Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
658 704 038 4
Connect ID #
658 704 038 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

MartinLogan Motion® 4i

MartinLogan Motion® 4i Bookshelf speaker with wall-mount bracket

MFR # Motion 4i

4.5 out of 5 stars
25 reviews
View this product
MartinLogan Motion 4i

Lyle from White Bluff, TN on 12/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wanted to replace my rear surrounds speakers and these help balance the room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Little Train That Could

Stuart from Rockville, MD on 7/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love this little power-house; great as an accent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small On-Wall Profile

Paul from SPRING, TX on 4/28/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good option for surround and height speakers. These speakers have good response from 80Hz - >20kHz, so be sure to use bass management with them. The folded tweeter design helps distribute the highs horizontally across seats or across rows of seats depending upon the location. I give them a four out of five for the dispersion pattern as well as the mounting bracket. Find another bracket that allows you to aim the tweeters towards your seat and you will be much better off. Give them some power so they can sing.

Pros: Small on-wall profile Smooth response 80Hz - 20kHz Matches well with electrostats Good price for the performance

Cons: Quick roll-off below 80Hz Limited positioning mounting bracket Poor vertical dispersion

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Another Great Martin Logan Product

Adrian from Johns Creek, GA on 11/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers! These are installed as my front wide speakers and they complement my ML Motion 60XT towers and ML Motion 50XTi center channel speaker. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent addition to a set of towers or large bookshelf mains.

Terry from Shalimar, FL on 7/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Upgrading to this quality level of speaker makes me realize I have been missing the details in a lot of my listening collection. I listen to everything from Alice in Chains, Godsmack, Iron Maiden, Ozzy, Steve Vai and ZZ Top to Bach, Beethoven, Grieg, Haydn, and Wagner. Accoustic guitar from Andy McKee, Antoine Dufour to progressive riffs from Polyphia and Dream Theater. These speakers reproduce every detail, finger slide and high hat shimmer. Vocals are clear, to the point where if you close your eyes, you might think you have a seat in the production booth. The base isn't as deep as my Bose or Klipsch, but I didn't get these for the low end.

Pros: Vocal clarity and upper range detail. Not power hungry.

Cons: Base isn't as full, but that's what a good set of larger mains and a sub are for.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Better than original 4

Zachary from SAN ANTONIO, TX on 1/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

i bought these because i wanted to upgrade to the 4i series and use my old motion 4's for the surrounds. AS always you need a couple days for martin logans to break in, these are a definitely a step up from the old model. The bass and mids sound so much cleaner and louder. the highs are about the same, super natural and clear.

Pros: better mids and bass from previous model

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great small speaker.

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 12/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound for a small speaker. Nice mounting options with included bracket. Surprised by the amount of bass. Sub is a must if using for main speakers. I'm using mine for rear surrounds mounted upside down per manual. With the curve of the back of the speaker it makes the speaker tilt downwards about 15 degrees. Sound mine are mounted about 6 feet to the top of the speaker.

Pros: Mounting options, build quality, sound.

Cons: If you are not planning on using banana plugs. The speaker mounting post are in a terrible place. Very hard to use bare wire or spades.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MartinLogan Motion 4i

Crutchfield customer from Monroeville, PA on 6/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly what I wanted. Came in below what I had budgeted. I'm hearing sounds and lyrics I hadn't heard before.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

MartinLogan Motion 4i

Crutchfield customer from Hillsboro, OR on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound in a small package

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

MartinLogan Motion 4i

minh from Broken Arrow, OK on 1/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Always great service and promptness

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Highend desktop set up

Crutchfield customer from Overland Park, KS on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful and modern looking speakers. They sound great too! These are perfect for a desktop setup. Great high end look for a less than high end price tag. Background noises and voices feel so real with live music especially.

Pros: Holiday sale price, the look, the sound

Cons: None at this price.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Versatile

Crutchfield customer from Hackettstown, NJ on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I use these are rear surrounds but if you are looking for smaller speakers these are great for your front speakers as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Smooth natural highs, ok mids, great value for what they are!

