Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
658 704 038 4
Connect ID #
658 704 038 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Sound Ordnance™ P-52CB

Sound Ordnance™ P-52CB P-Series 5-1/4" component speaker system

MFR # P-52CB

4.5 out of 5 stars
72 reviews
View this product
Excellent for the price

Kelly from SEATTLE, WA on 1/29/2024

2008 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed in a 2008 Ford F-350 Super Duty. What an amazing difference from what was installed before. Nice, crisp highs and great sounding low end. If you need a great sounding component system on a budget, don't hesitate to pick a set of the S/O's up.

Pros: Excellent price to performance. All accessories for multiple installation options are included in the box.

Cons: You might need to get creative with installation of the tweeters and crossovers, depending on your vehicle (Should not be a dealbreaker).

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Budget Speaker

Matthew from Martinez, CA on 12/25/2023

2009 Mazda 5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed these in a 2001 Chevy Tahoe for my uncle and very pleased. Installed with Soundskins Sound Deadening, and Stinger Fastrings foam baffles. They definitely produce some great sound for the price.

Pros: Great bass

Cons: Highs are almost a bit much for me at least, but that's what EQ is for.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Chad from Warsaw, IN on 3/20/2023

1999 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quick delivery from The Crutch. These were just what I needed for the reconditioning of my 23 year old Bimmer. Sounds great. Complete kit to install almost every application.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great quality and price

Stephen from MIDLOTHIAN, VA on 11/16/2022

1997 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very pleased with sound quality. Would purchase again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Ilonka from Wayne, PA on 10/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very pleased with this product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound quality.

Crutchfield customer from Warner Robins, GA on 11/2/2021

2000 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound at a great price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product fit issues

Crutchfield customer from Hobe Sound, FL on 10/12/2021

2000 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speaker. Only issue was with bolt hole alignment. Had to modify speaker bolt hole "ears" to elongate holes to fit 2000 Z3 roadster passenger side kick panel.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Crutchfield customer from Crystal Lake Illinois on 9/29/2021

2009 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Song is no better than a factory speaker and I had them up to a Kenwood radio and they already went bad after like 2 months never would buy this product again have to buy Kenwood products from now on I should have known better

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/5/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him return these speakers for an exchange or refund.

9 of 9 found this helpful

I am very impressed and now a component speaker advocate

Will from Cleveland on 9/17/2021

2013 Ford E Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I first installed the Sound Ordnance P-57B in front of my Ford E-150 and then decided to move them to the rear on the van. Installing the Sound Ordinance component speakers as the replacements,I was able to do a side by side comparison between the two models. The component setup sounds phenomenal and significantly more robust than their 5x7 with the tweeter behind the door panel grate. If you're considering component speakers, just do it! They're great!

Pros: Sound quality Separate sound field for the tweeters/highs The value you get in this model

Cons: The wires included for the different component connections are all a bit short and it made for a tricky install. The holes in the housing are excessively narrow and make it difficult to fit most useful size screwdrivers through them. I had to remove the cover to connect the wires and replaced it before stashingn in the door. Manageable but annoying

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Henrick from LANGLEY, WA on 9/17/2021

2010 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These sound great! I was a little worried because they were the cheapest 5.25" component speakers on Crutchfield, but I'm super happy with them. Could you get better speakers? Probably. But for the money these are hard to beat. Highs are detailed but not harsh, mids aren't amazing but not bad either. Came with everything you could possibly need for installing.

Pros: Value for money Smooth highs Great installation kit

Cons: Mids didn't blow me away

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 7/25/2021

2003 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Solid units for the price. Nice sound.

Pros: Solid units for the price.

Cons: Can't handle a lot of bass

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Crutchfield customer from Buckeye, AZ on 7/22/2021

2000 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound in my little truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Crutchfield customer from Norwalk, CA on 7/16/2021

2002 Honda Civic DX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are great for a good price installed them in my 2002 Honda Civic they were easy to install and sound amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I'm impressed!

