Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
615 596 918 4
Connect ID #
615 596 918 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio 13TW5v2-4

JL Audio 13TW5v2-4 Shallow-mount 13.5" 4-ohm subwoofer

MFR # 92183

5.0 out of 5 stars
19 reviews
View this product
WOW

Richard from Panama City, FL on 2/29/2024

2014 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very impressive on how this speaker performs, I already had 12 tw3 12's behind the seat of my 2014 f250 and a xd1000 , felt I need a little more bass, decided on the 13tw5v4 and another xd1000. This completely went beyond my expectations. Now when at a red light, every vehicle around me tries to get away. Definitely a great choice!!!!

Pros: All of the above

Cons: Little pricey but worth every penny...

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio 13TW5v2-4

Matt from Chantilly, VA on 1/25/2024

2018 GMC Yukon Denali

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These subs are made with great quality and you can feel that as soon as you pick it up. It sounds amazing paired with a JL Amplifier.

Pros: Great quality and sound amazing.

Cons: On the higher end of pricing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

F150 bass

Ian from North Las Vegas, NV on 1/15/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wanted something that would fit under my seat in my 2014 f150 super crew. They fit nicely and the sound is great a solid hit. They are costly but worth ever penny!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bumpin'

Marena from Klamath Falls, OR on 1/5/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm so impressed with the quality of JL audio. My music sounds phenomenal. I also appreciated the amazing Crutchfield customer service. Highly recommended!

Pros: All

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome!

Holly from Underwood on 4/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Best shallow mount sub on the market by a long shot... nothing even compares

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

High Quality JL Sub

Chase from Golden, CO on 3/17/2022

2021 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far, so good. I installed this single 13TW5 into the storage area under the rear deck of my Explorer ST in a baltic birch plywood enclosure that measures 16"x36"x4.5", powered by a JL JX1000/1D. Signal is coming from the factory 8" sub into a Audio Control LS6i Line out converter. This Sub is already very impressive and it's not even broken in yet. The sound is clean, clear and loud. I highly recommend this sub. I have installed complete audio systems in every automobile I have ever owned and this is the highest quality low-profile sub I have experienced. Eventually I will be installing a NAV TV Zen A2B module and replace all the factory audio components. Don't mind the snow in the pic!

Pros: Sounds great. Takes up very little room.

Cons: Expensive.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

10 of 12 found this helpful

JL Audio 13TW5v2-4

Dana from Sanford, NC on 9/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I got rid of a single 13w7 for 2 13tw5s in a box i built for my Bmw 7 series powered by RF 1500.1bd. the bass hits hard for a small box with limited air space. sounds more like a sound quality sub and it gets pretty low but not at extreme volumes like the w7. I'm totally satisfied with it. I've waited 6 months to do this review listening to all types of music so I can give an honest review.

Pros: Big sound in a small box, very musical and controlled bass

Cons: price

Crutchfield response on

37 of 38 found this helpful

JL Audio 13TW5v2-4

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant Pr, WI on 9/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

came quick in the mail.... there exactly what ineeded and well havent hooked them up yet but will do when i get them installed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

JL Audio 13TW5v2-4

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 9/12/2021

2012 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

GREAT

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 7 found this helpful

JL Audio 13TW5v2-4

Crutchfield customer from Dacula, GA on 4/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm impressed with the quality and sound it performs as well as the traditional subwoofers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Sets the Bar!

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 1/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Best shallow sub by far! Seriously, this is the current standard for shallow mounts. Can dig as low as you want and provides superb sound quality, in the right enclosure. I much preferred the TW5 over the TW3.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

It WILL hit the lows w/ some work

Slater from Dallas, TX on 8/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

7 years ago I had a kid and the 1st to go is the car audio so e/t came out of the car to make room for the little 1. I recently bought a new Ram Quad Cab and saw this line including the TW3's and as a lifelong JL diehard I had to give it a chance. The 1st box I got (from a Tundra) didn't fit so I made 1 to go under the seat and utilize the storage space as airspace. The sub may be a shallow mount but the actual footprint is large, the entire depth of the sub is as wide as the diameter which made it tricky to give it sufficient airspace and not invade the cab or seats. I am powering 1 of these with a Slash 1000/1 @ 4ohms and the rest of my components on a 300/4. It took a few days to dial in my amp but once it was I couldn't be more happy. I definitely see what people were talking about that it doesn't hit the lows but I found out it just take slightly more work to get there. It has that classic JL sound that hits EVERY note you put through it but at 1st the lows seemed lacking but as soon as I lined my amp up to boost around 38hz I couldn't believe the capability of the TW5. If you are buying the 4ohm version I definitely recommend running it on the 750/1 Slash since it runs all wattage the same regardless of impedance and even w/ the 1000/1 (warranty voider) it runs barely warm after 2 hours of slamming. Just as I am amazed at the capability of this sub I am even more so that they retained the JL sound to the T. I will get another after I beef up the electrical.

