Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
130 335 647 4
Connect ID #
130 335 647 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

KEF Q150

KEF Q150 Bookshelf speakers (White)

MFR # Q150WH

5.0 out of 5 stars
291 reviews
View this product
KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Bee Cave, TX on 2/22/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I upgraded from Klipsch SB2 bookshelf speakers. Wow, what an improvement in overall sound quality! Very happy with my new KEF Q150 speakers! Currently pulling out all my old, dusty albums for a fresh listen.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

WOW!!!

Julius from PORT ST LUCIE, FL on 2/15/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These sound AMAZING! What an incredible value in speakers at this price. High highs and Low Lows! Super clear and well-balanced sound. I highly recommend these speakers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Joseph from Troy, NY on 2/15/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

YES I have the Q150 in a 7.1 setup what a fantastic set of speakers if you or someone else is looking for the right pair of bookshelf to complete your setup THESE ARE THE ONES NO QUESTIONS ASKED GET THEM AND MORE FROM CRUTCHFIELD!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good bang for the buck

Vince from Homosassa, FL on 2/14/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've connected these to a Yamaha RX-V371 (100 w/channel in stereo mode) in my spare bedroom/office and will be building some stands for them to spread them out as they are presently only about 3 feet apart to try to get a wider soundstage. Decent speakers with a nice sound for a small to medium room. Good bass from a small speaker but could be better in the midrange. Solid build and overall a good bang for the buck at almost half price.

Pros: Price point

Cons: Midrange could be better

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q150s are an amazing value for the price.

Brett from Lafayette, LA on 2/9/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Q150s are an amazing value for the price. They sound bigger than the drivers at a first glance would suggest. I have mine set up on my desktop at work. With good components behind them, they are very detailed with surprisingly deep bass, so don't get caught up with the manufacture specs. They image very well, and one does not need to be on center axis with the drivers to hear them. They disperse sound evenly even if your ears are above or below the center of the drivers. The sound is full and well balanced. The highs sparkle with good detail. I find they play reasonably loud for a majority of the music I listen to without losing their composure. If you play dance music with deep bass, look elsewhere. But for near field listening they will play most anything with satisfying results. When they are On Sale, get a pair, you won't regret it.

Pros: They sound better than you would think for size of the drivers. The walnut finish looks like real wood. Excellent fit and finish at all seams and corners on the cabinets.

Cons: They are not the LS50 Meta

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kef 150 a nice starte hi-fi speaker

Neil from Riverview, FL on 2/4/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For the size a good sounding speaker. A bit bright but vocal clarity is true. Nice finish but can tell it's a vinyl wrap, however it's a unique texture.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Oleksandra from Falls Church, VA on 2/4/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are great bookshelf speakers which work great as LR and Surround channels. They pack enough power for most real life scenarios. I had to deduct one star because out of 4 speakers 2 arrived damaged, and one had minor cosmetic imperfections. Makes you wonder if KEF has any factory quality control. Kudos to Crutchfield for quickly shipping a replacement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Liam from Phoenix, AZ on 2/1/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Krishnakumar from Naperville, IL on 1/30/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound. Surprisingly quality bass for this size speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good bookshelf speaker

Mike from Tucson, AZ on 1/30/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good little bookshelf speaker especially on sale ! Driving it in the garage with a NAD preamp and hafler power amp.

Pros: Good sound for a small speaker

Cons: no grill

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good buy

Kathryn from Jefferson City, MO on 1/29/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The sound is unlike my other sets of speakers. Switching between several different brands highlights the difference. It's a good sound but depends on placement in the space. I have a large room and while they fill it well, there is a definite sweet sound spot for listening to them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very good entry level bookshelf

Andre from Biddeford, ME on 1/9/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's been a long time since I listened to bookshelf speakers. That being said I think these Kef speakers are a good deal when on sale. Surprisingly good bass when directed properly off the wall. Mids and highs are decent enough. I would recommend these for small rooms as an inexpensive way to begin a 2 channel set up.

Pros: Surprisingly good bass

Cons: No grills included

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A bargain for high end

Drew from DOYLESTOWN, PA on 12/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exceptional clarity. Used as higher end office pc sound system, driven by PS Audio Sprout amplifier. I have had Klipsch for many years. This is first time I went WHOA in a long time when I powered system. clean amp, good DAC, super accurate speakers, really makes a difference. Very attractive in white against a white wall I use with Klipsch powered sub so really wanted clear mid range; this truly delivers. Music comes alive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Liked them so much I ordered another pair

Julie from Hansville, WA on 12/14/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought these because the description said a 15 watt amp could power them. I hooked them up to a Yamaha CRX-040 (plays the iPod Classic) and the sound was amazing, within a few hours I was ordering another pair for a larger amp. Even on a mere 15 watts and no subwoofer, they filled my 13' X 18' art studio with stunning clarity and ample volume.

Pros: Great sound even on low watts Beautiful look Fine without subwoofer

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Barry from Bronx, NY on 12/5/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clear balanced highs and lows at all volume levels.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound Great Price

Dan from Chicago, IL on 11/28/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Absolutely pleased with these guys. I have a more intimate listening space that opens up into a larger area of my house . The KEF 150s are perfect in size and location on my bookshelf and sound incredible. Real powerhouses for their size and provide both a nice soundstage and great clarity for the price. I play a lot of jazz , instrumental and experimental music and am in love with the results. I'm driving them with a 1980 Pioneer reciever and feel no need to upgrade that, which makes me happy as I love my vintage reciever.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound, great size, great look

Graham from Michigan on 11/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Speakers sound fantastic, I'm very happy with them. They're not too big, so easy to place. I have them ~7.5 inches from the wall and I think they sound excellent. I'm most impressed by the soundstage, it's wide and deep and music sounds better from more seats in the room, rather than just a specific spot. For the money, these are incredible.

Pros: Great sound Great size Great look and finish (Walnut)

Cons: No grilles included, be aware

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds great!

