Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
956 329 757 4
Connect ID #
956 329 757 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT CD receiver

MFR # DEH-S4220BT

4.5 out of 5 stars
423 reviews
View this product
Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

William from Enid, OK on 2/25/2024

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good product and customer service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks fantastic

Megan from Clanton, AL on 2/25/2024

2009 Mitsubishi Lancer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks great and functions the way we need it to. My 16 year old is now able to Bluetooth to his car, use all of the steering wheel controls, and helped with the install. It was great mother/son bonding experience!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Replaced factory unit

Robert from Baltimore, MD on 2/21/2024

2008 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was a great replacement for the factory deck in my 08 Ford Ranger. The sound profiles are a wonderful feature.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love it

Crutchfield customer from Ruffin, SC on 2/21/2024

1997 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Todd from Suffolk, VA on 2/20/2024

2002 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Extremely satisfied with my purchase. Nate was my consultant and answered all my questions on the call. The receiver/player arrived on time and fit perfectly. The wiring illustrations were on point. I will definitely do business with them again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Terry from Cyril, OK on 2/19/2024

2004 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great service great stereo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Owen from San Dimas, CA on 2/15/2024

1999 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good radio, decent sound quality for price, easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH S 4220BT

James from Kingman, AZ on 2/5/2024

2003 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect stereo, Bluetooth, cd, audio, usb, great sound easy to use.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Richard from Guntown, MS on 2/4/2024

2007 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good price. Has a CD player and aux port!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to install good sound

David from Coachella , CA on 1/29/2024

2008 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good easy to install would recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Patricia from Covina, CA on 1/25/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Troy was great helping put together my stereo. Troy listened to MY wants, I appreciated not being pressured into a stereo I didn't need....Thank you, Troy you are a keeper. Dante, I did not forget about YOU sorry we couldn't finish the transaction but thanks for the knowledge and great conversation about stereos and muscle cars.

Pros: CRUTCHFIELD is a great store, friendly customer service

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Nick from Cope, SC on 1/12/2024

2005 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have bought a lot of products from Crutchfield and have been very happy with all my purchases however this time I did not like this unit and that's all i'm going to say.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/22/2024
Nick, we're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Lisa from Murrells Inlet, SC on 1/9/2024

2013 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exceptional stereo , easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tuner difficult

Benny from Poplarville, MS on 1/9/2024

1997 Acura 3.0CL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit gives you a lot of bang for your buck. Hands-free calling, an unexpected feature. Lots of power for 4 speaker set-ups. The "Source" and the "MC" Buttons have a learning curve. There is NO Manual tuning on this unit. Activate BSM (Best station memory) and hope for the best. The BASS Button gives you an added punch. Display hard to see in the daylight. For $100 This unit is a bargain, full of features and power.

Pros: Lot of Stereo power on tap

Cons: NO manual tuning

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good Features for the Price

Cameron from Bucyrus, MO on 1/9/2024

1996 Chevrolet Lumina

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my third 4220BT I have in 3 different vehicles and my too many to count Pioneer product. I really like the features it has while still letting me play my old mixed cds from the burn cd days. This one happens to be a little different than the other 2 and I think it is a matter of a firmware update for the others. Really solid head unit for the money, tuning is pretty good and fairly easy. Connects to Bluetooth quickly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Dario from Santa Clarita, CA on 1/9/2024

2012 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Lots of options but this cd player is just right for keeping it simple.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great price, Great sound

Sean from BARTLETT, TN on 1/8/2024

1997 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound, easy install. Menu takes a bit to get used to, but overall, great value and nice unit for my 97 Ford Expedition XLT.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Lisa from Shelbyville, TN on 1/7/2024

2004 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just what I was looking for. Has a lot of features that I'm not sure I'll use ,but for the price and the ease of installation I would buy again. Highly recommend Crutchfield. Awesome company.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great

Michael from Charleston, IL on 1/3/2024

2014 Dodge Avenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy, for was ok, help desk was great, love it so far. Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ocean View

Marc from Ocean View on 1/3/2024

2002 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing upgrade from the stock radio/CD player in my 2002 Wrangler TJ. Was straightforward to install and I highly recommend the conversion wiring harness at an additional cost. All I had to do was click to install, well worth the extra bucks to not have to deal with the headache of splicing wires.

Pros: Easy to install Get the add on of the wiring harness!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Bradley Greene from Dayton TN on 12/28/2023

2002 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install and works very well I recommend this one out of them all for a truck. 2002 dodge ram 1500 single cab.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Robert from Hamburg, PA on 12/25/2023

2010 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great unit install was pretty basic. Looks like factory.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

good!

Daniel from Victor, CO on 12/25/2023

2001 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly what I was hoping for. A good upgrade from the stock head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Donald from Addison, PA on 12/21/2023

2008 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A very good product. Lots of features at a good price.

