Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
122 616 728 4
Connect ID #
122 616 728 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

iFi Audio hip-dac2

iFi Audio hip-dac2 Portable USB DAC and headphone amplifier

MFR # 312005

4.5 out of 5 stars
50 reviews
View this product
iFi Audio hip-dac2

Crutchfield customer from Erie, PA on 3/24/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this product after an online chat with the Crutchfield specialist. He stated that this DAC/amp would be compatible with an ipod nano. It was not. I have to return.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Can't Connect to Apple - WOW

Jared from Summerdale, AL on 1/16/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Don't know how it works. Tried to connect to iPhone and iPad but the input connection on the dac is not compatible with Apple devices. Called tech support for advice and they told me the type adapter I needed. Bought one and still didn't fit. Finally sent it back and waiting on the newer model.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

iFi Audio hip-dac2

David from Franklin, PA on 1/3/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not just bass boost and more volume. Better sound separation and clarity. Can hear things on recordings like never before.

Pros:

Cons: Would like to see usb power along with input.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth it

Andrea Payne from Wilmington, NC on 1/3/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Well-made. Solid. Controls are heavy and positive. Makes a serious difference in the depth, breadth, and detail of the sound coming from my lossless streaming files on my phone (Samsung Galaxy S205G) to my headphones (Bose QuietComfort 2). I find that using max volume on the DAC and less than that on the phone works best. It keeps me from turning up the volume on my phone trying to get something that turning up the volume is never going to achieve without adequate and good power. With this, there is no distortion and so there is no listening fatigue and you don't need to turn it up so much. Also easy to carry with my phone in my back pocket when I'm walking. Instructions are clear. Battery life seems fine so far. It's certainly worth the money and extra gear for the sound quality improvement.

Pros: Quality, sound, portability, battery life

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

iFi Audio hip-dac2

Enrique from Katy, TX on 10/14/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I gave this purchase 5 stars because it is well worth it. I actually heard sounds that I have been missing from other portable amplifiers . I honestly think that when it comes to portable amplifiers you can not beat it using this one! I'm considering on buying an extra one. Thank you E.C.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

iFi Audio hip-dac2

Crutchfield customer from Seaford, NY on 9/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Incredible device for its size. Crisp sound immense clarity and extracts proper bit rate depending on track quality.

Pros:

Cons: Unit can tend to get warm from data usage.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Portable precision and power

Christopher from Charleston, SC on 8/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

When paired to Focal Listen Professional headphones, this was eye-opening. Perhaps not as portable as it seems (not a Dragonfly), the DAC and amplification were better than any reasonable expectation at this price point. The button to match impedance with the headphones being utilized was brilliant and worked impeccably. For some cans, the XBass may prove to be quite useful (the Focal did not need much correction, and the 'weight' was not an improvement at the cost of the lost accuracy for me). Holds charge well. With only a USB-A for sourcing, the connections to an iPhone or computer is a little clunky with the daisychain of connections needed (purchase separately). However, the dramatic difference between unamplified headphones and using the hip-dac cannot be overstated. My knowledge of dedicated headphone amps is limited, but this coupling with the Focals seemed to punch far over its weight class.

Pros: Sonic excellence Sampling rate to 384khz (light indicator is a nice touch) Impedance matching Build quality 4.4mm important to some Xbass might be important for some headphones

Cons: Not as small as it thinks it is Necessity of purchasing separate adaptor for iPhone No lockout for volume complicates portability

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cool gadget

David from Stafford, TX on 5/28/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've used this with headphones and a boombox and it is a huge improvement over the on-board DACs in phones and tablets. I'm looking forward to using this on planes for music and movies. While it greatly improves the soundstage and resolution across the entire spectrum what it excels in is the bass boost and punch. This thing is smaller than you'd think, about half the size of a traditional flask. Very portable and just a heck of a lot of fun.