Daniel from Shoreline, WA on 11/24/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

someshwar from GARNER, NC on 11/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing clarity

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent sounding speakers

Yan from Lafayette, CA on 11/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sounding speakers. Especially for nearfield listening or smaller rooms due to the coaxial design. The walnut finish is beautiful (although that is a personal preference).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Derrick from Upper Marlboro, MD on 10/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The sound is impeccable easy to setup. The customer service and delivery of your product is above my expectations. I really appreciate and enjoy my every interaction with Crutchfield. 5 stars plus. If you have any product testing projects in home for customers please place me on the list. Derrick Nash

Pros: Nice fit to my entertainment room very nice looking wood cabinetry.sound is on par with my Bose 901 speakers! I love these speakers and so does everyone who sees and hears them great job in the design! I suggest them to everyone who would hear me singing the praise.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Richard from Golden Valley, Az on 9/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have both the Q350's and these Q150's that I use in the same system. I wrote a review on the Q350's which actually pertain to both. These thoughts are in addition to those. I have another set of speakers that have served me well for a number of years (Polks), but I was curious as to what a different sound signature might be like. The rest of my equipment has the capability of readily distinguishing those differences in my mind, as I chose each piece for a specific reason and although by most standards they wouldn't be considered high end, it is well engineered, modern equipment.I decided that I wanted a modern type speaker that attracted me for some particular reason from an engineering standpoint. This KEF basic design was introduced in 1988, and these speakers are the 12th generation of that design. KEF has a web page that very clearly goes through that progression. This tells me that their engineers really believe in the design, but they also pay attention enough to understand when solid improvements can be made and when upgrades in materials are available. The concept of how the energy of the tweeter is dispersed over the surface of the driver, and sent out together in a 160 degree pattern is intriguing to me. Do I believe that it works as planned? Yes I do, and they're great speakers. I know I made a great choice, but I believe they need to be "opened up"to get the most out of them. Btw, I LO VE the look of these speakers in the walnut. Very rustic- classy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Kefan from Clemson, SC on 9/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good speaker, quick shipping. Very satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Christopher from Columbia, SC on 9/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm very happy with the Kef q150s. The sound is quite an upgrade from my 15 year old Pioneers. Good bass, clear highs. More than enough loudness for my moderate sized living room. Crutchfield was awesome as usual! Quick shipping, well packaged. I'd definetly recommend these speakers to anyone looking for great sound quality at a reasonable price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Speakers for the Price

Jimmy from New York, NY on 5/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are of amazing quality for the price! I use them for my home theater system as front left and front right speakers, and would highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Not quite 100 Watts.. its sister speaker survived

Craig from Sayre, PA on 5/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Guess can't handle 90 watts like its sister speaker

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/22/2023
Craig, we're sorry you're having issues with your speakers. While your order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, please feel free to reach out to our Tech Support team for help, or for information about the 5-year warranty on these speakers. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 5 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Saeed from TRUMBULL, CT on 4/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I use them for my surround speakers sounds great.

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Better than expected

Lee from Woodbury, TN on 4/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased the KEF Q150's on sale after reading some reviews on here and also watching a few YouTube reviews. They sound terrific paired with my vintage Pioneer SX-850. I have them on a dresser in a 12 x 14 bedroom and they do a great job ar low to medium volume levels. No sub needed for me.

Pros: Great sound in a smaller room with no need for a sub

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Bruce from Irving, TX on 4/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Q150's are probably worth their list price, but if you catch them at Crutchfield's sale price, they are a no brainer! Excellent clarity and soundstage!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Edward from Garland, TX on 3/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased the speakers on sale for audio in a second room. Currently placed on bureau with tv, receiver etc. Huge improvement over the satellite speakers I was using. Might purchase stands in the future for better placement. Would recommend as long as the price is reasonable.

Pros: Good sound

Cons: No grille covers

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great speakers for a small room.

James from Hesperus, CO on 3/14/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound. Very detailed. Pairs nicely with NuPrime IDA 8 in a rather small primary bedroom. Also brings great sound to our LG television.

Pros: Detailed sound, small footprint

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Satisfactory and beyond!

Robert from Thurman, OH on 3/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had been using an old set of Optimus LX5 speakers that I had rebuilt. I knew that these were just not cutting it and giving me what I was really looking for. Enter the KEF Q150's. I quickly unboxed these and while they were still sitting on the protective wrap, connected them and started the Eric Clapton CD, 'Pilgrim'. Oh my. In about 2 bars I knew I had made a good choice! I didn't touch anything, but set the bass and treble at 'flat' and just sat back. After listening to several LPs and CDs I set things up for a break in period. Next morning, fired back up, very pleased. The KEF Q150 has a very good finish (mine are black) and I think that it will last well. I was surprised at the bass these speakers carry and the treble is very good. I have spent several hours re-listening to my collection, as I am hearing detail I had not heard in there before. Buying these at this price, well I'm so satisfied. Lee was a great help in answering questions about my listening area too. Good all round. If you're like me and haven't upgraded speakers in a long time, I recommend these, a very good value.

Pros: Very good build quality Very good cabinet finish Gives a very detailed listening experience

Cons: It's a small item, but having speaker grills included would have been nice.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Stephen from New Rochelle, NY on 3/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice sounding speakers at a reasonable price. Recommended!

Pros: Small, compact, clean clear sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Richard from Clinton, IL on 3/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

More like 4.5 rating. Good sound just a little bright or sharp on the high end. Glad I updated and would do it again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good Deal

Donald from Pocatello, ID on 3/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like them, sound good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great First Impressions

Andrew from Longmont, CO on 3/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

As my first pair of speakers that I bought with intention I've been really pleased with them. Paired to a Cambridge AXR85 and upgrading from a pair of hand-me-down speakers, it's fun to hear new layers and instruments in my music. From vinyl to CDs to Bluetooth, the range of these speakers have been great. I have a pretty small space so the bass can be a little too much at times, but considering that there's no sub and these are small speakers, that's almost a perk, and can be adjusted by toning it down via the amp. Stoked about these, especially at the sale price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Ralph from Quinnesec, MI on 3/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am using them as desk top speakers for PC. Very happy with purchase, was worried they would be too large, but they work great for this. I am using a Sony receiver with a subwoofer. The crossover is set at 100HZ. Sound great happy with purchase.

Pros: They sound great, and to large.

Cons: no grills

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Kelly from Moneta, VA on 3/1/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Why have I waited so long to buy these speakers? The Kef Q150 is an amazing speaker and half off is even better. They sound incredible and are very clear and the bass is wonderful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Tacoma, WA on 2/25/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

excellent sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Sean And Tan from Arvada, CO on 2/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very impressed with these speakers. Sound quality is very good the price was unbeatable. Will absolutely recommend Crutchfield for their customer service and products.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Futuristic sonic happiness

Ian from Chicago, IL on 2/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great imaging and sound stage. Love the white wrap for the price, it really sets the whole speaker into a more futuristic aesthetic. Buy this speaker when it's 300 bucks and it's a value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very clean sound.

Jeff from Marshall, MN on 2/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very crisp and clean sound, yet not too forward or harsh. Pair quite nicely with a smaller sealed subwoofer for a nice 2.1 living room system.

Pros: Crisp, clean sound. Nice looking.

Cons: Can reveal poorer recordings.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Shockingly good sounding speakers

Ryan from Cullowhee, NC on 2/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I needed a couple of bookshelf speakers that fit into a pretty small space (rebuilding an old 1960's stereo cabinet), and researched for weeks. I finally narrowed it down to the Q150s, the Klipsch RP-400m, and the Wharfedale Diamond 12. All the reviews raved about the KEFs, and when Crutchfield posted a Scratch-and-Dent for an insane discount, I had to jump on it. I thought I would give them a try and return them if I wasn't happy, but my decision to buy was mostly based upon price at the time. I was stunned at how good these little speakers sounded once I hooked them up and picked a good, clean record to play. They are tight and punchy, and crystal clear. They even come with bung plugs so you can tweak them a little more. The hype is real on these little speakers. I need to find another project just so I can buy more of them!