Pros:

Cons: I wish the display window was a little brighter.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Rick from Eagle Point, OR on 12/21/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic! Easy to install, excellent fit. This unit allows for a small storage area which provides a convenient spot for a phone. Bluetooth and auxiliary functions are spot on. I'm happy with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Hector from Glendale, AZ on 12/21/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had a Boss Stereo that looks a little fancier than this new Pioneer Stereo I purchased from Crutchfield and boy I'm so glad I did!! this small but powerful Pioneer Stereo is hands down better than the Boss Stereo. The sound is much better and I love it thus far! And Customer Service at Crutchfield is second to none!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Joseph from Birmingham, MI on 12/21/2023

2013 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a good sounding radio. The buttons are a little too small, and they packed a lot of stuff into it that I don't need. But - for a radio and a CD player it works just fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The truth

Dave from Queens on 12/20/2023

2003 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I just want to get straight to the point. Absolute great radio for the price. I have come to realize a lot of us are not experts in what we're doing and base our reviews in lack of knowledge of the area we're working in. In order to get the best out of a product we should first research what it is we need and be somewhat sure that the product suits our needs. Once purchased and received very importantly read instructions. Learn all that it is capable of doing. 9 times out of ten the consumer doesn't do that and then blames the product. I'm no expert but can assure you once this radio is TUNED and used correctly you will be happy with your purchase. Thank you, Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Joseph from Canfield, OH on 12/19/2023

2000 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

enjoying the unit. crutchfield gave good instructions for my specific vehichle and i think thats awsome they do what they do. amazing customer service especially in this day and age. god bless

Pros: all good

Cons: no cons

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

After a few months.

John from Apex, NC on 12/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my second review after some time with the radio. I like it but there are some drawbacks. This is a feature rich radio. There is a lot to learn. No problem for tech savvy people, but others might looking for simplicity should avoid. The display is not bright enough for convertibles with the top down on bright days. I drive one and wish the display and buttons were readable with the top down in sunlight. The display brightness is fine otherwise. The controls are small and there is much to learn. It can be difficult to use for those that are not tech savvy. I had problems with Alexa interruptions until I discovered you can turn the mic on and off. There is no "on/off" button. You turn the unit off with a long press on the "SRC" button. I mostly just leave it on.

Pros: All the features

Cons: Small tricky controls Display brightness low for convertibles

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Alex from Michie, TN on 12/16/2023

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great love it

Pros: Everything about it

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fully customizable for tone junkies

Zute from Mount Airy, NC on 12/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This thing ROCKS,period,nuff said

Pros: Quality,quality,quality

Cons: Can't drive 24/7

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

John from Longwood, FL on 12/14/2023

2000 Chevrolet Express

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great unit. Bluetooth allows us to import entertainment from our phones and iPad while traveling. The unit it replaced was purchased from Crutchfield over 20 years ago! Great Company, great customer service. Been a customer since 78.

Pros: Easy install Menu and controls easy to navigate.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Joseph from Mt Pleasant, SC on 12/13/2023

2003 Honda CRV LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great stereo for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great instructions

Thomas from Forest, VA on 12/11/2023

1994 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

easy to Use. This was for a 1994 F150 standard cab and was a serious upgrade

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for CDs

Justin from Worcester on 12/11/2023

2006 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Major upgrade for being able to enjoy CDs in my car. Plays them seamlessly without skipping, displays current track number and total number of tracks, and even holds it's place on the CD through the battery being disconnected and reconnected. However I do miss my radio scan button.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Bobby from Washington, NC on 12/9/2023

2002 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quick shipping, great quality and fit.

Pros: Great fit, all the parts you need

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Michael from Green Valley, AZ on 12/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A little more complicated to use than I care for but performed well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

James from Richmond, CA on 12/4/2023

1994 Ford Taurus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The material of the faceplate felt cheap and flimsy. The "bridge" across the top where CDs are inserted felt like it could easily break off or crack. I always remove the faceplate to help reduce temptation of theft and I felt I had to be cautious about that. The keys used to remove the receiver from the dash bend very easily. I needed to remove my stereo after the initial install because I forgot to connect the microphone to the back. When I inserted the keys into the sides of the receiver, they kept bending making it challenging to remove from dash. I remember older Pioneer stereos I've purchased came with strong and sturdy keys. The main rotary knob also felt cheap and hollow. The sound improved significantly but adjusting the EQ was cumbersome. I don't like the presets on any stereo, this stereo was no different. I often adjust the EQ based on type of music. On this stereo you have to toggle through several menu options in order to adjust what seems like 20 different frequency bands. Trying to do so while driving is not an option. Usually I only need to adjust the bass up or down a few degrees. I wish this unit had a basic Bass, Mid, Treble adjustment. Preset radio buttons are very small and challenging to feel for. Generally when I get used to a stereo, I can change stations by feel of buttons but these buttons were difficult to differentiate . Connecting to bluetooth was very easy. The Pioneer app was overkill and never used it. This stereo was not for me.

