are really great sounding speakers. Low end bass is really impressive for such a small speaker with only 5" drivers. Highs are pleasing and never harsh at reasonable listening levels. Mids are clear and well defined. Where I think the speakers lack, is in the upper mid and treble resolution of fine details. I notice that I don't hear instruments that are way back in the mix, or things like reverb tails as much as I would like. I guess that's to be expected of speakers in this price range. Overall, I would say that these are very "nice"sounding speakers, in that they have a more laid back presentation. These aren't a forward sounding speaker, compared to speakers like the Klipsch, which I find too forward sounding. Tonal balance is very even and smooth which is just fine for the type of music (smooth jazz) that I mostly listen to. Highly recommended at this price range.

Pros: Very even and balanced sound with a top end that is very smooth and never sounds harsh. I also found them to be great sounding speakers for home theatre use. I think it would be hard to find towers as nice as the Alpha T20's in this price range.

Cons: While I appreciate that these speakers reach quite low, the lowest bass region isn't as punchy and focused as I would like. And while the top end is very pleasant and smooth the T20's are a bit lacking in their ability to resolve fine details within the music.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

A Good Buy

Oliver from West Linn, OR on 2/1/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great for the price. Surprisingly good bass. The sound gets a tiny bit mushy with loud complex material but these speakers do the job well. I'm glad I bought them.

Pros: Price!!!

Cons: No complaints for the sizeof the speakers and their price.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

PSB Alpha T20

John from Windsor, CO on 1/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PSB Alpha T20

Dan from Medina, NY on 10/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crisp clean sound exceeded my expectations

Pros: Sound quality look good

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Outstanding musicality

Crutchfield customer from Center Harbor, NH on 11/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So much more musical than they have any right to be. Named by 'The Absolute sound' as budget hifi steal for good reason. Despite suboptimal placement in my study sound system they make me smile every time I listen to them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

PSB Alpha T20

Crutchfield customer from Greenwood, SC on 11/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Outstanding sound quality in my dedicated 2 channel system. Deep bass and excellent treble. Excellent build quality.

Pros: Outstanding sound quality.

Cons: I don't like magnetic speaker grills.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Wow!

Ryan from Richmond, VA on 7/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow. Previously had a pair of PSB Alpha B bookshelf speakers, driven by a NAD C 325BEE integrated amp, and a PSB mini sub. I hooked these Alpha towers up and the subwoofer is headed to the attic. These speakers kick a**. With the volume on my NAD at 11 o'clock my wife is considering a hotel room. All jokes aside, these speakers are gorgeously accurate, especially with Apple Music lossless running through a DAC. Highly recommend these speakers as you will not get better fidelity for the price.

Pros: Incredible accuracy.

Cons: A little boomy if too close to the wall.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

PSB Alpha T20 is a good choice

Crutchfield customer from Ravenna, OH on 5/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Solid build quality and clear crisp sound with a smooth bass response. Small footprint and diminutive stance ad a classy elegance to my audio set up. The walnut grain version goes nicely with bamboo flooring and wood tone furniture. I returned a pair tower speakers at similar price point from another brand ( begins with K and has in 'sh' in its name ) and a different online vendor because the build/ materials quality was an issue. Shopping for a replacement I found these on Crutchfield's website. After doing some research I decided to give them a try. Very glad I did. Miles Davis sounds great today.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Surprising Sound

Vincent from North Miami, FL on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

TLDR: Good clarity, 33hz to 20khz in my room, good balance and detail/texture, middle ground on sensitivity. Good looking for the price. Only downside would be if you sit on high chairs like bar stools, since they are on the short side. And the actual rear port tube seems cheap material. Review: For the 2 years I have been deep into audio, so yes I am a fairly new "audiophile". But these are the 5th pair of speakers I've had in my listening room now and have to say the ones I like most. I went thru jbl bookshelves to PSB Stratus Mini bookshelves, polk t50, klipsch heresy 1.5 and now the PSB T20s. I received them missing the feet, but Crutchfield was quick to ship out the missing pieces at no charge of course. VS Stratus mini The tweeter is very similar to the bookshelves but more full range and require less power. Bookshelves were also a couple thousand when released. So a fraction of the price you get similar sound with more extension. Build was better on the bookshelves. The T20 are little more forward and detailed than the polk, but the polk radiated sound differently. Guessing passive radiators vs ported enclosure. The t20 do go a little lower though and are a little harder to drive. VS the Heresy 1.5, huge difference. Heresy is more sensitive, dynamic, forward, and larger. BUT the PSB have better dispersion so they sound steady in different parts of the room, easier to position. Bass extends lower, has more quantity. Better balance lows,mids,highs.