Pros: Small Greatly improves on the junk on-board DACs Fantastic build quality

Cons: internal battery has only 8 hours capacity wish it had some kind of tone controls in addition to the bass boost button

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iFi Audio hip-dac2

Ron from Bemidji, MN on 4/9/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's been a joy so far - the full and crisp sound. New headphones will be in order soon.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iFi Audio hip-dac2

Lester from New York, NY on 4/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent headset sound. Great bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

She has guts

ryan from CRESCENT CITY, CA on 3/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was one of two dac amps I purchased. The other was a $75 Fiio. This baby destroyed that one. Listening through Sennheiser HD660S and also running through my home stereo. Using Qobuz. The sound is amazing. I have not owned other DACs so I can't really compare. If sound gets better than this I may never know and frankly I don't need to. Satisfaction achieved. I bought the phones and DAC open box. No complaints.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Really great value

Andrew from Fort Wayne, IN on 3/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I recently bought a set of beyerdynamic DT 700 Pro X headphones to use with my iPad Pro and my iPhone. While the DT 700s sounded good running directly from my Apple devices, the sound was lacking in soundstage and the upper end seemed a bit dull. The ifi hip dac 2 has made a lot of difference; the his, mids and lows are more balanced and listening to music is really a joy. I can hear individual instruments and layers of music I never heard in my favorite songs before.I think this was a great investment for the money.

Pros: Great battery life This is a really great dac/amp for the money

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Lightning adapter?

John from Steamboat Spr, CO on 3/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome product, great sound. Don't understand the absence of a lightning adapter or the use of the female USB-A primary input versus a USB-A male connector or USB-C connector. As of yet, I cannot use it with my desktop iMac because I cannot find a Female USB-A to 3.5mm male adapter so that I can plug into the 3.5mm output on the Mac - frustrating, but this thing produces and boosts sound as advertised.

Pros: Sound, clarity, quality, amplifier

Cons: Connections, adapter?

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Wow

Dallas from Knoxville, TN on 3/1/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is an incredible product and well worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iFi Audio hip-dac2

Russ from Morristown, TN on 2/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I really like the hip-dac2 as I use it for my iPhone 14 primarily and it works great. Whether you have low or high impedance cans the iFi definitely helps. I find the bass boost to just be OK; sometimes it helps but mostly it just "muddies" the overall sound IMO. YMMV.

Pros: Sound quality, low price, like the auto impedance matching.

Cons: Requires optional iPhone connector, battery indicator is underwhelming and requires a separate iPhone adapter too.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Not entirely thrilled, but mostly

mark from DURHAM, NC on 2/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've been using this for a few months now. What I have found is that efficient headphones like the Sennheiser HD599's don't 'need' this as much I expected. For higher impedance headphones, the need for this is greater. Additionally, the audio source that you are using may not be ideal (may not be the best quality). Now, with your phone you probably would want a DAC anyway, and this has a seemingly-nice DAC. I don't find the bass-boost button all that helpful. It's either on or off, not a variable range. Some sources sound too boomy with it on, others benefit from it so at least I do appreciate that it's available. The other button, the Gain button, may or may not be beneficial to you and your headphones, My HD599's don't need it on, although I sometimes I try it just for kicks. I think it's just a little louder, or not. Not sure it adds value other than volume. I thought about giving this a '4'. Then i'll listen to Porcupine Tree or The Tragically Hip at high volume and that has me giving this a '5'. I have not tested the battery life. I keep it at my desk at work, where I have a USB block plugged-in nearby. I notice it does not seem to have an auto-off, so if I was on batter and forget to turn it off, would the battery drain? I suspect it would but not enough to want to remove a Star from the rating. No doubt this is a fine product. It's a bit expensive, esp if you have low-impedance headphones and low-quality streaming. It was

Pros: portable good DAC It amplifies (obviously!)

Cons: Bass boost is on-off, not variable No auto-shut off

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Nice little portable dac/amp

Nate from Abingdon, VA on 1/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Took a chance on this open box, because I wanted something more powerful than my current Dragonfly Black. Glad I did - this thing has plenty of power to even drive my thirsty HD6xx. It also makes my other headphones sound better than the Dragonfly, I assume because of the added power. The other bonus is that it doesn't draw power from my phone like the Dragonfly. It seems well made, too - the volume knob has a real premium feel. Cons: The included cables aren't great (I prefer using the Audioquest dragontail), and I think a recent software update has made it so that all PCM files display a white color, no matter the sample rate. Not a big deal considering I use UAPP, but still a bit annoying.