Pros: Really, really good sounding speakers. Great value if on sale. Look great. High quality build. Small form factor for small space needs.

Cons: Overpriced when not on sale. Doesn't come with grills. Must be purchased separately.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

GK

George from Brooklyn, NY on 2/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great clarity of sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Thomas Kent from Tampa, FL on 2/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A little heavier in weight than I expected. Sounds good utilized with my home theater system! With one word; KILLER!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Steve from Skiatook, OK on 2/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice clean pure sound. Very good across a wide variety of music. Really stood out on jazz and classical. Could be a little better on rock but better than the competition in this price and size range. Listened to them when buying vs. some high end names in this size class and they stood out as the clear winner. Played them side by side with my Klipsch ref towers. Sound wise they held their own but efficiency did not match the Klipsch. That was as expected. You can not expect a bookshelf speaker to have the efficiency of a tower or the ultra efficient Klipsch speakers. Great for my small office.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent Sound and Imaging

Joshua from Lynchburg, VA on 2/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are incredible in so many ways. They sound really good with every genre of music I listen to but the thing that really blows me away is the soundstage and imaging. I have them set up on my desk in less than optimal conditions (my room isn't treated and I have two bookshelves on either side deflecting the sound) and yet the imaging is incredible. When I listen to orchestral music I can clearly hear the location that each instrument is coming from. If I close my eyes it feels like I am in a concert hall. I was on the fence about going a little above my budget and getting these speakers but I am so glad I did. They have made me fall in love with listening to music all over again.

Pros: Great sound Great soundstage and imaging Look beautiful

Cons: A little on the large side for a destop setup (but not deal breakingly large) Doesn't come with the speaker grilles

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

KEF Q150

David from Walla Walla, WA on 2/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A clear win, sleek and stylish with a relatively flat frequency response, unparalleled at this price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Keith from HOLMDEL, NJ on 2/1/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have these connected to a Sonos Amp in a medium-sized bedroom. Cabinets feel very solid. Wire connectors are well made. KEF provides rubber feet so the speakers stay put and don't scratch the furniture. Very pleased with the sound quality - smooth, clean and crystal clear without sounding harsh. Bought them on sale, which feels like an excellent bargain.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Philip from Redlands, CA on 1/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are a very good value considering the design, construction, and sound quality. I was surprised with the 16 pound weight of each speaker but that translates to an enclosure that is solid and only contributes what the designer intended to the sound quality.

Pros: Great sound quality with good frequency response. Well built compared to some bookshelf speakers that at out there.

Cons: Nothing so far and I do not expect any issueless.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Edward from Carolina, PR on 1/24/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very elegant speakers the sound are very sweet this are my first KEF speakers Like to thanks Crutchfield for there excellent service thanks guys

Pros: Cool speakers

Cons: no speaker grilles

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Chad from Philadelphia, PA on 1/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I found these on sale for half off and I truly couldn't believe my good luck. Nice clear highs, very decent lows. At the discounted price - truly a steal!

Pros: Really nice depth, good for a small/average room

Cons: So the grilles are priced not only separately but individually. :/

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid Speakers

William from Houston, TX on 1/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome set of beginner speakers. Incredibly easy to set up, sleek look, and they sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Movies yes, Music ???

Doug from Clyde, NY on 1/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Ran this with a 803N, in 2.1 with a CA Minx sub crossed at 80hz. Watched Black Adam on blu ray and it was outstanding, in all phases. Watched some other shows with the same results. When listening to music using Spotify premium and Pandora the results were different. Soundstage and separation is out standing. What bothered me was even crossed over at 80hz the bass was more like pressure than bass notes. I could only get them about 6 - 8 inches from the back wall. Believe me spl is great but something was different. I did not try the foam plugs. Some time with them and they did have that aluminum sound to them. For me this is a deal breaker. Sounds so unnatural. I own a set of Dali Oberon 5s and they detail out of this world, yet they sound so natural, and give a huge soundstage. So I am not flying by the seat of my pants here. For movies and video games the 150s seem to rock. For 2.1 music I would suggest something else. I did return the 150s and put my rock solid Diamond 225s back on music duty.

Pros: Movies

Cons: Aluminum sound, Bass hard to manage

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Patrick from Gaylord, MI on 1/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clear highs, reasonable lows from a relatively inexpensive set of bookshelf speakers

Pros: Compact, decent depth

Cons: Grilles separately priced

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q150-an excellent bookshelf speaker

Lynn from Warrensburg, MO on 1/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not quite as small as some bookshelf speakers, the Q150 provides a very nice sound signature. Upper-mids do suffer a bit as others have referenced, but in conjunction with the superb (favored to me) smooth character of the overall signature, these fit perfectly into my vintage system for use with vinyl. Paired with a Denon DP-45F and a Rotel RA-932, the sound is what I was looking for in my office. Many have mentioned that the Q150's benefit from more power, and I would agree; with the caveat that QUALITY of power is as important. The Rotel only puts out 35 watts, but I have no problem driving the KEF's. Bass is quite good when placed off the wall, and I do favor the rounded off treble. Soundstage as many have mentioned is one of the best attributes and as a near-field monitor will give you an expansive sound. The KEF Q150 is an excellent speaker for those looking for a small space option and can easily fill the room with very good to excellent sound characteristics. I highly recommend this speaker on the "near-budget" end of the spectrum. I am thoroughly satisfied.

Pros: Affordable Looks Soundstage Bass reach Smooth character Macro details are very good Fills small to medium sized rooms with aplomb

Cons: Not the most energetic sound Micro details are lacking Some will not like the smooth signature Might be too big for some, especially as a near-field monitor Rounded treble Upper mids lack true definition and quality

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Jonathan from Boise, ID on 1/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are beautiful full sounding speakers at a great price when on sale. I picked these up for $299 for the pair and at this price point, they cannot be beat. Lots of power and great sounds in both music and movie usage. I am using these as my front mains with a KEFQ650c as my center and a SVS PB-1000 for my sub. Great full sound from this setup with the KEFs bringing lots to the game in the movie experience and for enjoying music.

