Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
138 820 157 4
Connect ID #
138 820 157 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Naim Mu-so 2nd Generation

Naim Mu-so 2nd Generation Powered wireless music system with Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2 and Google Chromecast

MFR # 00-019-0052

4.5 out of 5 stars
34 reviews
View this product
Nice WiFi/Bluetooth Music System

Lawrence from Mission Viejo, CA on 2/22/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my second unit; I have tried many wifi/Bluetooth speakers, and for the money, you get a great deal with the Naim Mu-so 2nd Gen. It's a great fit as a piece of wifi furniture, sits nicely on my dresser, and low enough that it doesn't get in the way of my tv on the wall. I got an open box buy and it even made the purchase more sweeter than the sale price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Product (with tweaking advice)

Charles from Fairport, NY on 2/17/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is an excellent product that I am thoroughly enjoying. With that said, I did find I needed to do a bit of "tweaking" to get the best sound out of it. Specifically, I had to make sure I understood how to use my phone as the controller for streaming input directly to the unit via WiFi (as opposed to using Bluetooth for streaming directly from my phone). I also realized I could overcome the unit's lack of an equalizer (which I think is a critical must-have) by using the equalizer built into the various streaming services (e.g., Spotify Premium) to tweak the sound to my liking. Once I completed both these learning curves, I was able to get sound out of the Mu-so that I consider entry-level audiophile (not high audiophile, mind you, since that truly requires a dedicated system - but as close as I imagine I can get from a one-box unit). Definitely recommended for the right application.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Naim Mu-so 2nd Generation

Victor from Wexford, PA on 1/21/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Puts out much more sound and base than expected. Fairly easy setup, except for tv soundbar.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2nd gen is worth the upgrade

Chris from Plymouth, MI on 1/17/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I owned the first generation since it was released. I was not certain the 2nd generation would sound much better but I was pleased that it does. Sounds much cleaner and fuller than 1st gen! Worth replacing 1st gen.

Pros: Fuller sound vs 1st gen

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Phenominal all-in-one

Dan from RALEIGH, NC on 11/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've been looking to replace my very high end speaker system with something more compact for my apartment (neighbors are complaining). I have Bowers and a Wilkins 805 diamond with musical fidelity 250w/ch amp and a high end sub from B&W. After reading/watching rave reviews online of the MuSo2 I thought I'd give it a shot with somewhat low expectations as I'm used to my current system. All I can say is WOW. It's not even broken in 4 hours and it's amazing. Make sure you send it a stereo PCM signal as it doesn't decode surround. I had the Apple TV set to pass thru and the sound was good for music but not movies. I changed it to stereo and WOW. watching Spectre right now and it sounds like I have a very high end LCR set up. Bass is very good and musical. Don't miss a sub for music, maybe for movies but not music. With music it's incredible. Obviously not the soundstage of my stereo set up but very impressive detail and scale of sound. Much more "listenable" than my set up and zero fatigue. It's better than Bang and Olusen systems I've heard. Buy one of these now you won't regret. I've had bowers and Wilkins zeppelin in the past for music and this sounds like it should be 5X the price (not a mere $400 more). If it can replace my 15k speaker set up nicely then I'd say it will blow away lower end systems.

Pros: Soundstage, volume, sweet midrange, detail, BASS, non-fatiguing sound, build quality, streaming is very good but I recommend optical

Cons: Honestly Zero

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

It's a keeper for me

Michael from Panama City, FL on 11/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds pretty good, I've heard/had Sonos, Bose, Apple Home pod, Denon home, and Bowers&Wilkins, this one tops them all, but also three times the price!

Pros: Roon ready, Airplay, Upnp, supports most audio formats. Hdmi and usb file playback.

