Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
827 091 247 4
Connect ID #
827 091 247 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Bluesound NODE X

Bluesound NODE X Streaming music player with built-in Wi-Fi®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Bluetooth®

MFR # N131SLVUNV

4.5 out of 5 stars
52 reviews
View this product
Bluesound NODE X

Brandon from Boise, ID on 2/8/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic option for those of you looking for a quality streaming DAC without spending a lot more.

Pros: Integration with Tidal, easy to use interface.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound Node X - a streamer for all

Gary from DENVER, CO on 2/7/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've been thoroughly impressed with this unit. I initially started this hifi journey using the Bluesound Powernode and a pair of KEF Q150s. I've since upgraded the speakers to the R3 Metas which are sensational. But, I quickly fell in love with BluOS and its usability/versatility. I'm probably not even using its full potential. The Node X itself is reliable, functional (has may appreciated inputs) and is a very aesthetically-pleasing piece. Music sounds incredibly satisfying through it - very dynamic, clear, and wonderful soundstage. I paired this with an NAD C268 power amplifier because I felt that NAD and BluOS just play nice together. For my uses, I mostly utilize the presets for internet radio stations while I work, and the USB input (where I have a ton of flac files stored). I also utilize the HDMI port as well. Everything just works as it should. For the price, I really think the DAC in this unit is unbeatable (not that the Node X is necessarily cheap). In the month or so I've owned it, it's been an incredible addition. I do suggest pairing this with a complimentary amplifier but I think ultimately that's down to user preference. It's been absolutely flawless and impressive with the NAD C268.

Pros: physical dimensions, superior DAC (to the Node), multiple inputs, BluOS app, integration

Cons: Wifi connection seems to be very finicky to set up. I have it hardwired so it's not an issue but could be for some who need wifi. The HDMI connection does seem to be turned up a bit higher than other inputs but that may be my TV too.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Node X vs N100

James from Las Vegas, NV on 2/6/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This Node X is replacing an original Node N100 and is definitely an improvement over the original. The adjustable crossover subwoofer output allows flexibility with system configurations. In my opinion upper frequencies sound more accurate from the X as the various symbols are quite discernible. Overall I am very pleased with the performance of this product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound disappointing all th way around

Lawrence from New York, NY on 1/21/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My 9 year old ARCAM irDaC-ll provides greater musicality. Bluesound's support is wowfully inadequate. Very disappointed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/26/2024
Lawrence, we're sorry you're having issues with your music streamer. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return/exchange within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

As expected. All in one

Spencer from HOUSTON, TX on 1/20/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Complete box. Not much else to say. All in one box, I use it to stream Spotify and watch TV. The included remote is great and well built. Only complaint is lower volume over hdmi arc and thus have to put at like 95% volume.

Pros: All in one. App is pretty good and smooth.

Cons: Needs gain control on hdmi input so you can increase volume. I wish it had finer EQ and could tune based on frequency.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Better than Expected

Jeff from San Francisco Bay Area on 1/20/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Setup and use of app have been easier than expected based on some of the reviews I had seen prior to using the software myself. DAC sounds as good as my Oppo BDP-105, and the look and feel of the unit approach high end without costing as much. The silver finish blends in better with an all black system than I thought it would. Only drawback is Bluesound customer support. Never answer the phone, and email responses can take up to two weeks. Certainly not high end in this respect. I've found Sonos customer support to be superior, having chat available when I've needed help.

Pros: Ease of use, sound, look and feel

Cons: Manufacturer support

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Versatile & Affordable Streaming Amp

James from Macomb, MI on 1/17/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Using this as a standalone streaming headphone amp currently, planning to use it also as a streaming dac/preamp to experiment with some tube amps. Works great, had absolutely no problem getting it set up on my network, recognized by BluOS, and also integrated easily with Roon. Sounds great on my Focal Clear MG headphones, and frankly I don't notice any loss of quality compared with my more expensive setups (I have another that uses the Sabre ESS9028PRO). Additionally, I purchased this from the Crutchfield Outlet and other than the open box, I didn't see any marks on the unit itself, so that's a great option to save a little $ as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great device!