Pros: Improved sound Bluetooth connection Affordability

Cons: EQ settings Small buttons Material felt cheap

Crutchfield response on 12/11/2023
James contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Michael from Stevens Point, WI on 12/3/2023

2002 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the the best bang for your buck! Can't beat pioneer quality and durability! Crutchfield is the place to buy high quality stereos at a great price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Grerat sound

Donald from New London, CT on 12/1/2023

2004 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Many sweet features. Easy install and sounds great.

Pros: Front USB connection and many good features

Cons: Takes a while to remember all of the settings.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Alek from Horn Lake, MS on 11/27/2023

2008 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simple. works great. Buy it

Pros: Cheap

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Glenn from Cottonwood, AL on 11/23/2023

2013 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Product works great. Instructions on how to operate could be more detailed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Jim from Fresno, CA on 11/21/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

good deal

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Richard from Edgemont, AR on 11/19/2023

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great Easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Suzie from La Follette, TN on 11/17/2023

2007 GMC Envoy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love this radio and crutchfield made it so easy to find the right one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Happy Ford radio upgrade

William from Simpsonville, SC on 11/15/2023

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great upgrade for my 2003 Ford F150. Purchase was made easy with needed accessories listed. Install was easy with the single din adapter kit. It is well worth the extra 25 bucks to have Crutchfield do the wiring harness; the entire job only took me a half hour. Very happy with the new radio, features and sound.

Pros: Happy with all features, including clock on the display. Includes CD, Bluetooth, hands-free mic/phone, accessories Jack and USB.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Dennis from Honolulu, HI on 11/14/2023

2007 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great back for the buck. Admittedly, I wasn't expecting much at this price point, but it might just be underpriced. All qualifiers aside, it's a very good product. Sounds better than stock JBL HU, buttons knobs feel good, easy to navigate, and simple bt operation. Crutchfield emailed detailed and easy to follow instructions. I wouldn't hesitate going the same route.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great purchase ever!

Martin from Glen Allen, VA on 11/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Best value for money I have ever bought in quite sometime.

Pros: All in all one amazing Pioneer Deck. So far so good, I have had good experience with similar cd players. I have only had this unit installed for two days,

Cons: Just trying to find the remote.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love It

David from Baldwyn, MS on 11/11/2023

2006 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds 100% better than factory radio. Easy to install and to set up. I would buy it again.

Pros: Super great sound

Cons: None that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Install review for 2005 Ram

David from Metairie, LA on 11/10/2023

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The install of the radio itself was straight forward. I was provided a sealed box kit of radio, truck to radio specific adapter cord as well as vehicle-specific bezel. Once I had, in my 2005 Dodge Ram, removed the top half of the center console in my truck, I had access to the 4 screws that held the factory radio in place. These screws were removed, the radio slid out and the OEM connections between radio and truck/antenna were broken. I installed the radio sleeve to the bezel and replaced the 4 screws to secure it, attached the adapter cables to the wires in my dash so they hung over the bezel edge, clicked the antenna and truck wire connector to the radio and slid it back into the sleeve with a unceremonious click. Popped the center dash cover, and top half of the steering wheel cover back into place (top half freed to access lower left corner of center dash below-grade for initial removal). Turned key and set up the working radio, which was straight forward if you've read the manual.

Pros:

Cons: Would separate the track from radio presets in next model, or at least physically change the button size. The lowest row of buttons on the right all have the exact same tactile response. Example of above: playing from any BT or usb source you change forward a track using 2nd left most button on bottom row. Your finger slips right and you hit radio preset #1; which takes you out of your current mode to radio; and requires several clicks to re-enter or re-engage your previous input source.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Chris from Tacoma, WA on 11/5/2023

2002 MINI Cooper

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A nice up grade. Clear sound & thumping bass. what more could you want. Not entirely intuitive what button does what.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Jefferson from Susanville, CA on 10/27/2023

2015 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great quality stereo. Bought the pre-wired harness with it and made the change out in 15 minutes. Sound is great. Bluetooth to the phone was simple. Would definitely buy another pioneer for my truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Michael from Captain Cook, HI on 10/27/2023

2010 Ford E Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install with the included harness adapter. Features are good enough for a work vehicle.