Pros: Full sounds with nice highs Beautiful presentation High quality build

Cons: Standard price at $599 for the pair.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Steve from Camden, NC on 1/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great little speaker. Purchased from the online Crutchfield outlet at a great price. Speakers were in like new condition. Perfect for playing music in the background while working at home or having music playing to entertain guest. Using a NAD C328 integrated amp with BT to stream music. Will be adding a turntable in the future. Speaker sounds good for its size but needs a sub for higher volume playback or home theater.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very Good

Tim from CHINO on 1/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Initially, I bought this pair for surrounding. But then hooked it up to my vintage stereo the sound is very clear and good bass. Got it when it was on sale, love this bookshelf.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Q-150

Richard from Wilson, NC on 1/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Gave this product 5-stars (the verdict is still not completely in). I've only owned these speakers for a short time. So far, so good. First timer with the KEF brand. Pleased with sound quality and cosmetics of the Q150. Crutchfield also wanted me to review the optional grilles for these speakers. So on that note... the grilles do justice for these speakers (IMO) and I'm glad I got them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Marcos from Fullerton, CA on 12/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I use these as surrounds. The mids are not as "full" as the Q350s, so they end up sounding a little brighter. I only noticed this because I tested them side by side. These are also smaller, so they're more compatible for desktop/nearfield listening than the 350s.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q150

David from Saint Regis, MT on 12/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Got these on sale, and they sound great for a small bookshelf speaker. I'm driving these with a vintage sansui 771 in a 220 sq ft room. would recommend to any one looking for a rich sound at a reasonable price. Great service from Crutchfield. can't beat their 2day shipping.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

great speakers

Kyoung from Chicago, IL on 12/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This pair of speakers has a good base and well balanced. I placed them on the floor, and they still sound great. If you want a certain character like warmth of sound this might not be the ones, but if you need speakers that are correct in reproducing music with a good amount of base, they won't disappoint.

Pros: good base well balanced

Cons: The white finish is not quite attractive, but I am OK with it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good surprise !

Eugenio from Guaynabo, PR on 12/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

incredible soundstage for such a small speaker , good bass for a 5 1/4 woofer , now i know why the frequency response is better than his big brother Q350 ! for the special price (at the moment) it's a bargain ! at his regular price i prefer to buy some floorstanding instead .

Pros: Beautiful and great soundstage , love the Uni-Q Driver !

Cons: vinyl in corners could be better , cheap vinyl wrapped .

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Big improvement over klipsch reference theater

Caleb from Minneapolis, MN on 12/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I got these as surrounds to pair with my KEF R3s. So far so good!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Kevin from Staten Island, NY on 12/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound quality for the price point (usually on sale). Good construction for its price. Great imaging/ soundstage. Beautiful styling. Good for medium sized rooms. Not enough volume for very large rooms. Very secure packaging, but uses foam. Would be nice to see biodegradable packaging. No mounting holes. No dust cover included.

Pros: Great sound quality Good construction Great imaging/soundstage Beautiful styling

Cons: No mounting holes No dust cover included

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great speaker for a great price (when on sale)

Tom from Mineola, NY on 12/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Incredible value (when on sale) for such great sound. Clear and detailed up top, no smear, great stereo separation and decent bass for a 5in. I actually had to plug up the rear port because it's right up against a wall.

Pros: great looks detail highs great stereo separation great instrument separation good bass

Cons: overpriced when not on sale

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q150 as AV speakers

John from Prattville, AL on 12/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm very happy with my new KEF Q150 speakers. I use them for AV speakers and could not be more satisfied. I do need to get a subwoofer though - I'm accustomed to a bit heftier bass than these are capable of by themselves.

Pros: Great mids and highs. Look fantastic. Amazing performance for their size.

Cons: Grills covers are an additional $40 - over 13% of what I paid for the speakers. Come on!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Toshiki from San Diego, CA on 11/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds good mane

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Matthew from Charlottesville, VA on 11/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really excellent sound. The speaker boxes look great and the drivers provide great clarity and enough volume to fill my listening space (25' x 15'). They also provide a good sound stage even in just a two channel set up and I find that they still sound grood even when I'm not in an "ideal" listening position (though the stereo image will change as you move around). Overall I'm really happy with my purchase. I may keep building up my setup to add more channels, but for the time being these speakers are more than adequate for music and movies.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Viktor from Laguna Beach, CA on 11/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Switched to these from the cheapest active speakers from the big online retailer and I definitely feel the difference.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Jay from Los Alamos, CA on 11/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

so far so good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound for the price.

Maykel from Lakeland, FL on 11/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great clear sound. They sound bigger than they are and fill a small room nicely. Bass extension is also astonishing.

Pros: Crystal clear sound, price (when on sale) good looking, 3 color choice.

Cons: Low sensitivity.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q150

David from San Mateo, CA on 11/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful design. Detailed HD sound with wider sweet spot. The base is a little booming if the base reflex holes are not plugged. The sensitivity is low, good for small room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Budget High-End Bookshelf Speakers

Tae from ASHBURN, VA on 11/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are my first Hi-Fi passive bookshelf speakers for my desktop paired with the SMSL Stack [SU-9N + SH-9 + DA-9] and they sound incredible paired with the speaker amp. I have them mounted 6 inches away from the wall so using the included port plugs help with the boomy bass and improve the mids. They're also around my ear level with the Kanto SP6HD when I'm leaning back on the chair to listen to music and for the money, I don't think you can do better, especially when these are on sale.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Larry from Tullahoma, TN on 11/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great Clarity, a little bass bump, but easily toned down with the provided port plugs, or tone controls. I needed a pair of bookies that could be oriented horizontally due to space constraints. These sound good in either orientation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent speakers

Michael from Secaucus, NJ on 11/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are amazing speakers. Am new to Kef and would recommend these to anyone. These are an excellent value and are great on their own or as sound speakers. Im not sure what paying more money for speakers will get you, these already sound amazing and I don't feel like im missing anything.

Pros: excellent sound, not to big, look good.

Cons: wish I had got into Kef a long time ago.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Terrific Speakers

Jeffrey from Baldwin, MD on 11/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am very pleased with these speakers. I had Dali Zenzors for years and they were quite articulate, but could have used more low end. I replaced them with Klipsch RP500M pair, and while overall they are nice speakers, I didn't find them as articulate as the Dalis, but they did have more low end. With the new KEFs I now have the best of both prior setups with great articulated detail and enough low end. They are very nice speakers and pair with my Cambridge Audio AXR100 receiver (also from Crutchfield) well. Very pleased and super glad I waited for these to go on sale. I purchased an open box pair in Walnut which saved me sone additional $. My first experience with open box purchase and the speakers were like new with all documentation and original packaging. Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros: Sound great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Kyle from Springville, UT on 11/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've been using these for years, in my casual listening system. I don't know if you can find a better sounding speakers at $600, but when they are on sale for $300, it's a no brainer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

mid century style

Thomas from Napa, CA on 6/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

look great and the sound is big enough for me

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Desktop Speakers

Joshua from Portland, OR on 6/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These sound great in my home office. I like that they include foam inserts for the ports, since I have to position them close to the wall. Paired with a subwoofer, these are perfect for my setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good units

Randle from Waller, TX on 5/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice book shelf speakers. Works well in a small to medium sized room. Range is very good as is bass response for speakers of this size.

