Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
135 036 947 4
Connect ID #
135 036 947 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

RetroSound Quad4

RetroSound Quad4 Compact add-on amplifier for RetroSound radios — 45 watts RMS x 4 channels

MFR # Quad4

4.5 out of 5 stars
22 reviews
View this product
RetroSound Quad4

Allen from Signal Mountain, TN on 2/15/2024

1979 Porsche 911

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield has excellent techs to build a car system. I'm having complete Retro system installed in a '79 911 Porsche. Thx

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Quad4

Kenneth from CLARKSVILLE, TN on 2/15/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have the Retrosound 068LONGBB radio installed in my 67 Camaro. The Retrosound Quad4 was very easy to install. It was plug and play. As for the sound, it has improved for the most part, I have zero complaints. The cable for powering the amp is very long and facilitated reaching my battery that is in the trunk. I would have sent pics but I have it concealed under the dash.

Pros: works as advertised very easy to install sound is great size is great for concealed location

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to Install with RetroSound M1B!

James from SANGER, TX on 11/21/2023

1983 Jeep CJ7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased this at the same time as my RetroSound M1B for my 1983 CJ7 to give my 5-1/2" Kickers and a pair of future speakers in the rear a boost. The installation process is literally "plug and play" if using a RetroSound radio, as it plugs directly into the radio's two wiring harnesses. I used the Crutchfield CK10 kit as well, but the Quad4 had more than enough wiring to go without the kit. I went ahead and just used the fuse from the kit as a redundancy for the battery connection. If you're looking to distance the amp from your radio, this may not be the system for you or a large amount of additional wiring is required. The harnesses from the radio to the amp are not a great length to potentially mount it under the seat like a conventional amplifier. To avoid drilling holes in my Jeep I'd later regret, I opted to use industrial strength Velcro to attach it to a space in the upper portion of my heater duct (Hasn't overheated yet, but I'll edit my review if it does! CJ's aren't known for their quality climate control anyways.)

Pros: Easy installation, Great instructions, Ample wiring if installing near radio

Cons: Short length of wiring harnesses limit your choices on mounting locations.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Quad4

John from Indianapolis, IN on 4/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It was easy to install just plug and play and functioned as expected

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great little amp!

Jeffrey from Lakeville, MN on 4/6/2023

1970 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great deal and an easy way to give the RetroSound radio a little umph! Love it. Easy to install and sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Quad4

Joe from Millbrae, CA on 11/13/2022

1969 Triumph TR6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Small but powerful

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Quad4

Michael from Slidell, LA on 8/8/2022

1974 Chevrolet Chevelle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent power to Boost the Tunes in my Classic Chevelle. Highly recommend. Thanks again

Pros: Powerful and easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Need some Kick for the Kickers

Crutchfield customer from Richboro, PA on 10/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It was a must have when updating the head unit in a 66 Mustang Convertible. I had to remove a poorly performing Classic Audiosound radio. Went with Retro Sounds new Detroit unit. Mostly because it had sub outputs (just in case). Luckily I did because it needed a sub too! The Quad 4 amp seemed to be a quick ready fit solution for the problem of powering a new 4x10 speaker and a pair of Kickers. The amp so far has proven to be just that. The longest part of the install was deciding where I wanted to run the power line from under the hood, so not to offend the purest. After that it was about an hour all in. So in conclusion, this is the perfect upgrade allowing your speakers to sound their very best with very little fuss.

Pros: Super simple

Cons: Who couldn't use more power?

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Quad4

Crutchfield customer from Troy, MI on 6/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Item worked as advertised and came quickly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

If you are thinking about getting retrosound components DO IT!!!

Crutchfield customer from Guilford, CT on 3/19/2021

1983 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed this in my 1983 Chevy k20 paired with my retrosound radio every thing was plug and play with a ease and the sound is amazing cant wait for my retrosound SUB8100 shows up as all y retrosound products have been great so far

Pros: Everything is plug and play with minimal wiring

Cons: I didnt get it sooner

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Quad4

Crutchfield customer from Towson, MD on 3/13/2021

1974 Triumph TR6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install jut wished you could remove some of the redundant wires

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: to many unused wires

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Quad4

Crutchfield customer from Marlton, NJ on 12/19/2020

1992 GMC K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

my first one stopped working in about 2 years, i ordered another one which i had to return (my expense) because of a bad crossover switch. i have the replacement now and it works... we'll see for how long..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Superb Product!

Crutchfield customer from Ashland, KY on 5/18/2020

1970 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This amp sounds amazing! Love it, easy to install, and hides under my dash!

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bozeman

Paddy from Bozeman on 3/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have owned two of these in the past five years. Both failed after about 2 years. RetroSound would not replace either. Won't get burned again. Buying a different brand this time.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Won't last

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

RetroSound Quad4

Crutchfield customer from Fairview, NC on 5/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have a 1963 beetle with retro sound stereo plug-and-play just like it said works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Simple and compact

Marcus from New Bern, NC on 3/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install and compact....has made a big difference from basic system

Pros: Easy to install and compact

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Quad4

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 1/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really like the entire system, agree easy to install. However, after plugging in the amp, right rear speakers would not work, completed trouble shooting of the entire system and from my opinion found that the green wires in the Quad unit were not working at all. I contacted Crutchfield for replacement via on-line chat and within minutes they had ordered a new one for exchange and sent instructions on how to mail this one back.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Simple Plug & Play

Crutchfield customer from Bettendorf, IA on 7/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Was super easy to install. Just plugged in and ran the power wire with fuse which was included in the kit and extremely satisfied with the results

Pros: Simple and easy to install when used with RetroSound Radio

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Easy install

Daniel from Prosser, WA on 6/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy install. System sounds a lot better. Plud and play with my restrosound model 2.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Quad 4

Phil from Virginia on 11/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I has a Retrosound model 2. So this review is only relevant if you own a Retrosound. Pretty much a plug and play. Yellow power wire to + battery terminal. Black ground wire to nearby metal car frame. Other wires use retrosound model 2 wire connectors. The Quad 4 is small and easy to hide under the dash. Restrosound model 2 is not a great stereo when it comes to sound so I feel the addition of the Quad 4 is a must. Sounds is full and richer at all volumes. Also love the retro look this system gives my 59 Porsche 356 replica. Awesome.

Pros: Compact. Plug and play with Retrosound model 2. Full rich sound.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

RetroSound Quad4

Crutchfield customer from Massachusetts on 10/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

nice addition to the head unit. Makes all the difference in the sound quality .

Pros: EZ plug and play install

Cons: All good

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Retrosound Quad4 amp

ScottM from Massachusetts on 6/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice little amp that goes well with retrosound stereo already installed in my ride

Pros: Simple add on installation to Retrosound stereo, simply remove speaker and control jacks from stereo and plug amplifier in its place, reconnect the jacks and add a power circuit and enjoy!

Cons: None to date.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 18 found this helpful

Compare the sound