Pros: Easy install, good features, priced reasonably

Cons: Display hard to read in sunlight

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Marco from Downers Grove, IL on 10/23/2023

2011 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great and sounds great. Some hiccups installing. no biggie.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best radio

Leland from Nelson, GA on 10/17/2023

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great! Love the 31 band eq so I can find what makes it sound the best. Also love the dim settings because it's not connected to my truck lights (because I have them on all the time) I have it set where it goes dim at a certain time and bright at a certain time. Great product highly recommend!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great cd player for the price

Matthew from Sedalia, MO on 10/13/2023

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Was a easy install, literally unplugged my old pioneer and plugged this one in. It took a little bit to get the sound I had with the older cd player. The setup was a little different, more options for slope and Hz. But once I figured it out I'm quite pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Matt from El Granada, CA on 10/10/2023

2004 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm very happy with this stereo. A lot more options in the audio settings, and the overall quality sounds great. A

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

James from Chapel Hill, NC on 10/9/2023

1992 Geo Metro LSI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well in 92 geo convertible.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Arthur from Harleysville, PA on 10/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The radio has good sound, I like it. I'm an older guy and the problem I have is setting up all the electronic functions om the radio. I would probably have the same problem no matter what radio I pick out. Your customer relationship is great, your people help walk me through somethings I couldn't figure out myself. If I need something in the future I would certainly concinder Crutchfied again. Sincerely, Arthur Deacon

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Marvin from Nampa, ID on 10/6/2023

2004 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Doesn't change colors. It's ok

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Rachel from Newburgh, IN on 10/5/2023

2004 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Product for cost is good. Meets our expectations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Dakota from Greenwich, OH on 10/4/2023

1995 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Ok but not great!

Clint from Kettle River, MN on 10/3/2023

2004 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Pioneer app is ok but it doesn't auto connect to my phone when I start the vehicle. Instructions were lacking from pioneer but we found a little help on Youtube. The pandora connection for the it was terrible. I found that using bluetooth works better. And if it had better directions, I would have known to connect the microphone in the back right away. Sound is good and it was a good upgrade for my old truck. It was shown to be a good pick by Crutchfield but I wouldn't pick it again.

Pros: It was a good cheap upgrade for my truck

Cons: The Pioneer app wasn't very good!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio for the price

Michael from Sandersville, GA on 10/3/2023

2007 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I got this to replace a factory radio in my f150. This radio has so many settings that it actually made my factory speakers sound better! I love how easy it is to use too! My phone connects to the Bluetooth quick and it has Pandora and Spotify already installed. The price wasn't bad either. Definitely recommend this radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding value

Gabriel from Houston, TX on 10/2/2023

1999 Mercury Grand Marquis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not very user friendly. No owner's manual included only a quick start guide. Pioneer expects you to download a 56 page manual. Even then it's confusing. Doesn't go into any explanation or detail about crossover slope, time alignment, etc. Good thing I know what all that means and how it works. But for your average person that has no audio knowledge they'll be totally lost and probably won't use the features or set it up right. The harness has really thin wire. Looks like 20awg. They're also pretty short. Another thing I don't like is there's no quick way to turn off the subwoofer output in order to compare with vs without. Not a deal breaker though but my Kenwood had that and it was convenient. You have to cycle through the menu on the Pioneer.The 13 band eq looks kind of weird. I think just regular horizontal LED bars would have looked better. On a positive note the volume range is very wide going up to 62 vs the much older Kenwood it replaced that only went up to 32. I measured 4.728VAC(using a Fluke 117) of undistorted output using a 1kHz since wave at 0dB reference level. All in all I'm happy with my purchase and the fact that Crutchfield provides the dash kit, car harness, and OEM head unit extraction tool makes this an unbeatable value. Thanks Crutchfield. You guys are awesome!

Pros: Price Adjustable crossover/slopes Higher output voltage than specified Wide volume, balance, and fader range 31 band eq if you download the app

Cons: Not user friendly Only a "quick start guide" Thin harness wire gauge No single operation to turn subwoofer on/off Color not changeable

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Rick from Clinton, TN on 10/1/2023

2006 Chrysler Sebring

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the 3rd radio I've bought from these guys. Nothing but good to say. Everything they sell works wonderfully. Definitely recommend using products they sell.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Brenda from Bearden, AR on 9/30/2023

1997 Toyota Camry LE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love it............perfect for my 97 Toyoto Camry and very easy to install.

Pros: Just perfect

Cons: None !

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Michael from Lake Hiawatha, NJ on 9/27/2023

2009 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great so far-install was easy and helped bring my sons 2009 Honda CRV into the current age with Bluetooth. A little hard to navigate and setup which requires more patience than I had initially which is why I gave it four stars instead of five. Overall a solid choice!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit for the price

Bill from West Plains, MO on 9/25/2023

1995 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great unit and it was on sale. I'm sure I won't use all the features it has but being able to play all the different music formats is something that I will use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Damon from Crawfordsvlle, IN on 9/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The representative who helped me was very helpful and knowledegable. The instructions that came with the mounting bracket and wiring harness were not as good as the last time I bought from Crutchfield, but I was able to figure it out. The Stereo itself is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great bang for the buck

Joe from Smyrna, NY on 9/18/2023

1994 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great unit, great price, so easy to install thanks to Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love the app functions

Richard from Archdale, NC on 9/17/2023

2003 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good product. I love the app interface. I don't have to touch the radio to change functions. It's all done thru the app

Pros: Ease of setup

Cons: Dials are a bit confusing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Logan from Marysville, WA on 9/16/2023

1991 Toyota Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great CD/BT/Radio unit. As alway a cakewalk to install thanks to Crutchfield instructions.