Pros: Compact, 7" VC, no sacrifice by going this route, superior JL construction

Cons: Underrated RMS handling, magnet wiped my credit card by just leaning over it and the JL badge in the dust cap is metal and the magnet pushed it off so just be careful handling the sub.

Crutchfield response on

20 of 23 found this helpful

Expensive but worth it

Sean from Long Island, NY on 4/26/2018

2015 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was installed in a Ford F350 behind the rear seat. It is powered by an JL audio HD 750/1 amp and it sounds unbelievable. I still can't believe how hard it can hit and it's a shallow mount speaker. The old saying you get what you pay for holds true here. It is expensive but I wouldn't hesitate to purchase another one if need be.

Pros: Everything

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

24 of 26 found this helpful

JL Audio 13TW5v2-4

D from TX on 7/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

mine is paired to a 500/1 amp, 2ohm. it's really worth every penny to me. i have 2 10W7's each on a 500/1 in a dual sealed box, and i honestly prefer the single 13TW5V2-2. its extremely controlled and tunable, and it gives you bass where you want it if you're SQ and punch oriented.

Pros: clarity, punch, control, power handling

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

JL Audio 13TW5v2-4 Shallow Mount Subwoofer

EMR from tempe, AZ on 3/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you are looking for big bass and you are restricted on the amount of room you have for an enclosure, these are the subs for you. They cover the low frequencies extremely well and hit hard. I will say that if they are not paired with the right amp you will not get the performance out of these. Do your research to run them with the right amp and they will out perform any shallow mount sub on the market by a long shot. I have nothing negative to say about these subs, the price is high compared to most but if you make the investment and run them with the right amp they are well worth the money. I am running 2 of these in a down fired enclosure off a JL Audio XD1000/1v2 in my F150 Supercrew. This amps does well with for this set up but the performance was a little better running them off of my (2) 500/1 slash amps. Just don't have the room for the larger bodied amps in this truck.

Pros: It's JL Audio

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

20 of 20 found this helpful

Potent Woofer

RayDawg from Corpus Christi, TX on 11/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This woofer will be more than enough for the average bass head. The two main things to get the full potential is the exact box, and matching amp which in my case is a kicker cx1200.1 mono putting out the 600 rms@4 ohms this woofer craves. I tuned my gain to get the full volume from my deck and this thing just hits you where it hurts. This is all done in my s2000 which are incredibly hard to get great sound out of, but with this woofer there is no issue. I'd love to hear how it would sound in a hatchback/SUV. JL has hit a homerun with this bad boy! Do yourself a favor and grab one or better yet 2. ;)

Pros: Eveything

Cons: None, people complain about the price but the simple matter of it is if you wanna sound great it's gonna cost.

Crutchfield response on

27 of 28 found this helpful

JL Audio 13TW5v2-4

Crutchfield customer from Orange,Texas on 6/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good powerful base

Pros: will fit in tight spaces and still rock out

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Unbelievable Performance

BD from Memphis on 6/7/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Although a little expensive, you get what you pay for; this sub is incredible. Getting this type of low frequency performance out of any similar size sub is rare. Getting it with a 2.625" mounting depth and .8 ft^3 of sealed airspace is rediculous.

Pros: High quality, truly unique

Cons: Price (totally worth it IMO)

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Massive Slam

Jerry from Indiana on 4/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This sub is excellent for its purpose and very capable. I built a fiberglass enclosure for my spare tire well (2013 Mazda2) and measured .815 cubic foot. I initially powered the sub with 240 verified RMS and it sounded bad. Since then I have reamped up to 600 RMS and it sounds great and it plays low frequency like 20-30hz very well but kick drums could have more punch and authority. The sub has already knocked of my rear view mirror and the sub really isn't broken in. I have considered a new enclosure and adding maybe 3 more subs, but I don't know if the car would hold together!

Pros: Very small concealable enclosures, terrific low frequency

Cons: Pricey, not as punchy as long Xmax subs, long break in period

Crutchfield response on

17 of 19 found this helpful

Compare the sound