Pros: Well made Plenty of power Sounds as good as any other dac in this range

Cons: Included cables are too stiff Light doesn't change to different sample rates any more

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

iFi Audio hip-dac2

Charlie from Piscataway, NJ on 1/23/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I think it sounds great Plenty of volume and bass Sounds a h*** a lot better Then just the ipod touch I have a hooked up to

Pros:

Cons: None very happy with it

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Hipdac2

Christopher from Charlottesville, VA on 1/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Thoughtfully executed design and excellent audio quality. Appreciate the LED color changing according to bitrate.

Pros: Beautifully constructed.

Cons: No analog out but at this scale it's not what the device is intended for.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Phenomenal--Try the Balanced Output

Deane from Minneapolis, MN on 1/21/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have and use several other portable DACs, such as the Audioquest Cobalt. The thing that distinguishes the Hip-Dac is the balanced output. I'm listening with the Meze Rai Pentas and their optional balanced cable. It's phenomenal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

iFi Audio hip-dac2

ERS from Mckinney, TX on 1/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Customer service was excellent! I wanted to save a few bucks - so I purchased a "scratch-and-dent" unit. It was in absolutely perfect condition (packaging was crushed, no warranty card or manual.) Sound is awesome! Transparent, deep sound-stage, great bass and any other audiophile cliche you want to throw in. Using Amazon Unlimited, Tidal music services. More than enough power to drive any headphone. Reason for the three stars: battery life is not so great; iFi Audio states eight hours and I got no where near that. I charged the hip-dac2 as soon as I received it and used it with Audeze's LCD-2's, Focal Elegia, Sennheiser IEM's and a pair of vintage Grado SR60 cans and got maybe five hours. Also, the hip-dac2 is a little finicky when you connect it to various sources using the supplied cables - sometimes it recognizes the source (ie Windows laptop or Android) and sometimes not. I also used it with an iPhone 13 with the iPhone camera adapter and it was finicky connecting to the iPhone as well as my iPad. In retrospect, I probably should have bought a brand-new unit. Maybe the battery is sub-par and the connecting points for the inputs may be a little out of spec.?

Pros: Awesome sound Deep, wide sound-stage Sturdy construction Cool form factor (not too big + portable) Great color Great DAC chip XBass boost feature - makes a difference PowerMatch feature - makes a BIG difference Volume control knob

Cons: Battery Life Connectivity issues - trouble recognizing your source device

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

worth the price.

Hector from Whitmore Lake, MI on 1/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

very good sound ,easy to work, have used it with both laptop and android phone . the volume knob is of very good quality, smooth to operate . i am listening to blues at this time. very clean and full bass. using audio technica ATH-M50x headphone,s. Battery life for me is doing as advertised. only thing i have as a neg. is the wires supplied to connet the phone to the hip cad is very very short.( too short)

Pros: very smooth volume knob

Cons: wire to connet to phone is very short

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meh, not for me

Scott from Huntsville, AL on 1/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wanted to like it. I like the simplicity and idea of the hipdac. It could have been a great product but sadly it is really implemented on the cheap - from the packaging to the features and accessories, to the documentation. As an amplifier it does ok. You won't break your eardrums with this as the amplification can easily be set to 100% on my phone which is the only device I've used it with. The documentation is a waste of paper and time. Little if any thought was given to enhancing the user experience with proper documentation, so you're pretty much on your own to figure it out. The provided USB to USB C cable couldn't be shorter at maybe 5 inches. If you're listening to music on your phone, good luck. The cable is so short that you have to hold both devices in your hands or lap which makes choosing music or multitasking impossible. You can hold the hipdac against the back of your phone with one hand but the cable is so short that it puts stress/pressure on both the hipdac USB port and especially the USB C port of my phone which has caused a crack on my phone (a very sturdy and substantial Samsung S22 Ultra in a rugged Otterbox case). The volume knob has a nice feel but can easily be turned by mistake since it is larger than the width of the hipdac. The D2A capability is decent I will say. If I had it to do again I would have purchased a more expensive and better engineered device. I'll be sending this back.