Pros: Easy install sounds great clean look

Cons: almost has tomany options

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Michael from Charlottesville, VA on 9/7/2023

1995 Nissan Hardbody

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Richard from Sierra Blanca, TX on 9/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Would buy again because customer service was very professional and was great..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Scott from Whitmore Lake, MI on 8/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice stereo, just wish colors could be adjusted

Pros: USB is nice

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Difficult

Calep Ray from Dunn, NC on 8/14/2023

1997 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not user friendly. Difficult to set up change settings

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Larry from Dundalk, MD on 8/14/2023

2004 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great price. Sounds great with Mt factory speakers . Can't wait to hear the upgraded system once I get it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Anthony from Knoxville, TN on 8/10/2023

2012 Nissan Versa

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install.

Pros: Ease of installation

Cons: Hard to program

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

John from Camp Wood, TX on 7/25/2023

2009 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds much better than stock radio. Installation was straight forward with supplied accessory's and crutchfields wiring harness . just installed time will tell if its a quality radio or not.

Pros: Crutchfield gives you all the info you need for your specific vehicle. And the wiring harness is a time and headache saver.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Jorge from WEBSTER, FL on 7/23/2023

1993 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The best head unit you can get for the money. Never had any problems with pioneer systems. This one is no exception. The blue tooth works flawlessly specially when you setup the call feature. And with the excellent support from Crutchfield you can't go wrong.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Michael from Rising Sun, MD on 7/20/2023

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Shipped within a day very good head unit for the price. Highly recommend for older cars like my 2008

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds great

Jeffery from Aiken, SC on 7/12/2023

1999 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great but runs the power antenna up while streaming bluetooth.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Lori from Bloomingdale, OH on 7/12/2023

1995 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quick shipping- great customer service when I called with a queston

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Toyota corolla

Tomas from Orleans, CA on 7/12/2023

2010 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Detailed instruction that made it easy to install stereo and all 4 speakers on my corolla the pre wiring harness made it faster to finish set up will definitely buy from here again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit with one caviat

Robert from Millsboro, DE on 7/12/2023

1987 Chevrolet El Camino

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall this is a nice in dash unit. My only complaint is after owning over 20 Pioneer digital stereos this one is a little tricky to navigate. Other than that I like it

Pros: Great sound and lots of features

Cons: A little hard to navigate some of the settings

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent service

Deborah from Carleton, MI on 7/7/2023

1986 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to order, prompt delivery & wonderful customer service Will pass the word to everyone!

Pros: My own error in not understanding part of installation but Sage on chat helped me solve the problem

Cons: Nothing bad to say!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Russell from Weymouth, MA on 7/7/2023

2002 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice stereo for the price. Came complete with all connectors, adapters, wiring harness and install kit. Didn't have to buy anything else, made it easy. Plus two day shipping is nice. Thanks

Pros: Easy install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Paul from Buffalo, TX on 7/7/2023

2006 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was a birthday gift for my wife, it had to have a dial for volume. Also her Dodge truck did not have a good option for a DD radio, I have had great luck with Crutchfield and Pioneer over the years, and still no disappointment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great receiver deck, intuitive to use

Steve from Fond Du Lac, WI on 7/5/2023

2004 Ford Focus ZX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic receiver for the money, Pioneer makes a great product. A great upgrade for the OEM 6-disc changer AM/FM unit in my "vintage" low mileage 04' SVT Ford Focus SVT. Crutchfield's instructions for removal /install tips for this unit was also great and their FAQ section covered a lot of the things I had questions about, especially how to access the menu to turn "on" the subwoofer.

Pros: Intuitive interface, Bluetooth works great- easier to use- better than my other factory Bluetooth cars

Cons: Instructions in the box were a little weak

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Gotta love pioneer

Dakota from Greensburg, LA on 6/28/2023

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed, ordered for my little brother and he loves it compared to his stock radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Clyde from Hughesville, PA on 5/26/2023

2003 Mercury Grand Marquis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the first car radio I put in since I was 18 years old (now age 60). The radio went in with ease with the wiring harness. I called tech support for a quick question and they answered it precisely and without hesitation. The radio works amazing and with all the options it was a great buy. The only problem I can see is that i didn't purchase it any sooner. Top quality product with top quality people. If anyone is on tye fence on weather to buy or not, I say by all means, MAKE THE PURCHASE.

Pros: Pros: Quality radio with awesome options.

