Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
138 820 157 4
Connect ID #
138 820 157 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

McIntosh XR50

McIntosh XR50 Bookshelf speaker (Gloss Black)

MFR # XR50-GBK

5.0 out of 5 stars
10 reviews
View this product
McIntosh XR50

Debra from Chittenango, NY on 2/19/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome speakers. We bought 4 of them. the sound is incredible. Bass is excellent. Good looking, blends into area, doesn't take up a lot of room. We bought stands for them. Music all thru the house with consistent quality sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

World class speakers

Kevin from Fountain Valley on 9/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Having owned and heard some great speakers at home and shows, McIntosh speakers have always been in the background for me and most others. After being left a bit unsatisfied with pretty much every speaker I've tried in my small room, I decided to give these an extended audition at dealer since I've settled on an all McIntosh tube system at home and these were very reasonable in price considering how crazy the prices can get in this hobby. What I heard blew me away. The imaging, soundstage and tonal balance and deep bass was astounding. They sounded like much larger floorstanders. I tested them with a lot of different musical genres and integration of all drivers was seamless and the bass was not only deep but very detailed and had great pitch. These qualities are extremely rare at this price point. I ordered a pair soon after and a few weeks later have never been more satisfied with any speakers in my room than these. The bass quality and depth are so good in my room that I'm not sure a sub is needed even for movies. Quality amplification is needed and you do want some decent power but these are 8 ohms so not very hard to drive even with modest power due to their great dynamics. There are a lot of great speakers out there but if you have an open mind with very good quality amplification you need to at least go audition these. At the very least you'll be very surprised or like me be blown away and finally found a speaker you can settle and be satisfied with.

Pros: Tonal balance and neutrality, transparency, imaging, soundstage, deep bass.

Cons: Nothing at this price.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Was nervous at first but dont regret it.

James from Sobieski, WI on 9/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I know this speaker line gets a lot of flack, but i finally broke down and bought it. I actually really like it. The first few listens were meh, but then I gave her a lot more juice, and suddenly I was able to notice more subtle nuances. The way saliva was playing in the back of the guys throat in over the garden wall, a neon sign that wasn't completely edited out of a music video, and some songs felt like they could just swallow you whole (like summer breeze) this speaker has grown on me, and I love it. Hopefully the center channel will impress me as much.

Pros: Nice sound Beautiful build

Cons: Can be powered by lower power but really needs high.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

McIntosh XR50

Dean from Gallatin, TN on 8/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds good; I bought them more for the artwork and nostalgia, then knocks my socks off sound, but either way, love them.

Pros: Looks & quality

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Love McIntosh

Jack from Moore, OK on 7/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful speaker in Red Walnut. Accented bass response too heavy with some material. Not really a quantum leap from my Elac BS403 speakers.

Pros: Seamless Red Walnut cabinet

Cons: Way too expensive

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Rock Solid Sound and Super Crisp

Kevin from Charleston, SC on 1/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crisp Sound, Good Base, Excellent Bookshelf Speaker. This beauty really is the best bookshelf speaker I have heard. I have tried Martin Logan, B+Ws and a few others and this is by far the best sounding and the best looking speaker. The finish is a rich lacquer gloss and the connectors are solid.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Price but totally worth it in looks and sound!

TheraP from Madison, WI on 9/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

What great little speakers. Huge sound! Lovely to look at. Truly renders the music. Even the radio of the 7200 McIntosh Receiver sounds accurate and wonderful! So glad we got them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 17 found this helpful

McIntosh XR50

Guest from Mountain Lakes,NJ on 7/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very musical and easy on the ears. No shrill top end. I can listen for hours and enjoy the music without ear fatigue. Been listening to them for 2+ years.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

28 of 28 found this helpful

McIntosh XR50

Crutchfield customer from Marina, CA on 2/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks and sounds great as expected for this price, can't give 5 stars yet because I'm waiting to set up on stands soon

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 52 found this helpful

Small but mighty!

Crutchfield customer from Hollywood, CA on 12/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful craftsmanship, big sound from a speaker this size. The Macintosh XR50s deliver deep base and dazzling highs. I am using them as my LCRs in a home theater environment. They dazzle keeping up with a heavy effects sound track as well as stunning performance when listening to my favorite music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 52 found this helpful

Compare the sound