Pros: Compact

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing!

Adam from Collegeville, PA on 4/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For their size, they are incredible speakers. Very crisp highs, deep lows. Very happy with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Charles from Nahant, MA on 4/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Hooked these to my denon ceol rcd-n10 and using in my bedroom. I don't play my music super loud so these are a great combination. Considering a subwoofer but not sure I need one, I am primarily streaming music from my IPhone and playing CDs. Very pleased with the speaker appearance and sound. The speakers have a small footprint and are easy to place almost anywhere. Grabbed them on sale at Crutchfield, great deal.

Pros: Small footprint, great looking, good build quality,

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Missoula, MT on 4/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These little gems provide the sound to my computer, along with a subwoofer. Wonderful speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

My First Upgrade in Audio. Now Hooked!

Kevin from Jackson, TN on 3/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exceeded my expectations in sound quality and appearance! The walnut looks even better in person. Terrific for my near field use on my desktop. My first step up in speaker quality and wow! I am thrilled to be enjoying listening through my music collection. Sounds awesome.

Pros: Great looks and sound.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Get them while on sale

Lawrence from Honolulu, HI on 3/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with the purchase! Customer support at Crutchfield beyond reproach; supportive and helpful while awaiting delivery. (USPS lost tracking during delivery.) I ordered the KEF Q150 speakers as a substitute for an out of stock set of speakers for which I had been waiting. The process of cancelling and switching to these speakers (these went on sale) was easy and one couldn't ask for a more supportive customer service. Although I would have preferred the KEF speakers to be a little more sensitive, they had the wide range of response I desired and needed for my 7.1 theater setup. The brisk highs and overall sound quality fit my needs almost perfectly. (I am 82 years old with above average hearing.) Primarily for watching movies, I find that I am using them more for stereo listening of classical and organ music since all of the nuances are readily evident. GREAT!

Pros: Clean cut sound and brisk highs

Cons: Each speaker cover costs extra.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Artur from Arlington Hts, IL on 3/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I know that this speaker did not cost a lot but there is a lot of other ones on the market at the same price and sound better

Pros: Sound descent bad expect more from kef

Cons: No grill you have to buy it .

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

KEF Q150

David from Saipan, MP on 3/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For the price (on sale) these are unbeatable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

James from Rego Park, NY on 3/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great tone. Great lows and mids. L99k amazing. Missing some detail in the highs. Female vocals sounded a but veiled to me. I'm going to spend more to try get it all. Wish me luck. For the money, these are great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Great speakers

John from Spokane, WA on 3/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm thrilled with these speakers they are easy to listen to and have decent bass especially for it's size.They work on book shelf

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good sound stage, clarity and great value

Antony from Portland, OR on 3/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Paid for a pair (used) from Crutchfield with 5 yr warranty. Powering with ifi ZenDac + SMSL DA 9 amp for desktop / nearfield. Good sound stage and clarity. I spent total ~700$ for full system. You will not get better value for the original discounted price. I also have Q350, Which is great for my living room. Just buy when you see this on discount.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great bookshelf speaker for mid size room

Jeffrey from Euclid, OH on 3/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm still breaking them in but they sound better each time. I snapped them up on sale and am very happy with the sound in my mid sized room.

Pros: Style, clarity of sound, great separation

Cons: Bass could be lower, but not lacking

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mighty "small" Bookshelf.

David R from Reynoldsburg, OH on 3/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pound for pound, probably one of the best bookshelf speakers available in this price range. Excellent sound stage with a more than adequate bass reproduction. The overall sound much belies the reduced size of this speaker.

Pros: Great sale price at Crutchfield mark> for an unbelievably competent speaker of this size.

Cons: A little "front heavy " so handle accordingly!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF: big ups!

Andrew from New York, NY on 3/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Completely surpassed my expectations. Trebles and mids are crystal clear with gorgeous separation and bass much, much better than expected - adjust the distance from wall to clarify. Incredible value and beautiful to look at.

Pros: Sound Appearance Value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yup!

Geoff from Brunswick, ME on 3/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have a pair of these in my tv room connected to a Cambridge Audio AXR 100 (also purchased from Crutchfield) and the sound is excellent. I am not an audiophile by any means (thank god! : ) but I love listening to music; everything from The Ramones and PJ, to Dylan, Neil and Toots. They have a very full sound from mids and highs to phenomenal bass and they look great. They sound great when I want to turn it up and also when low in the background. Very happy! P.S. I know I need to tidy up the wires and nail down that one piece of shiplap! And the shelf is temporary!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Definition and soundstage

Ryder from Colleyville, TX on 2/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought these speakers specifically for music and couldn't be more happy. Some things to mention first though, do not buy this for full price, it goes on sale multiple times a year. Also I've heard other people say that these speakers are forgiving in terms of placement, but I disagree because the back port when far from a wall produces much more bass. Ok, getting that out of the way, these speakers were exactly what I was looking for. The KEF Q150's are simply easy to listen to. The high end is extremely defined but never fatiguing. The instrument separation is like something I have never heard before. Secondly, the soundstage is absolutely incredible, which just adds to the experience. Its also is extremely important (obviously) to EQ these. After EQ, they become very musical and fun with decent bass, although a sub does help. My one complaint is the volume (which is to be expected). These are not very loud speakers (when EQ'ed) and its very easy to know when they are at its limits. If you EQ them to have less bass though, I find you can play them louder because the woofer simply cant play as loud as the tweeter. Overall they really provide an amazing listening experience that never gets old.

Pros: Extremely defined Amazing soundstage You can literally hear micro-details of sounds you have never heard

Cons: Not loud Very directional Position within room matters

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great buy, will be coming back for R3s or their succesors someday

Henry from Southborough, MA on 1/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These Q150s are my first purchase stepping into hifi and boy am I happy. I inherited and restored a pair of KEF 104/2s a few months ago and with those as my primary listeners I gained a new appreciation for music. The separation, the dynamics soundbars can't recreate with tiny drivers, I got hooked. All that said, those can't come with me to my apartment. I need something I can transport safely, so the 104/2s stay with my parents for now. The Q150s were on sale for $350 and after a listening session I knew they were right for me. They come in excellent packaging I can reuse to move them safely in the future and the sound is perfect for near field listening. It's warm, paired with my NAD D3045, and I don't feel the need to crank the volume to enjoy my music. I did pair these with a Cambridge Soundworks sub I inherited and the sub is definitely a necessary addition for my music preferences (rock, alt rock) and tv (action movies/shows). These will make excellent listening and tv speakers in an apartment until I buy a home and do a combo listening/home theater with the 104/2 fronts and these for surrounds. Finally, the speakers themselves feel nice and sturdy and they fit my aesthetic, I have no intentions of buying the grilles. For the money, I couldn't imagine a much better purchase.