Pros: Good Full range sound. Good looking for cost. Doesn't take up much space

Cons: Needs some space from wall for best sound.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great Value

Manni from Somerville, MA on 2/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought these to replace my 18-ish-year-old psb Image 5Ts, because one of the 5T's tweeters died. The psb Imagine X1T is probably the most direct replacement for the Image 5T. But at $1000/pair, they cost about twice as much as I paid for my Image 5Ts (I know, 18 years ago, but still). I also use my speakers for TV/movies way more than music, so do I need to spend a lot on speakers so that I can hear dialogue / things go boom? Finally, the Alphas just underwent a redesign, so maybe today's Alpha is close enough to what the Image could be 18 years ago. I am perfectly happy with and maybe even pleasantly surprised by my Alpha T20s. I'm not entirely sure the bass is there that I was getting out of my Image 5Ts, but playing the movie Tron Legacy certainly impressed! The lower strings (cello? bass?) on The Shawshank Redemption (the part near the start where the prison is introduced in a flyover) weren't as prominent/foreboding as I'd remembered from my 5Ts. Although I also recall there's supposed to be a break-in period for speakers, and this was definitely early on. The thing that really turned me around was listening to Rachael Price's rendition of "Whisper Not". Her voice was clear, the piano was clear, and the bass was clear. Now I find myself wanting to listen to these speakers all the time. In fact, I'm listening to music on my Alpha T20s as I type this review! Other notes: nothing-special Denon receiver; Blue Jeans speaker cable; tiny 8' x 9' li

Pros: Cute! Smaller than the Image 5Ts they replace; great for space-constrained apartments. psb speakers have a reputation for being neutral and musical. I'm no audiophile, but I think it's true.

Cons: Maybe not the deepest/fullest bass response (the laws of physics and all) but points for being clear and not muddy.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent value.

scott from GOSHEN, CT on 1/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I think this is a fine set of speakers for the money. Frankly I was willing to spend double or triple what this pair cost, as that would be a figure more in line with what I spent on my amp. However I spend a lot of time using headphones so decided to temper my speaker budget a bit since the speakers quite often just sit there unused. Fit and finish are superb. Sound quality seems natural with pleasing all around response. At significantly less than $1000 I can't see what more anyone might expect from a set of floor speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Sounding Towers

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, AL on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I retired an old set of Realistic Optimus T-110 speakers and wanted to upgrade my 2 channel sound experience. I listened to several different types of book shelves, towers, sealed, ported, etc. After purchasing the Cambridge AXR85 and understanding its tonal characteristics I decided to land on the PSB T20 due to their laid back presentation and smooth characteristics. I have been using the dragon fly red with my Iphone11 and have been absolutely impressed by the way these speakers sound. I am one of those listeners who can easily be annoyed by a strong in your face presentation. These speakers just simply sound good even at low levels. Bass is actually quite strong so don't cram them in a corner or up against the wall. They need to breath. Vocals are smooth and highs are crisp, but not overwhelming. I am very happy for the choice and recommend them as a great choice for 2 channel listening.

Pros: Very nice sound stage. Great tonal characteristics.... not overly warm or bright. Nice low end punch, but be sure not to place them too close to the wall or a corner... They will become a little boomy.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Excellent Speakers!

Crutchfield customer from Evansville, IN on 6/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you're looking for organic, natural-sounding speakers, these are the speakers for you. The high frequencies are crisp. The mids are full, warm, and well-balanced, and when paired with a subwoofer, the lows are punchy, but not overpowering. I'm a very old-fashioned, analogue kind of guy. I don't stream music or listen to spotify/pandora/itunes, etc. My music collection is strictly limited to c.d.s and vinyl. When I called Crutchfield and explained to Drew what I was looking for in a speaker system, he directed me toward these, and I'm sure glad he did. If you're the kind of person that wants a more natural, uncompressed listening experience, I don't think you can go wrong with these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Clear and precise sound!

Ryan from Dublin, OH on 3/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Phenomenal speakers for the price and size. Currently, mine are hooked up to an integrated amplifier (Yamaha A-S701) with a Dragonfly Red preamp. The bass is strong out of these two. The speakers are perfect for a 2 channel system in a medium or small sized room (or I'm sure they'd work great as front speakers in a surround sound setup). Garrett was super helpful to work with and I will continue to come back to Crutchfield for their customer service, expertise, and quality products.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

PSB Alpha T20

Crutchfield customer from Markesan, WI on 11/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good towers for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Compare the sound