Cons: Cons: Absolutely none.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Anthony from Howard Beach, NY on 5/25/2023

2008 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great bang for your buck. Loaded with features and won't break the bank. Highly recommend!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Richard from Salt Point, NY on 5/22/2023

2005 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The instruction sheet blows.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Albert from South Berwick, ME on 5/22/2023

1996 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install and use great sound quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great radio

Kenneth from Vero Beach, FL on 5/20/2023

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio, sounded great and works like I expect a Pioneer radio to work

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good, with bluetooth issues

Will from Stillwater, MN on 4/13/2023

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well, audio controls and EQ adjustments amazing. Some small Bluetooth issues, such as stuttering or short pauses in music. Much better than OEM 2002 unit.

Pros: Good for CDs, AUX, USB or radio. Good sound control and adjustment Great sound.

Cons: Bluetooth works most of the time but connection can stop or interrupt music. Automatic dimmer for the screen cannot be tied to headlights, so has to be set to time of day or left on dim at all times.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great improvement over original radio

Brian from Lake Hiawatha, NJ on 4/12/2023

2001 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Instant improvement over the stock/OEM radio that was 20 years old. My only complaint is the lettering on the buttons are small and difficult to see.

Pros: Good sound and quality.

Cons: small lettering on buttons is difficult to see while driving.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Jordan from Winthrop, AR on 4/9/2023

2001 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy replacement for an OEM head unit for a 2001 4Runner. Works well and woke up the stock speakers since the OEM amplifier was wore out. I do wish it had better range for Bluetooth.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exactly What I Was Looking For

James from Dupo, IL on 4/7/2023

2002 Ford Escort ZX2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This stereo is everything I was looking for. The sound quality is way better than my stock receiver. If you're looking for a new car stereo, this is the one you need to get, all of the features are a step above everything else. I would recommend this to anyone who is in the market for a new car stereo!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Bobby from Norfolk, VA on 4/7/2023

2003 Mercury Grand Marquis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Has everything that I want in a simple aftermarket system to include features such as Bluetooth USB and Spotify pioneer is generally a quality product and this one thus far has not disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Sherman from Woodbridge, VA on 3/12/2023

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect System for my Jeep.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Kurtis from Mariposa, CA on 2/27/2023

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great unit, very happy with its performance! Install kit made this very easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Crutchfield customer from Berea, OH on 2/24/2023

1989 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice radio

Pros: Pioneer App is very nice

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Stereo Reciever

Brandon from Springfield, IL on 1/9/2023

1998 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A very nice and simple stereo. The amount of features that is supported is great for the price. Especially when paired with the Pioneer Smart Sync app.

Pros: Very easy installation. Immediate paring when you turn on your vehicle. Many different features for driver's comfort

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer radio in BMW

James from Almo, KY on 1/5/2023

2004 BMW X3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product, had everything I needed for installation. Step by Step wiring guide was easy, A baby could follow. Thanks great product.

Pros: Perfect fit. Steering wheel volume works.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Robert from Liberty Lake, WA on 1/2/2023

2001 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

At first use it fires up and sends clean crisp sound over radio waves that the stock unit did not do. I had purchased speakers and amp because sound was crap, then the speakers created same sound, so I purchased this head unit. Nice quality now being fed to new speakers. I like the cross over feature. It took a few tries but I was able to sync the phone up and listen to Pandora. Wire harness fit perfectly and had clear instructions what each wire went to.

Pros: Fit in Din slot nicely with supplied bracket Sound quality is sharp price tag

Cons: Setting up phone to sync

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Time for good tunes!

Lance from Paulden, AZ on 12/5/2022

1996 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful merchandise works really well, and installation was easy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Christopher from Gardner, KS on 12/2/2022

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great option for the money, worked well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very pleased

John from Altoona, PA on 12/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this unit earlier this year and have been very pleased with the purchase. Last year I installed four of the Pioneer TS-A652F speakers, also from Crutchfield, in my 2010 Honda Civic LX-S which was a huge improvement over the original speakers. However, the speakers really needed an upgraded head unit as well. The combination of the Pioneer speakers and the new Pioneer head unit absolutely transformed the listening experience. The ability to utilize the 31 band equalizer was a game changer although the standard 13 band equalizer on the head unit sounded great as well. Despite not having an amplifier in my car, the sound is excellent and well worth the small investment of money and time offered by the Pioneer products and the service from Crutchfield. The folks at Crutchfield helped me through a few small issues and their pre-wired harness saved time and expense. The Scosche dash kit fit perfectly and looks good. The only complaint I would have is that the stereo face is basically invisible on sunny days even with the brightest setting. Overall though, I would definitely recommend this Pioneer unit if you enjoy crisp, clean music as you drive.