Pros: *Sturdy/heavy enough *Aesthetically pleasing *Warm/rich *Small room filling sound

Cons: *Low sensitivity

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Worth the hype

John from Washington, DC on 1/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are fantastic. They have been much hyped, but very much earn their reputation. Imaging and soundstage are excellent, and they project a big sound for bookshelf speakers. I had to place them pretty close to the wall, and they come with foam plugs that help you tune the bass response, which is a great feature. I don't like that they come without grille covers, because they look a little too "THIS IS AUDIO EQUIPMENT" for my living room, but the magnetic covers are cool. I got mine on sale, and they seem to go on a deep discount several times a year. I can't comment on whether they're worth the money at full price, but for $350/pair it's hard to imagine you could get a better set of speakers.

Pros: soundstage Imaging Bass Size

Cons: Doesn't come with grilles Very deep cabinet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great purchase. Best speakers I've owned.

Timothy from Topeka, KS on 1/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I really wasn't thinking about buying new speakers, but I came across these KEF Q150. Crutchfield had them on sale and I started doing some research on them. Crutchfield gave them a very high rating. Knowing this, I knew I couldn't go wrong. Very please all around with the ordering and quick shipping. My new speakers sound amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent at the sale price.

Philip from Phoenix, AZ on 1/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice wide field with little detail loss until you are well off axis. Not the last word in detail but enjoyably warm and clear for the price range. These are well suited for our largish (16x24) master bedroom and match our older NAD receiver well. Excellent speakers at the sale price but I would demo others for your preference in the same msrp range before buying.

Pros: Lightly warm mids and highs, good range, price, looks

Cons: None at the price.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great speakers when on sale

Nick from Pittsburgh on 1/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

3 Stars at their retail price (Never pay this much) 4 stars at their lower sale price (they go on sale often) What can I say, these are solid speakers with some sparkle in a small and refined package. If you're a newcomer to home theater or budget hi-fi, they're great. They have a few competitors in the sale price range, but are very competitive. These shine in most genres except for Jazz, Rap, and anything with dynamic volume swings. They sound a little "V shaped" Treble: The metal dome tweeter is crystal clear and sounds wonderful. It's one of my favorites under the $750/pair mark. Vocals and instruments are incredibly detailed to almost an analytical state. They occasionally dance on the edge of being harsh or fatiguing, without actually becoming fatiguing. (Some amps may affect the brightness here more than others) Mids: These are the Q150's biggest weakness, mids just sound thin and like something might be missing. It's not awful, but it's noticeable for me. Bass: These go lower than you might expect. The enclosure is tuned quite low and they have good output, but you may still want a sub. Bass varies from tight and punchy to a little tubby depending on the frequency. The hollowed out plugs balance things out well. Build quality: Not bad but not great. The cabinet feels light and a knuckle rap gives a cheap, hollow sounding return. Laminate looked good and aesthetic.

Pros: Clear, clean treble. Bass is good for a 5"

Cons: 86DB sensitivity is inaccurate, closer to 84 3.7-8ohm can be hard to drive Midrange is lacking Feels a little cheap Bracing isn't great

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Jeffrey from Frederiksted, VI on 1/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

...mind blowing....

Pros: ....all.

Cons: ....none.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing get you some!!!

Brent from Munford, TN on 1/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing sound! I have these paired with a pair of sansui sp2000s together they sound like angels beaming beautiful sounds in my living room! The highs are high like no others! The lows will shake the walls!

Pros: Super loud!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very pleased

David from Germantown, WI on 1/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very surprised and pleased on the sound clarity and bass. Just getting back into listening to my record collect from the 70 & 80's . Denon receiver with LP player plugged into a Yamaha equalizer that delivers outstanding sound range.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Was Expecting Great, Got Outstanding

Crutchfield customer from Rhinelander, WI on 12/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Having purchased a pair of KEF 103/3 Ref Series in 1990 on the recommendation of KEF from a friend (who had a more "upscale" KEF model) ...and having completely enjoyed and appreciated these speakers over the years... I wanted to improve the sound in another room... I didn't realize I would transform the sound like I did. I had a pair of very nice (and recent) Klipsch bookshelf speakers in that room with a very good sounding Sony receiver about 25 years old. But... being the greedy, somewhat older, music/sound person I am, I saw these KEFs on sale at Crutchfield (who I have trusted for years) and bought them as a Christmas present for me... from my daughter and grandchild. OK, I'm only a few hours into listening to the speakers, but... wow. We have some pretty nice speakers in different rooms around our home... and now I am so pleased we have these - just as I wanted: natural, open, soft, full (including bass)...but only better than I expected... and, from experience, I know they will sound even better over time. Very pleased!

Pros: KEF ...from my personal experience Beautiful Beyond bookshelf

Cons: None I see/hear yet

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Wonderful speakers

Crutchfield customer from Lake Mills, WI on 12/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Upgraded from our older speakers (20+ yrs) after realizing that the sound was rubbish after visiting a friend who had a klipsch setup! Ended up with the KEF Q150's after discussing with Crutchfield rep and price point. Wow. For a small size, the bass is full and round without being "boomy" and the mids and highs were balanced and breathtaking. Our family room is 20x30 with high ceilings but they had no problem filling the space at a good volume. Giddy about how they sounded, we played a variety of music through them, culminating with Coldplay's "Heart" (Cos I cant draw a heart shape on here) and it literally made the hairs on my neck stand up. Fantastic sound detail, great price from Crutchfield, prompt delivery, they look awesome . . .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Fresno, CA on 12/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Most transparent speakers I ever owned. Don't expect deep bass but with a sub they shine. I got the scratch and dent deal and couldn't notice any. They looked new to me.

Pros: Transparent and precise.

Cons: Shy on bass

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Petaluma, CA on 12/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

excellent sound reproduction, a bit weak in 'fullness' especially with classical music,Bizet, Saint Saens, Ravel, Mozart, etc

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Ann Arbor, MI on 12/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound from a small footprint. I have a pair of older Q55's and these Q150's have the same natural sound as their much more expensive brothers.

Pros: Great natural sound

Cons: Not as efficient as many other bookshelf speakers out there

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice Speakes

Crutchfield customer from Palm Bay, FL on 11/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 11/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound good but the Elac Debut 2.0 B6.2s sound better and they're cheaper.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Roseville , MN on 11/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Lot of speaker for the money , OK on any music , very good on Jazz !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Richardson, TX on 11/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I got these as surrounds for my Q350's as front LR and I couldn't be more impressed, KEF just never lets down.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good step up from powered speakers

Jose from Kansas City, MO on 11/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Starting out by saying that I'm not an audiophile. I just like listening to music and I recently got into vinyl as a hobby. Regardless, I really like these speakers. I upgraded from a set of Kanto Yu powered speakers and immediately, I could tell the difference between those and the Q150s. The soundstage was audibly wider and more open. Records that had distortion around the inner grooves suddenly didn't, and it was the first time I felt like the artist was playing live in my small office. The clarity on these speakers are awesome and it feels like a steal for the money.

