Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
827 091 247 4
Connect ID #
827 091 247 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

SVS Prime Tower

SVS Prime Tower Floor-standing speaker (Premium Black Ash)

MFR # Prime Tower - BA

5.0 out of 5 stars
32 reviews
View this product
SVS Prime Tower

Michael from Lincoln, RI on 2/14/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are an incredible value and compare favorably to speakers that cost two to three times as much. There is more bass than you might expect due to the ported design. The buyer should make sure that the rest of the system is good because these speakers are very revealing. They are immensely musical. Also, they look great with the gloss black finish.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SVS Prime Tower

Narcisse from OXFORD, OH on 11/26/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers. Possibly the best in this price range. I was looking for speakers that are not too big and too overwhelming for my living room yet not compromising too much on performance. So far I am quite happy with this choice. These are paired with Marantz NR 1200 and used exclusively for music. Very satisfied with the sound quality produced by this combination. Crutchfield service is A+

Pros: Good quality finish Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excelent AV, pop and classical music speaker

Wes from PALMYRA, VA on 8/25/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was the best sounding speaker I have ever owned. But I am a bass head, and these just did not fill up the room with bass. I often had it way too loud to get bass out of it, but if I walked out of the sweet spot it sounded forward in mid range compared to bass was lacking. Yes this was running with bass on the tone control turned almost all the up. They did sound great on modern recordings of hip hop, or classical reggae, for those they had good bass on axis. The sound was very very clean even with very loud ear damaging levels. The sound stage and imaging was excellent. The speakers just disappear and are very forgiving on placement. For me they just did not have enough bass for classic rock and modern rock, end of the day that is why I returned them. At first I was going to trade up to the Prime Pinnacles, the speakers was that good that I just wanted a bit better. Ultimately I traded way up for the Polk Reserve 700 with dual 8" woofers. Polks delivered what I wanted, more bass, slightly less mids, but do not sound stage and image as well without proper speaker placement. If you are looking for home theater, do not even question. Get them. I tried these for 2 channel listening, I will be upgrading my home theater system soon the the Prime Bookshelves. Just an awesome series of speakers for tv and movies, and everything but rock and some classical music lacked low end. Still need a subwoofer to provide bass at low volumes. This is mostly a 4 ohm speaker.

Pros: Excellent imaging Wide sound field Capable of very deep clean bass Very clear speaker with excellent female vocals Moves, pop, piano, modern music are great

Cons: Not enough bass Bass is lacking at low volumes Cymbals lack long decay Classic Rock, folk can come cross too forward in mids

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent speaker

Jeffrey from Hartland, WI on 7/28/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Prime Towers have a wonderful balanced and full sound. They are exactly what I was expecting from reading online reviews. At all volume levels they are full and crisp with no distortion. The size is perfect for where I needed a great sounding smaller tower.

Pros: sound, size, looks, quality

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sweet sound, easy set-up

John from Colorado Spgs, CO on 5/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Size isn't overbearing, sound is great, clear. Woofers go down to 30dB. What's not to like?

Pros: Size/ Footprint Sound quality Look great

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SVS Prime Tower

Lewis from Owens X Rds, AL on 3/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super delivery time, great product, great service!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SVS Prime Tower

Joseph from Riverside, RI on 2/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow, wow and did I say wow. I recently purchased a pair of SVS Prime Tower speakers. I had done my homework on these looking over specs from several different speakers. I was a little skeptical buying speakers without hearing them first. But I pulled the trigger anyway. The folks at Crutchfield were great to work with. They assured me that if I didn't like them I could return them. Well I was pleasantly surprised. The clarity of the Prime Towers blew me away. I mostly listen to Prog Rock on vinyl. I'm hearing things I never heard before. If you are an audiophile on a tight budget like me, you can not go wrong with these speakers.

Pros: Price, 3 way speakers with great crossover, very natural sound.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great sound for the price range

Joseph from E Northport, NY on 1/25/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very clean response over the wide frequency band of this speaker. I replaced two floor standing 20 year old Infinity Ovation 2 speakers (high end) in my home theater. I am hearing sounds I didn't before. For stereo music listening I find the subwoofer is still necessary to get full punch in the LFE range. Great for the price.

Pros: Clear and crisp sound Great workmanship Compact for floor towers

Cons: Needs subwoofer support for solid bass

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Buy them. Just buy them.

Austin from Cave Springs, AR on 9/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

**Reviewed as Surrounds and not Primary LCRs** Look, SVS is incredible. The finish of these piano blacks is beautiful. This is my 7th tower from SVS and the finish on all my speakers is outstanding. Beautiful looking angles and these speakers actually look great with grills on. I purchased these to be surrounds in my atmos setup. So running 4 of these Prime Towers. As a surround bed, phenomenal. They dig low. I ran a couple tests with these crossed at 40hz (my entire bed layer at 40hz). They hung in there no problems, but my room, subs,etc, all provides a better sound and more power crossed at 80hz. So that's where these are at. Atmos music and movies has plenty of body and room. The tweeter is timbre matched to their ultras (my front LCR) and as a whole system SVS is incredible. Folks say these are incredible for the money but I think that could paint a negative picture. I've owned many brands, Polk, B&W, Martins, and a couple others.. All of those are good brands but I will be SVS for life unless they someone do harm when they chose to update in the future. These speakers as they are now, worth every penny, and you will enjoy them. Guaranteed. SVS is Doug something incredible right now.

Pros: Depth Body Capable

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Top Notch

Boyzie from Pearl City, HI on 8/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

All i can say is HOLY CRAP LOL

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Amazingly beautiful and powerful sound!

Sean from Houston, TX on 6/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Extremely well balanced, with smooth, accurate sound, wonderful imaging, and a wide open soundstage. All with authoritative yet punchy bass. BEST TOWERS FOR THE PRICE OR ANYWHERE NEAR IT!

Pros: Very well balanced Bass output will amaze you Compact and easy to fit into any room Absolutely fills the room with great sound

Cons: Very picky in regards to placement, expect to spend a great deal of time fine-tuning the placement, but once you get it right, you definitely can tell!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

SVS Prime Tower

Larry from Saint Johns, FL on 6/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Superior sound I'm very impressed with these towers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Good Purchase

Crutchfield customer from Escondido, CA on 4/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The speakers Fill a large room and have no distortion

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product

Crutchfield customer from Folsom, CA on 9/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Value for money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love em

Crutchfield customer from Somerville, MA on 8/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just replaced a pair of three way Tivolis with these bad boys! I am now hearing things in my movies and music, that I didn't know were even there! They haven't been used very long as of yet, but they just keep sounding better

Pros: Very distinct and clear sounding, not tinny at all to me

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sweetness!!!

Jay from Kent, WA on 5/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers along with my SB-3000 sound fantastic!!! An excellent upgrade to my system. Highly recommended.

Pros: These are great speakers at this price point.

Cons: None I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Amazing sound

Crutchfield customer from Land O Lakes, FL on 1/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was hesitant to buy these without hearing them first but I just didn't have the time so I gave them a shot after reading countless reviews. I was originally debating between the Prime & Ultra bookshelf speakers but rearranged my setup to accommodate these & I'm glad I did. First of all, the Piano Black looks absolutely incredible. I had recently bought an SVS sub & was completely satisfied with that and I'm THRILLED with these Prime Towers (also bought the Prime Center to go along with them). My home theater now sounds (& feels, courtesy of a Clark TSD) like a Dolby Cinema. Out of the box, without doing any Audessy setup, they sounded great but once I did the Audessy bit they got even better. Strangely enough, they even seem to have made my surround speakers sound better & I hear more & better sound in everything I listen to. I thought maybe I was crazy but my wife & 4 young adult kids agree & are equally shocked at how good they sound. I couldn't be happier & of course Crutchfield's great service helps too. Ordered late Thursday afternoon, received on Saturday

Pros: Beautiful finish Clear, tight sound Deep bass

Cons: Cons? You're kidding, right?

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Holland

Jeff from Holland, NY on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very satisfied - as this was my first SVS purchase. Even though I was replacing old Advent main speakers and I knew it would be a huge upgrade - I guess I hadn't appreciated how much it would really be. So worth the money all day for me to get entry into this level of sound. I'm running a simple setup with these and Klipsch center and sub - sounds fantastic for both music and home theater. I read a review of these somewhere where someone said you can't listen to them on low volume. Well you can, but I get the point - which is that you have to have some real volume to get the full sound - but all main speakers are like that to a certain degree.

Pros: Imaging and clarity Relatively small footprint Bang for the buck

Cons: So accurate sounding - some may say lacks warmth

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

SVS Prime Towers .... A GREAT buy!

Keith from WATERTOWN, NY on 11/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced some old Altec-Lansing loudspeakers that I loved for years. Took my time before writing this review .... but I am VERY PLEASED with my purchase of these towers. Great sound from both music and video sources. Excellent bass (paired with a SVS sub-woofer) and the highs are so much clearer than with my older speakers. Sound imaging is also excellent as they fill the room with IMO perfect sound. Purchased a new SVS Center Speaker for my system within a week of buying the towers. I'm pretty much sold on SVS! My entire surround system sounds brand spanking new with the addition of these fine fine speakers. As ALWAYS Crutchfield was a pleasure to deal with. Gus was very helpful with some questions I had and delivery was fast as ever .... two days to Northern NY.

Pros: Excellent Sound and Imaging Excellent Bass Response LOTS of bang for the buck!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Svs prime

Crutchfield customer from Vega Baja, PR on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

the best investment

Pros: quality and price

Cons: N/ A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

SVS Prime Tower

Crutchfield customer from Crest Hill, IL on 3/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nicely made speakers ,but treble just sounds too harsh for my liking

Pros: Top made quality

Cons: Treble too harsh

Crutchfield response on

5 of 10 found this helpful

Shockingly good for the $

Crutchfield customer from Anchorage, AK on 1/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've been using SVS subs for many years, but this is my first audition of their speaker line. As always, super value, great build quality, and solid looks for a $1000 pair of speakers. Crutchfield delivered super timely, as always!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

SVS Prime Tower

Crutchfield customer from Warren, MI on 12/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I would say I'm mostly happy with these speakers. I know for this price you're not going to get the Pinnacle of speakers. I think there's a pun in there. the speaker's if you enjoy the boom boom their bass response is very good. But the mids and especially the highs sound slightly off. But I am coming from a pair of Bose 601's that I have rebuilt several times. So the best I can give them as for stars and that's pushing it.

Pros: Good bass

Cons: So so mids and highs lack a little clarity

Crutchfield response on

6 of 10 found this helpful

I made the right choice

Crutchfield customer from Glen Allen, VA on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Outstanding tonal quality and sound reproduction. Perform as advertised, highly satisfied with my SVS Tower speaker selection.

Pros: Smaller footprint for big sound, 3 way speaker for accurate frequency response

Cons: Can't be played really softly

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

SVS Prime Tower

Crutchfield customer from Northfield, MN on 7/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

i am by no means a audiophile ,the svs prime towers far exceeded my expectations.after 15 yrs. with klipcsh sf 2 i never knew my music could sound this much better. 20 hours and they just keep getting better. thanks crutchfield good advice and service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

SVS Prime Tower

Crutchfield customer from Marrero, LA on 6/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Absolutely fantastic sounding speaker thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

Awesome service and product.

Crutchfield customer from Kemah, TX on 5/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product and fast delivery. Now the fun begins! Kudo's to Crutchfield for a last minute delivery upgrade to a Saturday due to bad weather. Thanks!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Fantastic Sound

Charles from South Boston, VA on 3/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The best sound for the $ Hands down! I have the hk3770, prime towers, sb2000 for my new game room system and I don't usually leave reviews but svs earned this one.Clean highs , voices are clear and natural and the bass is just phenomenal.

Pros: Sound quality, for $. Packaging and delivery was fast and without damage.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

13 of 13 found this helpful

SVS Prime Tower

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, MA on 3/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly want I was hoping for in sound quality and finish. Balanced sound but gets big when pushed. Piano gloss finish is perfect and presents as a much more expensive speaker. Can be right at home in a high end living enviorment with no problem. My first major purchase from Crutchfield and they were the best to work with. Product came on time as promised. Great experiance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Crystal Clear Speakers

Chad from Canonsburg, PA on 1/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased the SVS Prime towers based on reviews. Everyone hears sound and tone differently and unfortunately the SVS Primes were a little on the bright side for ME so I wound up returning them. Crutchfield was amazing as always with the return. With that said, I would not hesitate to recommend these speakers to anyone looking for a speaker with a brighter tone. They are well built. Look good. They sounded great with a wide sound stage. Had no trouble filling my 13' x 19' room with crisp clear sound. But it is that crisp clear sound that I found a little cringe worthy at times. In the end I wound up going up in price to the Focal Aria 926's. I won't compare the two because it is not a fair comparison with the price difference. The Aria's just had the right sound for ME.

Pros: Solid Construction Wide Sound Stage A lot of Speaker for the Money

Cons: Too bright for my taste

Crutchfield response on

18 of 21 found this helpful

SVS Prime Tower

Crutchfield customer from Ellenton florida on 11/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice crisp sounds specially wt my vinyl records.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Terrific

Michael from Howell, NJ on 9/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm used to having big speakers these guys aren't exactly small but they sound bigger than they are

Pros: Great sound

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Compare the sound