David from NAVARRE, FL on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I don't like bright speakers. What I question in on with my Definitive Technology 6D speakers was that highs sounded like they were in a tin can. String instruments were off. I wanted something smoother and more natural. These were the fix. I have them as front height and rear surround powered off a Marantz 5014. The Game of Thrones intro is my music test and these did very well. I rank 4 stars because the mid range is ok, not great, but as good as you can expect. Wall mounting is also more difficult because these are curved. I used ball mounted studs and the studs were too short to get exactly the right angles, but I got close enough. I wouldn't recommend the included brackets if you are mounting these above your head as they don't allow it to angle. Also remember that these are 4 ohm, so make sure your receiver is rated for 4 ohm capable. These go well with my Boston Acoustics VR3 front stage. If you're a Klipsch fan and like bright metal tweeters, these may be too flat or natural for you. But if you like smooth natural highs, they are worth the try!

Pros: Smooth highs, cost

Cons: Size and shape make them more difficult to wall mount, mid bass is ok

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 6 found this helpful

best 4 ohm speaker

Crutchfield customer from Malibu, CA on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

the best 4 ohm speaker on the market....buying from Crutchfield is a must. If you need a 4 ohm speaker, there is none better than the MartinLogan Motion 4i

Pros: spacious sound without taking too much space

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

MartinLogan Motion 4i

Crutchfield customer from Hollywood, FL on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great Speaker with superb sound quality!! Great clarity in the mid and highs and has a nice amount of low for its size, but would advise a subwoofer paring if you'd like more low end output. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

MartinLogan Motion 4i

Crutchfield customer from Fort Wayne, IN on 1/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Using the MartinLogan 4i as a rear channel in a 5.1 application. Using the MartinLogan LX16 as the fronts and Def Tech old school Powerfield 1500. The MartinLogan combination is outstanding on the highs with the ribbon tweeters and brass instruments come alive with a fairly low amount of power. Currently running the speakers with an inexpensive Denon receiver that pushes 70 to 90 watts continuous. Lastly the universal mounting bracket for the MartinLogan 4i comes in super handy as mine were mounted higher on the rear wall. The mounting bracket (included) allows you to have the speaker straight up and down or like my application, mount the speaker on a 20degree angle, angling down towards the listener.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Requires power and volume

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi, TX on 12/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Auditioned locally, then ordered from Crutchfield, in the store they sounded pretty good; at the increased volume level . However at home at lower volume levels they were lifeless. These speakers need lots of power, At low volume they sound horrible, but at high volume it's a different story. Not good for a 12x13 sewing room for my wife.

Pros: At loud listening levels with good clean power , they are amazing , but not for low casual listening

Cons: At low volume levels they are lifeless

Crutchfield response on

4 of 13 found this helpful

Great Speakers - not Perfect

Crutchfield customer from Glen Allen, VA on 8/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Although they are quite good, they are not as 'bright' as I expected, given the reviews. Perhaps I have just not broken them in yet. I am powering them at 4 ohms with a Denon desktop amplifier (PMA-50) and have them supplemented with a subwoofer. The mounting brackets were easy to install - two molly bolts in the sheet rock (for each speaker) and I was done. I am a bit disappointed in the connections for the wires - the banana plugs are almost crimping the heavy gauge cord because of the orientation (they are upside on the wall, as directed by the user manual for aiming the sound field at the primary listening spot).

Pros: Came with mounting brackets and are beautiful to look at. Everyone who sees them wants to touch them!

Cons: Speaker wire connectors are in a odd place. The super-glossy finish is fingerprint prone.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Small but mighty...surprising quality and accuracy. I'm very happy!

Dewayne from Edmond, OK on 4/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was shopping for new replacement front L & R speakers that would provide a more aesthetic room decor environment impact than large floor-standing speakers (which I prefer but spouse doesn't like). They needed to be wall mountable. I was prepared to be somewhat disappointed with sound quality. However, I have an excellent SVS SB-3000 subwoofer (thanks Crutchfield for recommendation) and felt that would help. Several possible speakers considered, but my Crutchfield advisor provided information about one that would not have worked because of mounting problems. Fortunately, she steered my attention to these MartinLogan Motion 4i speakers. After auditioning them locally, I ordered them. Getting them mounted properly was pretty easy. Now for the sound. Over many years, to my ears anyway, I have found that I can best judge speakers by listening carefully to how they handle piano, violin, saxophone, and vocals. I was very impressed by these small wonders. Incredible sound stage created, crystal clear treble ranges and super mid-range. The SVS subwoofer handled all ranges below 120 Hz. I am very pleased with my home theater system for TV or BluRay/DVD movies and more importantly for music - I favor classical, jazz and some pop. Thanks Crutchfield for helping make an excellent choice.