Pros: Open soundstage Easy to drive lots of clarity and enough bass for me without a woofer Decent Price when on sale

Cons: I'd wait for a sale, the normal price is a bit steep in my opinion

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Spanaway, WA on 11/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love it. Thanks crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Perfect for my application

Crutchfield customer from Napa, CA on 11/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had purchased the LS50 Meta to put into main salon on my commercial dinner boat. I was very pleased with them. However, it was in a public space and I was very concerned that they may get damaged. So I sought a less expensive alternative. I tried the Q150. I found that the sound might actually be better for the room. I found the overall sound tended be softer and richer. The bass a bit deeper. Overall a good fit for background music. The LS

Pros: Really nice sound for the price.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 11/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm not impressed with the quality and sound quality

Pros:

Cons: No highs bass is rather mushy and no grills and they look cheap for a Kef speaker

Crutchfield response on 11/17/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your speakers. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 2 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Ave Maria, FL on 11/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice clean crisp sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

New speakers, a rare and welcome treat...

Clark from SANTA CRUZ, CA on 11/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I own 10 pairs of speakers. Working class speakers, not high end, sound proof room, Dom Perignon speakers. Aside from my outdoor speakers, I haven't purchased anything new since 1998. I do have a nice (older) set up in the house for TV/Movies and the occasional record, but my listening area is in the garage, where I have 3 stereos of various vintages set up. I've read the reviews on these little KEF's and wanted to get a pair when Crutchfield last had a sale, but missed out. So when the sale popped up again and I was able to score a pair from the scratch and dent pile + they gave another $20 discount for ground shipping, how could I pass it up? The speakers do not disappoint. Much more bass than anticipated, so much so that I'll probably swap out my cheap Craigslist sub in the garage, with my banger from the house. The high are not as bright as I typically like, but I have pretty old and tired ears also, so turned it up, put on YYZ to hear the cymbal bells crystal clear. They are keepers and at the price after all the discounts, a steal. I even built custom stands on day 2, because I knew they will be around, maybe for another 20+ years.

Pros: So much bass from such a little box

Cons: No mounting holes of any kind

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Westland, MI on 8/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice looking and well made speakers. As others have pointed out they need a sub for the bass but most people should know that judging by the size of the components. They have a nice sound. Very similar to my B+W speakers in terms do the highs. I haven't tried them on too many different forms of music but what I did play sounded good. I thought they were surprisingly heavy for the size.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Torrance, CA on 8/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love these speakers! hooked them up to my Cambridge AXA25 integrated amp and music sounded beautiful and natural. Mids are buttery smooth and highs are nice and clear without any sibilance, bass is nice and not at all boomy. you may want to add a sub later but it's not needed right away. I would absolutely buy again and recommend them to a friend

Pros: shines with most music genres

Cons: not great for low volume listening

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Superb all-around speakers. But some might want more bass.

Crutchfield customer from Ludlow, VT on 8/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect for my medium sized room - about 15 by 20 feet. Fidelity and stereo separation are superb with plenty of bass for me - but might be lacking for some. My musical tastes are quite broad from "classic" jazz from the 50s and 60s (think Miles Davis), rock and popular music starting in the 60's and more modern stuff (Radiohead is one of my recent discoveries and their sublime music is rendered exceptionally well. Can't say I like the music which is more currently popular with the younger set, which is where more bass might be needed. I run these through my NAD D3020. I also listen to my old vinyl with the Project Carbon Debut EVO and the Project $99 preamp. These records going back to the 1970s never sounded so good.

Pros: Perfect for most types of music. Does not take lots of watts to drive.

Cons: Might be lacking in bass for some folks.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Fort Mill, SC on 8/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I caught these on sale for my wife's turntable rig. The cabinet appearance exceeded my expectations. As far as sound goes, I have a sub and installing the port plugs took care of some boominess. The imaging is great. I am giving these 4 stars because there just seems to be some "it factor" missing for me. I have a number of systems in the house and I have been a professional sound engineer for several years earlier in my life. Would I buy them again, absolutely. Would I put them in one of my rigs? The jury is still out. Perhaps with some more time on these I'll click with them a bit more

Pros: Really nice looking cabinet for my decor. Solid deal at the sale price

Cons: Boomy without the port plug installed

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Guest from Parkville, MD on 8/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love them. They sound great. I just purchased my first home and needed something for the living room that I could eventually integrate into a quad system as I build. They're great. The hype is legit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Almost Like Cheating

Crutchfield customer from Redlands, CA on 8/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I hope this doesn't sound too over the top, but these speakers have transformed my life. I own Nordstrand Audio and we make and sell musical instrument products and I also have and have had a recording studio for years now. The question my whole career and life has been built around is "how's it sound?" and these speakers have revealed to me what I haven't been hearing for my whole life until now. I currently have Genelec 8040's at home and 8250A's at the studio. I will be selling both sets shortly and adding a set of LS50 Meta's at my studio and here's why: I can now hear what I've been pretending to hear for most of my life. Everything translates so clearly and solidly it's just astonishing. These speakers really present music like the musicians are right in front of me. But not like a live performance. This is beyond live music. It's like sitting in a top notch control room listening to a freshly finished track in its native environment. Just amazing. I'm currently finishing up moving my studio to a new space and I'm in the acoustic treatment phase. Digging in to what these speakers (and the Meta's) are capable of with room analysis and tuning is one of the most enjoyable things I've ever done because I know once I'm done the results are going to be stellar and as a result the products and the music I make will be that much better now that I can really hear everything. It's almost like cheating. Shhh, don't tell other studio engineers about these

Pros: Stunning spatial resolution and accuracy Incredibly stable stereo imaging Seductive detail and depth

Cons: A little light in warmth and bottom but room careful wall proximity placement helps, or add a sub for a setup that punches WAY above the cost.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Lifelike sound imaging

Crutchfield customer from Berlin, CT on 8/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Best imaging I have had, I have a near field setup, with a KEF both sides of a desk, usually background music, while I computerize, well first time I turned around to see who made that sound, and it was KEF

Pros: Pinpoint sound, more efficient than expected, very well made

Cons: Takes some time to work in, bass is better after about 30 hrs of listening

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Good speaker if you buy them on sale.

Crutchfield customer from Keyser, WV on 7/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good value if you buy them on sale. These are not worth full price. We bought these because we had a very specific need for the coaxial drivers. Our location required laying them on their side and the coaxial drivers help to minimize off axis phase cancelling. They are well built and not bad looking (just a black box). They sound very good. They sound a little "boxy" at low volumes. Mid and high frequencies are very clear and bright. Bass is very good for such a small speaker. They do not come with grilles. What a rip off if you need them.