Cons: All cables come out from right side of speaker instead of the back. I get why they did that, to give the illusion of a floating speaker due to the acrylic base.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent

Robert from Maryville, TN on 6/28/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Audiophile quality all-in-one box. I use it to listen to hi res streams from Tidal and Qobuz. Roon ready feature works perfectly if you are equipped for Roon.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Naim Mu-so 2nd Generation

Joe from Cumberlnd Ctr, ME on 4/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing sound quality from such a small, all inclusive device!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound fur music

Jack from Portland, OR on 1/23/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really amazing sound in a stylish a compact chassis. Naim focused on reproducing a near-life like music listening experience, but also pulled off decent sound for TV and movies. It was easy to connect - unpackaging to listening took only a few minutes, including downloading software update. I would recommend this for a small to medium sized room. Didn't quite deliver volume and base for my open-floor plan living space.

Pros: Detailed and balanced sound for music lovers. Easy installation. Stylish design.

Cons: Best for medium to small spaces

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Hi Quality 1 Box Solution

AARON from Rockville, MD on 1/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased this unit as an additional unit for use in a large room. Had previously purchased the McIntosh RS250 for use in a different room, and didn't want to spend the additional money on a second RS250, so I decided to try the NAIM. For the price point the NAIM delivers very nice sound through Airplay Lossless. Easy to use. Pretty to look at. Set-up was a little clunky because I had to download the NAIM app and check to see if the software and firmware are all up to date and have the app add the unit to the network. (Also the unit didn't just work out of the box and plugged in to an ethernet cable and be discoverable on the network by the iPhone or the Macbook laptop before activating with the app.) Having said all that, for those who think themselves audiophiles who don't want to spend $30K or $75K or more for a full high-end component set-up (which could easily be done at Crutchfield!), my McIntosh RS250 has a noticeably better (to my ear) warmer sound (at $1200 more cost, however). It also was immediately active once connected to the ethernet cable (no app necessary), and if I want to make it still better, it has an output for an external subwoofer. The comparison is what caused me to give it 4 stars.

Pros: 1 Box solution Excellent sound Wired and Wireless network connection option Wakes on receipt of signal automatically

Cons: No output for a subwoofer More audio quality control would be nice to have Warmer sound (maybe more bass) would also have been good. Most other NAIM product are made in UK. Why the change?

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Naim Mu-so 2nd Generation

Shik Kei from Fort Lee, NJ on 1/5/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Naim Mu-so 2nd Generation

Daniel from TRENTON, NJ on 11/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A level above the first generation. Good bargain.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Poor app undercuts a good product

David from Minneapolis, MN on 2/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The app that controls this machine is poor. When I try to use Tidal I get a message that says I need a subscription. I have a subscription, have had it for years. But the Naim app will not allow me to log into it. I can use Qobuz but I prefer Tidal. Crutchfield wasn't able to help me with this and suggested I get in touch wit Naim. I did so but have yet to hear back from them. The Mu-so itself sounds very good for the price. It's not as good as separates but it is very good especially with voices and orchestral music. But the app undercuts it and other reviews of the app complain about it and those complaints go back to its introduction.

Pros: Sound quality, size, looks.

Cons: App can't use Tidal, using the app otherwise is difficult, complicated.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Performs as advertised.

Crutchfield customer from Escondido, CA on 1/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's extremely well crafted. Aesthetically pleasing. My ask you be for Naim to add an EQ function to tailor the sound a bit.

Pros: Nice looking High quality Enough Bass Well crafted

Cons: Would like an adjustable EQ function

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Beautiful piece of audio equipment with great sound and bass. Very ver

Crutchfield customer from Lk Worth Bch, FL on 10/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful piece of audio equipment with great sound and bass. Very very impressive.

Pros: Great sound Very surprised at the sound quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Naim Mu-so 2nd Generation

Crutchfield customer from San Ramon, CA on 9/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound for such a small box. Looks beautiful in my apartment and the build quality is very high. I'm using it with a Roon Nucleus, Tidal, Qobuz -- excellent combo. Normally I would never use the volume knob, only play music through the Roon app on my iPhone. But, I find the design and quality of the volume knob to be so good, that I use it on a regular basis.