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood, CA on 7/8/2021

2002 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Definitely an improvement over factory speakers. Was able to adapt the oem bracket to accept the new tweeters, plus added sound deadening to the door panels, getting nice clear highs and good bass.

Pros: Sounds as good as speakers I've spent twice as much for.

Cons: Lack of included (specific) instructions by the manufacturer regarding their crossover. I've installed a passive crossover before, so had an idea of how to set it up.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Miami

Jorge from Miami on 6/29/2021

1994 GMC Sonoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love the system and it fit well and it sounds great in my vehicle thank you very much

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Crutchfield customer from Kailua Kona, HI on 3/14/2021

2004 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I called for instructions on installation and to help sort out the box full of parts. Very helpful service, I didn't install yet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Michael from Orlando, FL on 12/30/2020

2003 Buick Park Avenue

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you are looking for an economical replacement for the factory speakers these will work. They did not sound any better than the existing 17-year-old speakers. Spend more money for really better sound. 2003 Buick Park Ave with 9 speaker system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

G CAR

Crutchfield customer from Fairless Hls, PA on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great company to work with lots of knowledge on their products. Also very helpful with costs and the installation of equipment over all awesome people

Pros: Easy to read directions and easy to follow diagrams of each vehicle

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Crutchfield customer from Moundville, AL on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great sound easy to set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Crutchfield customer from Battle Ground, WA on 11/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Havent installed yet. Items arrived neatly packaged.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

WICKED!!!!

Crutchfield customer from Forsyth, MO on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Probably the BEST small speaker system I have ever owned. I had an old base tube (from wally world) and I put a divider and a new ends, I mounted the speakers in each end, the tweeters on the dash and my 81 CJ7 sounds like it has a 1000 watt system!!!! I had the same system in my 93 Astro van and it rocked with NO distortion!!!

Pros: Small speakers put out a lot of sound.

Cons: None that I can think of !!!!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome!

Crutchfield customer from Youngstown, OH on 4/7/2020

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've bought Sound Ordnance in the past but these are my first component type speakers. WOW! Super impressed! The tweeters really give the music an extra depth and the woofers sound amazing. Sound Ordnance knows what they're doing!

Pros: Easy install. Amazing sound!

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Very impressed. Glad I made this choice.

Jeff from Muskegon, MI on 3/29/2020

1997 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Finally got around to upgrading the sound system in my 1997 BMW Z3. As far as direct replacements go, there are pretty limited choices. I read all of the reviews for the speakers I was considering and one especially caught my eye regarding the Sound Ordnance. One reviewer indicated they worked in the rear of his vehicle. I happen to have the dreaded dual 5 1/4" subs in my vehicle and was trying to figure out my options to replace it. I didn't want to cut up my vehicle just for speakers. I decided I would order a pair and if they didn't fit the rears I would just put them in the kick panels. INSTALLATION I had the sub box out and ready to go when they arrived. I was very pleased to find that they fit into the sub box with very minor modification. The tabs aren't long enough to be a perfect fit but if you simply extend the open are of the tabs, it's a perfect fit. Seeing this, I ordered a second pair for my kick panels which require the same modification as the rear sub box. The tweeters take a bit more work to install. I ended up cutting one of the plastic mounts down that came with the kit using the dremel. I hot glued that mount into the existing tweeter area. By cutting the mount down, I was able to fit the tweeters in without cutting any of the vehicle trim. Xovers are a bit bulky but I was able to mount them where the old amp was. SOUND Leaps and bounds above my HK system. Very pleased once I had it set up. SET-UP Alpine CDE

Pros: Drop in (somewhat) replacement for stock speakers Didn't have to modify/cut my car up to make them work Surprising amount of bass for 5 1/4" speakers Once tuned, they provide loud, crisp mids and highs Great bang for the buck

Cons: Minor modifications required but really simple to do Highs are a bit sharp out of the box but easily corrected Crossovers are bulky

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Sound OrdnanceT P-52CB in BMW Z3

Crutchfield customer from Eliot , ME on 3/29/2020

1999 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers sound great but were not an exact fit replacement. I had to modify the mounting holes a bit to install them. Connectors were a match

Pros: Very good sound!