Pros: Decent D2A sound. Small footprint. Includes 2 sizes of headphone jacks.

Cons: Pretty cheap. Poorly designed. Insufficient product documentation. Connecting USB cable is too short to use comfortably. Amplification is weak.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 9 found this helpful

Two thumbs up

christopher from RICHMOND, VA on 12/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent portable DAC/AMP. Simple to use, great value. Battery life is adequate for a day or two of moderate use. Using my Sennheiser 600 headphones and iphone streaming from qobuz, the sound is very satisfying for portable use. Is it as good as a desktop-based, true DAC with separate quality amplifier plugged into a good power conditioner, etc etc.? Certainly not, but for a portable sound source in a small package that enjoyably renders most of the "good stuff" contained in a track, I find this to be an excellent device. Notes: there IS a burn-in period of about 10 hours when the music sounds rather harsh, like someone walking on broken glass. Push through that and you will be very pleased with the sound from this. Only complaint: if you leave this on, even with no music being played through it, it quickly dies. I have been disappointed by this many times but have now trained myself to twist this device off BEFORE I unplug my iphone so I don't forget anymore. I recommend this little habit for best results :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent unit!

Steve from Midlothian, VA on 10/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've been very satisfied so far. The unit appears to do everything the description represented it would do. I am using NAD headphones and the sound quality is excellent, greatly improved from simply plugging into the computer or iPhone. The one unfortunate thing is that, as an iPhone user, I had to buy a separate adapter for it and the only one that fit was the actual Apple brand adaptor. The two off-brand (much cheaper) adaptors that i tried did not physically fit into the space on the unit. Be prepared to spend the additional money for this adaptor if you plan to use this with an iPhone.

Pros: Preforms as advertised Excellent sound quality

Cons: iPhone adaptor not included, had to buy the name brand (pricey) one to fit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

First DAC

Daniel from SUMMERFIELD, NC on 9/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have been looking for a dac and this is a good starting point. Will never be without one again, !!! (No more looking at notes on my iPhone from apple saying "your volume is to loud") would like to point out that you can charge this dac while listening to music. I will be purchasing an upgrade dac in the future, would definitely recommend!!! I use power match and xbass all the time, as others have mentioned way to many cables however in my case the unit sets on my desktop or next to me on the couch (also purchased the apple connector were you can charge your phone at the same time your dac is connected so in reality you could listen indefinitely the way it is set up

Pros: Excellent power

Cons: To many cables

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sounding quality headphone amp

William from Monroe Township, NJ on 9/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am hearing impaired. I like to listen to music and newscasts on my laptop, out on the front porch. Sometimes it is not easy to hear what is said. This is the reason I made the purchase. I looked at a few different units and chose this one, based on combination of price and quality. What a vast improvement over the laptop's audio output! It gave enough level boost and just sounds great. It has a solid feel, quality controls, and appears very well made. I like the impedance matching and bass boost features too. The matching makes a big difference in the sound level. I don't always use the bass boost. It depends on the material I'm listening to. It works very well. I have yet to run the battery out, even after listening for several hours. I'm using it with a 10 year old Bose OE2 headset. This is a nice unit, that I am very pleased with. I would highly recommend it.

Pros: Well made Long battery life Great sound Headphone impedance matching

Cons: If using with iPhone lightning jack, you need to purchase the cable for it. I didn't feel that was really a 'con' item, but it needs to be mentioned.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

How did I live without this?!?

David from Philadelphia, PA on 9/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Short review: once you start listening to your music with this DAC you will never go back to a non-DAC setup! Long review: It sounds amazing. The improvement in quality of what you're streaming from just Spotify is on one hand subtle but on the other hand it makes such a crazy difference in the overall listening experience that non-DAC listening now seems faded, dull, subdued, flat. I was waiting a long time to get this, afraid that it's just not going to make enough of a difference but I am so happy that I pulled the trigger! This makes me want to re-listen to every song I ever liked!