Pros: Clear, crisp and very adjustable sound at a very fair price from a quality brand

Cons: The face really should be easier to make out even on sunny days.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Chris from Vicksburg , MI on 10/17/2022

2008 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good stereo brand. Owner of an older Pioneer radio that still sounds great with aftermarket speakers installed. Unfortunately I have not had any luck with this new radio. Returning it for an exchange. Radio sometimes when vehicle is started does not want to play a AM/FM radio station. Turn vehicle off, then back on again, and radio starts to function correctly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Evan from Sauk Rapids, MN on 10/9/2022

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Huge improvement over the stock stereo. Fit great and sounds even better. Great adjustment with brightness and sound tun-ability.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

David from Sparta, IL on 8/27/2022

2000 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Didn't work right out of the box. Blown 10amp fuse in the radio. Replaced and sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Crutchfield customer from Byron,Ga 31008 on 7/5/2022

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this unit recently and installed it in a 2006 VW Beetle. Played it very little and all of a sudden i get an amp error. I have gone through all of the troubleshooting steps with no solution. I`ve have never had any issues with a Pioneer product before so i guess this one is headed to file 13 and will be replaced with a JVC unit. The VW is a grocery getter so i don`t plan to spend much on it .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/6/2022
After receiving this feedback, we looked up his order and found that his receiver is still under warranty. While his order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, he can contact Pioneer at 800-421-1404 for further information about the 1-year warranty on this receiver.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very Pleased

Gary from Raleigh, NC on 6/8/2022

2007 Honda Accord VP

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great, although I have to admit I've done very little with the stereo other than basic setup and verifying standard bluetooth functions from my phone so far. Other than some simple app controls for equalizer/audio that I could otherwise get from front panel of the stereo, I don't fully understand the benefit of the Pioneer "Smart Sync" app versus streaming any apps directly from my phone app (via bluetooth) directly to the stereo. I prefer my existing phone apps for bluetooth streaming of music, GPS/maps, phone, etc. But maybe I'm missing something and I'd welcome input from anybody who can help explain the benefits of that. On a general note, I bought my first aftermarket stereo through Crutchfield magazine about 1985, after buying my first car as a teenage kid. I bought car stereos and speakers back then. And now, over 35 years later, I'm back to Crutchfield.com, buying this to install in my daughter's car! I was pleased with phone support from Crutchfield before the purchase as well as the hardware and wiring kits added to make the install look nice and install easily. From asking questions at the start of the week to having a final product in hand and installing at end of the week, this worked out perfectly. Great product and great company. I'll continue to be a return customer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Chris from MAHOPAC, NY on 6/7/2022

2010 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

horrible product. Stopped working less than 2 years of use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

James from Gratis, OH on 6/2/2022

1996 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio i have been ordering from Crutchfield for about 30 years and they have never let me down with support on new orders and old orders can't say nothing but great things Crutchfield has the best costumer support ever Thank You Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Joseph from Monroe, GA on 6/1/2022

2003 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Install easy, put mic on visor from a pillar. Looks and works good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Crutchfield customer from Collinsville, OK on 5/31/2022

1988 Mercury Cougar

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pretty good unit for the money. Installed in a 1988 Mercury Cougar. First time audio installer, and went fairly smooth. Would buy again.

Pros: Great price. Easy install.

Cons: None found yet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Paul from Savannah, GA on 5/31/2022

2006 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield's customer service is awesome! They are quick to help and very knowledgeable. This is why I buy here.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Eric from Calumet, MI on 5/30/2022

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio , still trying to figure it out .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Logan from Prattville, AL on 5/29/2022

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This radio was a MAJOR improvement from the crap Toyota stock stereo. The Bluetooth connects very quickly and and the controls are very simple and easy to follow. The only downside I've found is that you can't change the color of the radio, but that's not a big deal at all. This radio finally allowed my speakers to reach their full potential lol

Pros:  Easy to learn controls  Looks amazing  Fairly easy to install

Cons:  Can't change color  Plastic brackets were a little annoying to connect

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poor Instrctions

Stanley from Lexington, SC on 5/29/2022

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Would have given it 5 stars if a user/owners manual had been included. This unit has too many features not to include owners manual.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Michael from Laveen, AZ on 5/29/2022

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So many features for so little money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Corey from COMMERCE, GA on 5/14/2022

2007 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great stereo. One main thing I have to say is there is a learning curve with this radio. If you want something easy "plug'n'play" then look for something else. If you want something packed full of options for cheap, this is the one. One thing I found (via YouTube vids) is there are menus in the menus that I would have NEVER found in the manual or elsewhere that made this unit really shine for me. Once I figured out how to "properly" use this unit I love it. Hope this review helps someone make their choice.

Pros: Tons and tons of options for cheap

Cons: Big learning curve

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Jordan from Huntsville, AL on 5/1/2022

2007 Kia Sportage

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install, great radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound!!

Erik from Sheridan, WY on 4/4/2022

1996 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Stereo sounds great and the Bluetooth features are very smooth! The hands free microphone works well for phone conversations. Definitely recommend this product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice

Crutchfield customer from Paris, AR on 4/4/2022

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic however navigation takes some learning

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Brandon from Springfield, MO on 4/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed super easy. Pioneers description gave us exactly what we expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not impressed at all!!