Cons: NOT an exact replacement. Had to modify existing holes.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Bang for the Buck.

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 3/3/2020

2001 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are great. My only dislike is how big the splitter is for the woofer and tweeter. It's a pretty chunky piece of plastic to split the signal to the woofer and tweeter. I was able to mount it out of the way, so no actual problems. Plus, they were on sale and I really dig the sound. They could be better, but I would have to spend quite a bit more to get that. Overall: great bang for the buck, make sure you have the space for the splitter.

Pros: Good sound for not too much trouble. An upgrade from stock and the broken ones already in there. Works with my aftermarket stereo, no amp needed.

Cons: Big piece of plastic for the splitter (the transfer box that splits the signal between woofer and tweeter).

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Good sound for the $

Crutchfield customer from New Salisbury, IN on 2/18/2020

2001 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good sounding speakers ..especially for the price ..they didn't fit in my BMW Z3 as they were supposed to, but with a little modifications they were good to go. There wasn't instructions included how to use the crossovers so I wasn't able to hook them up

Pros: great price Sound is good

Cons: didn't fit as advertised didn't have instructions for the crossover installation ..didn't put them in because of this

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Hard to beat for the money.

Crutchfield customer from Kennedy, MN on 1/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are hard to beat for the money. We wanted to upgrade the old factory cassette system without breaking the bank. I ended up installing them in our 1997 BMW Z3 and were a pretty good fit. I had to cut the end of the hole out on the mounting tab to turn them into a slotted tab, as the screw placement in the car was slightly further than what the mounting tab holes were punched. Easy to do with a wire cutter, and I can't really call this a "con" for the product. They sound great and the crossovers ended up getting mounted in the trunk (pass side) where the OEM radio amplifier was. Since the radio speaker lines run back there, and then another set of leads back up to the front. I made a small plate to mount them, and worked out perfect.

Pros: Nice system without breaking the bank.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sound Ordinance is the real deal.

Asa from PHOENIX, AZ on 12/12/2019

1993 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Skeptic turned believer! I've always stuck to Harmon lines, but deceived to put these into a 1998 BMW Convertible in place of the 20 year old paper HKs and I couldn't be more impressed. I purchased because they fit perfectly as a swap to the original speakers in the rear and I didn't want to spend too much because I'm planning on flipping the car. These fit the bill and completely surpassed my expectations! The only down side is the large crossover units, but I had room to stash those in the panels...so it was a non-issue in my particular install. Brilliant and smooth highs and great mid/low tones for a 5.25" driver. No real complaints here, I just wish I would have tried them sooner!

Pros: Excellent price point and sound performance beyond expectations.

Cons: External crossovers are a little bulky, but definitely make it all sing.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Crutchfield customer from Hogansville, GA on 11/18/2019

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

easy install, great sound,great prices. my new speakers open up an all new dimension to my music.

Pros: quick shipping,easy install

Cons: cannot think of any down side

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 9/23/2019

2003 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Got these to replace my OEM speakers. Nice upgrade over OEM, running off deck power (12w RMS, 50w Peak).

Pros: Price, improvement over OEM speakers, responds well to deck power, decent build quality for the price

Cons: Highs are a bit sharp - ended up turning down the high frequencies 25%, packaging is very cheap but does the job, crossover is a bit hard to install wiring due to screw holes being too small for standard screwdriver

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

WOW

Steve from Milwaukee, WI on 8/17/2019

2005 Buick Century

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It was time to upgrade the GM factory speakers that sound flat with tons of distortion so I opted for the SO component set in the front doors before I replaced my aftermarket head unit with a newer one because the stereo sounded terrible. WOW this sounds spectacular with nice tight bass and crisp highs compared to the GM speakers in the doors and I haven't replaced rears yet, I'm so impressed and glad that I didn't just get another head unit. This one simple change that is very economical that made my bad stereo sound so good that I drove for an hour around town just listening to the very nice difference on various styles of music. The best car stereo improvement ever and I hope that they hold up in the long hall.