Erik from Baldwin, WI on 1/14/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a fully featured, easy to use digital player that sounds great! What more could you ask for!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE X

Jim from Saint Joseph, MI on 1/14/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome DAC would recommend

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awful

Smokey from MARIETTA, GA on 1/3/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Node X has been crashing every few weeks since I added it to my second system and linked it with my Node 2i. (The app loses contact with the players and the internet has to be restarted to find them again...not just restart the tablet, the whole modem/router needs restarted.) Customer support from Bluesound is the worst I have ever experienced. I complained to Crutchfield within the first 30 days but agreed to work with Bluesound and they've been dragging it out and asking me to provide countless bits of information, which they never acknowledge. They've never answered a question and for the last two months have been making excuses about being busy since rolling out the new app. I was happy with the 2i but now regret I invested anything into this company. I don't recommend and strongly suggest you consider another option.

Pros: I was happy with the Node 2i

Cons: Totally unreliable connection Even when it's working, it no longer integrates with Tidal to play hi-res, you need to go throughTidal Connect for that, which just complicates this dysfunctional system.

Crutchfield response on 1/22/2024
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Smokey to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE X

Kip from Los Angeles, CA on 1/3/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

meets all my needs so far. Easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE X

Gene from Fords, NJ on 12/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding streamer, I upgraded from the regular Node which was very good, but the X with it's better DAC really brings more detail to the music!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE X

Fd from LOS ANGELES, CA on 12/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful looking. When it worked it worked well. Sound as a streamer and DAC is average in a resolving system. If the there is an issue, which mine became problematic, after trying all manner of resolutions through the site's trouble shooting, good luck getting a reply from their so called 24 hr tech support call back. I waited several days and still no resolution. Crutchfield and local cable company tried to help resolve my issues (not sure if it's the app or hardware). Crutchfield did their best. I'm returning the device. Bluesound Customer Support, in my experience, is beyond disappointing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Pleased with the Results

Gary from Napa, CA on 11/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My computer is the center of my music world, and I either listen through a headphone amp or through my NAD amplifier, across the room, through the USB DAC. After 10 years the wireless DAC connection was getting problematic so I investigated a new solution. At first I was interested in several units in the $1500-$2000 range, but it seemed like a lot to replace a component that had come with my NAD. So I discussed my situation with Alonzo at Crutchfield who recommended the Bluesound NODEX. After doing some reading about it I made the purchase, and of course was pleased to spend 50-65% less than my budget. The Bluesound was extremely easy to install and set up using the app. I've only had it for a couple of days, but the sound is better than the previous DAC, and it easily access all my stored music and the sources I use on the internet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Bluesound Node x, Damn its Nice!

Daniel from Amherst, NY on 11/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was skeptical that this box would actually work with my 1976 Kenwood Model Eleven II stereo receiver. When it arrived I set it up, downloaded the app, turned it on, found one of my favorite WIFI music stations and started to listen. I am very impressed with the performance of the NodeX, I think the WIFI reception sounds better than the Marantz NR1200, I purchased so that I could get WIFI stations. It has Pandora as well as Sirius XM, and a host of other music providers, probably more then I will ever use. I was not willing to get rid of a really good receiver that I have had since 1976, but it just did not have the capabilities of today's modern technologies. The Bluesound NodeX solved dilemma, It's worth the expense. All is right with my musical world.

Pros: Easy set up. Great Wifi connection! Lots of internet stations to choose from. Works with Bluetooth. Add your own play lists. Run your TV sound thru it using HDMI eARC. Plus several other options.

Cons: No off/on button

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pleased with Bluesound Node X

Christopher from Underhill, VT on 11/24/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield customer experience and fulfillment is superb. I have the original N100 Node. My new Bluesound Node X works great. The internal DAC sounds very good. I'm now using my older N100 Node for the dining room. The combination of Node X and BluOS 4.0 working great.

Pros: I'm able to consolidate by digital sources with the latest features. I love that my digital CD library can be shared by both Nodes on the network.

Cons: Unfortunately, eARC connected to my Sony always mutes TV sound even if I'm not using my hifi system for sound. I believe this is a Sony characteristic but I wish the Node/TV combo did not behave this way.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE X

Daryl from Hudson Oaks, TX on 11/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great streamer with plenty of capabilities.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing streamer for under $1000

Mark from Pasadena, MD on 11/10/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was so pleased with my audio quest dragonfly cobalt ! I used it a couple years But I couldn't leave well enough alone I had to try the Bluesound node X. this thing sounds so good and yes it does surpass the dragonfly. I use my phone app outside to play my stereo inside using the outside speakers. I use Amazon music and Pandora both work excellent. it will also show you the bit rate when streaming. You won't be sorry buying this streamer.