Pros: Build quality Roon-Ready High-Res steaming support

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Winner

Crutchfield customer from Saint Johns, FL on 9/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a fantastic product for its purpose. I wanted a simple, flexible [format accommodating], and highly musical one-box solution. The NAIM Mu-so 2 fits this description nearly perfectly. I really like the unit and I am very happy that I purchased Mu-so 2. I can only find two things that I could criticize [one fairly, the other unfairly]. First, the fair criticism is that the set-up is clunky. I read about this in some other reviews and I'm glad I did because the set-up doesn't actually follow the instructions. There's a disconnect between what the unit indicates is happening, via a small colored light, and what's actually happening. I'm also using this via ethernet, so I'm not sure if that had something to do it. But, I did manage to get to get it connected to wi-fi and it has worked fine . The unfair criticism is that I was hoping for just a tad bit more bass; however, the end result is still fantastic and there's a limit to lower frequency potential in this one-box solution. While I can't say it's better than other products because I haven't auditioned them all, I would comfortably say that I doubt one would be dissatisfied with this purchase.

Pros: Very musical.

Cons: Set up is clunky.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Another Five Star Review

Crutchfield customer from Brighton, MI on 8/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Mu-so 2d Gen is a great product. Focal speakers, excellent build quality and engineering, ease of operation, and, with the excellent Naim app, a wide scope of content choices.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Phenomenal

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 5/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound stage. I upgraded from Beoplay A8. This speaker is phenomenal. There are plenty reviews out there. I can only concurs 5/5.

Pros: Excellent sound Nice design Quick delivery

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Exactly what I was looking for

Crutchfield customer from Excelsior, MN on 4/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This thing ROCKS. A beautifully designed, meticulously executed, state-of-the art 'table radio.' Brings wonderful sound to my photo studio and serves as a wonderful compliment to my high-end separate tube system. Highly recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Made me grateful for my ears

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 2/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've had this for two hours and I'm smitten. I've heard clarity I've never before in tracks I've listened to 100 times. For the amount of clean sound it produces, it's amazing it's an all in one. Works well for dialogue as a sound bar. Suggestions: tinker with the room compensation, and the "loudness" option made it sound a bit bass-y to me. It's money well-spent.

Pros: Phenomenal sounding, just as good looking

Cons: Setup took some time; app is buggy.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Not great for Sound bar use.

Crutchfield customer from Elgin, IL on 2/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great for music, but placement is critical for proper bass response. Total failure for HDMI connection to a TV. What they should have done is built this with EARC, supported multiple Dolby formats and down mixed it for a phantom center channel.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Naim Mu-so 2nd Generation

Crutchfield customer from Longwood, FL on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield delivered promptly as promised. It is a handsome component and looks good with the red grill. It practically set itself up! Immediately downloading an update during which any further set up had to wait. But only a few minutes. It practically connected itself again to my Airplay and connects without a hitch. It has very good sound and certainly is loud enough. It provides three different settings to compensate for its position relative to a wall or a corner and has a Loudness control. I've been experimenting as to which sounds best to me. Perhaps a speaker of this cost might have come with some further setting controls such as treble and bass? I am replacing a Zeppelin wireless speaker and the sound of the Naim is certainly more robust. I recommend it

Pros: Gorgeous appearance and wonderful construction. A breeze to set up. Good sound

Cons: Would like more control over the sound.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great Sound when you need to go smaller

Crutchfield customer from Studio City, CA on 12/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Mu-so 2nd generation is a wonderful musical streaming system. I have owned many high end separates including Linn and Musical Fidelity during a long life. The time came when I had to go smaller. I recognized that the Muso could not perform as well as separates but as a single compact unit it produces excellent sound. It is beautifully made and has an excellent app. It also is capable of multiple room music with compact Q. For those he need to down size you can't find a classier system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Exceptional sound

Crutchfield customer from Cherry Hill, NJ on 11/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing, pure, articulate and clear sound even at higher volumes highly recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Naim Mu-so 2nd Generation is so-so

Crutchfield customer from Chula Vista, CA on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Naim Mu-so 2nd Generation sound is good enough but I do not feel matches the hype that inspired me to purchase it. I am happy with the variety of music station selections available. I also like not having to place speakers around the room with speaker wires laying about. You will certainly need to connect the unit directly to your router/modem, as just a Wifi connection did not work well. I have thought about returning it for something else but I don't have the energy.