Pros: Sound spectacular over the factory GM speakers.

Cons: None for me.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

MILFORD

Kenneth from MILFORD on 7/15/2019

1996 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great sound compair to orginal spakers. They fit the BMW Z3 with little effort. You would not know that I change the speakers until I turn on the radio. The 5.25 speakers just extend screw slots all the way out and the fit purfic. On the tweeters remove old ones from the plastic holder and cut top guard and file or sand opening to fit smallest tweeter adapter and remount.

Pros: sound great able to fit without much trouble.

Cons: Sound O should of had more instruction on all the adapters, wires and foam pads

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Crutchfield customer from Palm Harbor, FL on 5/7/2019

1998 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great for the money!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 4/18/2019

2004 Buick Regal

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds pretty good, installed in an 04 buick. Powered by a Rockford Fosgate R400-4D I recommend testing the sound with them hooked up before you tuck the crossover away because after I buttoned everything up I had to take it apart again to do swap the crossover to -3db for the tweeters. In my particular install, tweeters were very harsh around 3k-5k but with the crossover turned down and some EQ I solved the problem. Likely due to my car's acoustics since these components use silk tweeters.

Pros: Great mids

Cons: Crossover is a thicc boi

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 4/9/2019

1995 BMW 7 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My bmw brings 2 little speakers on the front doors and this only brought One

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Jose from San Antonio, TX on 11/25/2018

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good sound.

Pros: Good sound.

Cons: None as of now

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

97 Toyota FZJ80

Richard from Langhorne, PA on 7/30/2018

1997 Toyota Land Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The speakers sound great with SO amplifier that I installed on my 97 Land Cruiser. I was able to find an opening on the front door to mount the tweeter. The speakers sound great for the price.

Pros: Good Sound Quality

Cons: Need better directions

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Crutchfield customer from Oak Park, IL on 7/20/2018

2003 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound, very glad with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound, excellent price

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 5/24/2018

1996 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound for the price. I bought these for my 1996 BMW Z3. I read some reviews that said they do not fit in the kick panel, but with a little work, they fit fine. Just clip the screw holes on the SO speakers and they will bolt right in. Also, with a little modification, you can mount the tweeters in the original BMW carriers in the door. Just cut out the BMW carrier plastic grill, sand a little, slide the SO adapter in and tighten with the included plastic nut. Sorry, unable to upload photos.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

You get what you pay for.

Guy from Toms River, NJ on 3/28/2018

1998 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Lots of parts but no instructions. Speakers did not fit in factory location as advertised . Had to drill new mounting holes. Sound quality is ok if you enjoy crisp mids and highs. Lows are nonexistent! Very disappointed with these speakers. I guess that you get what you pay for.

Pros: Good mids and highs

Cons: Absolutely no lows

Crutchfield response on

2 of 10 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Crutchfield customer from Hurricane, WV on 3/20/2018

2002 MINI Cooper

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Still on installation These speakers have a lot of parts with few instructions and if you add the crossover it is not a sealed unit and my speakers are in the door and the crossover has to be located inside. Mini Cooper wiring is a nightmare I would recommend tweeter and woofer built together just to make it easier on a Mini

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/20/2018
Whenever you need help with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 6 found this helpful

Great product!

Cliff from Eagle Mountain, UT on 3/4/2018

2003 Infiniti I35

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great value for the money, great support from the team!!