Pros: Outstanding solution for higher wall mounted speakers even as FRONT L & R. Perfect as surround speakers too. Great price point for a speaker of this quality. Stylish appearance in piano glossy black.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Nearfield monitors

Crutchfield customer from Toledo, OH on 4/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These little speakers sound amazing. The folded ribbon tweeter sounds so good. I am using them for nearfield listening hooked up to my pc. On their own, these are amazing speakers for the price and size. I went with these over a more standard bookshelf due to space restraints. Before i go to much further, little bit about me. I'm no audiophile by any stretch. I enjoy live shows and music in general. For to many years i have used very cheap computer speakers. My only "real" speakers to compare to are a Klipsch 5.1 setup with 51m fronts and rears and a 52c with a r-100sw. I got the klipsch last fall and i love them, don't get me wrong, but they were lacking in some regards. Enter the 4i. As another reviewer said, these are not party speakers per say, tho they get loud enough with the right amp. What they do, they do well. Very very well. Ands thats pretty much everything above about 120hz. They can very thin the lower they go, but is to be expected from the design. I was hoping for a little more ummfff out of the 4" mid, but it does an admiral job considering there is no real box backing it. Enter the subwoofer. Have the 4i's paired with a sprout100 dac/amp and i have to say, it is a match made in heaven. For the subwoofer for this nearfield hifi setup i chose the Cambridge Audio minx200, also for space restraints. That is a 600$ amp btw as i wanted to go all out on HiFi with this setup and it hits it dead on.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

MartinLogan Motion 4i

Crutchfield customer from Pompano Beach, FL on 10/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound quality and shipping went smoothly. Well worth it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Detailed soundstage and handsome little boxes are great value for $

Paul from Orange, CA on 9/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought for my office common room to replace the irritating Bose 5 Bluetooth box. I paired them with my 20yr old YBA Audio Refinement amp getting a signal from a Sonos controller via hard Ethernet conne toon and analog wires to the amp. Hung them slanted down on walls about 10' apart. Obviously an upgrade vs the Bose. But more than that - with a high quality audio input and the excellent if aged amp driving things these boxes are exceptionally transparent and punchy. 3d in the mid and upper range, punchy though not beefy in the bass they handle everything from Miles Davis to Jini Hendrix with good taste. Their strengths are more in detail and sound stage than power. These are not party speakers. But for the price, they offer up nicely balanced, crisp and detailed sounds that bring a touch of genuine Hi-Fi to the office floor. Bear in mind the speakers are paired with an amp that cost $2k twenty years ago and will likely not offer the same presence with a $300 set up. But if you can provide a solid high quality input like CD or Tidal streaming with an amp capable of keeping up the speakers much above their weight at this price. I have Sonus Faber Venere 2.5 at home so there's no comparison here, you get what you pay for. To my ears these are great value for money, well made, aesthetically pleasing and badged discreetly in Martin Logan fashion. You won't be disappointed at this price point.

Pros: Excellent mid and treble detail. Honest and transparent sound with a real sense of stage and placement, especially favoring voice and acoustic instruments. Handsome design and beautifully finished. Great price/quality ratio IMHO

Cons: Likely needs to pair with a good quality amp and high quality (CD or Tidal) inputs to perform to capacity. Decent bass but sheer scale and size makes them a little light for metal or dance tracks - still clean and punchy - if you're looking for reggae dub at volume you'll want something bigger. If you're into vocals and acoustics, strings and horns you'll be impressed.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Excellent surround addition

John from Albuquerque, NM on 8/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm very impressed by thee ML Motion 4i speakers. I'm using them as surround sides and backs and they are performing superbly. Crystal clear. Very nice match to my Motion 40 fronts and Motion 30 center. The folded tweeter Martin Logan employs can be "felt" throughout the sound stage. Thanks ML and Crutchfield. Arrived in 3 days with free shipping!!

Pros: Easy of install, excellent sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent sound for the size/price

Daniel from Sudbury, MA on 8/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I compared these to other bookshelf speakers of similar and slightly larger sizes. These have excellent spacial imaging and decent mid-range. Obviously, not much low end given the size, but when paired with a subwoofer, they sound great. Also nice is that they come with mounting brackets included. They look nice on the wall

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Welcome to the family!

Mike from Kennett Sq, PA on 2/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Been waiting for years to fill out the audio system, and so glad I added these to the rest of the Martin Logan family! Dense speakers with great clarity. Hung these from the ceiling, which took a little planning but could not be happier the outcome.

Pros: Quality speaker with intense sound

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Compare the sound