Pros: good variety of listening options. No speaker wires lying around.

Cons: Sound is not impressive. Difficult to plug required cables into underside of the unit.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 11 found this helpful

A nice quality of sound and user friendly apps

Crutchfield customer from Martinsville, NJ on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good quality of sound, nice design and a user friendly apps that Naim has invested to develop. I place this beautiful one in our bedroom and my wife loves it very much because she can easily control it via her iPhone. I also love it with the alarm function to wake you up through the internet radio station you choose. Both the quality of hardware and software is wonderful to me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Naim Mu-so 2nd Generation

Crutchfield customer from Gainesville, VA on 8/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound with lots of options for playing music from different sources. Look like a piece of art too!

Pros: Can be used as a sound bar. Many different options for playing from different music sources.

Cons: The cable ports are in a hard to connect location.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Mu-so 2 Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Venice, FL on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have had my Mu-so 2 for a few weeks now. When I first powered it up I was a little nervous because the LED looked like it was blinking red, which is a fault. I realized afterward it was actually blinking purple, but looked red because of the surrounding furniture. Once I loaded my iPhone XR with the NAIM app, the LED went to white. I found the application intuitive. Using the application, I applied the DSP setting for close to a wall. The bass was tight with this setting, not so much without this setting enabled. I have my Mu-so slightly under a riser I purchased for my Samsung LED TV. I am using the HDMI ARC port from my TV to the Mu-so, which works perfectly.

Pros: The sound is tight but punchy on the low end and crisp on the high end. I do not have an SPL, but I would think I was getting a -3db response around 40hz or so with top end being close to 20khz. I use the system in my bedroom mainly for music, but as a soundbar at bedtime. Soundstage is good for a small box, not what you would get from seperate speakers, but that is not what you are paying for here. I absoluely love the Internet radio with most recordings sampled at 44.1KHZ, just as Red Book CD

Cons: I wish I was able to get the optional Peacock grille, but have found it impossible to find throughout the US internet. The optional grille does nothing for sound, but is aestetically beautiful.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Naim Mu-so 2nd Generation

Crutchfield customer from Ellicott City, MD on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Naim Mu-so 2 is the bomb. I was looking for great sound in the bedroom. I went from a Bluesound Pulse...not bad. Then I got out my old KEF floor standers , subwoofer, and a Bluesound PowerNode. Sounded great. Wife did not like the new visitors in the bedroom. So I splurged for the MU-so. Wow. Beautiful. sleek, AND SOUNDS FANTASTIC! The sound is so clear and engaging for this form. Easy as pie to set up, integrated with Roon in a heartbeat. Is it expensive? Yes. Is it worth it? Definitely! And the lady thanks me everytime I turn it on!

Pros: Sound, looks, functionality

Cons: Expensive but worth it.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Sudeen Mu So

Crutchfield customer from Fairfax, VA on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Loved it from the moment I saw it. Still enjoying it and going thru the motion with it. The sound quality is amazing and I have been testing it with different types of music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Naim Mu-so 2nd Generation

Crutchfield customer from Broadview Hts, OH on 2/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Remote and controls on the device are difficult to understand and use. Using the app on the phone uses up the phone battery.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 21 found this helpful

Beautiful sound

Crutchfield customer from Waterbury, CT on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing sound. Beautifully perfect sound. From no volume all the way up to 90% just beautiful sound. I was able to link to pandora and stopify as well as tidal and a USB drive - no problem. The apple app isn't perfect but it works just fine. I replaced 3 Logitech squeezeboxes which didn't sound too bad but the NAIM is so much better!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Amazing!

Crutchfield customer from Lawrenceville, GA on 10/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing sound! The Naim Mu-so 2nd generation has won so many awards for a reason. It sounds great! I have other systems including Bose, but this is another level. I liked it so much I bought the Naim Mu-so Qb 2nd generation to complement this. While that is also an amazing device on its own accord, in comparison to its big brother, it is not as nice. I use airplay 2 to stream both devices in the same room. They complement each other really well. I also switched to Tidal from Spotify to appreciate it fully.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Compare the sound