Pros: Does everything it's supposed to do.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

At least as good as the CXN V2

Toby from Granville, OH on 11/9/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was having issues with my Cambridge CXN V2 which I had had for a few years. Instead of replacing it directly, I went with the Node X. I find the sound quality to be the same for (what is now) $200 less. One thing missing here is the display from the CXN but the unit was across the room so hard to see anyway. One thing I have noticed being better on the NODE is the options for online radio listening. I am a big fan of Radio Paradise and, with the NODE X, I can get the MQA stream as RP runs through the unit directly. A nice perk!

Pros: Sound quality, internet radio options

Cons: No display

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NodeX

Rolf from Panama City, FL on 10/23/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy to setup, works great with Roon.very stable WiFi connection.having has 2 prior versions this one excellent

Pros: Ease of setup with WiFi Roon setup easy Stable connection Price

Cons: Build quality OK

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE X

Susan from Sarasota, FL on 9/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worth every penny delivers the goods

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Mature platform

William from Little Ferry, NJ on 9/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have never owned a Node, but have an NAD M10 v2, which uses the same BluOS. The Node X is fully the same, software-wise, as the NAD, which rocks. BluOS does everything well. No other streaming platform comes close. It's fully gapless in playback and has access to every app, save Apple Music, but that is what Airplay is for. Connecting it to the new Yamaha R-N2000a receiver (which does not have gapless playback or "scrubbing") and connected via either USB or Coax and played through the Yamaha's DAC, it sounds as good, if not better, than the native MusicCast streamer in the N2000a and is much easier to configure. I am not using the preamp function, but I doubt that it would measure up. To me, the Node's preamp is just a stopgap to an upgrade, though it is likely quite serviceable as a starter. Having the included remote would make that a good beginning. As a matter of fact, that remote goes a long way toward justifying an upgrade from the standard Node. You would then be getting the excellent headphone amp and upgraded DAC for a small upcharge. In short, it's a keeper.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Handy and trouble free.

Kevin from Port Orchard, WA on 9/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Seamless operation. Not as full a sound as other streamers I have owned. All in one operation fits my needs as I am condensing my systems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

What Huh??

Gary from Helmetta, NJ on 8/26/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

EXCELLENT crushed my Yamaha RXA 2040 and put everything else to rest streaming analog through a Parasound amp and two Wharfdale speakers EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT

Pros: Excellent

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE X

Crutchfield customer from Belleville, IL on 8/21/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great product and it works flawlessly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A significant improvement over the Node 2i

Hiram from Saint Marys, GA on 8/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased the node 2i a couple years ago and it was o.k. at that time. The node X is a dramatic improvement over the node 2i. The sound is much improved. I am not a true audiophile but I believe that this streamer played through my Marantz amp to my ELAC Andante speakers is much superior to the quality of the music the node 2i offered. The node X also sounds far superior to the node 2i when I listen with my Focal Bathys headphones using the headphone amplifier in the node X versus my Schitt headphone amp attached to the Bluesound node 2i. I was hesitant to buy the node X because I was afraid it would not offer a significant improvement to my listening experience than the node 2i but I went ahead and bought the node X because of the reviews I read that indicated that the DAC in the node X was superior and the headphone amp was as well. I am glad I made this purchase because despite the node X having a higher price than the node 2i, the node X is a significant upgrade and well worth it.

Pros: Better DAC Headphone amp is great A real improvement over the Node 2i this replaced

Cons: Pricier than Node 2i it replaced

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Very impressed

Crutchfield customer from ATLANTA, GA on 8/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I admit I was influenced by FOMO and didn't research my options sufficiently before ordering the Node X. When I read reviews and comparisons with other streaming devices I was concerned. The sound quality reportedly didn't compare well with competitors like the Cambridge CXN (v2) and the Eversolo DMP a6. I considered trying to cancel the order. I was restrained by one consideration: the CXN and DMP didn't support Amazon Music, my preferred service. The unit arrived and I set it up. The process was as easy as promised. I used an ethernet connection from a router; simply plugged it in, no set-up.The Node X worked immediately. I listened to Joni Mitchell's "The Hissing of Summer Lawns" through the headphone output with Hifiman Sundaras. Was very impressed. The electric bass and kick drum were notable, easily distinguishable, with the bass guitar notes clear. Compared to playback through my vintage Marantz-Polk SDA system, the Node with headphones was better. Next I tried "The Rolling Stones Live at the El Mocambo". I had not heard this before and was amazed by the tightness of the band and the quality of the recording. Again, Bill Wyman's bass was clearly distinguishable from Charlie's kick drum and I could follow his lines easily. When I compared the headphone from the Node with the output from my Marantz headphone out, the Marantz seemed to improve the clarity of midrange instruments such as piano and guitars, and was more dynamic. I won't be returning the Node X

Pros: Overall very good sound. Bass is particularly impressive. Setup and performance was flawless. Sound through the headphone amp exposed mediocrity of my speakers.