Pros: High quality for the money

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound quality, Great price

Donald from Mountaintop, PA on 2/25/2018

2006 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have had these speakers for about 6 months now. They are paired with a Kenwood head unit in an 06 Jeep wrangler, no amplifier, without a subwoofer and sound great. I am able to crank them up loud enough to overcome wind noise with my top down with little to no distortion, though the pods in the top have a bit of reverberation at lower frequencies. I plan to dynamat to solve this problem in the future. Also, after adding a subwoofer and using the internal crossover filters in my head unit, I can now max my volume with no distortion whatsoever. For the price, this product is amazing and I would recommend to anyone. Also, I am a MECP certified installer at a local big box store so this review carries a bit of weight.

Pros: -Sound amazing, better than some products that cost twice as much -Comes with a variety of tweeter mounting options

Cons: -large crossover is difficult to find a place for

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Crutchfield customer from Lavon, TX on 2/22/2018

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are good speakers. Very good sound quality with good bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Crutchfield customer from Tempe, AZ on 12/3/2017

1996 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This product fits right into the origional speaker locations in my pristine 1996 bmw z3. After listening to blown 1996 speakers for a year they sound like a live music situation. I ran into a glitch, and Crutchfield went way above and beyond giving me the support I so desperately needed. I highly recomend this product to inexpensively upgrade the sound quality on a bmw z3.

Pros: Great upgrade at a very reasonable cost.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good sound over stock

RW from Yorba Linda, CA on 10/20/2017

1997 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a good quality product, installed in my soundbar of my 97 Jeep Tj. Sound quality is good, base is adequate (was hoping a little more). The woofer speaker size was about 1/2" under size, but still made it work. Good for the price. I also have two 8" sub-woofers by SO and a 4 Channel Amp, with Kicker Dash mount speakers. Built my own custom sub box. Also filled sound bar and sub box with poly and really enhanced the overall sound.

Pros: Small, compact, Base is adequate, easy install

Cons: A little lighter on base than expected

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Able to listen to the radio again

Don from Alexandria, VA on 10/17/2017

1998 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound good and very reasonable price. Installed in a 1998 BMW Z3 roadster.

Pros: Work fine. sound better than original ones.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great!

Jerry from Paragould, AR on 8/16/2017

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm very impressed. Great buy

Pros: Excellent sound quality

Cons: A little harder to install but I knew that up front. Mounted tweeters in the door panel.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Crutchfield customer from Fond Du Lac, WI on 7/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Put these in the door's of my R32. Tweeters mounted about 15" above the woofer. Super impressed for size of woofers. Running through a 4 channel amp at 50rms per channel. Would definitely recommend. Ps. Hated all the chrome mounts, so ended up sanding the flush mount down with 600 grit sandpaper and finished with 1000 to a semi gloss black from the chrome. Turned out quite nicely and matches stock grilles and bezels now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Decent sound for the price.

Erwin from San Ramon, CA on 7/16/2017

2000 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Kick panel speakers don't actually fit without slight modification. Sound is good for the price but not stellar. Tweeters are sweet but a challenge to install. Overall, a lot better than the stock speakers but if you want better quality sound I think you have other options but may cost more.

Pros: Sweet sounding tweeters.

Cons: Kick panel speaker mounting holes didn't align to existing holes which was advertised.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Sean from Pennsylvania on 7/14/2017

1999 Ford Taurus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So I got my sound ordnance 5.25 component speakers. Put them in in about a hour. I used a 1.5 inch holesaw to put the tweeters in my door cover for the factory mach stereo tweeters. Not a bad customization. The woofers weren't bad with the 6x8 to 5.25 plates. I didn't know what to expect with the sound for being so cheap. But they pair very well with my 10 inch mix subs. The highs are crisp and far better than the factory 6x8's. Great set for the price.

Pros: Great sound for the price.

Cons: Don't have any cons.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Does Not Fit BMW Z3.

Tigerdog from Sunny Southern California on 7/14/2017

1999 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield lists the Sound Ordnance P-52CB as the *only* replacement for the BMW Z3 front speakers. The fitment guide shows a straight green indicator for the woofer. I'm here to tell you, it ain't so. There are multiple problems but the biggest is, the speaker doesn't fit! The standard speaker mounting holes have a 146mm diameter mounting circle. The maximum on the P52CB is 142mm. This is enough offset that no amount of swearing and fiddling will allow a drop-in replacement. Your options are to cut the mounting tabs on the speakers or drill more holes in the car. Sure, you could do this, but then you'd find the next problem. The speakers' drop in diameter is smaller than the stock speaker, leaving an air gap around edge. You either have to manufacture some sort of gasket or fill the gap with some kind of sealant. If I wanted to do this, I could have done so with any number of 5 1/4" speakers. Maybe, in other applications, they would sound good. The crossover components appear to be more robust and more thoroughly designed than I expeced at this price point. Other reviews have been positive. I cannot attest to that. One star, Crutchfield, for false hopes and wasted time.

Pros: n/a

Cons: Fitment guide lists incorrect information. Wasted Time. Wasted Effort.

Crutchfield response on 7/17/2017
We're sorry to hear about the fit issues with the Sound Ordnance speakers. One of our Customer Service stars set up a return for this customer, in addition to providing them with a $25 merchandise certificate should they choose to give Crutchfield another try. In the meantime, we're sending this information to our Vehicle Research masterminds to see if they can find what went wrong here.

15 of 17 found this helpful

Decent mids and highs, distorted and minimal lows

William from Osceola, IN on 6/27/2017

1999 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the first time I've been disappointed in a Crutchfield recommendation. The speakers seem to have decent build quality, but there is no functional low end at all. In fact, they distort at just about any low end signal, even at very reasonable volumes. At first I had driven them directly from a Pioneer head unit, but then purchased an amp to try to improve the sound. It helped a bit, but there was still tremendous distortion. I then tried installing some of the foam speaker baffles, thinking that perhaps the mounting in the doors was causing vibrations. This actually did help to muffle the distortion, and I found that I could flatten the EQ settings quite a bit. But still, low end was very subdued, and what did exist was still prone to distortion. The factory speakers had much better lows. I may end up putting them back in.

Pros: Seem to be reasonable build quality. Affordable.

Cons: Very disappointed in the sound. No low end, and what is there, is very distorted. Even when running through an amplifier.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Tremendous UPgrade

Ram from Wylie, TX on 5/24/2017

2000 Isuzu Rodeo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had to make some modifications to the door panel for the 5.25's to fit as they're smaller than the stock speaker brackets. Other than that, these are a tremendous upgrade over factory speakers in 18yr old Isuzu Rodeo, even with the stock radio. Can't wait to upgrade that.

Pros: Sound great. Tweeters and woofers complete each other very nicely. Loved the price also!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Crutchfield customer from Painesville, OH on 5/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good sound at a great price. The adjustable crossover offers highs that I've never heard in a car. The installation was as expected and the instructions provided were spot on. The phone support was excellent for the ever inevitable question not covered in the instructions. I found my source for all my car audio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Kendra from North Wilkesboro, NC on 5/4/2017

2003 MINI Cooper

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality Affordability

Frank from Tucson Az on 4/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This speaker system exceeded expectations in quality of build, ease of install, and quality of sound. I put them in my RV as an add on sound system, mounted them in the ceiling and they've greatly enhanced the audio experience in the coach. Great choice for many applications, especially when factoring the affordability.

Pros: Quality build and sound

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great highs. No lows

Preston from Richmond, VA on 4/22/2017

2002 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing high end from the tweeter but the woofer had less thump then the factory speakers I replaced. I have a 12in sound ordinance in the back of my 02 escape so I wasn't looking for more BOOM but sometimes I cut the sub off with a bypass switch I wired in when I don't want my windows shaking. What I got though was a complete absence of any lows

Pros: Great high end to balance my system

Cons: Bad install instructions / lack of instructions, didn't come with the right screws and had to go get some, no lows at all.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Crutchfield customer from Poughkeepsie ny on 4/15/2017

2006 Acura 3.2TL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not bad for the money. Hooked up to original amp in 06 tl. When I bought the car someone had the wiring all messed up and the radio wouldn't even play. I contacted Crutchfield and they helped me fix the stupid setup someone had going on before I even bought the speakers from them! Three thumbs up for that. The speakers took a little fitting to get in because they had cut the door holes. I glued them into the tweeter covers on the dash so that wasn't very hard. Sounds is pretty good once they are adjusted right with the setting on the radio af first they were verrrryyyy raspy but it was just the settings. For the money I spent I think they are worth it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Crutchfield customer from Blacksburg on 3/26/2017

2005 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For the price this is a very good sound system that provided just the right improvement over the stock system I was looking for. The installation was a little more difficult than I had anticipated, but this was my first time doing it. Fortunately the product design was intuitive enough to figure out, just requires a little thought.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Crutchfield customer from Preston, ID on 3/22/2017

1992 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Absolutely love the way these speakers sound. This component system was so easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 3/7/2017

2006 Hyundai Sonata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very underwhelmed by the quality of sound these speakers produced. In fact the 11 year old speakers sound better and deliver more volume than the new ones. The Tweeter is just a bit to raspy and the bass is almost gone. I may need to reach out to Crutchfield and see what other options I may have.

Pros: in expensive.

Cons: not really much info in the way the speakers are installed. Not even a mention of the various tweeter mounts that came packed in the box and what installation choices I you have. Tweeters are just not very smooth and bass is really light on these speakers.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound

Donny from Phoenix,az on 3/2/2017

2003 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speaker for the money. Sounds great. Soft tweeters so doesn't hurt your ears. Would recommend.

Pros: Quality, price, sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Flavia from Greenville SC on 2/14/2017

2000 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Got it for my daughters car and she is really happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

Dale E from Orlando, FL on 12/12/2016

1996 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The speakers are so, so much better quality than the originals! Should've bought them years ago!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great speaker set

Brad from Groesbeck, Texas on 12/2/2016

1997 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product so far. Quality sound, good price, everything included.

Pros: Quality sound

Cons: None noted so far

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Quality Product

John from Port Richey, FL on 11/4/2016

2009 Ford F-150 STX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound for the money, I hooked them up to an old MTX Thunder 280 amp and installed them in the front doors of my '09 F150. I have the gain turned all the way down since the amp is pushing the speakers max 50w rms and they are plenty loud, I can finally hear music with the windows rolled down. The adapter plates Crutchfield sent worked great as well.

Pros: External crossovers

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Sound Quality

Kelly from Denver Colorado on 8/2/2016

2005 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

One complaint- screws included for install of the wire hub too long. We had to go out and by screws that would allow us to mount the back deck on again.

Pros: Excellent sound quality for the price. Many tweeter mount options. Most needed parts included.

Cons: Screw size--- either too short or too long for most places in the trunk

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

William from Arlington, TX on 7/27/2016

2007 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

not for a 5x7 opening /adapter or not

Wayne from cody ,WY on 4/9/2016

2010 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

did not fit very well in the 5x7 speaker opening in rear doors of my car, i cant fault the speakers themselves for this there was about a 3/4 inch gap that made them not sound as well as they could have /very hard to mount with the way the adapter plate covered the holes needed to mount to car door

Pros: if the opening is correct they will sound great and work well

Cons: when used with adapter for a 5x7 opening very hard to use and left an opening at one end of 5x7 hole and allowed air in and out diminshed sound

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

Great sound for the money

J Bachuss from Paducah, KY on 4/7/2016

2013 Dodge Dart

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I replaced the factory 6x9's with these and could not be happier. I set the pad at -3 and the tweeters are still a little crispy, but worlds better than the paper coaxials I replaced.

Pros: Great mid for a 5 1/4". Easy installation.

Cons: Tweets are a little hot.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-52CB

james j from Round Rock, TX on 1/28/2016

2012 Ford Fiesta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love them, they produce a very clean sound. Tight mid range and crisp highs

Pros: Ease of installation

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Compare the sound