Pros: Excellent quality, very portable, small, lightweight. Good battery life, easy charging.

Cons: It's my first ever DAC so I can't find any cons. It works extremely well!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Fantastic product but not perfect

Kyle from Mount Ephraim, NJ on 9/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This improves my listening experience so drastically that any issues I have with the product are immediately forgotten.

Pros: Sound quality Portability Looks Power Match and XBass features

Cons: Separate USB and charging port Male USB input for music is baffling

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iFi Audio hip-dac2

Thomas from BALLWIN, MO on 8/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Night & day difference between sound with amp/dac inline vs. no amp/dac. Great sound improvement especially with bass. Only disappointment is brightness could be better but this may be the limitation of the Headphones used.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

iFi Audio hip-dac2

Jeffrey from Manchester , MO on 7/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm really enjoying my hip dac. I've only had it a couple of weeks but there are two things I really like about it compared to my Dragonfly. 1) It has its own battery power, so I don't have to worry about it draining my phone's battery 2) The bass boost function really sounds good to me. It improves the bass, but at least with my headphones it sounds very natural. It is also good that it can be disabled, if desired. Highly recommended.

Pros: Built-in battery Bass Boost

Cons: Isn't quite as portable as a Dragonfly or similar "dongle" style DACs

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Must Have

David from Richmond, TX on 7/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

An absolute must have for using an iPhone to drive audiophile headphones. Completely changes everything when you plug this in. Don't waste your money on nice headphones if you're unwilling to buy a dac/amp. This one packs a nice punch. Brings my Focal headphones alive. Great purchase.

Pros: Small, powerful amp

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

iFi Audio hip-dac2

James from Sandusky, OH on 7/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This amp is simple to use and works well with my smartphone and Sennheiser headphones. Nice volume, clear and detailed yet still musical signal. I couldnt be happier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great DAC highly recommend

Joseph from Mcdonough, GA on 5/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great unit. It improved the sound dramatically. It's easy to understand. It's paired with my oppo pm-3 headphones and the sound is fantastic.

Pros: Ready to use. Great sound. Drives my headphones with ease.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

iFi Audio hip-dac2

Ryan from Tehachapi, CA on 5/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This box works great! I'm really happy with it. I use it with OSX and Windows 11 with no issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

iFi hip-dac2

William from Atlanta, GA on 5/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works like the original. Cant tell much difference in sound. It does get warm. Whereas the original never did. It does seem to go a few more hours without the battery dying. I do use the 4.4mm vs the 3.5 mm connection. For pricing and features, would be a great first dac.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Good upgrade

David from Alexandria, VA on 4/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like it a lot it's nice to have a balance and unbalanced output. Plenty of power too.

Pros: Sound clarity, portable, power matching, great volume control

Cons: Connecting to apple products requires another dongle

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Convenient Gateway to Apple Hi Res

Stephen from Grandville, MI on 4/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Thrilled with this Hip-Dac2. Working out well with a MacBook on my homemade lapboard, when sitting in my favorite chair. It allows for listening to Apple's Hi-Res music with wired headphones. Loving the Balanced output.

Pros: Balanced option Impedance option Bass option when needed Output options USB C charging same as my MacBook Quality volume switch

Cons: None for my application.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Exceeds expectations

Sean from Aurora, CO on 4/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The hipdac2 can easily power my ZMF Eikons as well as my sensitive iems like the Campfire Andromeda with its power match technology. The bass boost technology is also an incredible feature that really can make your skull rattle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

La Jolla

robert from La Jolla on 4/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Have had Hip Dac2 for about 4 months now, very happy. Previously had Audioquest Cobalt which also sounded great - warmer and with less bass but still highly detailed. Also, obviously, much smaller. The Hip Dac2 sports that really a satisfying analog volume control knob; I wouldn't want to lose that. Significant price differential, but that aside, which of these two fine DACs you pick IMO comes down to exactly how you plan to use it. Both sound awesome. If you are going to take advantage of the headphone amp capability that both have, then know that the Hip Dac2 has a MUCH more robust and effective amp. It drives my old AKQ Q701s so well they sound like a whole new set of cans! No exaggeration.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

High-quality, Bargain DAC

Jon from Ivy, VA on 4/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great, low-priced but audiophile quality DAC. I think it is a substantial improvement over the original one (blue). I haven't heard anything else that compares at this price point or $100 above.