Cons: Headphone amp midrange detail may not be the best, but this problem vanished when played through another amp.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Welcome to the 21'st century with the node x

Steven from Jamesville, NY on 8/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing product, that I would highly recommend! Resolution and sound quality is amazing. Better than my Marantz sacd player. I purchased the node x because streaming Bluetooth, is just the opposite. Crutchfield was very helpful and informed and the sale and delivery went smoothly, no complaints!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Well worth it!

Eric from Rapid City, SD on 8/1/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought this for my DIY Elekit 8200 and it sounds amazing. I do wish it had more of a built in EQ but thats minor imo. The sub out is an excellent feature for my setup.

Pros: Easy to setup. Reasonably priced. Sub out!

Cons: Limited EQ

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE X

Gary from Franklin, TN on 7/31/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice streamer and the new DAC is a nice step up for and already-great box. The out of box setup was a snap. Integrated with my streaming services and pulling the library of 10k + songs from my Synology NAS in under 15 minutes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great upgrade in sound quality over the previous Node

Sam from COSTA MESA, CA on 7/21/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

!These blue sound products really shine when paired with their app, as the user interface is so clean and simple to use. This latest Node is a dramatic improvement in sound quality over the prior N130 model. Headphone users will also be happy with this model.

Pros: Sound quality is great for the price Easy setup with the app Ability to place multiple Nodes in "party mode" to sync playback across devices

Cons: Look and feel is very similar to prior models....only the color distinguishes this as a higher end unit

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE X

Guillermo from Rialto, CA on 7/14/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Got this unit because of all the great reviews. The NodeX sounds ok, but im not impressed. My ArcamST60 sounds alot better in every way. May be if i never heard the Arcam I would love this unit. Its very easy to set up, cool little unit but im not happy with the sound i hear. Crutchfield customer service was great though as always. Still debating on returning this unit or just using it in the garage. On another note the headphone phone amp is powerful and bass heavy for my taste. Hope this review helps those debating on purchasing this little unit. Thank you Crutchfield.

Pros: Easy set up, nice bang for buck unit

Cons: Sounds ok in my opinion

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Nice upgraded DAC

Edward from Hillsboro, OR on 7/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield has great customer service and I'm very happy with this Node X. I also own the standard node and I can definitely tell the difference with the Dac . I highly recommend!

Pros: Great Dac and looks great in silver . Works flawlessly

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Amazing Product and Sound Quality

Pete from Idyllwild, CA on 6/24/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was an early adopter of the Sonos ecosystem and have owned their products since March 2005 when they released in the US. That said, convenience and the ability to stream multiple sources as background music I feel was the strong suit of their components. Personally I wouldn't describe their sound as something to sink into and they don't do hi-definition tracks. The Node X entered for a two-channel system consisting of a dual-mono integrated amp and ribbon bookshelf speakers in a listening room I shoehorned into an attic space. This was my first foray into the Bluesound world, as I wanted high-res capability and something built to decode/reproduce it. Within a day of listening to the Node I was impressed. The image was as deep and wide as my speakers can throw it. The track "Greenman" by XTC on their Apple Venus Vol 1 album played via FLAC lossless from my music library was breathtaking. Anything by Olafur Arnolds was also something to behold. Tidal Masters tracks, however, were on a whole other level when streamed/decoded via the Node. I also threw on Donald Fagan's first solo release The Nightfly in MQA, but wasn't prepared to listen to the entire album. I did, though, as the sound was really that good. For something livelier I threw on Ra Ra Riot's "Boy" from The Orchard and couldn't believe the separation of the opening drums and bass line.

Pros: Decodes Tidal MQA streams, Bluesound app is straightforward to use, value far exceeds its cost.

Cons: Setting up music shares is a bit cumbersome, as no one really speaks "\\NAS4E5398\Multimedia\Music". Why not just allow navigation to visible, connected network drives once the device is on your home network and then point to that location as the source of your library?