James from TX on 3/25/2022

2011 Dodge Truck 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Radio is definitely difficult to navigate. Have to say I'm pretty unhappy with the bluetooth feature-keeps forgetting my I-phone and have to try and re-pair. This has happened at least 3 times in less than a month...getting pretty frustrating to say the least! Seems to auto connect to my wife's I-phone without even having to go through pairing set up ( don't even have to try an set it up and it does it automatically). Can not access the "custom EQ" settings to re-adjust after setting up the first time, you can only select what is there unless you do unit reset and start over..then it does the same thing again. Overall pretty disappointed in this unit-never been a fan of pioneer and guess its not going to happen anytime soon but choices in head units are non existent due to current economy. Display IS hard to see in the daytime as mentioned numerous time already. Been a customer of Crutchfield for many, many years-great company!!

Pros: Affordable

Cons: Hard to navigate, Bluetooth dissappointing, settings controls are lacking as well.

Crutchfield response on 3/28/2022
James, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sleek and superb

Dustan from Strasburg, VA on 3/13/2022

2017 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works perfectly. Great price, and very stylish in my 2017 Jeep Wrangler

Pros: Great connectivity, user friendly and easy to set up

Cons: Wish there was more color options for display

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Allen from Slidell, LA on 3/13/2022

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am really enjoying music again while driving. The unit has good sound quality and options for the price.

Pros:

Cons: Instructions could use more information in them.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Jon from Advance, NC on 3/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install, great value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

1997 light duty F-250 remove and replace.

Chris from Saint George, UT on 3/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It was awesome to call him and talk to a person that's a rare nowadays. The stereo came on time it works fantastic and I had a great instructions with the installation have never installed a stereo before I appreciated the help on the return call to order the correct front speakers and I'm waiting on them today thank you Crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Major upgrade from old camry stereo

Mitchell from Spirit Lake, IA on 3/4/2022

2002 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just got this stereo installed in my 2002 camry le, and let me tell ya, it's a dramatic difference in sound quality and adjustability as far as sound goes. Now my music sounds exactly how I want it and this stereo just looks better. The ready harness made this install super easy, best 25 bucks I ever spent. I've never installed a stereo before but it only took me about 20 minutes. Crutchfield is awesome and I'll only get my car stereos through them.

Pros: More equalizer controls, easy to install with ready harness, looks better

Cons: Did not include remote

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio sold by a great company.

Joseph from Middleboro, MA on 3/3/2022

2003 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Solid head unit with quality sound. Bluetooth connects right away, far quicker than any of my other radios. Menu options are a little harder to navigate if you are coming from a touch screen but overall not bad. As always, Crutchfield service and turn-around was top notch. Companies around the world should take note on how to treat their customers.

Pros: Quick Bluetooth connection, great sound, looks great, external mic.

Cons: Nothing as of yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

David from Kissimmee, FL on 2/9/2022

2009 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio for what I wanted. The blue lights don't change color, but has 10 different levels of dimming which is a plus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Adam from Versailles, KY on 2/2/2022

1998 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fresh install to replace factory radio. Everything has worked well as planned, no issues. Excellent for the price. Pioneer has always performed well for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Michael from Raymond, WA on 2/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great. I very happy with this stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Crutchfield customer from Glen allen Va on 12/13/2021

1999 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This receiver is great, at first I bought an Alpine that had little to no features for my iPhone. I contacted Crutchfield customer support and they were very easy to deal with. They set me up with this radio that was cheaper than the Alpine and gave me a two week period to send that one back. The Bluetooth feature is really nice and the wiring harness provided through Crutchfield made it super easy to install on my own. The only problem I faced was mounting the radio in the car, this was the only part where the instructions were unclear. You actually need to lift the tabs up on the sleeve to make a snug fit in between the front plate and the dash kit. Other than that I've had it for about 6 months. No problems

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Crutchfield customer from Levittown, NY on 12/2/2021

2001 Honda Civic DX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product, costumer loved it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Crutchfield customer from Loveland, CO on 11/19/2021

2007 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install , lots of options , sounds great

Pros: Once you sinc your phone with it super simple to operate

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Crutchfield customer from Garden City, ID on 11/18/2021

2009 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product.. Easy to install with Crutchfield's documentation and accessories. Highly recommend that anyone wanting to replace their equipment shop with Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Crutchfield customer from Two Harbors, MN on 9/19/2021

2005 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like the new deck and all of its features. The only thing I really have an issue with is the fact that i don't really like how the settings are layed out. Its kind of confusing and seems unorganized to me. On the plus side the mounting kit and adapter worked perfect! It was easy to figure out and easy to install. Also everything arrived sooner than expected. 100% will be ordering all my audio needs from Crutchfield from now on!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Crutchfield customer from Irmo, SC on 9/15/2021

1996 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good unit plus good price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DEH-S4220BT

Crutchfield customer from Alabaster, AL on 9/14/2021

2008 Mercury Grand Marquis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

good radio for price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful