Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
138 820 157 4
Connect ID #
138 820 157 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

SVS SB-4000

SVS SB-4000 Powered subwoofer with app control (Piano Gloss Black)

MFR # SB-4000-PBG

5.0 out of 5 stars
23 reviews
View this product
SVS SB-4000

Gary from Seneca, SC on 11/26/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Well quite honestly it's too soon for me to tell, as I'm still waiting on my Marantz SR8015. It's been on back order. In the mean time I've gotta stop reading various reviews. I originally purchased an SVS SB2000, which I had planned on using in my newly built theater room. I wired for two subwoofers, & my plan was to use my existing Velodyne 1012 in the hopes they wouldn't clash. Well it never even got that far to even know,. Because of the reviews I've read, I decided to buy the SVS SB4000, & use the SVS SB2000 instead of my old Velodyne as my second sub. After researching, & talking with Crutchfield techs they did say my Velodyne, & the SB2000 wouldn't be a good match up. So I've decided to use Velodyne in another room by its self. Even using the 4000, & the 2000 may not be the best fit either, however I've gotta believe it's gonna sound amazing. I'm so looking forward to putting this sound system together. I truly believe you can never have enough watts in anything. Just like horsepower. I can't even imagine just how good these two subs will sound. Til I get the Marantz SR8015 I won't know. Waiting patiently. Gary & Kim

Pros: Buying from Crutchfield, youll always have good tech support, & they really look to help you. Good luck with buying elsewhere, & getting help as fast as you do with Crutchfield

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

SVS SB-4000

Scott from Illinois on 12/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have been a Crutchfield customer for nearly 30 years, and this is the most impressive product I have purchased. Outstanding bass that is tight and provides impressive volume and punch without the drone of a ported box. Worth every penny!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

SVS SB-4000

Robert from Davenport, FL on 10/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very tight and controlled response. Extremely versatile and effective signal processing features permit matching sub to main speakers accurately. I am using a two-subwoofer-stereo configuration with two full-range Magnepan LRS main speakers; and, I am shocked as to how much better the stereo imaging is with this configuration rather than with a single mono sub. In addition, the dual-sub configuration helps cancel and minimize room response irregularities. With the low pass filter set at 45 Hz, 24 db per octave slope, the blend with the LRS is seamless: These subs don't even seem to be there, until they need to be. Set as described, they add the lowest octave to the system's response without muddying the beautiful, tight mid and upper bass response of the LRS. The transient response of the acoustic suspension SB-4000 is noticeably good, and is far tighter than for any vented sub. Build quality is excellent. So far, I could not be more pleased!

Pros: See above

Cons: Only their weight and size, but both are a necessary design consequence.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Money well spent

Daniel from Lansdale, PA on 4/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I used the SVS sub matching tool for my Focal floor-standing speakers and chose the SB-4000. It pairs perfectly and seamlessly, delivering fuller sound and tight base. Even though I had high expectations based on all the positive reviews I read about SVS, I was happily surprised at just how well the sound filled out from what I believed were well-performing speakers to begin with.

Pros: Tight bass Easy setup

Cons: Somewhat large

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Product, Be Careful on Delivery Scheduling

Glennon from Columbus, OH on 2/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Everything with Crutchfield was great and it's a tremendous product. I was told that shipping would be via freight and I would get a call the day before. However, it was delivered at 2:30 PM the day before it was scheduled to be delivered, and I was luckily here, and the delivery guy was helpful because it weighs over 100 pounds. I got a call an hour after that from the delivery service to let me know when it would be coming the next day and I told them it had already been delivered. So be careful on delivery scheduling.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

This Hard To Beat

Richard from Valrico on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this woofer about a year ago to replace a 2 woofer system and glad I did. I'm not a HT guy but 2.1 listener. I have it matched up with, depending on my listening preference, a set of Martin Logan SL3 electrostatics, or a set of Dahlquist DQ 10's, a pair of SVS Ultra towers or a pair of Kef Q150's. Always love the sealed cabs because of the tight bass and this is extra nice because of the built in remote system from your phone. No more getting up for each song to adjust the volume, crossover point or any other setting. It will also shake the house down when call upon to do so. Bought the piano finish and almost wish I'd gone with the oak because this one shows every bit of dust and finger prints but looks killer. I have since purchased 2 SVS SB 2000's for my bedroom which I love with a pair of Martin Logan 2.0i's. You would have to spend 4 times the amount to get better woofers if at all better.

Pros: The power, Remote functions, metal grills, balanced XLR inputs and don't forget the sound.

Cons: Weight, I bought casters for mine to be able to move it.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

SVS SB-4000

Crutchfield customer from Prosper, TX on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nothing to add that hasn't been said. Replaced a Def Tech PS 1000 . Amazing difference for music and movies. Well built, heavy, deep bass, and coupled with the SVS Soundpath Isolation feet, no rattling anywhere. The only negative is the "truck grill" as the kids call it. Not the most attractive, but should keep the dogs out.

Pros: Well built, plays deep, easy adjustments

Cons: "truck grill"

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

SVS SB-4000

Crutchfield customer from Fremont, MI on 3/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Best sub. Incredible depth range calisthenics no distortion and easy setup. Bluetooth feature helpful for remote adjustment from their app.

Pros: See above

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SVS SB-4000

Crutchfield customer from Cologne, MN on 3/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I already have an SB-3000, but wanted a dual setup and went with the SB-4000 instead of another SB-3000. Going for more bass feel than sound. It delivered both. The included remote can't control more than 1 Sub, so I just use the phone app instead. Also, I don't think it needs the front display, since I don't use the remote, so I leave it off.

Pros: Bass feel and sound.

Cons: Big and heavy.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SVS SB-4000

Crutchfield customer from Union, SC on 3/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It sound great and the app really works you don't have to laid on the floor to make adjustments and I really like doing business with crutchfield they ship fast

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SVS SB-4000

Crutchfield customer from Saint Augustine, FL on 2/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to setup and excellent sound! Delivery was on time and in perfect condition. Never a problem with Crutchfield...ever!

Pros: Easy Set-UP Superb Bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent sub.

Scott from CINCINNATI, OH on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Most powerful clean sub I've ever heard. I have a matching pair. I did a reset on my processor to start everything even as far as signal. The SVS app. enables control of each sub individually. A pair of these together is far more than twice as good as compared to one by itself. I went with the sealed sub as I have had several ported sub woofers in the past. The sub sounds more like part of the speaker itself as opposed to a separate sub woofer. Remarkable performance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SVS SB4000

Richard from FREDERICKSBRG, VA on 9/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First one I got was dead bought in store no damage to box 2nd one works great very nice sub replacing a paridigm sub 12 that quit working ,This takes care of my bass needs phone apt very nice .

Pros: nice deep bass for music and movies .

Cons: very heavy

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Adds another layer to my home theater

Dobe from Aledo on 9/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutch Field is awesome! I had many questions "making lots of calls to them" and did lots of research and with their help, got the perfect theater sound system. The last piece to tie it all together was this SVS SB 4000. It blends really great with my system. Its not over bearing as I feared it might be. It is a perfect fit. Crutch field helped with picking the whole set up. 2: Klipsch RP-8000 for front left and right 1: Klipsch R-34 on a pull down TV mount for center 2: Klipsch RP: 502s for rear surrounds 1: SVS SB-4000 AWESOME!! 1: Marantz 6014 to control it all. I do currently have 2 polk 80v for atmos and plan on adding 2 more in the future and an amp to take load off the AVR, but for now, I am aesthetic with my set up and its gets the wife approval 100% Thanks a lot Crutch Field for all you knowledge employees and service.

Pros: Meshes perfect with Klipsch set up. Not boomy at all unless you want that, and it can!

Cons: none at this time.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SVS SB-4000

Crutchfield customer from Chesterfield, MO on 7/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was blown away by this thing, almost literally. Not only is it great for playing some hip-hop music on but, it's able to also do a great job with subtle bass notes within movies, well worth the money!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SVS SB-4000

Crutchfield customer from Cottage Grove, MN on 7/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds amazing with my Klipsch speakers. I absolutely love this sub highly recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SVS SB-4000

Jody from BILLINGS, MT on 3/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

LOVE IT!! For 2.1 music this thing is amazing. It does very well for HT as well. If you are looking for a sealed sub for mostly music but can also handle the lows that HT demands then don't hesitate to get this sub. Am planning on adding a second. This thing will blow your mind!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Beast of a sub!

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, NH on 12/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had an SB-2000 (which I loved) but wanted to upgrade. Was thinking of getting the SB-3000 but said wht the heck and ordered the 4000. I am so glad that I did, this thing is fantastic, much more flexible that the 2000. Most people buy a sub to extend the low frequencey of a system, which this does very well. But with the settings suggested on thye SVS site it improved the lower mids of my system as well.

Pros: Excellent build Great flexiblity Phone app works great

Cons: Takes a little fidling with the settings but once ou have it dialed in no need to change anything

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Best sub. Period.

Crutchfield customer from Weston, FL on 1/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound is amazing. Awesome with music and movies. The sound is clear and soft but with power. I had the J&L and thought it was the best out there but the SVS is now my top choice.

Pros: Perfect blending for music and movies. It match perdexy with the Macintosh amp Marantz processor.

Cons: No

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Appropriate bass

Craig from Louisville, KY on 12/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This thing is large in size and performance. I initially bought a 2000, but swapped it for the 4000 in my basement theatre.

Pros: Large sound, nice asthetics, iOS application is well done.

Cons: Being a friend to move it

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Lots of boom

Thomas from Buena Vista on 9/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I think this sub is the perfect size and man what bass. This thing puts out. The phone app is fantastic. On my phone I have the bass on -10, my receiver bass is set to + 6 and a listen to my music on THX music and I barely take the volume up to 60 maybe 65 and this thing is flexing the front metal grill, but I do listen to a lot of r&b an rap. I love it. Thanks Crutchfield for hooking me up with this. I had to go through many subs and this one works best with my Klipsch r28 and r24s, UPDATED 7/8/19: This went out on me within a year and I feel that the quality was poor. The gain was at 0 and I had the volume at like 70. I worked with SVS to get the warranty done, but wanted to let others know about the amp issue I had. Yes, they did resolve the issue, very fast service, but still disappointed that it only lasted a year before going out again.

Pros: Phone app is great. No more reaching around. Speaker looks fantastic with grill off but I left it on.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

14 of 16 found this helpful

SVS SB-4000

Crutchfield customer from Hoover, AL on 6/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

THE SB 4000 Delivers as advertised. It performs musical when needed and it also has the muscles to shake the floor in my entertainment area. I coupled it with a Definitive Technology 15" enclosed sub and I definitely set with the low end in my system. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

SVS SB-4000

Crutchfield customer from Citrus Spgs, FL on 6/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Movies are so real. Low end scares you when a T REX is chasing someone. Jurrasic Park. SVS is the reason.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Compare the sound