Pros: Good bass Coaxial driver minimizes off axis affects

Cons: Boxy sounding at low volumes Do not come with grilles Need to wait for sale price

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome Little Dudes

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, AR on 7/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I really did not know what to expect from these little guys. All of my previous speakers were of the large tower variety, including a pair of $6000 Vienna Acoustics. I really wanted to downsize in order to make future moves a little less painful, so I started researching small, inexpensive speakers. I narrowed it down to the Q150's and the Wharfedale Diamond 225. I went with the Q's based on several interesting reviews and the general "coolness factor". I am really happy with my choice and I especially like the crazy off-axis soundstage. Very important to me in my large, less than perfect listening room. I love these things. No problem with bass, although depending on the type of music you listen to you might want to throw a little subwoofer into the mix. I'm very happy with my. choice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Highly recommend these book shelf speakers

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 7/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound coming from a small form factor. You would expect them to be larger than they are. Shipping was very quick, packaging was excellent. They are replacing a pair of Infinty Beta 50s in interest of space, and I am not losing any sound quality. Very impressive. I will continue to use Crutchfield for my audio purchases.

Pros: Clean sound. Frequency range. Very clean look.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Murfreesboro, TN on 7/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound great. Really added a lot of soundstage to my surround system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great bookshelf speakers

Crutchfield customer from Naperville, IL on 7/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent speakers for the sale price. I have these powered by a Bluesound Powernode (80WPC), and have no issues getting them the power they need. The Q150s have a smooth top end, are coherent, and have great bass response. I'm actually using the port plugs to curb the bass a bit, as I do have them about 10" from the wall. This setup gives me solid and quick bass that isn't overbearing in an apartment setting. Overall great speakers for the price, and they look great!

Pros: Compact, coherent sound, controllable bass response

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Framingham, MA on 4/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I replaced my old Polk bookshelf speakers with these KEFs and they sounded great with excellent clarity. Combined with a powered subwoofer, I did not feel anything was lacking in its musical range. The fit and finish of the cabinet is top rate, which makes it beautiful to look at, but without drawing too much attention to itself.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

So fresh and so clean!

Bob from Howell, mi on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are the best in class, hands down. I bought them when they were on sale, but I would pay full price for them no problem. I ordered about 8 different pairs of speakers to see what sounded the best. I order polks, wharefdale, psb, klipsch, bose, and a few others I cant remember ofd hand. These, by a landslide sound the best. Not even comparable! They sound so clean, crisp and full its unreal. And I am obsessed with good sound. One thing you absolutely need though is a small sub. I pair these with with the Polk psw10 sub and it couldn't be more perfect. Do yourself a favor and order these speakers sns that sub and you will enjoy music like you've never heard!!

Pros: Perfect sound, but you need a sub with them

Cons: They need a sub, but what 6.5" doesnt?

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great quality!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 3/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Dacula, GA on 3/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I replaced a pair of 36 year old Infinitys as my rear surround speakers. These KEFs are perfect surround speakers. I've gained some rear punch that had been missing with my much older Infinitys. I mounted on 26" Sanus steel stands for perfect height for the rear, Very happy!!!

Pros: Paired with a good receiver that puts out about 100 watts to the rear, you won't be disappointed.

Cons: None that I've experienced yet. I wouldn't use these as my main front speakers. Just not enough umpf. ;;;;

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Oakland, CA on 2/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We were able to purchase an open box in walnut at the sale price. The detailing of voices and instruments is very good. The bass is very good for bookshelf speakers. The soundstage is wide and easy to listen to. The speakers look nice and came unblemished. So over all great value for money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Coaxial cool!

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

excellent speaker. big cabinet for a 5", so the bass is nice. I use the Q150s as near field monitors in my studio. I also employe the Adam A7s, M Audio BX5s, and the Yamaha HS5s. Really liking the phase of the coaxial Uni-Q diver design for tracking and mixing. the Cructchfield crew sent them out the same day!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clear, accurate sound

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Put these in our home gym. They sound great. Even my wife said it was a game changer compared to the other speaker we were using. Might be among some of the best looking speakers on the market too.

Pros: Clear, accurate highs

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent full, smooth sound in a compact package

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 2/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These sound incredibly detailed at low volumes (great in an apartment) but really shine as you increase the volume and get really loud despite the 86 db sensitivity, I can't even push them past -18db without getting yelled at by the ol ball and chain. I use a denon x3600h currently in a 3.0 temp setup with a klipsch rp-640d for the center (these Q150s are the L an R). These integrate seemlessly with the klipsch during dolby surround playback with movies and present an incredible soundstage in stereo listening with music playback. The bass is impressively full and really thumps when placed with 12 inches of the wall, you only need a subwoofer for the inaudible sub 20hz frequencies in movies, otherwise these haven't failed to reproduce the bass on multiple types of songs (billie eilish, young jeezy, dubstep, house music, rock n roll, jazz, etc). I was hesitant but really glad I took a chance on these. I have the black Q150s and they look really good, so good my wife thinks they're "fine." (Every other speaker I've had or shown her is "ugly"). These speakers sound great and look great, don't hesitate on these gems. I bought them on sale. they're a ridiculous value at that price, but even at the full price, knowing how they sound, I'd buy them at full price if I had to.

Pros: Detail at low volumes, good bass reproduction without distortion

Cons: Its disappointing the grill is a separate purchase, even though they look good without the grill. These do lean towards a slightly warm signature, makes the sound signature "smooth" in a good way without any harshness in the treble. Although this same smoothness means that some female vocals, and higher pitched male vocals come across as slightly subdued or laid back (think adele or christina aguilera going way up high)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent

Crutchfield customer from Old Orchd Bch, ME on 2/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Have been listening to these for a few weeks now. A little 'tight' at first, but now they have opened up and produce a beautiful natural and balanced sound. Very good all around. Transparency and presence, without any forced upper middle range or coloring that I can tell. Great for jazz, with transparency even in the bass. At first I thought I might like to add a sub, but the bass opened up and I'm amazed at the range of these speakers. Excellent for orchestral music ( maybe a little small for large orchestral music though it could be my room and setup) and ridiculously good for smaller orchestra and chamber music. I've listened to a lot of my old record collection (especially vinyl) and heard many things I never heard before. At the price I paid for them, they have no right to be this good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Glad I bought these

Crutchfield customer from Charlottesville, VA on 2/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had been upgrading my "vintage" system gradually but neglected possibly the most important part - speakers. I had some Polk S4s from the 90s that sounded quite good, I thought. These are better. More accurate, better soundstage and more prominent bass, without being muddy. When I mounted them on stands, which enabled me to separate them by about five feet - which is unfortunately all the room I have in my current setup - they really opened up. They are quieter than the Polks - 86 dbs to 91 dbs - but do much better when driven harder. Easier to listen to. A bargain on sale.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on