Pros: - sound quality - size - inputs/outputs - cables (included) - finish

Cons: - would be great if it came with a case (you can buy one that fits it perfectly)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

iFi Audio hip-dac2

Jacob from New York, NY on 3/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Strong clarity, versatile settings, sleek design, and stable structure. Very happy with the purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

iFi Audio hip-dac2

Andrew from Bradenton, FL on 3/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome mobile addition for all audiophiles. Boosts the sound without distortion. Battery lasts a long time. I cant say enough good about this device. I would purchase a case for it as the finish is a little slick and dropping it is a concern for me. Besides that, you'd be remiss not to pick this up. Crutchfield has the best price on it as well!

Pros: Everything is awesome about this device

Cons: Slick surface. Needs a case.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

The old one was great this one is better UPGRADE

Erin from Coppell, TX on 2/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Upgraded from the original and this one is enough better, even though the old one was was great, that I'm very glad I upgraded.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

5 star

David from New Iberia, LA on 1/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I personally find the mini dac to be very effective for its purpose. You can certainly go higher end amp and dac set up....for a price. This is not meant to be that. This is a great way to carry an enhanced sound with you as you travel. Best use is on the go.

Pros: Portable Easy to set up

Cons: Wish it had some type of eq app to connect to.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice value

John from Flemington, NJ on 1/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The sound is clean and accurate (Hifiman Planar Magnetic 400se), and the impedance matching impressive. The bass boost works well (although I am not using it) and the overall build quality is quite good. Battery life has been pretty good. Complaint #1- does not come with a dongle to connect with any Apple devises. Fortunately I know a guy (aka Audio Advice). But that does mean an additional cost. Complaint #2- the form factor is too small to band together with larger iPhones. I have not been able to find a pouch or holder that would allow me to attach while leaving the screen accessible. Complaint #3- the absence of a realistic battery gauge. It has a single light that changes color as it runs down; it's only visible when using the amp. And when you plug it in to charge, there is no way to determine if it is, in fact, charging. All told, its impressive given the low investment.

Pros: Sound quality, low price, auto impedance matching.

Cons: Requires optional iPhone connector, battery indicator is underwhelming.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

iFi Audio hipdac2 digital converter

Crutchfield customer from Texarkana, AR on 12/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well for the older model iPod Classic to convert digital MP3 files to analog files the amp can play thru the home system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Upgrade From Original Hip-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Schenectady, NY on 12/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I own the original version of the hip-dac and was hesitant to make the investment in the second generation model. The original version is excellent. However, after reading the specific improvements made in the upgraded model I decided to splurge. I'm happy that I did. The difference is not "night & day," but quite noticeable. Cleaner sound, better defined imaging, etc. If you need a highly portable headphone amp/DAC for a reasonable price, it will be hard to beat!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

iFi Audio hip-dac2

Don from Oak Park, IL on 12/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My unit wouldn't charge properly so I sent it back. Also, this version has the lower sound in one channel at low levels that has been commented on by users of the earlier model, and iFi. That bothered me only some and was mitigated by boosting the volume. Otherwise, it sounded really great. But mostly a big disappointment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

MQB only with iphone

Andrew from MILWAUKEE, WI on 12/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound, cool design, but the reason I bought this was to have a full MQA decoder to use with my iPhone. There seems to be no MQA passthrough option through the Tidal mobile app. Until this is fixed, I would recommend buying a Dragonfly instead for use with a mobile device.

Pros: Sound, cool design, balanced output, great price

Cons: MQB, no Tidal mobile MQA passthrough

Crutchfield response on

11 of 15 found this helpful

Compare the sound