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE X

Glen from Mason, OH on 6/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I replaced my Auralic Aries that got fried in a lightning strike with the Node X. The Node was half what I paid for the Aries several years ago. Maybe the age of the Aries makes this an unfair comparison, but the Node X is easier to set up and use, and the system has never sounded better using Tidal. I sincerely doubt you could beat this performance without spending thousands more, and even then my guess is you would have to have good ears to hear the difference. I also added Audio Quest cables to connect the Node to an integrated amp. I did not do a comparison to isolate the impact of the cables.

Pros: Cost Sound quality Easy of use

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Node X

Kyle from Converse, TX on 6/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Having heard the standard Node and being impressed by the sound quality and clarity, I was interested to see where they would take the X and I was very surprised on how much more full and expansive the sound is. If you can swing the additional $150 over the standard Node, DO IT. It's 100% worth it. Get it now before they go!

Pros: Ease of use, set up, sound quality, looks

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE X

Timothy from Zirconia, NC on 6/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have not had a chance to use it in my speaker system yet, but I have really enjoyed it with headphones. You can definitely hear the improvement in the sound when feeding it high rez files too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Value priced giant killer!

Dale from Pearland, TX on 6/15/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Outstanding value for the money. I am absolutely pleased with the sound, looks, and features of this device. The DAC is clean, organic, and has extremely good imaging. It is well made and will in no way degrade any electronics you have it hooked up to. I am always on the lookout for a high performance to cost ratio and this checks every box. Buy one before they go away. In no way will you regret this purchase.

Pros: Excellent sound Bluesound interface Outstanding input/outputs Ridiculous value

Cons: No cons at all

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Easy... sounds great

Russell from Swansea, SC on 6/14/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Set up in minutes. App loads fast. Works pretty good. Headphone amp is real nice.

Pros:

Cons: Batteries were dead in the remote. But I'll never use it anyway.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE X

Martin from West Grove, PA on 6/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy to connect and use right out of the box. Using with Tidal and sounds great so far. Looks very sleek too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product and Crutchfield service!

Robert from Blue Ridge, GA on 6/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have been thrilled with the performance of the Node X. I am running Qobuz at the highest resolution. The Node is wired via Ethernet to my Onkyo TX-RZ710 receiver to which a pair of Infinity CS3007 speakers are bi-amp wired. The soundstage and vocal clarity are outstanding. Bass is solid and musical with no bloat whatsoever. I guess it's possible that the sound could improve with an upgraded DAC but at this point there is no need. And another huge plus: Crutchfield's Customer Service. I had a fairly simple question and was able to get ahold of someone right away. Very patient and thorough with his answers. Just great. I highly recommend Crutchfield and the Bluesound Node X!

Pros: Soundstage Vocal accuracy Solid, musical bass

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Top audio quality/functionality from a reasonably priced streamer

Rolidnot from Getzville, NY on 6/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Terrific streamer/DAC/headphone combo. BluOs app is top rate, setup is easy and use is intuitive. The DAC chipset has been updated and the audio quality has been improved over my older Node 2i unit.

Pros: BluOs app is terrific, simple install and setup, small footprint, excellent audio quality, intuitive features, easy control from iPhone, laptop or tablet. Excellent onboard DAC, front headphone Jack and amp, best value streamer.

Cons: Schematics for connections would be helpful for the less technically proficient users. A downloadable manual would also be helpful.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great streaming solution

Ross from King George, VA on 6/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good DAC on board; adds a depth dimension to the soundstage and notable detail. Easy hookup via CAT5 and pointing to the library with BlueOS (RCA out to preamp). Nice to have bi-directional Bluetooth for headphones. BlueOS clearly superior to competing apps and works with Qobuz.

Pros: Very good DAC Plentiful i/o options

Cons: A DAC like this tends to make me crank the volume up a bit high to get myself thumped by mid-bass.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE X

Aaron from Roanoke, VA on 6/5/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

In searching for a stereo set-up that works for my family, I was frustrated by the dilemma between ease-of-use and getting rich, dynamic sound. In the end, the BlueSound NodeX is a great solution, letting me connect my TV and phone to a beautiful old Marantz amp and Klipsch speakers--and it's incredibly easy for the whole family to use and appreciate. I plan to build on this system going forward. Very, very satisfied with the power/flexibility this setup will allow. 10/10 from me

Pros: Tremendous flexibility, easy for the whole house to use, lots of expansion options / alternative input formats. I'm really pleased with how it allows for customization and the everyday effortless UX.

Cons: Setup wasn't as smooth as I'd hoped for; I had to use the ethernet cord and the troubleshooting process described on their website. It wasn't difficult, but certainly not smooth. Once I followed that initial set-up, it's been working well. I wish the app would allow other family members to have the app itself, so we could use the HDMI arc input manually instead of setting on auto, but that's mostly a pet peeve. The app works well.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid product.

Kelvin from El Paso, TX on 6/5/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great. Unsure if price difference from previous model is justified.

Pros: The remote is nice addition but doesn't work through cabinet door.

Cons: Price.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE X

Richard from Fort Wayne, IN on 5/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great streamer. It's easy to set up and it sounds great and I like the features it has too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Worthy upgrade

Matt from Brooklyn, NY on 5/28/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this as an upgrade to my existing Node 2i. I immediately noticed an improved sound quality-to my ears, more natural and detailed. With the 2i, I lacked an HDMI port to bring in the TV (there was significant, deal-breaking lag and timing issues via the optical in on the 2i) but was on the fence with the Node. The Node X, however, with it's upgraded DAC, headphone circuit, and styling, changed the game. I listen to a lot of internet radio (via TuneIn) in addition to hi-res sources. Even low-res radio has never sounded so good. Now, I am able play digital sources, TV audio (via HDMI), and vinyl (via the analog in), through my main all-tube integrated amp for 2-channel listening, and also project those sources to a multi-room experience via other Bluesound devices. I would enthusiastically recommend this as a first streamer or upgrade from a prior Node.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Worth Waiting For

Gerry from Minneapolis, MN on 5/25/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My Node X replaced my Node 2i in the chain: Node 2i into Schiit Loki EQ into Schiit Magni Heresy headphone amp into Sennheiser 660S headphones. In general, the Node X sounds more open and detailed, especially when streaming 24/192 hires audio. I had been waiting for Bluesound to offer something newer and I'm very pleased with the latest upgrade.

Pros: Better sounding DAC. RC1 remote and THX amp nice additions

Cons: Somewhat overpriced.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great for headphones

Big-J from North Salt Lake, UT on 5/23/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I own three network streamers, Cambridge Audio CXN (work office system), Yamaha WXC-50 (audio room streaming to my vintage Luxman R-115), and now the Bluesound Node X. Each has its own strong points. When I saw the Node with an upscaled DAC and a better headphone amplifier, I took the plunge. The Node X sits next to my listening chair in my audio room. I plug my headphones into it when I feel like it is headphone time. I stream to the Node X from my ROON Core through Wi-Fi. I love the performance the Node X gives me. I will probably never use the host of other features the Node X comes with, as I purchased it for headphone listening. I am very happy with this purchase.

Pros: Well built. Easy to set up. Works great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Great value (and worth the extra vs. Node (130)

Mark from Harrisburg, PA on 5/21/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had purchased the Node (130 model) just the week before as my entry into digital streaming, bring my 1978 Sansui AU-717 into the modern age. It was great but then this was released and I upgraded. Head and shoulders better sound as other reviews have attested. I've tried the headphone amplifier and it's very good, though I still prefer to go through the amplifier. Well worth the $150 more if you're on the fence plus they throw in a sweet remote to boot. The DAC is a much better fit for my set up though some may prefer the more laid back burr brown predecessor.

Pros: Great DAC for my set up Didn't fix what was already outstanding but much more than just a paint job. Meaningful value upgrade

Cons: None at this price point

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE X

James from Brandon, FL on 5/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Better than I expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 16 found this helpful

Well worth the price

Richard from Gadsden, AL on 5/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my first music streamer. I have been streaming music on my TV using a music streaming service app, digital out to my stereo. I got very good results. To be frank I was disappointed the first time I used the Bluesound node x. After it had been plugged in 3 days I put the Beatles, Abbey Road on, and was blown away. The sound stage is much wider, lots of air, or space between the artists. It is more textured, Paul and Ringo's base is more detailed and dynamic. It also replaced two other components and did the job better than either: an EQ and a headphone amp. All the audio cues have been stored in the recordings the whole time I was just not hearing them. Just for reference I am using digital out to a Denafrips DAC, Schiit Fraya+, Yamaha HS8S Subwoofer, to Airpulse A300 pros. Yea, it is well worth the money to me. I love music and being able to hear it streamed through the Bluesound Node X is an amazing experience well worth the change.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

27 of 29 found this helpful

Compare the sound